Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXI-27,908 in ROI (1,777 deaths) 6,647 in NI (559 deaths)(22/08)Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

eagle eye wrote: »
    I can tell you my kids won't be their guinea pigs. They are not going back until its safe to do so.

Are there plans in place for parents that want to keep their kids at home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,570 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

owlbethere wrote:
    TV3 was on in the morning in the background and there was a woman chatting on air about the virus and kids and school. Was that her? If so, I just about heard what she was waffling on about - there's no evidence that the virus spreads in schools, there's no evidence of children picking it up schools, children can't pass it on because of their bodies and expulsion rates are weaker than adults if they cough.
    Have you read up.om what happened in Israel? Have you read about the 12000 kids testing positive in New England?
    Maybe you should do some reading before you make factual statements which have no backing.
    We still don't know enough about this virus. We don't know why people are having trouble with organs, we don't know why kids are getting pims and we don't know why perfectly health people who contract covid-19 are struggling with extreme lethargy.

owlbethere wrote:
    What happened there
    They opened their schools and it was a disaster. They advised everybody else not to do what they did. The Irosh plan is very similar to what they did.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

This is Ireland, of course there is no plan. I know civil servants who have told boss they will have kids around till vaccine and their AP/PO said they would be expected to do normal hours as soon as kids are back school. It will be a shambles all round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

They opened their schools and it was a disaster. They advised everybody else not to do what they did. The Irosh plan is very similar to what they did.

That's not what happened. Everything reopened in Israel at the same time, schools, pubs etc. There was community spread, and kids got infected as a result. There is no evidence that the reopening of schools caused an increase in infections. There is plenty of evidence across Europe that when schools are reopened, this does not result in an increase in infections.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Sounds like you are either just clueless or you are willing to risk your kid's health to me.
    Why would you be willing to take risks with your kid's health?

Not in any way clueless just realistic and forward thinking. We CANT stay in this bubble. Not putting any kid at risk. It’s the same every year in a school. There’s always some kind of bug or flu around any school. I can’t see it being any different. It’ll be a lot safer then before as well. Students will wear masks/visors if practicable and so will teachers and other staff. Hand sanitizer everywhere. We are all at risk of something much larger if we don’t get on with life.

That’s good as it’ll make more room for those that do go back.
    Still not enough room in schools. They are putting young kids in pods with no masks or social.distsncing within the pod. The other pods will be one metre away and ate not allowed we'd mix during schooling but they can all mix at break times. It's a ridiculous set up.
    There's no plans as such, I think they are trying to leave it up to school principles to manage it. It's in the document that principles should ensure opportunities for learning for kids not returning. That's it though, no plan but it's expected lots will not return and nothing will be done about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Have you read up.om what happened in Israel? Have you read about the 12000 kids testing positive in New England?
    Maybe you should do some reading before you make factual statements which have no backing.
    We still don't know enough about this virus. We don't know why people are having trouble with organs, we don't know why kids are getting pims and we don't know why perfectly health people who contract covid-19 are struggling with extreme lethargy.

I was repeating the waffle said of 'of no evidence'. Its really my stance or position. I wasn't too happy with what I heard - about what I heard and it appears to me as if there's a push to get schools back and it will be a gamble. If kids can carry the virus, I can't see how they can't transmit it.

I will read up about Israel

That's not what happened. Everything reopened in Israel at the same time, schools, pubs etc. There was community spread, and kids got infected as a result. There is no evidence that the reopening of schools caused an increase in infections. There is plenty of evidence across Europe that when schools are reopened, this does not result in an increase in infections.
    Please provide evidence that schools reopening will not cause a spread.

It's not living behind a curtain, with a tinfoil hat. There is a definite, verifiable virus which is going to kill people as it spreads further.

There are modern solutions to this issue to prevent your hypothetical child from falling behind educationally or socially.

So looking at a screen is better then social interaction with his/her peers? Come off your high horse. What modern solution have you got so that a 5 year old can play with friends? Keep them 2 metres apart and talk through a 2 tins on a bit string?

Santy2015 wrote:
    So looking at a screen is better then social interaction with his/her peers? Come off your high horse. What modern solution have you got so that a 5 year old can play with friends? Keep them 2 metres apart and talk through a 2 tins on a bit string?
    Making sure you still have healthy kids is no.1.
    If you are willing to risk their health then off with you and thanks for being my guinea pig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Keep seeing this fear of long lasting effects of the virus but no actual proof. Hardly a reason to keep kids away from school. When do we send kids to school if that’s the case? When there’s a vaccine? Are parents going to home school their kids until then or is it the governments job to sort that for them?

No one seems to care about the long lasting effects of air pollution on kids health as mummy drops them to school in a gas guzzling SUV. Why be so worried about unproven health effects of this virus? No healthy children have died from this disease.

If you are willing to risk their health then off with you and thanks for being my guinea pig.

So when this is over, and that’s a big if. Covid is probably going to be endemic. You still won’t send your kids to school just in case they catch a bug or influenza? Okay........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

I can tell you my kids won't be their guinea pigs. They are not going back until its safe to do so.

Have your kids interacted with any other kids over the last few months. Mine have been in summer camp, playing with kids on street, playgrounds, with cousins etc. It is impossible and dangerous to lock your kids up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭The Unbearables

Same here. Not a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

s1ippy wrote: »
    Jesus on Sarah Mcinerney they're saying that it's not a notifiable disease (yet) because it's not "immediately" fatal. Reeks of intentional obfuscation to get the schools back. I feel so incredibly sorry for the children and teachers who are about to be part of this nationwide gamble in two weeks. :(

Of course its a notifiable disease. There's many notifiable diseases that aren't immediately fatal

Its on the HPSC website and was mentioned back when Tony was CMO as to how the Mater didn't report cases among staff to HPSC when its a legal issue to not report a notifiable disease

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

owlbethere wrote: »
    Health was shambles of a portfolio to hand to him.

Simon took the Health portfolio from Leo who also achieved very very little as minister.

Basically the best and brightest from FG could not achieve anything in Health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

have your kids been in the playground? we have ours in parks probably twice a day and kids are asbsolutly on top of each other.

let them back to school, my 5 year old needs it now big time.

yes, kids can get it, yes kids can probably spread it. it does almost zero harm to them.

hand, foot and mouth is probably way worse/more annoying for them, and both my boys have had that.

as people keep reminding, you cant sit ina bubble with your kids forever, 3 years time from now the virus could be stil laround. move on for gods sake.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

copeyhagen wrote: »
    have your kids been in the playground? we have ours in parks probably twice a day and kids are asbsolutly on top of each other.

let them back to school, my 5 year old needs it now big time.

yes, kids can get it, yes kids can probably spread it. it does almost zero harm to them.

hand, foot and mouth is probably way worse/more annoying for them, and both my boys have had that.

as people keep reminding, you cant sit ina bubble with your kids forever, 3 years time from now the virus could be stil laround. move on for gods sake.

Yeah, I wouldn't be worrying about kids getting it tbh, unless the concerns are about them bringing it home to vulnerable people.

GooglePlus wrote: »
    You wouldn't be able to sell your home cooked food or any food you'd cook without a licence but you could ask a local restaurant to partner with you.

I don't know why more pubs/restaurants aren't doing this, it's a win win for both.
    Is your kitchen compliant with FSAI requirements?

Didn't they say that pubs didn't need a licence at all though to reopen serving food? What FSAI rules do they have to abide by if they don't have a licence? Just standard hygiene rules?

smurfjed wrote: »
    Manila accepts the Russian vaccine.

And their president said he would take it in public . Fair play. Will Putin? I suppose that even if he did you couldn't be sure it was what it was.

I don't get the anti Russian view though, they hardly want to kill off half their population!

If it goes wrong, at least they tried :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,311 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

And their president said he would take it in public . Fair play. Will Putin? I suppose that even if he did you couldn't be sure it was what it was.

I don't get the anti Russian view though, they hardly want to kill off half their population!

If it goes wrong, at least they tried :)

Putin says his daughter took two doses of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Putin says his daughter took two doses of it.

Putin also said the two lads wern't responsible for the salisbury noichock attack

Have your kids interacted with any other kids over the last few months. Mine have been in summer camp, playing with kids on street, playgrounds, with cousins etc. It is impossible and dangerous to lock your kids up.

copeyhagen wrote:
    My kids have been meeting other kids of parents I trust and kniwcate keeping their kids safe too.
    No need for playgrounds, I have a trampoline, swings and a soccer goals in the back garden.
    I have a friend with a similar set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

s1ippy wrote: »
    Jesus on Sarah Mcinerney they're saying that it's not a notifiable disease (yet) because it's not "immediately" fatal. Reeks of intentional obfuscation to get the schools back. I feel so incredibly sorry for the children and teachers who are about to be part of this nationwide gamble in two weeks. :(

https://www.hpsc.ie/notifiablediseases/listofnotifiablediseases/
    This link says it is a notifiable disease.
    So who was discussing it with Sarah McInerney?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Keep seeing this fear of long lasting effects of the virus but no actual proof. Hardly a reason to keep kids away from school. When do we send kids to school if that’s the case? When there’s a vaccine? Are parents going to home school their kids until then or is it the governments job to sort that for them?

No one seems to care about the long lasting effects of air pollution on kids health as mummy drops them to school in a gas guzzling SUV. Why be so worried about unproven health effects of this virus? No healthy children have died from this disease.

I think the proof are the people who have had long lasting effects from Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Putin also said the two lads wern't responsible for the salisbury noichock attack

My thinking entirely.
    She herself may have wanted to be involved, may even have got an injection and believe she's participated in the vaccine programne, but I think its extremely questionable that Putin would allow his daughter take an untested and unproven vaccine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,869 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

At the start of this pandemic the HSE was harping on that community transmission was low then until it wasn't, as one poster earlier noted it only takes one and that one could also be a super spreader.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Didn't they say that pubs didn't need a licence at all though to reopen serving food? What FSAI rules do they have to abide by if they don't have a licence? Just standard hygiene rules?

They can have people eating food on the premises that is brought in from another restaurant. Toners on Baggot St opened and have food coming in from an Italian place next door, who are following all the protocols when it comes to food safety.

A bar wouldn't be able to start making their own food without an inspection of kitchens and a sign off from a food safety officer. Would cost them more money.