LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

I Was VB wrote: »
    It’s baaaaack

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25490788

It’s made it down to cork now, €4650

This is the 3rd time it’s been on DoneDeal in the space of 6 weeks.

What price did it start at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

traco wrote: »
    He must have a different options list than I have, not poverty spec but not loaded either and that front passenger tyre will need replacing to start.
    I can't see the mileage and no mention of turbo / valves being done, oil seals replaced or the fuel line seals. If those jobs were sorted recently then it could be a decent buy.

theres 310,000km on it, possibly more now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Nice - well wear!!

Dumbo will be back on the road Sept 01 so I'm up for a socially distanced barge meet. We can all sit the back and watch the peasants pass by.

This gave me a good laugh! Ive been given the finger and wanker gesture from the haters, its things like this , that make paying the running costs worthwhile :D

Mostly its people admiring the car though , had one lad at a cross roads in rathfarnham , bowing down to it repeatedly, like he was worshipping it, infront of it at a packed cross roads :D

Then the time the gf was in the car saw a load of lads looking in at multi lane lightcontrolled roundabout , initially she thought they were checking her out... she should have known better :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Lwb, electric rear seats, nct’d and taxed

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25499818

€3900.

got myself an official iPod kit for 43 quid from Lithuania. Does anyone know a merc specialist around Dublin who has the tools to code it in for me ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭ooter

Slightly over €5k but would appreciate any feedback on this car from the knowledgeable folk on here, seems too good to be true.
    21,000 miles in 6 years?
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-panda-2014/25490175

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,166 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

ooter wrote: »
    Slightly over €5k but would appreciate any feedback on this car from the knowledgeable folk on here, seems too good to be true.
    21,000 miles in 6 years?
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-panda-2014/25490175

I'm not sure i would describe it as a luxobarge but the mileage might be genuine. it doesnt look like it has done a lot of miles. I would be looking at the service history stamps to confirm it.

as an aside does anybody know what the City button in pic 9 does? does it sharpen up the steering?
    ETA: i really should have googled it first. It lightens the steering to make parking easier. nice idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Kilboor

I'm not sure i would describe it as a luxobarge but the mileage might be genuine. it doesnt look like it has done a lot of miles. I would be looking at the service history stamps to confirm it.

as an aside does anybody know what the City button in pic 9 does? does it sharpen up the steering?
    ETA: i really should have googled it first. It lightens the steering to make parking easier. nice idea.

Makes the steering lighter for easier parking...

I think Eric Cartman should have waited and picked up this Fiat Panda instead. Luxobarge pick of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭eringobragh

got myself an official iPod kit for 43 quid from Lithuania. Does anyone know a merc specialist around Dublin who has the tools to code it in for me ?

Probably a good time to visit aliexpress & get the cloned main dealer diagnostics, MBstar or whatever...save you a lot of heartache down the road.

Got the Honda HDS main dealer diag there and its great for pinning down faults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭traco

Kilboor wrote: »
    Makes the steering lighter for easier parking...

I think Eric Cartman should have waited and picked up this Fiat Panda instead. Luxobarge pick of the year.

He could have put it in the boot as a spare??

Do you still have my old W220, traco? Having sellers remorse lately of barges that I sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭traco

Still have it in storage. Turned the key in it a few weeks ago and fired no bother, settled down and ran smooth. I let her fully warm up and get some charge into the battery. Insurance is transferred to the W221 which I will put on the road on September 01 for 3 months as the Boxster is coming off at end of August.

Don't know what to do with the W220 to be honest. I love the way it wafts around so may use it for Dec, Jan and Feb. NCT is out on it also because of lockdown and SORN'd so i should address that.

Juggling insurance and tax really messes up multi car ownership in this country.

Still have it in storage. Turned the key in it a few weeks ago and fired no bother, settled down and ran smooth. I let her fully warm up and get some charge into the battery. Insurance is transferred to the W221 which I will put on the road on September 01 for 3 months as the Boxster is coming off at end of August.

Don't know what to do with the W220 to be honest. I love the way it wafts around so may use it for Dec, Jan and Feb. NCT is out on it also because of lockdown and SORN'd so i should address that.

Juggling insurance and tax really messes up multi car ownership in this country.

It’s a great example of a w220, herself loved it too which is a surprise, she’s not impressed with the 740, or as she calls it “the grizwald mobile”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Some chancer in front of me today, thought he owned the road! :pac:

KVV3Reg.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,949 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Ah that bollocks :D Typical Merc driver tbh, indicator being the exception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭b.c

Pass anything except a petrol station ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-740i-automatic/25600186

MGNmNzg2ZDEwYzAyMTMyNTRjODlkMGE0Y2EwY2EzYTWi87YPYj_q0eypn9JeYk9taHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTM0MjA4MzF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

740i with low miles and NCT til next year for €2950

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

It's fairly rough though especially the interior!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,816 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

That's a Naas Rd Autos kinda car ;)

silver outside on grey interior has to be the most awful combo I've seen.

spec is alright but jaysus the colour combo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Truckermal wrote: »
    It's fairly rough though especially the interior!

Everything about that ad seems wrong. Terrible description, dirty interior/exterior, rubbish on the ground, pictures taken down the back of the Lidl carpark.

It screams of being run on a shoestring.

A wash and Hoover, pics taken in a nice location (surely he could've driven 15 minutes up to the Phoenix Park or over to Dalkey) and a proper description would make it vastly more sellable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

A wash and Hoover, pics taken in a nice location (surely he could've driven 15 minutes up to the Phoenix Park or over to Dalkey) and a proper description would make it vastly more sellable
    Agreed. Trash in the front & back, and saying "full option" doesn't say much. Lack of a shot of the dash always hits me as suspicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,769 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I see John the seller of the 740i and 10 other cars must be sharing his forecourt with Lidl. :)

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25603894

What scam is being pulled here for 636 tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Nexo

It’s down as a 1.8 engine on the VLC 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Nexo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

The wheels, aaaggghhh my eyes!!!!

Nexo wrote: »

Needing some engine work, the asking price is what it would be worth fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,685 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

I Was VB wrote: »
    Needing some engine work, the asking price is what it would be worth fixed.

That quilted floor.. :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    That quilted floor.. :eek::eek:

Saw that alright. Seller says it's a Limo, the flooring looks like a clip in covering to protect the original carpet, which isn't a bad thing.

The wheels don't look too bad IMO, either way, they are easily swapped. The rear lights look shlt IMO.

Either way, I wouldn't have the cojones to touch that unless a mechanic I know could fully diagnose the problem and assure me that spending X amount of Euro's would fix it permamently.

I'll be selling the Lexus soon and was looking at E65 and W221's. But the more I look at them, the more I think of getting a pre-'96 W140 with a V8. Just easier to diagnose and fix. Of course, you could get lucky as with Eric C and get something really nice, but I like fiddling with them myself.