Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,076 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Lash_Alert wrote: »
    Ok, thanks for confirming you dont follow the guidance.

The guidance

Wash our hands, keeping 2 metres apart from one another, avoiding crowds, wearing face coverings where appropriate, covering our coughs and sneezes and downloading the COVID Tracker app.”

5 minutes in a shop is not appropriate. 5 minutes with a close contact won't even qualify you for a test.
    Common sense kid, it's in short supply;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭autumnbelle

Genuinely is it not a threat to public them factories still open? Would packaging and meat not be contaminated and spread it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

The guidance

Wash our hands, keeping 2 metres apart from one another, avoiding crowds, wearing face coverings where appropriate, covering our coughs and sneezes and downloading the COVID Tracker app.”

5 minutes in a shop is not appropriate. 5 minutes with a close contact won't even qualify you for a test.

So you follow all the guidelines that are there to keep you safe but ignore the one which is there to protect others..........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

the biggest problem with mask wearing is the huge reduction in social distancing

What about where social distancing is difficult? There are more people out and about, so distancing is not always possible. So don't blame it on mask wearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,654 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Genuinely is it not a threat to public them factories still open? Would packaging and meath not be contaminated and spread it
    Meath? Jesus I hope not, ... anyone heard from Kepak lately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭autumnbelle

Meath? Jesus I hope not, ...

Edited straight after 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

The guidance

So what are you going to do on Monday when it's actually mandatory even for your 5 minutes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭coastwatch

What are the HSA doing if they haven't been shut down already?

According to the HSA website, diseases are not reportable.
    Seems a big gap in HSA responsibility in the current circumstances.

3. Do I need to notify the Health and Safety Authority if an employee contracts COVID 19?
    No. There is no requirement for an Employer to notify the Authority if an employee contracts COVID-19. Diseases are not reportable under the Safety, Health and Welfare at Work (Reporting of Accidents and Dangerous Occurrences) Regulations 2016 (S.I. No. 370 of 2016).

https://www.hsa.ie/eng/topics/covid-19/covid-19_advice_for_employers_and_employees/covid_19_%E2%80%93_advice_for_employers_and_employees.html#3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,855 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Ficheall wrote: »
    There are plenty of people in this forum who think masks don't help - communication can only get you so far if people have no common sense and refuse to listen.

Yes, despite the scientific evidence imparted that marks are working and crucial in halting the spread... you just have the anti mask brigade...

We’ve had everything from..

- ‘mintal hilth’( this old fûcking chestnut ) despite every respected virologist advocating their mass use and crucial effect on halting the spread of this potentially fatal virus..

- “I live in a free country, I won’t be dictated too to wear a mask”... free country, feel free to have a hot cup of cop on.

You’d buy a condom, to protect yourself and a loved one or partner from that absolutely minuscule possibility that you could spread or catch a virus or condition amongst other reasons... in 2018 in Ireland around 523 people were diagnosed as HIV positive...

In 2020, 26,644 people were diagnosed so far with covid. 1772 so far died.

We use PROTECTION against HIV and other STDs but when it comes to covid, a respiratory illness, using protection to some is :rolleyes::rolleyes: you don’t want to use protection in your sexual life, you are an asshole, you don’t want to use masks against covid ? You are the same... you are protecting yourself AND OTHERS...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Lash_Alert

The guidance

Yes it is appropriate. You are part of the problem so lay off boards.ie giving out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

coastwatch wrote: »
    According to the HSA website, diseases are not reportable.
    Seems a big gap in HSA responsibility in the current circumstances.

3. Do I need to notify the Health and Safety Authority if an employee contracts COVID 19?
    No. There is no requirement for an Employer to notify the Authority if an employee contracts COVID-19. Diseases are not reportable under the Safety, Health and Welfare at Work (Reporting of Accidents and Dangerous Occurrences) Regulations 2016 (S.I. No. 370 of 2016).

https://www.hsa.ie/eng/topics/covid-19/covid-19_advice_for_employers_and_employees/covid_19_%E2%80%93_advice_for_employers_and_employees.html#3

Surely it's their responsibility to make workplaces have a safe working environment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

owlbethere wrote: »
    I do the same with hand sanitizer. I am refusing to use the public hand sanitizing stations. I prefer having my own hand sanitizer and using my own. I don't trust the public stuff because of too many hands using it and I don't know what's in the public stuff, if its the real stuff with alcohol.

I like the hand sanitizers in my local hotel and eating establishment because they have sensors on their hand sanitizers and you don't need to press anything.

You my friend may be weird but you are 100% right. Here's to applying logic to everyday problems.

So you follow all the guidelines that are there to keep you safe but ignore the one which is there to protect others..........

Ah here, following the other guidelines is protecting others and myself.

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Meath? Jesus I hope not, ... anyone heard from Kepak lately?

Sean Boylan stopped off there in '96 and he cried and cried

Surely it's their responsibility to make workplaces have a safe working environment?

Incredible, but it seems the HSA dont have responsibility because the risk is from a disease!
    There's a need for urgent ammendment to regulations for this.

Yes it is appropriate

No it's not have a bit of sense, If 5 minutes in a store is that dangerous nobody should be going in without a proper n95 mask, gloves and goggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭eggy81

No.

how is it not?

No it's not have a bit of sense, If 5 minutes in a store is that dangerous nobody should be going in without a proper n95 mask, gloves and goggles.

I'm done discussing this with you. Theres a few rules, you aren't following them, simple as. You have no place to give out about any Covid related lock downs going forward.

I'll actually take warning for this, but you're clearly thick as ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

1 death in 5 million people, let's close everything down. Its a pandemic ffs.

It is their remit it to make sure the business is complient, you don't have to report an outbreak to them but they have protocols you have to follow if there is a suspected case, like having a dedicated isolation room etc. There's a good bit in it. It's worth a read and see how it applies to your situation.

eggy81 wrote: »
    how is it not?

Following selective rules is not ok. Its actually concerning peoples attitudes on her and explains why the news is so depressing lately.

eggy81 wrote: »
    how is it not?

So if i dont shoot anyone, i dont stab anyone but i do punch a child in the face, is that ok? I'm following some rules like....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭TheBlackPill

We should consider a very strict lockdown, in co operation with northern ireland, with nobody allowed into the Island(bar inports and exports). Make the island COVId19 free then re-open everything internally. We could become the workshop of Europe, thus any job losses in hospitality and tourism could be offset by jobs created in manufacturing,, ala Taiwan

It is their remit it to make sure there complaint, you don't have to report an outbreak to them but they have protocols you have to follow if there is a suspected case, like having a dedicated isolation room etc. There's a good bit in it. It's worth a read and see how it applies to your situation.

It looks like the HSA dont have the authority to force closure on the basis of health risk to employees from covid 19.

I think that's why Minister of Health Stephen Donnelly said his "opinion" is that the affected meat plants should close, becaue they dont have the legal power to force closure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Myramar

Ficheall wrote: »
    There are plenty of people in this forum who think masks don't help - communication can only get you so far if people have no common sense and refuse to listen.

Correct. But the debate is over. There are a handful of characters now who have been presented countless times over and over again with the same arguments I see being presented here. They have refused to accept these many times up to now so there is no point in contnuing to try.

There comes a point when engaging with them just keeps the issue alive and does more harm than good. Debating with them suggests that their views are worthy of debate.

It was necessary to use legislation to force large scale use of masks in retail and public transport. Most people just accepted this and did it.

We now need to see these characters punished by fines, refused access and peer pressure to force them to do what society requires of any decent member. Trying to debate with them is utterly pointless anymore.

Following selective rules is not ok. Its actually concerning peoples attitudes on her and explains why the news is so depressing lately.

but it said when deemed necessary leaving it open to interpretation. Their original criteria for the risk of infection was when being in close proximity to an infected person for more than 15 minutes. In general in the case of a convenience store you won't come anywhere near anyone. Theres perspex up between you and the staff too.
    From Monday on it becomes the rule without exception which changes things obviously.

the news is depressing because of clusters in meat factories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

If it's only 5 mins in the store, then what is your issue with wearing the mask. You say you obey all other rules, why take a different approach to this one?

So if i dont shoot anyone, i dont stab anyone but i do punch a child in the face, is that ok? I'm following some rules like....

lol. What a leap.