Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,303 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Oh dear and holy God above.
    Send me down your infinite love.
    A humble beef farmer I may be,
    Unblessed by milk cheque monthily.

Seeing the providence of Say My Name,
    I invoke you to deliver same.

Speaking of vehicles, my parked van was hit by an NI driver today. Very apologetic and she wanted to sort it privately, but refused to give insurance details "God knows where they are".

Got my quote of a decent very straight lad who does paint work and panel beating, a very fair quote for the damage done. I just want my van protected nd not rusting, not out to screw anyone, particularly when she came to the door. Rang her and she went on the attack right away, too expensive and she's going to ring her insurance company when she's back up North tomorrow.

Well middle finger to that. I had my own insurance company rang after it happened and the Gardai notified, and I've since followed up with the boys in blue who are calling her. I was very happy to have it sorted privately, no ones insurance needs to go up etc. She can deal with companies and uniforms now.

Why are people like this, ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,121 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Speaking of vehicles, my parked van was hit by an NI driver today. Very apologetic and she wanted to sort it privately, but refused to give insurance details "God knows where they are".

Got my quote of a decent very straight lad who does paint work and panel beating, a very fair quote for the damage done. I just want my van protected nd not rusting, not out to screw anyone, particularly when she came to the door. Rang her and she went on the attack right away, too expensive and she's going to ring her insurance company when she's back up North tomorrow.

Well middle finger to that. I had my own insurance company rang after it happened and the Gardai notified, and I've since followed up with the boys in blue who are calling her. I was very happy to have it sorted privately, no ones insurance needs to go up etc. She can deal with companies and uniforms now.

Why are people like this, ffs.

It's always the same.

Folks had their parked car hit by a provisional driver years ago.
    Girl in her early twenties got out and bawling her eyes out and that she'd sort it herself without going through insurance.
    Folks big eejits they were took her for her word.
    It must have been nearly a year later with bills from the garage and calls from the folks not being answered before it was settled.

Always always always get the insurance details and go that way.

In the heat of the moment they're all sorry.
    But when they get home all the excuses start.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,121 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Danzy wrote: »
    Oh dear and holy God above.
    Send me down your infinite love.
    A humble beef farmer I may be,
    Unblessed by milk cheque monthily.

Seeing the providence of Say My Name,
    I invoke you to deliver same.

There's a Duster for everyone in the audie...

No there's not really. :)

It's always the same.

Folks had their parked car hit by a provisional driver years ago.
    Girl in her early twenties got out and bawling her eyes out and that she'd sort it herself without going through insurance.
    Folks big eejits they were took her for her word.
    It must have been nearly a year later with bills from the garage and calls from the folks not being answered before it was settled.

Always always always get the insurance details and go that way.

In the heat of the moment they're all sorry.
    But when they get home all the excuses start.

Thing is, she claimed she didn't know the details and NI vehicles don't display them like we do. I asked at the time, and again later over the phone. Cops got back to me since, no harm in them having rung her, we'll see what happens. Half my day wasted on sh1te I wasn't even there for.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,485 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Just because it’s holidays.

My first of 2020 !!

https://ibb.co/Dwhk0Ms

• Registered Users Posts: 21,142 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Thanks. :)

It came equipped with it's own driving prayer as well.
    The proddies here are scratching their heads on that one. :D

I'll leave it in the boot. :p

Did you get a St Christopher's medal as well?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Water John wrote: »
    Did you get a St Christopher's medal as well?

And a Padres pio sticker

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

A load of coppers in the footwell for luck

• Registered Users Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭zetecescort

ganmo wrote: »
    And a Padres pio sticker

a distant relation home from the states thought the Padre Pio stickers were for some sort of car club they were on so many cars years ago

• Registered Users Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/stand-off-at-waterford-port-boortmalt-claims-the-grain-is-irish/

Stand off in Port of Waterford.
    Can I ask what would be the objections?
    Sorry, City dweller here. Just wondering.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Locked down again...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Apologies, the full article hadn't loaded. I see why.
    Fair play to the lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Kevhog1988 wrote: »
    Locked down again...

Well if ye lot had manners.....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Reggie. wrote: »
    Well if ye lot had manners.....

It's a joke.
    Deal with the problem in the meat plants, it's been simmering months now and f all being done about it.
    I can't go to the seaside now 🀣🀣🀣

New lilywhites sponsor

• Registered Users Posts: 11,064 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

It's a joke.
    Deal with the problem in the meat plants, it's been simmering months now and f all being done about it.
    I can't go to the seaside now ������

Their only option is to close them if you want the problem dealt with.
    You should be careful what you wish for

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,646 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

deise08 wrote: »
    https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/stand-off-at-waterford-port-boortmalt-claims-the-grain-is-irish/

Imports of grain that keep the price of Irish grain low, while the likes of Jameson sell “Irish” whiskey using non-Irish grains to increase profits but don’t tell customers.

Globalisation and cheap transportation have a lot to answer for

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I see where France is withdrawing their blanket ban on Neonics after their sugarbeet crop suffered huge losses.
    https://mobile.reuters.com/article/amp/idUSKCN2521OF?__twitter_impression=true

I see where France is withdrawing their blanket ban on Neonics after their sugarbeet crop suffered huge losses.

When reality meets idealism

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

deise08 wrote: »

Grain being imported instead of using Irish grain, reducing prices paid to Irish farmers afaik

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭I says

Second cut starting here today. I’ll have some pain in me hoop drawing in bales tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Osr across europe is not a crop anymore due to flea beetle.

Yeah, I was following a twitter thread over the last few months about it in the UK and a few links to the rest of Europe.

Some of the abuse directed to farmers was unreal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Yeah, I was following a twitter thread over the last few months about it in the UK and a few links to the rest of Europe.

Some of the abuse directed to farmers was unreal.

In beet it’s aphids spreading virus yellows making sugar beet go the same way. The bees the dosgy data decided to protect are fooked anyway as a major food source early in the season is gone now.

Its like going to be like this until the next big crisis causes hyper food inflation, I can’t wait! Veganism humanising farm animals, meanwhile fruit and veg is where the nasty stuff happens regarding likes of indentured labour and practices in growing the stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,140 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What's the story with brexit now?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭emaherx

whelan2 wrote: »
    What's the story with brexit now?

Ah you'd nearly miss brexit, wouldn't you

• Registered Users Posts: 29,140 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

emaherx wrote: »
    Ah you'd nearly miss brexit, wouldn't you

I used to be giving out about it always being in the news :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Anyone elses phone battery getting hammered today? Everyones here with me only lasting a few hours before needing juice. Some digging showing the Covid app being the cause on them all

Yeah, the covid app took 50% of my charge this morning, can't keep a charge on my phone at all all day.