Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

road_high wrote: »
    No seemingly not these people are incapable of self preservation so everyone else must suffer too. All in it together and all that brainwashing you’ve heard for 6 months

You really can't see anyone else's opinion but your own can you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭schmoo2k

The suppression phase is over. Doesn't work.
    And so the whack a mole phase has begun. I don't think it'll work.
    How long until zerocovid is the only real option in town?

Do you mean the flatten the curve phase? If so it did work and out hospitals didn't get overrun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,760 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

I live in Kilkenny. Literally 20 km from the “hotspot”.
    So why are you concerned about restrictions in a different county?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Feck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

froog wrote: »
    they're not punishing anyone ffs, just trying to limit any spread. this isn't nazi germany.

Perception is often a bigger influencer than reality. If people feel like they are being punished they will react like they are being punished. I can't see this government handling this well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

GooglePlus wrote: »
    Serious opportunity missed, we could be heading into this weekend with the whole lot open and not a worry in anyone's head. So close to elimination but I wonder how the EU would have taken a decision to go that direction.

Germany has mandatory tests at airports.
    Non compliance with with quarantine or test
    You get a 25000 euro fine.

They want to have their cake and eat it.

98 new cases, 4 deaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

35 cases are located in Kildare, 26 in Offaly, 6 in Wexford, 5 in Laois, 5 in Dublin, and 21 are spread across ten other counties (Carlow, Cavan, Donegal, Kilkenny, Limerick, Louth, Meath, Monaghan, Westmeath and Wicklow)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

98 new cases, 4 deaths

:eek: :(

57 are men / 38 are women
    68% are under 45 years of age
    67 are confirmed to be associated with outbreaks or are close contacts of a confirmed case
    4 cases have been identified as community transmission
    35 cases are located in Kildare, 26 in Offaly, 6 in Wexford, 5 in Laois, 5 in Dublin, and 21 are spread across ten other counties (Carlow, Cavan, Donegal, Kilkenny, Limerick, Louth, Meath, Monaghan, Westmeath and Wicklow).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

What’s ridiculous is closing places where there is no spread. On what parallel universe does this not make sense?
    By jaysus there’s a big price to be paid for all this kind of nonsense and it’s going to be severe.

it's to stop spread before it happens. this is not rocket science bro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,874 ✭✭✭✭road_high

thelad95 wrote: »
    No spread YET. Don't you think it should be kept that way? You can't just view a cinema for example and say "oh there hasn't been a case in any cinemas yet" but thirty people in a cinema is a gathering of thirty people and I'm sure there has been numerous cases related to thirty people in one place.

No because at this stage in the game we are well past the point of blunt lockdown being any way effective bar suppression for limited time periods. All this is more wishful thinking along the same lines as March. Here we are 5 months later and guess what Covid is still here with us..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭seanb85

There's already measures in place in factories. They clearly weren't followed in Kildare, Laois and Offaly.

Or the measures don't work. That's a possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,961 ✭✭✭Morrison J

MD1990 wrote: »
    I dont think sport should be stopped.

the virus is not spread playing sports.
    The virus doesn't pick and choose. Playing sports means players together in the changing room, players on buses etc.

The fact the GAA is back at all is a joke imo. Other sports have weekly testing. GAA has zero precautions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

98 new cases, 4 deaths

All these deaths still happening in residential care?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,862 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

do all these kids have to move around to different classes, surely would be only the case for labs etc
    Our post primary schools wouldn't be much different between classes. Corridors would typically be jammed every 40 minutes at the change of class.

With different pupils taking higher or ordinary level in core subjects and then higher or ordinary in four or so elective subjects there's not much that can really be done to avoid crowds in corridors at class changeovers.

schmoo2k wrote: »
    Do you mean the flatten the curve phase? If so it did work and out hospitals didn't get overrun.

Did I say flatten curve phase?
    Suppression is what we were doing between flatten curve
    And now (whack a county and hope for best)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,164 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

98 new cases, 4 deaths

The four deaths are the most important thing in that announcement. The 98 cases I pressume are mostly linked to the outbreak in the meat factories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,874 ✭✭✭✭road_high

So why are you concerned about restrictions in a different county?

Because I don’t live in a little bubble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,157 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

MM must be crapping himself now, came in when cases were very low and all looking good now the sh*t has hit the fan and he hasn't got a notion

Only 4 community transmission cases again today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

98 new cases, 4 deaths

****, ****, ****

My stars came out wrong

Fcuk, fcuk, fcuk

Because I don’t live in a little bubble
    You're way too concerned about something that doesn't really concern you.

98 new cases, 4 deaths

Told you it would be below 100 so people won’t freak out too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭Onesea

Maybe another mindset is needed. We can't lock down anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,151 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Lockdown V2 a matter of days away.
    Better stock up on the toilet roll

****, ****, ****
    We knew this was happening today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,157 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Only 4 community transmission cases again today.

Well lets hope these factory workers haven't been spreading it around for the past few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,344 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

98 new cases, 4 deaths

Still under the ton, hope yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,427 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Just going to put on the dinner but I’ll point you in right direction.
    It’s by no means an easy option but it works.

Check this out. Uk will prob go for it soon enough if whack a mole doesn’t work.
    So common travel area and NI border wouldn’t be an issue.

https://twitter.com/zerocovidisland/status/1291757146955304960?s=21

So let me get this straight, our response should depend on waiting for the UK to pursue a zero covid response?
    So lockdown until the UK decide to go with it?