Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

The suppression phase is over. Doesn't work.
    And so the whack a mole phase has begun. I don't think it'll work.
    How long until zerocovid is the only real option in town?

https://twitter.com/LBC/status/1291766171797204996?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Numbers will now be announced separately each day for the next two weeks - rest of the country 2, KOL 122!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Do the restaurant, gyms, cinemas, etc restrictions apply to the whole country or just the three counties? What I'm loving about all this is the clarity.

Government have said nothing yet, to be announced at 6pm in a press conference.

Lack of clarity is from journalists tweeting leaks or supposed leaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

Sounds harmless enough at first glance except for perhaps restaurants having to move to take-away only, more of a restricted movement kind of thing... But no travel to these counties is bad news for all hotels as any staycations booked there are off the cards now. Seems like lots of cancellations anyway since this morning.

Grandmother's nursing home in celbridge also contacted all families this morning to cancel all visits until further notice.

there wouldnt be too many fellas wanting to holiday in any of them counties,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,347 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

jaysus. That escalated quickly.

First case confirmed on 30th of July.
    80 cases Plant closed on 5th of August.
    County closed down on 7th of August.

https://twitter.com/JackHoJo/status/1291469937609969672?s=20

This is why we have to be careful. You can't wait for the numbers to get big before doing anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

There's not much to be done now when the damage is done to be fair. Today's about the three counties, the factory issue can be dealt with on a seperate occasion.

Good to hear we have no factories in the rest of the country and this can't happen anywhere else.

There is a lot to be done. When is the separate occasion? Will we wait for more factories to have the same issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Italy reporting 552 today, also seeing a decent enough uptick in cases :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,760 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Christy42 wrote: »
    Good to hear we have no factories in the rest of the country and this can't happen anywhere else.

There is a lot to be done. When is the separate occasion? Will we wait for more factories to have the same issue?
    I'm not sure why you're arguing. There is a blatantly obvious issue in Kildare, Laois and Offaly that has to be dealt with right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

there wouldnt be too many fellas wanting to holiday in any of them counties,

Careful now Roscommon Tom! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

Lets see your plan Paddy.
    Also what county are you from, out of curiosity?

Shutdown towns or areas around the outbreaks, not the whole county ffs. As I have said already timahoe is closer to Lúcán, navan than it is to athy and the rest of North kildare, offaly, Laois. Clowns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,874 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Do the restaurant, gyms, cinemas, etc restrictions apply to the whole country or just the three counties? What I'm loving about all this is the clarity.

Just the three counties from what I gather. Do they put Gardai at every “border” crossing? Take say Castlecomer in co Kilkenny. Half it’s hinterland is in laois. Locals would ordinarily go there or into Carlow for shopping or a meal? And vice versa. Good luck policing this there are hundreds of crossings

I'm not sure why you're arguing. There is a blatantly obvious issue in Kildare, Laois and Offaly that has to be dealt with right now.

There is a blatant and obvious issue with factories. We know there is massive risk. Why do we not think that doesn't need to be dealt with now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

GAA amd sports shouldnt be stopped. There are literally no cases in relation to that.

Whats the plan? Lockdown everytime there is a cluster because of bad practices in a meat factory?

Shutdown towns or areas around the outbreaks, not the whole county ffs. As I have said already timahoe is closer to Lúcán, navan than it is to athy and the rest of North kildare, offaly, Laois. Clowns
    Yeah I'm guessing you're from Kildare.

There is a blatant and obvious issue with factories. We know there is massive risk. Why do we not think that doesn't need to be dealt with now?
    There hasn't been a factory issue outside these 3 counties for ages.

GAA amd sports shouldnt be stopped. There are literally no cases in relation to that.

Whats the plan? Lockdown everytime there is a cluster because of bad practices in a meat factory?

It’s reactionary nuts panic. Closing down stiff where there had been no spread whatsoever.
    God help the local social welfare office staff too. They’re going to be swamped again. Utterly crazy blunt instrument. M Martin is an absolute donkey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Charlie Flanagan, Laois-Offaly TD, makes a very valid point:

they're not punishing anyone ffs, just trying to limit any spread. this isn't nazi germany.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

The suppression phase is over. Doesn't work.
    And so the whack a mole phase has begun. I don't think it'll work.
    How long until zerocovid is the only real option in town?

https://twitter.com/LBC/status/1291766171797204996?s=20

How will a zero covid approach work? What needs to be done for a zero covid approach?

road_high wrote: »
    It’s reactionary nuts panic. Closing down stiff where there had been no spread whatsoever.
    God help the local social welfare office staff too. They’re going to be swamped again. Utterly crazy blunt instrument. M Martin is an absolute donkey
    Can you post an alternative?

There hasn't been a factory issue outside these 3 counties for ages.

And up until recently the 3 counties were fine as well.

We can wait until other places have the same issues as well and then lock down everyone near them as well. That seems sensible unless you have a reason for thinking factories outside the region are immune?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

I've watching some (what i thought before today) lunatic. He predicted this spot on. He said the death numbers would be held back to give a big number for a day to get us back under the government narrative.
    When I first started watching theDiyshow, I thought his predictions were off the wall. What is happening now is what he said would happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

There are cases in sports clubs, literally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

And Varadkar and NPHET. Bananas carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

Has to be a blanket thing or the idiots in those areas will think, sure doesn’t apply to me. So it’s clearer and easier a directive to impose countywide restrictions.

And up until recently the 3 counties were fine as well.
    There's an issue in Kildare, Laois and Offaly... It is being dealt with. There's not much else to say. 49% of cases in last 2 weeks from those 3 counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭rafi bomb

What!?:pac: Its only meat factories and everything is closing really but GAA should go ahead feck sake :confused::P

Tisnt the GAA fault boss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,674 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

He probably can't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

Italy reporting 552 today, also seeing a decent enough uptick in cases :(

Yes, I totally agree. That is a decent "uptick" of cases.

Not closing down places where there’s been no spread as I already stated. Not this blunt shut it all down rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

"Sure what do you want a condom for? I haven't even come yet..."