Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

Boggles wrote: »
    It stayed relatively stable in Germany, spike from one factory that didn't obey the rules, that was pretty much it.

It's starting to climb a bit now though.

It is climbing at a steady rate. Eyeballing their charts possibly at a reproductive rate of ca.1.2 or so. And if it remains at that level, they can probably manage for a significant period of time as there doesn't appear to be a rise in deaths - yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

From the author of a very good book. For those interested.
    Very imported to not be confused by figures and data.
    It should be thought in school.

The irony of being called a bull****ter for using the right plot
    when the author of calling bull**** agrees.

522356.jpg

https://twitter.com/CT_Bergstrom/status/1247750073796030466?s=20

thelad95 wrote: »
    In Germany things are done properly.

Here some half-arsed paddy whackery rubbish like "stay within the county boundaries of Laois" will be implemented and some crappy vague guidance like "only have up to ten guests at your house". Meanwhile the Gardaí will show face by having one or two checkpoints but otherwise nothing will happen.

Things are about to spiral out of control here and we no longer have the strong guidance to see us through it. We're quite unlucky in that there has been a complete changing of the guard from CMO to Taoiseach to Health Minister and the transition has been disastrous so far.

I think its unfair on Glynn. And Nolan is quite impressive.

Micheal Martin, is what he has always been - a waffler.

Had high hopes for Stephen Donnelly though, and while he was always able to talk a good game, when he has actually gotten real work to do, he appears to be floundering a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

I know a fella that got a serious eye infection and lost his sight from adjusting his mask and touching his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,674 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Anyone got any inkling about what's in store for Kildare, Laois & Offaly today?

Local lockdown? Travel restrictions? I'm more than likely going to be out of work again......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

I think its unfair on Glynn. And Nolan is quite impressive.

Micheal Martin, is what he has always been - a waffler.

Had high hopes for Stephen Donnelly though, and while he was always able to talk a good game, when he has actually gotten real work to do, he appears to be floundering a bit.

Why did anyone have high hopes for power mcpowergrab?

He has no beliefs aside from wanting power. He helped set the social Democrats who are definitely not aligned with Fianna Fáil (in as much as Fianna Fáil could be said to have a given policy alignment). Then he switched his beliefs when he was offered a shot at power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,548 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

GazzaL wrote: »
    I know a fella that got a serious eye infection and lost his sight from adjusting his mask and touching his face.

I don't believe you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Hrududu

Necessary places now but not months ago when peak transmission was occurring.

Anyway as stated above improper use is worse than no mask. People touching mask constantly then handling items in shops etc are actually increasing the risk of transmission.
    Hmm ok let’s work through the logic of this one

Jim has the Covid and is going to the shops. Will he infect more people by

- Wearing a mask, touching it and then touching items in the shop
    - Not wearing a mask and breathing the Covid out into the space around him where other shoppers can breathe it in?

Do we have any data to suggest which of the above is likely to spread it more easily?

But hold on! You might say. Jim can go in maskless and just keep his distance. The old 2 metres. But if Jim is incapable of wearing a mask without touching it constantly I doubt his ability to socially distance.

Until we find out that masked touchy feely Jim spreads more Covid than maskless breathy breathy Jim then the above point (which is being made constantly on this site) is moot

If we do get data to suggest Jim with a mask is more infectious with his Covid fingers then we can revisit the topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

New cases is not a barometer of the problem. If those cases are aged under 65 it is of little concern. Other charts need to be used with the cases data like hospitalisations and deaths. That FT chart is effectively useless by itself.

Of course it is of concern, if there are loads of people roaming about with Covid19 then it won't be long until people of all sorts of get it.
    The first people to get it in Ireland in March were on ski trips and were not over 65 either.

People don't die for several weeks, you can't wait until deaths start increasing before you act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Hrududu

You seem to know a lot of fellas that have very interesting anecdotes. Please keep us updated on them. They don’t sound at all made up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I know a fella that got a serious eye infection and lost his sight from adjusting his mask and touching his face. touching his eyes without washing his hands
    FYP
    Anyone got any inkling about what's in store for Kildare, Laois & Offaly today?

Local lockdown? Travel restrictions? I'm more than likely going to be out of work again......
    Today specifically, it'll probably be just advice - stay at home except for essential travel, try to avoid indoor spaces, and most importantly isolate yourself and call your GP if you have any symptoms at all.
    I'd say they'll monitor over the weekend before deciding if there are any actual restrictions needed next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Would you stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Akabusi

seamus wrote: »
    FYP

Today specifically, it'll probably be just advice - stay at home except for essential travel, try to avoid indoor spaces, and most importantly isolate yourself and call your GP if you have any symptoms at all.
    I'd say they'll monitor over the weekend before deciding if there are any actual restrictions needed next week.

A good start would be a lockdown of the infected plants, maybe this has already happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

Hrududu wrote: »
    Hmm ok let’s work through the logic of this one

Jim has the Covid and is going to the shops. Will he infect more people by

- Wearing a mask, touching it and then touching items in the shop
    - Not wearing a mask and breathing the Covid out into the space around him where other shoppers can breathe it in?

Do we have any data to suggest which of the above is likely to spread it more easily?

But hold on! You might say. Jim can go in maskless and just keep his distance. The old 2 metres. But if Jim is incapable of wearing a mask without touching it constantly I doubt his ability to socially distance.

Until we find out that masked touchy feely Jim spreads more Covid than maskless breathy breathy Jim then the above point (which is being made constantly on this site) is moot

If we do get data to suggest Jim with a mask is more infectious with his Covid fingers then we can revisit the topic

We could apply all sorts of logic to support any argument. The only thing we know for certain is mask wearing is being made mandatory as an after thought.

No masks in supermarkets March April May and no huge report of clusters?
    First week of mask recommendations and we have a problem in supermarkets with cluster being reported by Dr Glynn

Logic me that. !!

Christy42 wrote: »
    Why did anyone have high hopes for power mcpowergrab?

He has no beliefs aside from wanting power. He helped set the social Democrats who are definitely not aligned with Fianna Fáil (in as much as Fianna Fáil could be said to have a given policy alignment). Then he switched his beliefs when he was offered a shot at power.

I always thought he was well intentioned, but eventually figured the only way he could actually influence direction within the country, so helped found the Social Democrats, but his politics and that of Roisin Shortall and Catherine Murphy were never going to align long term.

Naively, I think, he took Fianna Fail on the word of what they try to profess themselves to be post '08, a socially progressive, centre party with left leanings underpinned by fiscal prudence, rather than what they actually are and always have been, a reactionary, gombeen, bit of what your having yourself clientalist mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

We could apply all sorts of logic to support any argument. The only thing we know for certain is mask wearing is being made mandatory as an after thought.

First week of mask recommendations and we have a problem in supermarkets with cluster being reported by Dr Glynn

Logic me that. !!

Read the masks thread. The logic and reasoning of wearing a mask has been explained a million times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Niall Boylan on his show now talking some sense ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,760 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

I imagine MM will be calling a press conference this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

https://english.elpais.com/society/2020-08-07/coronavirus-crisis-in-spain-up-to-580-outbreaks-with-6900-related-cases.html
    Despite the rise in new cases, Simón explained that the current situation is far from what it was in the beginning of March. Although Spain is recording a similar number of cases, at that point only 10% of detected cases were asymptomatic; now the average is 50%. This may be because the Spanish healthcare system is less overwhelmed, meaning it can detect infections that used to stay under the radar. It also means that asymptomatic cases are now aware of their condition and can self-isolate to avoid spreading the disease – something that did not happen in March when only people with clear coronavirus symptoms were being tested.

“Now we are detecting 60 to 70% of all infections; during the peak, we were detecting less than 10%,” said Simón. “Our objective this summer is to reach September with the lowest community transmission possible.”

This seems to be what’s happening here too. A vast majority of the Timahoe infections were asymptomatic according to the company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

I’d say it’ll be an advisory for people in the 3 counties to limit their movements except for essential reasons and work. If cases continue to rise, they may well see restrictions on how far they can travel etc.
    I’ve noticed that mask wearing is rising but unfortunately hand sanitisation is declining. I’ve seen lots of people get into their cars, whip off their masks and fail to sanitise their hands and drive away. Masks are great, but hand sanitisation is so important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

I don't believe you.

I know lots of people. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

This seems to be what’s happening here too. A vast majority of the Timahoe infections were asymptomatic according to the company.

It must be. A lot of countries seeing spikes in cases are not translating to deaths in the same manner as previously. It’s important to look at number of tests in March and now, along with positivity rate, but also along with testing strategy. Broad nursing home testing can lower the rate overall, whereas targeted testing in outbreaks will raise the rate.

It’s very difficult to get a clear picture of where we are without multiple considerations and variables.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Logic me that. !!
    screamer wrote: »
    I’ve noticed that mask wearing is rising but unfortunately hand sanitisation is declining. I’ve seen lots of people get into their cars, whip off their masks and fail to sanitise their hands and drive away. Masks are great, but hand sanitisation is so important.

I personally don't doubt that masks, since they have become prevalent, have become an alternative for many in sanitising their hands. And badly worn masks are far more common than some suggest, the amount of people I've seen in the last week with them being lifted up, down, and half way depending on what people are doing. People are washing the disposable ones and some people are re-using the same masks for days just to cover off the mandatory requirement. I'd say plenty of masks are absolutely manky. I don't know if this results in increased infections, but it is unfortunate that cases are increasing since masks became more common. Not saying there is a link!

I may have identified a problem in Kildare.
    Fianna Fáil TD for Kildare North James Lawless has spoken with the Health Minister about opening a testing centre in Kildare.

"I explained to Minister Donnelly that currently there is no testing centre in Kildare. I am aware of one family who had to travel to a testing facility at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin, and others who were invited for testing but did not travel due to difficulties in getting to the stadium."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,891 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

People are washing the disposable ones and some people are re-using the same masks for days just to cover off the mandatory requirement.

How do you 'know' this about anyone outside your own household?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,674 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

I may have identified a problem in Kildare.

I thought every county was meant to have a testing centre :confused: