Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Sinn Féin anti-Catholic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Truthvader wrote: »
    Think it is mistake to ascribe any particular political philosophy to Sinn Fein over and above a threadbare populism. Yesterday "anti water charge", day before yesterday "Brits out" today "housing" tomorrow "healthcare" next week?? "Kill the Jews?" who knows. No coherent policy or belief system over and above getting power.

Yeah, fair point it could easily have been bin charges instead over looking for fair treatment for nationalist communities. Sure if the charge for plastic bags had come into the shops in the 40's we might have never had the conflict/troubles :rolleyes:

FYI: the public en masse were anti-water charge. Youse can't put it on Murphy or then SF depending on which argument you are trying to lose that day.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭maccored

splinter65 wrote: »
    Are you saying that only communist countries have access to health and education???!!! Sorry am I missing something here? Where does the bloody money come from that pays for the health and education you enjoy now??

are you saying you have no idea of the many levels of socialism?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Bowie wrote: »
    Yeah, fair point it could easily have been bin charges instead over looking for fair treatment for nationalist communities. Sure if the charge for plastic bags had come into the shops in the 40's we might have never had the conflict/troubles :rolleyes:

FYI: the public en masse were anti-water charge. Youse can't put it on Murphy or then SF depending on which argument you are trying to lose that day.

No, not accepting that. The people looking for fair treatment for nationalist communities were Gerry Fitt, Austin Currie, John Hume, Bernadette Devlin etc . Others took advantage of the unfairness to pursue power for themselves by a campaign of murder and street thuggery which they kept up for 30 years until they got what they wanted.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Very good of you.
    You'll need pick socialism or Communism to be upset about chief.

No.
    The people who pay taxes.

Yes. Do the Jewish kids like seeing Jesus on the cross and the Protestants hear how wrong their beliefs are?

“The people who pay taxes”. Exactly. Capitalism. The only thing that actually works.
    The Jewish kids see Jesus on a cross all over Ireland and all over the world in fact. Where did you get the impression that you were entitled to live in a world where you would never see anything that would offend you??

No, not accepting that. The people looking for fair treatment for nationalist communities were Gerry Fitt, Austin Currie, John Hume, Bernadette Devlin etc . Others took advantage of the unfairness to pursue power for themselves by a campaign of murder and street thuggery which they kept up for 30 years until they got what they wanted.

Absolutely.

in your fairyland head maybe. did you forget the brits tried to kill Bernadette Devlin? Its not as lovelydovey 'oh but them terrorists ruined it' as you think

maccored wrote: »
    are you saying you have no idea of the many levels of socialism?

Of course I have. But Mary Lou wants the best old fashioned type of socialism, communism. Venezuela is a great example for instance.

you havent the slightest notion

In your opinion.
    I'm sure the hunger strikers were only looking for 'likes' and retweets.

“The people who pay taxes”. Exactly. Capitalism. The only thing that actually works.
    The Jewish kids see Jesus on a cross all over Ireland and all over the world in fact. Where did you get the impression that you were entitled to live in a world where you would never see anything that would offend you??

Capitalism alone would have you paying taxes and a separate school charge, with schools run by private conglomerates.

You're entitled to go to school without conditions. Kids should be able to go to a school free of pixies and fairy dust. It's not like missions were they'll feed a starving family if they come to bible class.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Well, where do I start. It’s hard to find any redeeming features. Such an odious character. And so dishonest too. She had a narrow escape there after the last general election. If she’d been foolish enough to field another few candidates she’d have had to go into power and her promises to the vulnerable gullible voters she reaches out too of riches for all would soon have been exposed as the absolute nonsense that they are.
    The leader of a party that have lost ...how many TDs and councillors now due to the bullying that she flatly denies goes on?

*snicker
    The usual "shinner denial" nonsense

They've grown slowly but consistently with the result that they're now the main opposition.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,452 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

SF don’t want “equality”. SF want “socialism” which is a different thing altogether.
    What it means,in every single solitary country where it’s ever been tried, that lots of people end up dead , and yes, there’s equality, everyone is equally miserable equally hungry and equally poor, except for the ones in charge, who are now more “equal” then everyone else.

Which countries where it was tried didn't have all those problems on a worse scale before Socialism ? I'm not saying it fixed any countries and am not advocating for any of those regimes but most of them were brutal, downtrodden and even more unequal before Socialism

• Registered Users Posts: 24,452 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The Humes were daily communicants. This funeral would have been a chiefly religious experience for Mrs Hume at least, not an opportunity for people to make political statements.
    But I wouldn’t expect someone like you to understand something like that because it’s outside of your comprehension, clearly.
    Mary Lou is a particularly aggressive advocate for social “changes” which wouldn’t match the ideals upheld by the Humes. To see her waddling in to the church she clearly despises taking up a place that could be allocated to someone who deserves to be at the funeral just so she can get her face in to the event of the day would be stomach churning.
    But once again, I don’t expect you to understand that.
    First you’d have to grasp that a funeral mass is a RC sacrament, not a rally. Too much for you I think.

Sorry but you are making some very big assumptions as to what the Humes would like for the funeral or about what kind of experience it will be for Ms Hume. Do you know them ? Did Ms Hume tell you it would be a mostly religious experience?
    How do you know John Hume was against the "social changes" (I am guessing you mean abortion, secular education and gay marriage) did he ever campaign against them or speak publicly about them ?

you havent the slightest notion

Ok. Tell me what type of socialism SF are espousing.

breezy1985 wrote: »
    Sorry but you are making some very big assumptions as to what the Humes would like for the funeral or about what kind of experience it will be for Ms Hume. Do you know them ? Did Ms Hume tell you it would be a mostly religious experience?
    How do you know John Hume was against the "social changes" (I am guessing you mean abortion, secular education and gay marriage) did he ever campaign against them or speak publicly about them ?

The Humes are known to me. Mrs Hume got the funeral for her husband today that she wanted and that he would have wanted.

In your opinion.
    I'm sure the hunger strikers were only looking for 'likes' and retweets.

The hunger strikers were sacrificed by Gerry Adams as much as any of the other victims of his campaign - save that delusional as they were they had some choice.

Not one of them over 27. They should have lived their lives and had their loves and children rather than being sucked into a futile and useless sacrifice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭John Hutton

Joe McDonnell and Martin Hudson were older than 27

The hunger strikers were sacrificed by Gerry Adams as much as any of the other victims of his campaign - save that delusional as they were they had some choice.

Not one of them over 27. They should have lived their lives and had their loves and children rather than being sucked into a futile and useless sacrifice

In your opinion.
    Switching tac now. From not being genuine to those that were were fooled.
    The achieved a lot for nationalists.

In your opinion.
    Switching tac now. From not being genuine to those that were were fooled.
    The achieved a lot for nationalists.

Indeed "in my opinion".

What did they achieve that was worth the life of one of them?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Indeed "in my opinion".

What did they achieve that was worth the life of one of them?

Out of their five demands they got four, afaik. There was also a wave of support for the struggle generally, and in parlimentary elections.

Much better conditions for those young lads locked up.in long kesh

What was going on in there,remains a permenant stain on british conscience,lads dying in mid 20s of pneumonia,some of injuries etc "picked up" by inmates in there were horrendous

It was a reason,why even moderate nationlists,wouldnt help.the ruc......as to play any part in having people locked up in there,would make them complicit in torture

Really?

Did a quick Google search but can't find any record of torture allegations here. Here's a wikipedia link. Looks as if any poor conditions were self inflicted to me.

In contrast there is a a huge recorded history of IRA torture - mostly of their own people

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HM_Prison_Maze

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

in your fairyland head maybe. did you forget the brits tried to kill Bernadette Devlin? Its not as lovelydovey 'oh but them terrorists ruined it' as you think

The Truthevader has a hard on for the RUC, pay no heed

Nope, not true but usual name calling as expected

Really?

Did a quick Google search but can't find any record of torture allegations here. Here's a wikipedia link. Looks as if any poor conditions were self inflicted to me.

In contrast there is a a huge recorded history of IRA torture - mostly of their own people

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HM_Prison_Maze

hahahahahahahahahaha - heres a wikipedia link!!

a 'quick google search' isnt good enough. jaysus but the things you post are hilarious

Ok. Tell me what type of socialism SF are espousing.

not communism. SF grew in a society were people were being treated like ****, and as a party they developed to help people in whatever way they could in their limited ability.

They've grown a lot since and im sure in another 20 years they'll have dumped any level of socialism they have, but the 'socialism SF are espousing' is giving a **** about people and realising people are more important than solely supporting big business and ignoring people - like FF/FG choose to do.

Social-ism ... isnt hard to figure out what it means.

not communism. SF grew in a society were people were being treated like ****, and as a party they developed to help people in whatever way they could in their limited ability.

They've grown a lot since and im sure in another 20 years they'll have dumped any level of socialism they have, but the 'socialism SF are espousing' is giving a **** about people and realising people are more important than solely supporting big business and ignoring people - like FF/FG choose to do.

Social-ism ... isnt hard to figure out what it means.

Well whatever it means it doesn't mean braking the legs of 14 year old boys or murdering Guards.

Giving a **** about people. FFS

hahahahahahahahahaha - heres a wikipedia link!!

a 'quick google search' isnt good enough. jaysus but the things you post are hilarious

Ho ho ho. Why dont you try a google search for "Sinn Fein punishment beatings". Hilarious. NOT

I can't find a one. Are you thinking of the beating SF gave FG in the election?

sf do punishment beatings now? SF, the political party. do punishment beatings. WTF are you on (about)?

Well whatever it means it doesn't mean braking the legs of 14 year old boys or murdering Guards.

Giving a **** about people. FFS

SF - again you claim - do these things. Please - do enlighten me with some wikipedia links. then again, we know your track record failing to prove the IRA had anything to do with the NI bank robbery, outside of hearsay - so I wouldnt expect much even if you did actually try and back up your claims. You never can.