Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,280 ✭✭✭giveitholly

GazzaL wrote: »
    I heard about a fella wearing one of those plastic face shields which fogged up, resulting in him not being able to see, falling and injuring himself, and a nice trip to hospital.

Next there will probably be some story of someone wearing it while driving and it causing a crash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

I heard about a fella wearing one of those plastic face shields which fogged up, resulting in him not being able to see, falling and injuring himself, and a nice trip to hospital.

I heard he was scrolling down through boards on his phone at the same time

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

What is manifest brain damage anyway ?

I've heard it manifest itself by some people finding their hands involuntarily twitching while attempting to close curtains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

I've heard it manifest itself by some people finding their hands involuntarily twitching while attempting to close curtains.

It can also cause you to spill your sugar as you coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

I heard he was scrolling down through boards on his phone at the same time

He could've been a pro-mask sort, and his mask fogged up from furious heavy breathing while reading my critique.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

GooglePlus wrote: »
    It can also cause you to spill your sugar as you coat.

Haha good one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,626 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I thought i’d post something a little positive due to the miserable auld weather outside, also which i’m personally delighted about.

A man i know 85 years old, a few ailments, heart and some lung issues contracted Covid 19 while in hospital having a procedure.

He was lucky to only have a slight temp, bit of a cough and “ didn’t feel right”. He made a full recovery. That was last March and he told me today he feels good with no after effects.

It’s not always a death sentence for the vulnerable. He told me the doctors had passed comment that people on blood thinners were less likely to get seriously ill. I have no way of backing that up but found it an interesting comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Micky 32 wrote: »
    he told me today he feels good with no after effects.

That's great :) Never mind Covid... Feeling good with no after effects having lived for 85 years is rare and groovy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭little bess

NPHET saying community transmission is stable and Donnelly coming out and saying the opposite :confused: Jokeshop.

Yes, ‘the proportion appears to be stable’. They need to be clear about this, does it mean the proportional percentage is stable, which Donnelly alluded to last night.

If that’s the case the community numbers are growing.

The danger with these growing clusters is the possibility of ripples and leakages into the community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Jaysus, you must have been there for a long time to watch all this. Dolled up to the 9's is bad enough but not eating their food - do they not realise that it is the food that was protecting them against Covid :eek:
    And then the hammer blow - they were in late 20s/early 30s - how dare they :P

This kind of carry on? Drink feck girls! Anecdotal from "not much of a pub goer" and isn't representative of the vast majority of normal people having a bite to eat and having a few jars. You don't expect the Vintners Federation to come out and say "we'll be putting a stop to young wans talking to people at the next table and dressing up" do you :)

Well service was slow and they were in our field of vision and within earshot for over two and a half hours, at times we had to stop our conversation as they were making such a racket but how dare I complain, the women were plastered but they were enjoying themselves so fúck everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,905 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Moral of the story: Wear a proper mask, those visors are much less effective at inhibiting spread of the virus anyway

Seamai wrote: »
    Well service was slow and they were in our field of vision and within earshot for over two and a half hours, at times we had to stop our conversation as they were making such a racket but how dare I complain, the women were plastered but they were enjoying themselves so fúck everyone else.

Pubs can be loud. People drink. STOP THE PRESS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Yes, ‘the proportion appears to be stable’. They need to be clear about this, does it mean the proportional percentage is stable, which Donnelly alluded to last night.

The danger with these growing clusters is the possibility of ripples and leakages into the community.
    If Glynn can't do quite the right language Donnelly is a sledgehammer. It's about the schools. Community cases growing is a relative term as they are tiny numbers. Glynn is trying to head off that complacency that other countries have seen by being "concerned".

Community transmitted cases are remaining at around 30% of the overall cases coming in, which are increasing overall, so community transmitted cases are increasing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

NPHET saying community transmission is stable and Donnelly coming out and saying the opposite :confused: Jokeshop.

By my count and you can correct me if wrong. Last 7 days

Community transmission 44 cases

Clusters or associated with those outbreaks 238.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Pubs can be loud. People drink. STOP THE PRESS!!!

This was a restaurant, not a bar serving food. Some of the customers were only interested in getting very drunk and indulging in the same sort of behaviour that the powers that be deem to be risky in bars and have pushed their opening out further yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

He's already showing himself to be utterly spineless after years of criticising the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

Posted on Stephen Donnellys Facebook page

I know the decision not to move to Phase 4 is extremely disappointing.
    The Government’s focus is on keeping the public safe, suppressing the virus and making sure we can open the schools and protecting the economy.
    What the Government did yesterday was follow the public health advice.
    I met the Chief Medical Officer directly after the NPHET meeting, and the message conveyed to me and the Government was that NPHET were unanimous and unambiguous on the fact that we are very finely balanced at the moment.
    Reopening pubs or increasing large gatherings - or other measures which in other countries we have seen increase the rate of the virus - could have very, very serious consequences in Ireland.
    To put it into context the virus is spreading internationally, 14 of the 15 countries initially on the travel green list have seen serious increases in coronavirus numbers in just the past two weeks.
    The five day average here was down to less than 10 new cases a day, that’s now more than 50 new cases a day.
    Two weeks ago we had 120 new cases, last week we had 284 which is two and a half times more.
    At the moment we have eight significant clusters four in factories involving food processing, four in direct provision, we have numerous smaller clusters around the country as well and we have an increase in what is known as community transmission.
    These are cases where people pick up the disease but it’s unknown where they got it from.
    We’ve been asked about the possibility of localised openings of pubs but at the moment the public health advice is not to do that.
    There are a few reasons for that including the fact the community transmission cases are happening all over the country so it’s not that they are all in Dublin or all in Cork.
    Secondly, the international evidence is that when pubs are reopened that in spite of everyone’s best efforts it does lead to an increase in cases.
    In the future the regional relaxation of restrictions may be something we will look at.
    It’s worth noting the biggest package of social protection and job stimulus measures in the history of the country are in place right now.
    The VAT rate has been reduced, the Pandemic Unemployment Payment has been extended until April, there are restart grants, there’s a commercial rates waver, there are micro enterprise loans and on top of that the two Finance Ministers have been tasked with looking at further ways of helping the sector.
    Even with all these supports in place I understand the pubs frustration and anger but the focus is not on whether or not we reopen pubs but the focus is and has to be on protecting the country and suppressing the virus.

Shin

wadacrack wrote: »

Another region seeing a rise after a lockdown ease.

I guess they don't have whatever we have up our sleeve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Cash, it's exchanged frequently every day, Covid doesn't seem.to be attracted to it. :confused:

Oh is that why there is a global shortage of cash and many retailers reluctant to deal with it and an increase in contactless payment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,766 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

shinzon wrote: »
    Posted on Stephen Donnellys Facebook page

Shin
    Fair enough if they're popping up 'all over the country' but why did the CMO come out two days ago and name the 4 counties where they've seen community transmission? Either name none or name them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,766 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Richard Chambers on Twitter saying suspected cases in hospital are rising...... because hospitals are busier, Richard. Jesus Christ, the ineptitude. Every single person who walks into hospital is a suspected case. I know someone who has been in 4 times over the past 2 weeks and has been tested every single time. Is the media ignorant on purpose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

GooglePlus wrote: »
    Another region seeing a rise after a lockdown ease.

I guess they don't have whatever we have up our sleeve.

Its a cluster in a pub I think. Someone went to the pub awaiting their test reults

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

So to be clear: you heard a story about a guy whose plastic visor was bombarded with so much vapor from his own breath that it caused impaired vision to the point he injured himself?

I’m going to assume he wasn’t also wearing a face mask then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,559 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I heard the Benny Hill soundtrack was playing in the background.

wadacrack wrote: »
    Its a cluster in a pub I think. Someone went to the pub awaiting their test reults

What a c*nt.

At least we're not mad on the drink like that lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,212 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

I heard some people are making up ridiculous stories about face coverings to try and support their flawed stance on the issue.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,225 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Richard Chambers on Twitter saying suspected cases in hospital are rising...... because hospitals are busier, Richard. Jesus Christ, the ineptitude. Every single person who walks into hospital is a suspected case. I know someone who has been in 4 times over the past 2 weeks and has been tested every single time. Is the media ignorant on purpose?

I really don't think everyone who attends a hospital is a suspected case. The figure the other day was less than 100. Surely, there are more than 100 people being admitted to hospitals across the whole country in a day. They might be testing everyone who is admitted to hospital but I don't think they are all counted as suspected cases. Suspected cases might be counted as people showing symptoms or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭seanb85

I really don't think everyone who attends a hospital is a suspected case. The figure the other day was less than 100. Surely, there are more than 100 people being admitted to hospitals across the whole country in a day. They might be testing everyone who is admitted to hospital but I don't think they are all counted as suspected cases. Suspected cases might be counted as people showing symptoms or something.

You're right, they're not counting every admission as suspected Covid, just those displaying Covid symptoms. They are also not testing every hospital admission. There's about 15,000 hospital beds in Ireland, if every admission was counted as a suspect Covid case this would be 500 - 1000 every day.