Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

road_high wrote: »
    Aren’t you a wonderful virtue signaller? Won’t someone please think of the children

Oh give over with the personal jibes. I can see how we need to contain this and while I miss the pub I'd prefer the schools opened. No virtue signalling, just a different priority than yours, so discuss the topic and cut the extrapolating on character you know nothing about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Santy2015 wrote: »
    Okay I’ll post this again! This is what Professor Nolan said last nights. Donnelly said the opposite just a while ago. They’re making it up to suit their narrative and I really f**king hope they’re not listening to absolute f**kwits like Staines and Killeen. Possibly two of the biggest twats I’ll ever see or hear!!!
    https://twitter.com/president_mu/status/1290403171865681920?s=21

Maybe not that extreme but this in general is what I mean, why are they saying different things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

They said 2 days ago the community transmission cases are coming from 4 counties.
    https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1289895344612900865?s=20

Before anyone says, I'm not trying to sugarcoat, I'm trying to make sense of the ****e they're giving us.

The fact seems to be that we are seeing more cases of community transmission, whatever about ratios or where or where not they are turning up. Could be a canary in the coal mine situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,884 ✭✭✭✭road_high

lukas8888 wrote: »
    Claire Byrne dim, are you serious.

Yep. Very. Thick as two short planks. Anyone that would do some of the simpleton demos she did during lockdown and pass that as acceptable public debate tv is dim

Arghus wrote: »
    The fact seems to be that we are seeing more cases of community transmission, whatever about ratios or where or where not they are turning up. Could be a canary in the coal mine situation.

It's incredibly frustrating when Prof. Nolan comes out saying all is positive one day and then Donnelly comes and says the opposite. The public deserves a bit of transparency and not mixed signals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

froog wrote: »
    where did this latest narrative of "sure they're only clusters, it's grand" come from? these groups of people aren't in complete isolation from the wider community, we've been out of lockdown for a while now. they are visiting friends, going on holidays etc just like everyone else. bizarre take on things.

It’s the same argument as what we heard in April and may, that it’s only in nursing homes and hospitals, it’s not in the community. Clusters exist within the community and are more opportunities to spread. I do think people saying it’s ok do understand this though, but the fact that they’re being identified as clusters is somewhat positive given they’re being traced. Compare this to the USA where it’s just uncontrolled spread and very little tracing happening and we’re doing better.

However, others are looking at the potential this has to cause small amounts of untraced spread which can quickly build.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Also what's our positivity rate for testing these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,432 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Gruffalox wrote: »
    Bad and all as it is to have this pandemic and all the uncertainty into the future at least we are riding it out here in reasonable comfort. Imagine being in Beirut tonight. Or India. Or the favelas of Brazil. I really think we should maintain perspective.

Absolutely agree with this - of course everyone’s problems are their own but we should all be thanking our lucky stars that we don’t live in places like Lebanon or Yemen - these countries are on their knees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

It was 1.3% yesterday as we only tested 1997!! The mass testing a few weeks ago it was only 0.2%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Myramar

Community transmission cases are 1/3 or more less than average. Average is 31% of cases.

Ok. I don't have a dog in this fight at all but I am trying to figure out what
    youi are saying here and, this is what is what I think you are saying:

When we went into lockdown Community Transmission was 60-70%
    Say 66%

The Average Community Transmission rate for the entire preiod of the pandemic to date is 31%.

According to the stats you are using the rate fro the last few days was about 10% (20% for a couple of counties only)

Donnellty says it is 1 in 5 = 20% but he does not specify what period he is talking about.

10% is 1/3rd of 31%.

Have I got you right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

I think it’s gone from 0.3 to 1.7, but bear in mind the requirement now is symptoms or contact with a case. Just last week and the previous few weeks, the requirements were the same along with “working in a nursing home” which results in far more tests of those not usually eligible. It’s hard to get a clear picture of what’s happening out there. I’m sure the HSE know the positivity rate over the last few weeks excluding the mass testing. While it did probably uncover cases, it likely skewed our numbers as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,884 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Oh give over with the personal jibes. I can see how we need to contain this and while I miss the pub I'd prefer the schools opened. No virtue signalling, just a different priority than yours, so discuss the topic and cut the extrapolating on character you know nothing about.

Well unless they’re being educated in pubs then there’s no correlation.
    But it’s the latest in fashion angle the likes of you have bought into hook line and sinker. Emotive petty nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭little bess

Conjecture here of course, but perhaps they have a better understanding of the under investigation cases than we do, and that they may actually be community. Could explain why Donnelly is saying 20%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

AUDI20 wrote: »
    Unless your partner is also a Gardai good luck with that.

I would actually put a substantial bet on with you if you tried to go in this particular shop you’ll be shown the door lively without a mask.

Myramar wrote: »
    Ok. I don't have a dog in this fight at all but I am trying to ffigure out what
    youi are saying here and, this is what is whast I think you are saying:

When we went into lockdown Community Transmission was 60-70%
    Say 66%

The Average Community Transmission rate for the entire preiod of the pandemic to date is 31%.

According to the stats you are using the rate fro the last few days was about 10% (20% for a couple of counties only)

Donnellty says it is 1 in 5 = 20% but he does not specify what period he is talking about.

10% is 1/3rd of 31%.

Have I got you right?
    Yeah average for the whole thing is 31% of cases, based on the overall and also based on the modelling charts they show weekly. Assuming 20% is correct that's 1/3 less than average.

However, the figures we're being given over the past week show about a 8-10% community transmission rate, which is less than the 20% he's on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

No, no.. No they're not. Really. The mind Boggles at times.

So it's ok to ignore WHO guidelines, and touch your mask and face with dirty, contaminated hands?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭Onesea

froog wrote: »
    where did this latest narrative of "sure they're only clusters, it's grand" come from? these groups of people aren't in complete isolation from the wider community, we've been out of lockdown for a while now. they are visiting friends, going on holidays etc just like everyone else. bizarre take on things.

The narrative of calling them clusters is just as bizarre. It gives the public the idea the government knows where this virus is. In reality they know very little. They can't even communicate with each other and keep to the same story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

It's incredibly frustrating when Prof. Nolan comes out saying all is positive one day and then Donnelly comes and says the opposite. The public deserves a bit of transparency and not mixed signals.

I’m not sure I agree with your interpretation of his Tweet.

‘Not the week we wanted’ is hardly ‘all is positive’. The whole tweet is a statement of fact - bad week, but community transmission not increasing.

Bad and Potentially good, but certainly not all positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Personally I think people will not go and get tested. They see what’s happening with the economy and with people losing jobs, businesses closing down. It’s a worry and the other reason is the mixed messages coming from all angles! Not just the government.
    They want to country to move on. I’m against not getting tested I think your a prick if you don’t and have symptoms but you will have that cohort that won’t do it and we’ve heard about it already and it’ll just get worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Conjecture here of course, but perhaps they have a better understanding of the under investigation cases than we do, and that they may actually be community. Could explain why Donnelly is saying 20%.

That might be true

They need a consistent message and to be honest with the public though

Not a message changing every day

It seems to me that he actually is including the possibles + the confirmed in that percentage yes, kinda misleading because not all of the possibles will actually be confirmed

Benimar wrote: »
    I’m not sure I agree with your interpretation of his Tweet.

‘Not the week we wanted’ is hardly ‘all is positive’. The whole tweet is a statement of fact - bad week, but community transmission not increasing.

Bad and Potentially good, but certainly not all positive.
    I'm speaking about community transmission

road_high wrote: »
    Well unless they’re being educated in pubs then there’s no correlation.
    But it’s the latest in fashion angle the likes of you have bought into hook line and sinker. Emotive petty nonsense

The likes of me? Care to explain while keeping it civil?
    You haven't the foggiest idea of how I view this virus.

You know, forget it. Not with the bother. Sense will prevail I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

GazzaL wrote: »
    So it's ok to ignore WHO guidelines, and touch your mask and face with dirty, contaminated hands?

There is no scenario were wearing a mask will increase your chances of getting covid. Which is what your post claimed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I'm not saying the pubs should be open. I couldn't care less, personally. I just don't like how they think it's going to help schools when the school plan is literal mumbo-jumbo.

I suspect it's for optics. This way they have a chance of keeping numbers low enough to hopefully be able to open schools in September.

If they can open them but numbers go up in September and October and schools have to close again, they can say they tried, sure they even kept the pubs closed.

If they can't, they can say they tried, sure they even kept the pubs closed.

It's easier than actually trying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

The entire world is winging it.

GazzaL wrote: »
    By people putting on, fidgeting and adjusting their masks with contaminated hands. Not just COVID, but other illnesses too.

As opposed to touching their mask free faces with those same hands?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Myramar

Yeah average for the whole thing is 31% of cases, based on the overall and also based on the modelling charts they show weekly. Assuming 20% is correct that's 1/3 less than average.

However, the figures we're being given over the past week show about a 8-10% community transmission rate, which is less than the 20% he's on about.

Not arguing with you. Just want to understand why Donnelly is saying what he is saying.

Frankly I think they are basing their decision on what the see evolving in Europe which I think is a sensible thing to do. Our neighbours are talking about closing the pubs so they can open their schools.

The problem with the stats is that they tell you what is happening now - or more accurately what happened a week ago. They have to make decisions on what is likely to be the situation in a few weeks time if they go ahead with phase 4 and the experiences from elsewhere (plus the detail within the raw data that we cannot see) is telling them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Personally I think people will not go and get tested. They see what’s happening with the economy and with people losing jobs, businesses closing down. It’s a worry and the other reason is the mixed messages coming from all angles! Not just the government.
    They want to country to move on. I’m against not getting tested I think your a prick if you don’t and have symptoms but you will have that cohort that won’t do it and we’ve heard about it already and it’ll just get worse!

I have repeatedly been shouted down on here in the last few weeks by the #STAYTHE****HOME brigade because I said that the key messages about good hygiene and social distancing are being lost, partly because of all the mixed messages and noise about face masks, pubs and foreign travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I went to a pub during the week (outdoor table, table service only supposedly). A young fella, choking and spluttering, headed into the pub and came out with a pint.

Now maybe he just swallowed the wrong way, but people have no cop on and the pub was just as bad for serving him. It's the same for people going into work when they have "just a cough", or travelling on public transport with no mask, or not even attempting to social distance - if we don't take this seriously numbers will spike, and we will be closing things down. It doesn't take much to change behaviours - others (e.g. people working in non-food pubs) are having to make much bigger sacrifices.