Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,233 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

fritzelly wrote: »
    Malta, Cyprus, Gibraltar, Monaco, San Marino off the list
    No additions

How would anyone know if you've been to San Marino?
    The only way to get there is through italy

hynesie08 wrote: »
    It's not in my own special way, I'm openly saying **** your kids....... I'm also well able to have scoops and pay for a meal, because I don't have kids that I expect the rest of society to bend over backwards for....

It's quite incredible that you have managed to avoid or suppress a major element of the evolutionary advantages conferred by around 200,000 years of human existence, being a concern to safeguard the young of the species, edgemeister general that you are.

I mean, it's quite pronounced even in some very low functioning animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    I missed that

Why 4 weeks now?

The 3 weeks was from 10th August, not today, that was the date next phase was due to open. Not sure if that also means no review of green zone travel until then either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

I don't necessarily disagree with you, but I remain dubious on the issue with pubs opening with strict distancing measures being riskier than the ones currently serving food.[/QUOTE
    Seriously ???
    it will be a **** show - for the first 2 weeks alone it will be like Christmas and new years rolled into one.
    you have forgotten what people are like in pubs - all rules and sanity will go out the window. take that as verbatim.

not saying it will cause a huge spike, but if there is going to be a huge spike, it will be pubs and night clubs. like it was in Germany , south Korea and Australia............... but no, Ireland is special, we have more sense /s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭MOR316

"We are encouraging people to meet outside"
    "This virus thrives when people meet"

Good God :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Absolute fair play for putting education before opening of pubs . Education is so vital and of utmost importance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

It's not about charisma - it's a bit too serious for that.
    It most certainly is. MM is a nervous wreck and does not instill confidence. All I'm hearing is "ehhhh.. ooohhhhh.. ummmm.." Leo and Tony were well ahead of him in that regard.

And I wouldn't call one death in a week as serious. 6 people were killed on our roads in that time. Why is there no politician talking about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Tony spoke with an air of confidence and authority which Glynn simply doesn't have.
    Glynn is a good scientist and is doing his job very competently but Tony is a good political operator and far more comfortable with talking about the big picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Dexpat

If the current level of cases are deemed too much for pubs to re-open then the government should be upfront and say pubs will not be allowed to open for at least the next 6 months. Its not right to keep them hanging on week to week whe realistically the numbers won't fall low enough on the current criteria.

We are going to have to learn to live with it and its a very difficult call in relation to what level of restrictions to have. Too many posters here seem to be looking for restrictions in areas that won't affect them. Ultimately a few years down the road when we analyse it I suspect the disruption from the actions to contain the virus will end up being more costly than the virus itself. This will obviously be in terms of lost livelihoods, lost opportunities for young people but also in terms of premature deaths from missed cancers, suicides, increased economic deprivation etc.

There are no easy answers and I don't envy the policy makers making the decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

MOR316 wrote: »

I fully understand the reasoning behind what he said . If you must meet then meet outdoors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,172 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Everyone out of the bar/restaurant by 11pm
    Is that new or was it always the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

is_that_so wrote: »
    The 3 weeks to Aug 10 are not up so 3 more weeks plus this one.

Ah OK thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Jaysus Micheal Martin having a mare. Not equipped to deal with questions off the cuff.

Leo loving it id say

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I fully understand the reasoning behind what he said . If you must meet then meet outdoors

Yeah...

He said meet outdoors but, then went onto say the virus thrives when you meet outdoors.

fritzelly wrote: »
    Everyone out of the bar/restaurant by 11pm
    Is that new or was it always the case?

New

Meanwhile in Europe, Danes have stalled Phase 4 , German cases up, Greece highest cases in weeks and French on the verge of losing control again.

GDY151

Reporters tearing in to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,172 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Blanco100 wrote: »
    Jaysus Micheal Martin having a mare. Not equipped to deal with questions off the cuff.

Leo loving it id say

He just rambles when asked a question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

dj jarvis wrote: »
    you said and i quote "**** my kids" classy yea?
    As for kids and schools VS pubs.
    The kids wont be ****ing drunk gob****es , unsupervised and being all round knobs.

and finally the blame game, kids will do what is asked of them, unlike the ignorant stupid cvunts wandering around with no masks , holding house party's and just being total wanke4s , well its not the kids doing that is it?

Delighted you will have to wait for your pint, just for you i hope its longer the better - i can wait.

Jesus the language.....

The kids might not be unsupervised, but are you honestly saying that when 2 friends see each other in the schoolyard they're going to be socially distanced? Not play wrestling or power rangers or whatever the game is called where you basically just headlock each other? Are wet willy's still a thing? What about 6th class/first years swapping spit behind the bike shed?

Kids will do what's asked of them? Have you literally ever met a child? Won't have housepaerties? Did you see the photos of teenagers in Kilkeel at the weekend? Or the 50+ teens being marched out of a house? School isn't just 4-7 you know.

I did have to wait for my pint, the barmaid was checking the news and I had to wait nearly 7 minutes.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Absolute fair play for putting education before opening of pubs . Education is so vital and of utmost importance

You do know their plan for schools is effectively shoving 1.1 million people into cramped buildings.

"Shure twil be grand"

It would be nice if they were even being 10% as cautious about schools as they are being about phase 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

But I am already out of school :pac: What's in it for me ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Selective reading into that, the obvious implication being if you must meet do it outside.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

New

So they've increased restrictions

I assume any plague riddled person can still fly in from anywhere without any testing or effective enforcement of quarantine?

GDY151

Holidaying up North will become popular.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,530 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

MM keeps on scapegoating NPHET for government decisions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

is_that_so wrote: »
    Glynn is a good scientist and is doing his job very competently but Tony is a good political operator and far more comfortable with talking about the big picture.

Yes, I agree. I'm not disputing Glynn's competence at all but Tony is a better communicator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,684 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

hynsie08 / dj jarvis - take a break from this thread. No more posts for 24 hours from either of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

They really are not explaining the stadiums restrictions well

Load of BS about entrances and exits which could be controlled

Stheno wrote: »
    So they've increased restrictions

I assume any plague riddles person can still fly in from anywhere without any testing or effective enforcement of quarantine?
    Testing is coming says Donnelly but the numbers of travel related cases have fallen.

Overheal wrote: »
    Selective reading into that, the obvious implication being if you must meet do it outside.

"We encourage people to meet outdoors. But the virus thrives when you congregate outdoors"

That's not selective hearing/reading, that's exactly what he said