Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Is this phase four? And what seems to be different?

The poor schools, they get a brief from the department and then they must come up with their own plan, sounds crazy because they're teachers and not experts on diseases and viruses, also 30 plus kids in a smallish space. I agree schools should be opened but it seems so rushed
    The schools plan is hilariously bad. It's going to be chaos when they re-open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Stadiums should all have 10% capacity or 200 people whichever is the higher amount. Toilets and facilities will be well able to cope with those numbers while maintaining social distancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,782 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Rimmy wrote: »
    I don't get how pubs will spread the virus if they operate within in the 90 minute rule and table service.

I'm extremely surprised gyms are back open. There 1000 times worse than pubs.

Not sure how you come to that blanket conclusion. Gym I'm in has booked sessions and in the time between sessions, everything is cleaned down. You're not in close proximity to anyone else.

That said, I was in a pub 2 weeks ago and there was minimal risk there because everyone was seated and not in close proximity to anyone else.

500 inside a school -> Grand lads, work away

500 outside distanced at a match -> No way lads, no way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Mr rebel

It’s very depressing.
    Just 5/6 weeks ago there was a growing sense of optimism as the phases were being brought forward and for the first time in months it looked like the clouds were breaking, but now we are firmly stuck in a nightmare limbo again with no end in sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

El Sueño wrote: »
    If all those clusters in Kildare are from the one factory it should be shut down for a few months, the resulting loss in revenue should ensure that they cop on and implement proper protocols going forward.

Things aren't always that simple, chances are the factory invested a lot of money in the usual things like posters, hand-rub, face masks etc. but when it's an environment with working adults it becomes difficult. At some stage you just have to trust that adults will do the right thing and if they're not socially distancing (which clearly wasn't happening), you can't exactly go around and beat them with a whip or discipline them like children.

There's many multitude of companies who I'm sure have done the right thing in terms of making their workplaces "safe" and have said the right things to the HSA and HSE, but I'm sure if you were to go in on a random day, you would find the workers not giving a fiddlers and not following guidelines.

It's a difficult thing to police, and as has been mentioned before if some employees have no choice but to carpool to work every day, this is something else that the employer can't really control. Unfortunately their legal remit and responsibility only falls within the boundaries of when an employee is on the clock.

Now there has been no coverage of this in the media, as they have continued with the usual populist red Herrings that attract clicks, so nobody really knows what happened. If it transpires that a safe working environment was not being provided then that of course is a whole different matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭seanb85

I would have thought that for stadiums they could have gone with a 200 limit per stand, as long as each stand had it's own entrance/exit, toilet facilities and a normal capacity of 1500+ or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,545 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

500 inside a school -> Grand lads, work away

500 outside distanced at a match -> No way lads, no way
    schools aren't opening for 3 weeks

schools aren't opening for 2 weeks

I don't see what difference that makes to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,782 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

hynesie08 wrote: »
    But it has completely been painted ad A vs B, the only reason they're talking about not opening the pubs is that we can't have any barriers to opening schools, but yet they don't have the balls to make masks a legal requirement, or shut down non essential businesses for 3 weeks, or shut down ports and airports....... But no, we can't risk schools by opening pubs that aren't open because of an increase of clusters which aren't in pubs because....... They're not open.

It's ****ing moronic and the amount of parents who expect us to accept it is ridiculous, I don't give a **** about their kids......

Not sure where you're seeing pubs not reopening as being anything to do with schools. I'm just not seeing it so I have no idea why you've come to that conclusion.

Anything to support this idea of yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

dj jarvis wrote: »
    Sorry, but how can you compare loads of people pressing into a pub, locked and swinging out of each other to a school or a retail space? talking out your hole.
    They would be mad to open the pubs with the infections on the rise, and as for kids, hate to brake it you, but most parents want their kids to have an education and properly socialize with other children, not just to get rid of them.

But your happy for pubs to open and poss risk another large outbreak that will cripple the country economically and kill more old people?

Class act lad, class

And when there's a breakout because kids refuse to self distance or follow hygiene protocols? Keep pubs closed cause they were playing wrestling in the schoolyard? Close cafes because 3 kids shared a yoghurt?

You're happy for schools to reopen and pose risks of another large outbreak that will cripple the economy and kill more grandparents

Class act, kid, class act

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,402 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    No pubs, no GAA for a majority in clubs

This government is going to be very popular in rural Ireland

I'm expecting a Healy Rae lead revolt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,402 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    As one lad said over the weekend it doesn't affect Micheál Martin as Nemo dont have a crowd anyway

His start to being Taoiseach has been shocking

Mr. Burns is all about the schools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Outdoor gathering increase to 500 seemed almost a certainty. That's a bit of a suprise.
    So many journalists caught by a surprise. I don't see the sense in not allowing 500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Rimmy wrote: »
    I don't get how pubs will spread the virus if they operate within in the 90 minute rule and table service.

I'm extremely surprised gyms are back open. There 1000 times worse than pubs.

if they open the pubs under stage 4 it will be no restrictions, IE back to normal.
    As they stand now with food and 90 minutes with good social distancing between tables, it appears that they are not spreading the virus.
    Under the current rules i am not aware of one pub having any clusters becasue they have been mostly well managed.
    Open as normal and all that goes out the window, and we all know it.

But yet you have gimps banging on "Bu wat abou th ebleeendin pub??" "your fault fer havn kids " and other ****e.

tough **** lads - suck it up, kids going back is much much more important than you propping up a bar.

All this being said, maybe the government should target pubs and hotels with extra help and funds becasue they are being so badly hit.

Hate to say it, but if it keeps going the way its going, it might be after Christmas before they open fully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Unless a miracle happens FF look out of government for a long time, most likely a Sinn Fein government for a few terms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Coyote

from April 3-30 we had over a 100 cases per million, it might have been much higher but also includes the lag of cases tested in Germany

at the lowest Jun 26 we were at 1.3 cases per million

from Jun 20 to July 10 we had around 2.3 cases per million

two weeks ago we had about 4 cases per million

we currently have 9 cases per million

that a 4 fold increase in 30 days

in 30 days at that rate we would have 36 case per million

30 days after that at the same growth we would have 144 per million or the same as the height of April

every thing we do today takes 14 days to be seen in the numbers reported.
    Deaths will take an extra 7-20 days
    most people who are high risk will take less risk so deaths will be less and as we have seen younger people are taking the most risk but less lightly to be very badly affected (ie: die)

every country in the EU has numbers that are climbing as they open up if we get back to 100 case per million we might end up in lock down all over again

522085.PNG

Have a look at the numbers yourself
    https://corona.njoyard.fr/?r=IE&ya=true&yc=true&yl=true&yr=true

Coyote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Not sure where you're seeing pubs not reopening as being anything to do with schools. I'm just not seeing it so I have no idea why you've come to that conclusion.

https://mobile.twitter.com/newschambers/status/1290670190112518144

Literally Varadker saying we're sacrificing pubs for schools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

It's all starting to fall apart since meehole took over.... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,173 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Briefing on now (with terrible sound)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Unless a miracle happens FF look out of government for a long time, most likely a Sinn Fein government for a few terms

Are SF (or any of the opposition parties) calling for things to be opened up quicker?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

I think it has certainly been implied though over last few days no?
    Even today:

Tanaiste Leo Varadkar has suggested that NPHET will take a "very cautious" approach to reopening pubs next Monday.Following a meeting with the Acting CMO, Varadkar said government will take a very cautious approach over the next couple of weeks which will come as a further blow to some of the sectors that have not been reopened.

But the Tanaiste said they can’t risk moving backwards or risk the schools not reopening.

Mr Varadkar said: "We had a meeting with the CMO now and we will have a meeting with the Cabinet next and a decision will be made at that Cabinet and announced afterwards.

"We want to do nothing that jeopardises the opening of schools and colleges in the coming weeks.

GDY151

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I'm expecting a Healy Rae lead revolt

They should dump full kegs of Guinness on to the road outside the Dail in protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

hynesie08 wrote: »
    https://mobile.twitter.com/newschambers/status/1290670190112518144

Literally Varadker saying we're sacrificing pubs for schools

proper order - anyone who does not understand why is a gimp.
    Kids education VS your pint ???

does it really need to be said to you?
    The way its going it will be after Christmas before they can open fully.

GDY151

3 more weeks at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Unlike Cabinet to do something intentionally that might make them look bad, they'd usually hide behind another body and let them give the bad news.

They know right well how things are going to go and probably see this looking like the right decision when it's looked back on in a few weeks.

Confirming what we known - everything to be reviewed again in 3 weeks

Masks mandatory in shops from Monday

GDY151

Is any ppe mandatory in meat factories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

They should dump full kegs of Guinness on to the road outside the Dail in protest.

Only if a time is given.