Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

No: I don't care enough
    GT89 wrote: »
    Well I wasn't breaking any law or company rules so I was in the right. Facts>Feels

Appeal to authority fallacy to dismiss your own personal responsibility to public health and safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

gmisk wrote: »
    The fact you use the term muzzle up...ffs.

You don't think it might more have something to do with people moving about, places opening up again, restrictions lifting and a lot of people heading back to work? No?

1) opening up at the current scale has been happening for just over a month now and the numbers have remained extremely low. This despite no masks being required for half of this time and at no time before it

2) Masks have been mandatory for almost 2 weeks. Despite many more wearing them the numbers have increased anyway. Conclusion : some of them may be effective but the majority are little more than a placebo

Let's not forget that...

A) Infections and deaths were unfortunately inevitable. Despite no masks, we still managed to "flatten the curve" anyway. Despite more people moving around the numbers have stayed low. A global pandemic causing less than 2000 deaths after 5/6 months (many of whom had serious underlying issues as already) is actually very low when some perspective is applied - especially when talk of 50000 deaths was suggested in March

B) Today's figures are one day's results. If it becomes a trend over the coming days maybe it's time to be concerned

C) the only thing masks have really done is allow those who previously criticised anyone who didn't STAY HOME to attack them for not MASKing UP. It's exposed a very ugly and unpleasant side to some people, and the result of the constant statistics, negative reporting and (over) analysis, and fear mongering on the part of the Irish media.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

No: I will wait for the HSE to recommend
    Overheal wrote: »
    Appeal to authority fallacy to dismiss your own personal responsibility to public health and safety.

I'd also like to point out that the Karen didn't exactly keep 2m distance from me when she confronted me. If she was that scared of the virus she wouldn't have confronted me and come so close putting herself at risk. I've worked throughout the height of lockdown as a frontline essiential worker so I think I've done my part.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

I've worked throughout the height of lockdown as a frontline essiential worker so I think I've done my part.

I'm not convinced coronavirus will take your contributions into account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭McGiver

8 people in hospital in the whole country. The illness is mild if you are under 65 and in half decent health.

If people want to wear masks, well for them.

Should it be mandatory? Absolutely not

That's what they thought in Czechia and Austria back in June. They've reintroduced masks since then because of outbreaks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

Graham wrote: »
    I'm not convinced coronavirus will take your contributions into account.

Oh how many times have heard that line being trouted. I've throughout the plandemic without getting the virus. I think I will be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Oh how many times have heard that line being trouted. I've throughout the plandemic without getting the virus. I think I will be fine

I mean so did Herman Cain.. Dead 40 days after his most likely date of infection. Louie Gohmert was in the US Capitol earlier this week acting as an asymptomatic carrier. As a retail worker your contact trace is direct to 100s of people, potentially 1000s between the time you become infected and the time you become aware of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Yes: valved
    Zardoz wrote: »
    This chap on Primetime just now :rolleyes:

EeM_Fh5WoAAtb_B?format=jpg&name=900x900

That mask is the one you pull up over your nose and under your chin. Seen an idiot wearing the other type of face covering, the ones that fit exactly over your nose and mouth, he was wearing it under his nose. Why bother?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Overheal wrote: »
    Costco handles it great. It's as simple as don't ring up the pint of milk. After the examples are made, the Karens will diminish.

It can be done.

My local Costco has had the staff fully masked up since before the lockdown in March and was restricting entry numbers from that point as well. They have required people to be wearing masks since before the mask rules came in as well, think the only time I was in there without a mask was during the toilet roll shortage phase.

The number of people they let in at once has increased a bit recently, but it's by far the quickest and safest shopping experience around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭Sconsey

No: other
    _Kaiser_ wrote: »
    1) opening up at the current scale has been happening for just over a month now and the numbers have remained extremely low. This despite no masks being required for half of this time and at no time before it

2) Masks have been mandatory for almost 2 weeks. Despite many more wearing them the numbers have increased anyway. Conclusion : some of them may be effective but the majority are little more than a placebo

2) You are able to conclute that masks a generally not effective based on your observations. While multiple scientific investigations conclude that they are effective.

Do you have any published papers to back up your conclusion, maybe you could let us know your qualifications? Because otherwise your conclusion does not really stand up to scrutiny.

I think I will continue to listen to the experts as opposed to some random conclusion more likely based on feeling than fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭timetogo1

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

2) Masks have been mandatory for almost only 2 weeks. Despite many more wearing them and many not bothering the numbers have increased anyway. Jumping to Conclusion : some of them may be effective but the majority are little more than a placebo

Let's not forget that...

A) Infections and deaths were unfortunately inevitable. Despite no masks and shutting down most of the country, causing hardship for thousands of people, we still managed to "flatten the curve" anyway. Despite more people moving around the numbers have stayed low . A global pandemic causing less than 2000 deaths after 5/6 months (many of whom had serious underlying issues as already) is actually very low when some perspective is applied - especially when talk of 50000 deaths was suggested in March if we did nothing

B) Today's figures are one day's results. If it becomes a trend over the coming days maybe it's time to be concerned

C) in my opinion the only thing masks have really done is allow those who previously criticised anyone who didn't STAY HOME to attack them for not MASKing UP even though this barely happened, if at all. It's exposed a very ugly and unpleasant side to some ignorant people both pro and anti mask, and the result of the constant statistics (as if this is a bad thing), negative reporting (like, lets get the positive spin going) and (over) analysis, and fear mongering on the part of the Irish media plus, you know, the actual numbers of the people who died or were severely impacted by having the virus.

Added a few updates to your post to make it a bit more accurate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Yes: surgical
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/europe/netherlands-covid-19-death-toll-may-be-up-to-100-higher-says-statistics-office-1.4317977

The Netherlands doing the plonker on it still even as they discover that their deaths are probably over 10000 and 100% higher than reported. The Dutch people I know are all like the most stubborn "be grand"-ers on here. there's no talking to them. They did an "intelligent lockdown" as lenient as Sweden's as well as pushing an anti-mask agenda (believing that promoting social distancing was more important). The knock-on is that it's impossible to get them to reverse their opinion on the thing they were previously taught to believe.

SOUND FAMILIAR?

This whole thing just reminds me how idiotic it is not to state that they will be recommended for all staff and students who can wear them in schools. If you don't send the message consistently, it's a lot more difficult to reverse direction on it. But I suppose how could we possibly have predicted that masks would be mandatory in public places at the beginning of this!

I (and anyone else who was paying the slightest bit of attention) had a fair idea they would be... just saying.

This is something for the anti-maskers, but they'll probably find an excuse not to use it either.

https://usedaly.com/products/face-covering-inner-support-frame?fbclid=IwAR3D4u8P2N2365fyWWfNssAM5MiNHH-UF13G29zl8kGzygo1yzGCClwhDF8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭Tork

Yes: to protect others
    Of course they won't. They're still being potentially muzzled by the maskzis, their rights infringed and it'll all be grand. It's not in their community so what's the hysteria? Have I got it right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

To all the folks who are so dead sure about their mask conclusion and how it's 'not rocket science' etc. The same was said with the same conviction about smear/surface transmission and how we're all killing grannies by wanting to go to the beach or driving beyond 2km in April.

I'm not anti mask but I'm taking the current public craze for them with a pinch of salt.especially with all the to-ing and fro-ing on them and the still divided expert opinion. Not to mention the non existing spread in shops & supermarkets throughout the height of our community transmission. Its hard to see how their advocates can be so 100% sure and almost ready to burn non-maskers at the stake in the light of that.

Masks may well be a factor in certain scenarios but just because the herd opinion says so right now doesn't make them the must-have silver bullet.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

s1ippy wrote: »
    The Netherlands doing the plonker on it still even as they discover that their deaths are probably over 10000 and 100 times higher than reported.

100% higher, not 100 times higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭timetogo1

To all the folks who are so dead sure about their mask conclusion and how it's 'not rocket science' etc. The same was said with the same conviction about smear/surface transmission and how we're all killing grannies by wanting to go to the beach or driving beyond 2km in April.

I'm not anti mask but I'm taking the current public craze for them with a pinch of salt.especially with all the to-ing and fro-ing on them and the still divided expert opinion. Not to mention the non existing spread in shops & supermarkets throughout the height of our community transmission. Its hard to see how their advocates can be so 100% sure and almost ready to burn non-maskers at the stake in the light of that.

Masks may well be a factor in certain scenarios but just because the herd opinion says so right now doesn't make them the must-have silver bullet.

I don't think anybody is saying that masks are a perfect solution (please correct me if I'm wrong there, I haven't observed it on this thread but you must have if you're saying it, I presume).
    They're one extra tool in the layers of defence.
    We're limiting interaction with other people, we're still staying 2m apart, business is still hugely curtailed in many areas, socialising is hugely curtailed, travel to foreign countries is restricted we're washing hands more and we're wearing masks.

None of these steps are 100% effective and each is probably only a small percentage useful. They all have some effectiveness to limit the spread. And there are plenty of people ignoring many or most of the above.

*I know some people have problems with some or many of the steps above, I'm generalising before somebody pedantic comes in to correct me about them seeing somebody not washing their hands, or standing too close to people or how they don't need masks for whatever reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭Sconsey

No: other

Feels like you are making up facts to suit your opinion.

the still divided expert opinion....what experts are saying they are ineffective?
    the non existing spread in shops & supermarkets...no-one knows the source of community transmissions, you have no idea if there was or was not spread in supermarkets.

And even at the end of all that, if what you are saying were true (which some of it definitely is not), would it be that big a deal if you just wore a mask anyway on the off chance that you might be helping others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,912 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Sconsey wrote: »
    would it be that big a deal if you just wore a mask anyway on the off chance that you might be helping others?

Exactly, I don't see the need for the big internal debate. If you decide the evidence indicates they might help even a small bit, surely the public-spirited thing to do in the middle of a pandemic is to wear one whenever you're in a public place, same as you (presumably) belt up whenever you're in a car without giving it a second thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 christin

Just thought I would share a link to these masks as they are very good and I found it difficult to get good quality masks here.

The company is german and they deliver masks to ireland, pure cotton:

https://jungfeld.com/eu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

This morning on the upper deck of a bus a young woman comes up wearing a mask. Seats about 3/4 in front of me, then immediately removes the mask and starts doing their make-up.

Makes you want to despair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

ShyMets wrote: »
    This morning on the upper deck of a bus a young woman comes up wearing a mask. Seats about 3/4 in front of me, then immediately removes the mask and starts doing their make-up.

We should be allowed to carry pepper spray to use it in situations like that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,912 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

See most of the crowd in the front rows at the snooker are not wearing masks, but there seems to be social distancing between the seats. I wonder what the protocol would be at something like that. Maybe people would be expected to wear them on the way in and out?

What does she think the mask is for exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,257 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Make up or no make up a lot of people take them off as soon as they sit down, I think most people are astute enough to know that if we didn't have to wear them in March, April and May why do we need them now but are just going along with it rather than be called a 'granny killer'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

What does she think the mask is for exactly?

Cover for her lipstick in case of rain :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

Make up or no make up a lot of people take them off as soon as they sit down, I think most people are astute enough to know that if we didn't have to wear them in March, April and May why do we need them now but are just going along with it rather than be called a 'granny killer'!

Yeah really astute, that. In March and April there was this little thing called a lockdown. You remember it, come on surely you do - only supermarkets and other essentials were open, hardly any cars on the roads, not allowed to go beyond a certain radius of your house, families not allowed to mix in their own homes, garda checkpoints etc etc etc....that's why the infection rate diminished. Now things are back open, crowds most places...er yeah a mask would be handy I would think. But sure these people are astute lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Shhhh man, smells like bs, I think you've posted this about million times already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

xhomelezz wrote: »
    Cover for her lipstick in case of rain :D

I've noticed with people the only thing that scares them is the weather - killer virus, ah worth the risk, bit of rain? Ooh can't get my hair wet (I say this for both men and women).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

With the terrifying situation developing in the north of England atm I urge everyone to step it up, think of the vulnerable, and start wearing goggles/ visors and gloves along with their masks.