Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

fr336 wrote: »
    UK goverment just announcing local lockdown in all of greater manchester and parts of yorkshire. England heading in bad direction i feel

So the people of Manchester cant go anywhere.

Except Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Thanks, been ages since I won something.

Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

Have they proven that those micro-doplets infected anyone?

*Legs it*

There was a good article posted here a while ago- showed a bus, an office and a restaurant, and where people were sitting and who got infected. I can’t seem to find it now but i recall the three tables in a row on the same air circulation “path” were mainly affected, and bus infected were everywhere (not within two metres). I presume this research supports the assumptions that it was travelling in the air / circulation systems in those cases.

Truly depressing stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

gmisk wrote: »
    Apparently they are not.

https://theconversation.com/explainer-whats-the-new-coronavirus-saliva-test-and-how-does-it-work-141877

Do you have a link that says the saliva tests are "just as accurate" as you put it?

As with everything Covid there are lots of conflicting evidence.

The vast majority of people on thread are quoting from articles they have read. None of us are experts. We are relying on reports in the media to a large extent on these matters.

https://news.wttw.com/2020/06/18/covid-19-saliva-test-accurate-swabs-uchicago-research-finds

https://medicalxpress.com/news/2020-05-video-saliva-accurate-covid-.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,420 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Santy2015 wrote: »
    Prime time outing pubs!!!!

Those restaurant licence pubs ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,461 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Prime time outing pubs!!!!

In the early segment which isn't about pubs I might add, they've completely skimmed over what the CMO said today regarding these cases being as a result of clusters and the tracing of said clusters.

Asking the question maybe they're part of cases the tracing system found.

He bloody answered that himself earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,888 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Beanybabog wrote: »
    There was a good article posted here a while ago- showed a bus, an office and a restaurant, and where people were sitting and who got infected. I can’t seem to find it now but i recall the three tables in a row on the same air circulation “path” were mainly affected, and bus infected were everywhere (not within two metres). I presume this research supports the assumptions that it was travelling in the air / circulation systems in those cases.

Truly depressing stuff

Think I saw that, was in China I seem to remember. You wouldn’t want to get your knickers in a twist about these things. Else you’ll never leave the front door. The media love that kind of sensational scenario recreation.
    You could be hit by a bus crossing f the street to get to the restaurant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

So, in my state, the governor has decided to move away from blanket closures and phases of reopening. Instead any establishment that isn't enforcing masking and social distancing rules will be shut down and this will be policed and enforced. People not wearing masks will be fined. I think this is a much better approach and can still be successful at suppressing the virus. better than crippling entire industries and putting a load of people out of work.

This virus is here to stay, we need to learn to function alongside it. Locking down at the first sign of an increase isn't the answer IMO. That was a one shot type thing and it didnt work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Have they proven that those micro-doplets infected anyone?

*Legs it*

We've moved beyond reasonable doubt.
    Peer reviewed and approved.
    Put simply the super spreading events could not be logically explained
    by solely droplets.

https://threadreaderapp.com/thread/1283668758884581377.html

No need to leg it. Just wear a mask in inclosed spaces with people where distance and ventilation can't be guaranteed.

Ireland is so windy it's easy to mitigate against this in most houses.
    Open a window on opposite sides of the house and feel the air changes.
    Much harder to do in places with little no wind.

I thinking out loud about schools etc. Might get chilly but reduces risk massively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Absolute disgraceful from Prime Time!! These businesses are on their knees!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

mandrake04 wrote: »
    I know you are trying be funny but your ignorance makes you look stupid, bubonic plague is a bacterial pathogen easily treated by antibiotics there’s a few thousand cases per year and maybe 100 deaths. You are more likely to die from an infected ingrown toe nail than Bubonic plague these days.

Stop taking it so seriously, I was basically jesting with trolling, just a bit of fun rather than misery porn. Lighten up.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,238 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

And it's Prime Time's fault?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

How many cats in today’s numbers?? My poor moggy is here petrified, he won’t even go out fighting now at night.
    It's a question Zara King will no doubt ask at the next press conference.

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    And it's Prime Time's fault?

It’s the guards that need to enforce it not the national broadcaster!!!

Turned on rte ****e...fcuk me we have reached peak nonsense. I couldn’ t give two ****s if people have food with a drink. What kind of idiots think this kind of rubbish is “crime”? RTE will die off soon hopefully if this is anything to go by

Ok!!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

85 new cases today, pure balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

There are people that are afraid to step out their front door because of the non-stop COVID news on RTE. We'll all be grand if we have €9 immunity sandwiches...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

*85 cases announced today

RTE suckled off the Irish taxpayer for decades, they’re more like Pravda than any sort of commercially sound media organization. Businesses standing on their own two feet and making a profit from competent service are alien concepts in Montrose. Place should have been sold off and bulldozed decades ago.

Where were you yesterday when the numbers were down?

And, look at the detail behind these cases before you head for the bunker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    So, in my state, the governor has decided to move away from blanket closures and phases of reopening. Instead any establishment that isn't enforcing masking and social distancing rules will be shut down and this will be policed and enforced. People not wearing masks will be fined. I think this is a much better approach and can still be successful at suppressing the virus. better than crippling entire industries and putting a load of people out of work.

This virus is here to stay, we need to learn to function alongside it. Locking down at the first sign of an increase isn't the answer IMO. That was a one shot type thing and it didnt work.

This is probably the safest way to proceed. It’s very clear that you can follow the rules and return to some form of normality. It also doesn’t punish some businesses for the inaction of others that happen to be in the same industry. If this goes on for a long time, it’ll happen naturally as people will probably support the places they feel safer. But blanket “all pubs closed” or even the earlier “no hardware stores open” type rules are unsustainable.

Which state are you in?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

ceadaoin. wrote: »

I think we need some tough measures over here as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,930 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The National broadcaster are not enforcing anything. They are reporting on a situation of critical national interest and importance. As is their remit. They are doing their job. To be applauded not criticized. Long may it continue.

GazzaL wrote: »
    There are people that are afraid to step out their front door because of the non-stop COVID news on RTE. We'll all be grand if we have €9 immunity sandwiches...

That’s their choice now- I don’t want to hear about it though or impinge on my freedoms

Strumms wrote: »
    The National broadcaster are not enforcing anything. They are reporting on a situation of critical national interest and importance. As is their remit. They are doing their job. To be applauded not criticized. Long may it continue.

People buying a drink alone without food is “of critical national importance” now? Christ get a grip ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Beanybabog wrote: »

Truly depressing stuff

Here's the link. Very nice explanation and visualisation of how it has spread and the variables at play.

https://graphics.reuters.com/HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/SOCIALDISTANCING/qzjvqenmyvx/

better one.

https://english.elpais.com/spanish_news/2020-06-17/an-analysis-of-three-covid-19-outbreaks-how-they-happened-and-how-they-can-be-avoided.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

road_high wrote: »
    Think I saw that, was in China I seem to remember. You wouldn’t want to get your knickers in a twist about these things. Else you’ll never leave the front door. The media love that kind of sensational scenario recreation.
    You could be hit by a bus crossing f the street to get to the restaurant

Is this the piece with the diagram of the bus in China where the distance of infection was 5 metres rather than the usual 2 metres.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

No way

Feel sorry for all those pub owners. RTÉ just put another nail in their coffins!! Wonder did the idiots drink the pints after or did they just walk away and waste them??
    The publican from Kerry is crest fallen