Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Opinions on onlyfans and adult entertainment industry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,946 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Santan wrote: »
    What pub was that

Not sure of the name, I remember reading about it at the time. Although, I remember it as topless “waitresses”.

Here’s an article from the Catholic Herald about it:

http://archive-uat.catholicherald.co.uk/article/13th-august-1993/1/guinness-with-a-topless-touch-enrages-locals

“Locals have nicknamed him "Sylvie" after a sleazy, disreputable character in the RTE soap opera Glenroe.“

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Society needs to separate sex trafficking and sex workers. Put time and energy into stopping sex trafficking, give tougher sentences to those involved in it, while also protecting and giving legal status to sex workers, give them the same rights and benefits as a girl or guy working in an office, or ''normal job' .
    Society already does that, it's no longer a crime to be a sex worker. I think you're criticising the wrong people here, it's the sex-work industry that needs to distance itself from human trafficking.

A recent report from the US State Department has said that the decriminalisation of prostitution in Ireland has hampered the ability of Irish Gardai to detect trafficking and abuse, so it isn't a simple problem to solve. I don't think I agree with criminalization at all, but am not so naive as to think decriminalisation would make it easier to detect trafficking.

https://www.thejournal.ie/ireland-response-to-human-trafficking-5133626-Jun2020/
    IRELAND HAS BEEN downgraded in an assessment of its response to eliminating human trafficking by a US State department annual report.

The Trafficking in Persons Report 2020 was published by the US Department of State yesterday.

Ireland is the only country in western Europe in this watchlist

It says there have no been trafficking convictions since law amendments in 2013 which “weakened deterrence, contributed to impunity for traffickers, and undermined efforts to support victims to testify”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

troll given a holiday & posts deleted.

As you were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Bubblesxoxx

Yeah, you are very delusional...

I don't care if they are married, married girls sleep around plenty too. I'm sure there are a small minority who just "dance" and go home to their partner... but from what I have seen, they are only the minority.

Trying to make "dancers" seem more respectable is a waste of time. Society is never going to see your profession in the way that you would hope... you are only marginally more respectable than hookers. You are really just a slightly more upmarket version of a prostitute, in the eyes of most people in society. (whether they admit this to your face or not)

Exotic dancers, strippers... whatever name you wish to use. They have been around forever in places like the US etc... and in all that time the perception has not really changed at all. Yes there are some clubs that have better reputations than others, but the job title itself is still viewed essentially the same way it always was.

Sorry if that hurts your feelings, but it's very easy to pick another profession if your goal is to be more respected by people! :)

I do in fact have another profession. And I’m 100 per cent sure that’s brainwashing by the media and how tv shows portray dancers. I feel people can’t make up their own minds it’s following what Society does. Anything to do with sexy things like pole dancing for fitness even burlesque dancing or god forbid lingerie models seem to be outcast in that not enough respect for themselves category.

Honestly I’m well used to it I was open about it for a bit at the start and just went quiet after a while I can’t change the world and how people view me or my fellow workers. I really enjoy my job if it wasn’t any good for me mentally or it wore me out I can leave any time I want. It’s like talking to a brick wall people have their minds made up without even fully experiencing things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭2forjoy

Delighted there is an outlet like onlyfans and some girls just give there paypal.me address for private sessions . This type of activity was suppressed for long enough .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Yeah, you are very delusional...

I don't care if they are married, married girls sleep around plenty too. I'm sure there are a small minority who just "dance" and go home to their partner... but from what I have seen, they are only the minority.

Trying to make "dancers" seem more respectable is a waste of time. Society is never going to see your profession in the way that you would hope... you are only marginally more respectable than hookers. You are really just a slightly more upmarket version of a prostitute, in the eyes of most people in society. (whether they admit this to your face or not)

Exotic dancers, strippers... whatever name you wish to use. They have been around forever in places like the US etc... and in all that time the perception has not really changed at all. Yes there are some clubs that have better reputations than others, but the job title itself is still viewed essentially the same way it always was.

Sorry if that hurts your feelings, but it's very easy to pick another profession if your goal is to be more respected by people! :)
    Strippers/prostitutes/etc are still people and deserve basic the very basic courtesy and respect that are afforded to everyone else! If society judges them for what they do with their own bodies, not who they are; then it's society at fault!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Kamu wrote: »
    In relation to the girl who has an Onlyfans and is holding down a career, what would happen to said career if her content was leaked wherever it is that she works?

It was discovered that someone in my place of work had an OF and had posted some pretty graphic stuff free online. It became a talking point among a few people for the day it was discovered, while people also did some sums as to how much they’d be earning from it, then that was that. They weren’t even particularly judged, most people were like “yeah if I could earn that for doing the same I probably would.” I’m not sure if senior management heard but, knowing the workplace, I’d be stunned if they faced any consequences because it’s their private life and doesn’t interfere with the dayjob in any way.

I worked with another person way back who’d post some graphic stuff online and used to post about where they worked specifically (often negatively too). In that case, they were pulled into an office. You can kinda understand that because they’re naming their employer and speaking in bad terms about them in public which is a big no-no in any job, but even then the fact that their boss even brought up the risqué content felt a bit close to the line and I’d imagine could’ve quite easily backfired on them if the employee wasn’t so mortified by it all. Again, the wind is blowing the other direction now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,581 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

It really doesn't matter what you or I think about it, it's how Irish society perceives it. I'm sorry, but that's the grim truth.

Remember, the Internet never forgets and the social dynamic of Ireland functions more like a village than a country.

I've watched a particular Irish Tiktoker (who shall remain nameless) go down the OF route like a car-crash. Everything you shouldn't do, she's done, including boasting about her earnings and insulting her OF base on Twitter, but more disastrously, thinking that her initial OF high earnings will be the baseline of her future earnings on there...at some point the novelty wears off.

You need to really research it before you go into it, Google the stories from those already on OF and learn from their mistakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Errashareesh

Not just Irish society. Ill advised in many countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,028 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

https://www.entrepreneur.com/article/355485

Disney to OnlyFans 2 million in a couple of days.
    and seems the lowly models on there aren't impressed with how she just swooped in and cleaned up.

https://www.indy100.com/article/bella-thorne-onlyfans-sex-workers-9693891

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

I know of two Irish girls that have made 100,000+++ euro from it. (honestly)

Im a little jealous, yeah but I can't come to terms with the fact of basically being a pornstar. Like how can you be taken seriously when you've pictures of your full body and face showing, fingering yourself and with your legs spread open all over the Internet.

Embarrassing much. Not exactly something id want to be known for. Rich because of you selling your dirty pictures and videos online, sure anyone can do that.

Id rather make lots of money putting lots of hard work into something encouraging and rewarding.

That one irish tiktoker Niamh, she works as admin in an office somewhere too. Ireland is a tiny place. It wouldn't take long to find out where she worked and imagine those pictures and videos landing on your bosses desk. Ew.

Actually, the whole thing just encourages men to continue to view women as meat, as if their only goal in life is look good to a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It's very astute of her. A month of subs and she can retire on it. I would imagine her subs will fall off like a cliff after the first month. But if she is getting half of what she did in the first month to the second month, she's doing well.

Bella is a genius. The ultimate finesse.

Im a little jealous, yeah but I can't come to terms with the fact of basically being a pornstar. Like how can you be taken seriously when you've pictures of your full body and face showing, fingering yourself and with your legs spread open all over the Internet.

Embarrassing much. Not exactly something id want to be known for. Rich because of you selling your dirty pictures and videos online, sure anyone can do that.

Id rather make lots of money putting lots of hard work into something encouraging and rewarding.

That one irish tiktoker Niamh, she works as admin in an office somewhere too. Ireland is a tiny place. It wouldn't take long to find out where she worked and imagine those pictures and videos landing on your bosses desk. Ew.

Actually, the whole thing just encourages men to continue to view women as meat, as if their only goal in life is look good to a man.

If I was a wan I'd be 100% on there. Money for jam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

How many thousands of years have men been on this planet viewing women as meat? How many men is that? About 4 billion now, 2 billion a few years ago, one billion before that. Say roughly 107 billion people have lived in the world. Say 53 billion men.

So 53 billion men decided over a few thousand years that women are just meat, who exist to get men to impregnate them and become mothers. Say 50 billion women were happy with that.

Then capitalism needed to double the workforce to halve the average wage. It told women that men who thought their girlfriend didnt need to be a cleaner in a hotel or a worker on only fans were sexist. The average wage halved. The cost of living stayed the same or raised.

So now we need two wages in a house. Single girls cant afford to work in a minimum wage job and run a house. They need to sell pictures of their arse on only fans to prove to society that women working is the utopia of equal rights.

Women messed it up by being nosey. They for the most part were treated like princesses who had to look after the house and await their men from the workhouse. They wanted to see what was in the workhouse. 20 percent of them would thrive in the workhouse but 80 percent of them have to join once 20 percent do.

So basically what Im saying is feminism and equal rights were created by capitalism to put wives and girlfriends into the workhouse. Its just marketing. 90 odd percent of your life, nearly everything you do is because of marketing.

Bella thorne had nude pictures all over the internet before only fans. She is probably being paid extra by only fans to set up an account like Kerry Katona, daily mail etc will print stories on its success just to get people to click on the story of a nude celeb. Then all the poor girls who cant afford rent will do nly fans to pay the bills.

Feminism and capitalism are like chalk and cheese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Fair play to anyone who can make money from it but I do have to wonder about anyone who would pay something for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,373 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Do you dance in front of married men? Or only single guys?

If it were single guys or the married guys wives knew and were fine ..i would have no issue with it.

Like fill in a form beforehand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

I had to fill in a form this morning saying I hadnt left the country in 14 days(covid) before I could have a fry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭auspicious

Your family and close friends have come to terms with your new direction in life and are now unabashedly proud of your subscription success and unhesitatingly whip out their phones at christenings and funerals and bar mitzvahs to display the gyrating image of you in your panties/ boxers servicing strange needy people on the Internet for cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Have a friend who makes a couple of grand a month doing it, no nudes, no videos, and nothing sexual. Just snaps posing in her underwear. You’d honestly see more flesh on any beach.

She’s a very good looking girl with an amazing body so I guess that’s why she can make money on it without having to go any further than posing in her bra and knickers.
    Tbh there are young ones posting more risqué content for free on Instagram so I think fair play for getting a bit of cash for it.
    She’s using it to supplement her income and will be in a position to buy a house soon, only because of this extra income. Because there’s no nudity she doesn’t really care if they get leaked, they’re nothing she’d be embarrassed about her friends/family seeing.

That said I know someone else who does very.... intimate videos on it, for lack of a better term, and I do worry she’ll have regrets in the future for putting such explicit content online. She seems happy out for the time being and is making a fortune too though.

If I could do it without anyone I know finding out I’d do it 100%. Unfortunately I’m one of those people that cares too much about other people’s opinions so the risk would be too big for me to chance it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Just my opinion but selling your body for money is not something to be celebrated. If times are tight and it pays the bills fair enough but I dont think this particular form of prostitution should be put on some pedastal.

It might not be the worst thing in the world but exploiting mens natural instincts for monetary gain while somehow claiming female empowerment is at the very least morally suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,801 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

If I can get through all the free porn on the internet, I might start paying for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

auspicious wrote: »
    Your family and close friends have come to terms with your new direction in life and are now unabashedly proud of your subscription success and unhesitatingly whip out their phones at christenings and funerals and bar mitzvahs to display the gyrating image of you in your panties/ boxers servicing strange needy people on the Internet for cash.

The thing that works with onlyfans is that you can't screenshot anything (I'm sure there are ways around it). But also that not many people I would imagine would admit to paying for an account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,239 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

hmm i would say the only men who would pay would be married tho

Its the ultimate good guy friday night in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

There is a specific website for only fans leaked content. Nothing is safe on the internet.

And I certainly wouldn't be proud of my fortunes made from doing essentially online prostitution.

If ya wouldn't want your granny seeing it then don't do it :V

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,269 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

There is a specific website for only fans leaked content. Nothing is safe on the internet.

And I certainly wouldn't be proud of my fortunes made from doing essentially online prostitution.

If ya wouldn't want your granny seeing it then don't do it :V
    Link? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Something I think needs to be added to the conversation to consider when trying to see how this became a phenomenon: think of the generation who grew up in the recession. They basically grew up having this re-enforced: “You’re ****ed, there’s no jobs for you in Ireland, unless you move then no matter how hard you work you’re going to be locked out of the property market unless you get lucky and do well and meet a partner who’s also doing well.” Those of us who grew up in the Celtic Tiger at least grew up with a bit of hope that hard work might pay off.

I don’t blame that generation for turning to the likes of OF tbh. I don’t blame them collectively saying “Well who cares what you think? My choice is do this and have a house or have some randoms think I’m a prostitute and not have a house.” I don’t blame them for re-writing the rulebook and going “Well actually no, we’ve decided there’s nothing wrong with this now.” To tell the truth the old ‘rules’ that judged people who did this were unfair anyway. And they also view people being creepy to them as a necessary part of life so they may as well profit from it, which is sad but true.

Yes I agree there may be unforeseen consequences in the future that they haven’t considered. It wouldn’t necessarily be something I’d want someone I loved to do for that reason. But I can’t judge or blame people for turning to it all the same for the above reasons, I get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

My young fella is trying to save to buy a house. It is difficult. He is very handsome and talĺ, movie star looks. Since there is nothing sexual about it maybe he could gather the cash via posting pics of himself in his kaks. Nothing sexual now. Him in his boxers watching netflix. Him in his speedos changing a tyre. Him in his best white pair pumping up his bicycle. I could do hair, lighting and camera for him. Does it work this way or is it only girls in their nothing sexual knickers who get good money?
    Asking for a son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭statto25

Gruffalox wrote: »
    My young fella is trying to save to buy a house. It is difficult. He is very handsome and talĺ, movie star looks. Since there is nothing sexual about it maybe he could gather the cash via posting pics of himself in his kaks. Nothing sexual now. Him in his boxers watching netflix. Him in his speedos changing a tyre. Him in his best white pair pumping up his bicycle. I could do hair, lighting and camera for him. Does it work this way or is it only girls in their nothing sexual knickers who get good money?
    Asking for a son.

You nearly had me up until Speedos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,269 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Gruffalox wrote: »
    Asking for a son.
    Is that what they're calling it these days?