Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,178 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

boggerman1 wrote: »
    They might hold off on giving them numbers till coming up to august 10th to justify a further pausing of easing off on restrictions.or else I’m a bit too cynical

jaysis lads, theres no feckin conspiracy here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

They might hold off on giving them numbers till coming up to august 10th to justify a further pausing of easing off on restrictions.or else I’m a bit too cynical

What kind of government deliberately puts the brake on its economy? Answer: none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

fr336 wrote: »
    Why do you judge anything negative happening as fear mongering? The world isn't pretty. I'm a pessimist and thought Covid would be done by Christmas at worst. Now governments are saying masks may be needed for another year. People aren't just surviving or dying, they're getting struck down with various severe after effects of this virus. Before I was scared of myself or my loved ones catching it and ending up in hospital or dying, now I'm just plain unhappy as this virus sounds like one of the worst things you could get. Not to be a conspiracy nut, it almost sounds manufactured. I hope I'm wrong but it's increasingly feeling like as we get the economy and our social lives back on track, there is now a before Covid and an after Covid. We were on the floor as the music stopped and it will be a long time before we get back that treasured normal :(

Fingers crossed that this vaccine getting tested in Oxford is a success.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    jaysis lads, theres no feckin conspiracy here

Well it’s happened a few times now since lockdown commenced.like when they suddenly found a rake of undisclosed cases in the mater hospital or when suddenly the death numbers jumped.or when Tony houlihan had to step aside for personal reasons within 24hrs it was revealed they might have overestimated the death toll by 5/600 people.but no questions asked by the media just rock on with the fear mongering

fcuking hell, there will always be errors in these situations, its a highly dynamic situation, we ve never experienced it before, theres gonna be a high amount of mistakes made, and many unsure of cases, the government isnt out ta get yea, feckin hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭lukas8888

fr336 wrote: »
    What kind of government deliberately puts the brake on its economy? Answer: none.

Yes none,but when our government are being over cautious about stage 4 especially with schools due to open any extra ammunition as regard numbers will
    greatly help them to delay stage 4 once again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Sweet mother of jaysus! The hospital are you honestly surprised a hospital was not reporting all the cases, this is Ireland a place where we have had a number of issues with our health service.
    The increase in deaths, we have had people in hospital for months on ventilators and it is well know that it can take months for people to succumb to the virus.
    I cant say anything about the estimates of deaths but personally I don't think that has been over estimated.
    It's not fear mongering it's reality, this virus kills people and I hate to say it but I don't think even the death of a family member will wake some people up to this fact.

lukas8888 wrote: »
    Yes none,but when our government are being over cautious about stage 4 especially with schools due to open any extra ammunition as regard numbers will
    greatly help them to delay stage 4 once again.

again, this is a highly dynamic situation, delays were inevitable

Your making a different point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭DaSilva

After listening to this episode of TWiV I thought I should share this as I believe its actually a solution to most of the current problems like opening schools and pubs.

If we had a perfect instant test that with 100% certainty could tell if you were infected or not we would not need any restrictions at all, and I suspect we might even eradicate the virus before a vaccine is ready.

We don't have this test, but apparently we do have something pretty close. Tests that could be very cheap ($1-$10) with quick results (minutes not hours) but with reduced sensitivity. What does the reduced sensitivity mean? It means possible false negatives, people who do have the virus but the test says they don't. This seems like a fatal flaw, but a low sensitivity test might actually be failing to detect infected people who are very unlikely to spread, and if the test was performed every day, the false negative testers would quickly be detected on subsequent tests when they are a bigger risk.

The idea is, tests we could administer to ourselves and our children at home that are less sensitive but with quick results and cheap so we can perform them frequently is much more effective than contact tracing slow turnaround tests. I think this approach would let us dramatically reduce restrictions while also reducing risk.

All this info comes from my layman's understanding of the following podcast which I encourage people to watch
    https://www.microbe.tv/twiv/twiv-640/

Your making a different point.

what?

actually not only delays are possible, but step backs are also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

If you know anything about the absolute spaghetti that are government IT systems already in place, trying to crowbar one into a working system for a pandemic or even build a new one to cater for such a scenario is a massive level of work, I’m surprised the level of late notification/denotifcation isn’t far higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

No deaths in Lombardy for the second day in a row today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Fingers crossed that this vaccine getting tested in Oxford is a success.

The world needs something in 2020. Highly effective treatments, vaccines, whatever. Science needs to work harder on this

It's currently pissing down in Dublin and it looks like a gloomy November night out there, not a bright July one

For those of us who are being cautious:

We can't travel, we can't date new people, we aren't ready for the RestoPubs yet (not the indoor ones anyway), our economy won't recover for years and our goverment are making a complete and utter fcuking balls of things

To name a few

Not having a great day with it today tbh. There's days when it dawns on you just how long the ramifications of this will be for

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    The world needs something in 2020. Highly effective treatments, vaccines, whatever. Science needs to work harder on this

It's currently pissing down in Dublin and it looks like a gloomy November night out there, not a bright July one

We can't travel, we can't date new people, we aren't ready for the RestoPubs yet (not the indoor ones anyway), our economy won't recover for years and our goverment are making a complete and utter fcuking balls of things

To name a few

Not having a great day with it today tbh. There's days when it dawns on you just how long the ramifications of this will be for

scientific community is doing an astonishing job on this one, it shows how advanced we are in our understanding of such things, and how quickly we re generally responding

i think our government have done a bloody good job of it, they stood back, a allowed the scientists step forward, thankfully we havent buffoons in government such as our nearest neighbors

we ve been working so hard to make both our public and private sectors so efficient over the decades, we ve managed to make them extremely fragile, go figure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,594 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

scientific community is doing an astonishing job on this one, it shows how advanced we are in our understanding of such things, and how quickly we re generally responding

i think our government have done a bloody good job of it, they stood back, a allowed the scientists step forward, thankfully we havent buffoons in government such as our nearest neighbors

we ve been working so hard to make both our public and private sectors so efficient over the decades, we ve managed to make them extremely fragile, go figure!

You have been watching too many trump speeches

cant stand him, rarely listen to him, fcuking idiot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

i think our government have done a bloody good job of it

You think our government are currently doing a good job of things?

Seriously?

You think Meehole is doing a "bloody good job"?

i think our government have done a bloody good job of it/QUOTE]

You think our government are currently doing a good job of things?

Seriously?

You think Meehole is doing a "bloody good job"?

all of them are, martin alone isnt the government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

1 death 24 new cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,474 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

EOKQBYNYMVFENG72WMRPFYWE5Q.jpg

Are Irish still planning holidays to Spain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,079 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Not too bad

Would like to see cases falling a bit though

what?

actually not only delays are possible, but step backs are also

I was referring to holding back positive tests to a time that suits NPHET and government phase decisions best.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Are Irish still planning holidays to Spain?

few gone id say, know a chap that was suppose to go during the week, unsure if he did

I was referring to holding back positive tests to a time that suits NPHET and government phase decisions best.

is this actually true?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

To name a few

Christ calm down. You can travel you just shouldn't. Dating?! Poor you. I'm not sure in what way the government are making a balls of everything at the level your rant indicates. They've not been in power long enough :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Wont be posting any data for a while as im takin a break, 30 positive tests in last 24 hrs and nearly 9000 tests

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭Onesea

The fact so many of you don't ask questions about the errors in counting of deaths is diplorable.
    Going to go look for pneumonia stats in Ireland for the year past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Wont be posting any data for a while as im takin a break, 30 positive tests in last 24 hrs and nearly 9000 tests

Well deserved. I tried to take a break from boards last week but lasted only 2 days...
    we’re stabilising between 15-20 odd cases a day now and hardly any deaths. Only 10 people in hospital with that only 5 in ICU. All will be good when you get back.
    I’ve 8 cans of rockshore and Kanturk vs Macroom in championship to watch on Facebook so will enjoy that.
    We all need a break If you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,064 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Any county numbers