VRT price is making car nearly 7k over value

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭butrasgali

I'd buy here as well if I was getting a good deal.

Example..new superb phev sportline 49000 grand new after grants here..same spec in England, 6 months old, 38 grand..all in..vrt and nox paid..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,877 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

butrasgali wrote: »
    Example..new superb phev sportline 49000 grand new after grants here..same spec in England, 6 months old, 38 grand..all in..vrt and nox paid..

https://www.carsireland.ie/detail.php?ad_id=2571681&r=s.php%3Fm%5B%5D%3D80%26o%5B%5D%3D683%26f%3D3%26g%3D0

Thanks ,thats a style..bottom spec ,sportline would be the 2nd highest behind the l and k..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,877 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Thanks ,thats a style..bottom spec ,sportline would be the 2nd highest behind the l and k..

https://www.carsireland.ie/detail.php?ad_id=2587091&r=s.php%3Fm%5B%5D%3D80%26o%5B%5D%3D683%26f%3D3%26g%3D0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Darc19

Full list price new versus a probable non negotiable 6 month old second hand car?

Seriously????

Salesman obviously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

Just on the 50k brand new superb v 40k superb 6 months old in UK (also available in Ireland as some posters have shown), that's normal. If we take the 50% after 3 years residual value, its about 20% year.
    So 50k new, 40k after year 1, 32k after year 2, 26k after year 3.

So nothing new to see here at all except they are classing a 6 month old as a year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,777 ✭✭✭Isambard

Because I have sterling cash..

if it's not too late, do some research and source a vehicle with a lower NOX charge. Newer vehicles as I understand it are much better on NOx and attract less tax. There's thread on it here somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭LillySV

bazz26 wrote: »
    Hybrids and electric cars get a VRT rebate which is automatically deducted from the VRT amount. The VRT rebate amount decreases depending on the age of the car.

Hi, just say that I’m looking at the likes of an X5 hybrid and the figure given on the vrt and nox calculator is 7k... will that be the actual figure minus the vrt rebate or is that the figure before rebate?

LillySV wrote: »
    Hi, just say that I’m looking at the likes of an X5 hybrid and the figure given on the vrt and nox calculator is 7k... will that be the actual figure minus the vrt rebate or is that the figure before rebate?

That figure will be the amount you pay, rebates included.

Residual value on a 2020 new hybrid, not even 6 months old..hard to a 3 year old a value ,when there brand new model..

It's a 50k skoda, it will sink in value like a stone. Or like a BMW or an Audi or anything else. But even worse I'd imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,752 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

It's a 50k skoda, it will sink in value like a stone. Or like a BMW or an Audi or anything else. But even worse I'd imagine.

Worse by a distance, you spend 50k you at least want to end up with a name and the associated comfort. 50k and you land home with a Skoda....you would get a few odd looks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Quick VRT calculator job says €3485 VRT, €1583 CO2 and €1785 Nox so that adds up yoooo 7k ish?

The VRT price is the Co2 and the NoX put together, you don't add them all up individually.

Surely checking this prior to committing to a purchase would have been sensible all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭wingnut

What is Nox? Sorry as I said I'm new to this.

Yep autocorrect

Shefwedfan wrote:
    Worse by a distance, you spend 50k you at least want to end up with a name and the associated comfort. 50k and you land home with a Skoda....you would get a few odd looks

Shefwedfan wrote:

Look up all the surveys done by proper drivers in the last 5 years and guess what comes up top 5 every time..some people are living in a box..

Link?

Thats what I mean..living in a box..look it up yourself..

Make a claim, back it up. For what it's worth I like Skodas but think they're good value rather than anything remarkable

What is a "proper driver"? do you have a source for this survey because I cant find

And jd power car survey in the last 10 years..

Which is a US survey

I would never describe the US as proper drivers :-)

Its actually English..13000 take the survey per year..from the auto express mag I get every week..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

I think your definition for a drivers car (and JDPowers apparently) is a bit different to ours :p

Yes you are correct ðŸ‘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭curiousinvestor

Apologies all if this has been covered previously.
    But I cannot find the nox emissions on a 2015 / 2016 bmw x5 40e.
    What site are ye using for nox emissions.
    Herself wants an upgrade, short commute, loves d x5. Just looking at d options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Here is a guide which is on revenue, I can't think of the site which gives figures, it was mentioned before....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,788 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

https://carfueldata.vehicle-certification-agency.gov.uk/search-new-or-used-cars.aspx

I didn't look at the particular car.
    But I've been looking at a variety of vehicles the last week.
    Be surprised if it's more than €50 on above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,788 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

https://carfueldata.vehicle-certification-agency.gov.uk/search-new-or-used-cars.aspx

I didn't look at the particular car.
    But I've been looking at a variety of vehicles the last week.
    Be surprised if it's more than €50 on above

Scratch that looked it up
    15mg

So €75 I think