What's the nicest thing you've ever done for a stranger

• 19-07-2020 11:04PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭

Because what goes around comes around, y'know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭SlowMotion321

I gave up my life for their sins!

Your'e welcome you ungrateful bastards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

I held the door open for someone once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭CageWager

Wear my face covering properly in public indoor spaces and wash my hands regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Kamu

Haven't done an awful lot for strangers really.

Besides volunteering and buying food for homeless people before, which I have stopped doing.

I've payed for people's busfare before, paid for someone's cafe bill. I've walked with an old lady to the medical centre she was looking for. Stayed with a lost kid at the shopping centre until their parents came.

All stuff you'd expect anyone to do in my position I would think.

I've done more for friends, which some may say is to be expected, but other's probably wouldn't do for their friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Stayed the fcuk away from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I handed in a purse i found to the garda station, there was 80 euro in it and a lot of cards. never got so much as a thank you, maybe they were never tracked down.

I stopped a guy getting his head kicked in one night, he was being kicked to the head while on the ground, i stopped the car and got out and broke it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭howyanow

I onced helped an old lady who had gotten off a bus but had left her bag on it.She was trying to get the bus drivers attention as soon as realised she left it on the bus.
    I was a few cars behind in traffic driving and just luckily noticed her out of the corner of my eye.I told her to get in and I followed the bus until I got an opportunity to overtake it and wait for it at next stop.She got her bag back after about 10 minutes and then I dropped her home.
    Was happy to help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

blew them

a kiss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Every now and then i send a giftbox to random addresses.

Sometimes i leave money or even a small present for someone to find.

I once left 20 euro for someone to find ...then i found out ..they gave to a homeless person ..and they even added in some of their own money too :)

Gave blood

I hope it really helped someone at their time of need

Im clever enough to do nice things from afar ;)

Gave blood

I carry a donor card ..so some day ..if i haven't destroyed my body ...it may do some good.

Gave blood

Thanks mate I really needed it at the time;)

CageWager wrote: »
    Wear my face covering properly in public indoor spaces and wash my hands regularly.
    I do this too....however ...it's normal ..so it doesn't count. :P

blew them

SNAP! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,198 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I once gave somebody my shift in work... their youngest kid about 11 was having psychological issues, becoming a bit violent towards family members, friends etc even the teacher in school and giving Tim’s missus an overall hard time, he was about 10/11 My shift was Sunday to Thursday 8-4 , I ended up Tuesday to Saturday their shift... 10-6... it was a trade down for sure but I’d met Tim’s kid and saw first hand what a handful he was, he’d brought him in to see the office and he was literally throwing a not small toy dinosaur off walls, the window and generally not too together behavior, like a Tasmanian devil on speed... Tim was worried about how his missus was coping as she’d just recovered from skin cancer.. and with the kid going nuts you could see he was up the wall.

I sort of regretted it in the end, I preferred the old shift, but too the Tim fella with me and others trying to go out of our way for him, sort of came to view himself as a special case. Expecting others to go out of their way but he’d do no more for anybody than make a cup of tea... once I asked him for a swap for one day on a Friday so I’d try and make a flight over for a match that was shît cheap... I was denied without explanation, on telling colleagues they were relating similar inflexibility and selfish behavior, he ended up isolating himself and nobody in the end would even ask him did he want a cuppa, he turned into a nasty selfish freak.

^^^^^^

No good deed goes unpunished;)

^^^^^^

No good deed goes unpunished;)

I've kind of found this to be true..

Anyway.. once, I was in Barcelona for a few days, and as we were waiting for food or something outside a restaurant there was this girl just sitting down with a cup out.. there was loads of other people begging everywhere way more vocally or whatever, and I sat down to talk to this one anyway.. just because she seemed silent and out of place or something.. anyway, I was asking her what happened and stuff, and Tbh, it was like drawing blood from a stone, but she eventually told me how she'd ended up there..she was Italian, and had lost her passport or something and was pretty much stranded homeless in Barcelona..I ended up talking to her for probably about an hour, and like, bumming money off one of the lads to give to her.. ended up giving her probably about fifty quid..it was sad really..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I was walking alone in the woods one day and came across a lone stranger. I decided not to kill them and let them continue on their journey.

You could say I saved their life.

I was walking alone in the woods one day and came across a lone stranger. I decided not to kill them and let them continue on their journey.

You could say I saved their life.

I had the exact same experience......wait....are you a ginger?

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I gave a few people 'a lend of €2 for the bus'.

I found a guys phone down the side of my chair in Costa once. He rang it, I told him where he left it, met him and gave it back to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Lyle Lanley

Other way around but the nicest thing a stranger ever did for me was years ago when I worked on a car wash. I was working away in the freezing cold in the middle of winter with a big queue built up meaning I'd be out there for ages. A young lad, eastern European I think, walked over with a coffee and left it down. Said something like "hope this warms you up" and walked off. Left some milk and sugar and all for me!

Such a tiny gesture but I never forgot it. Was at the time when immigration was fairly new in the West and dem foreigners were getting a hard time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭scilover

When I was a Halloween party once as a kid, this kid didn't manage to win any sweets from one of the games and he felt upset. I gave my sweets that I won to him. It made his day.

The greatest gift a person can give someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭guitarhappy

The greatest gift a person can give someone else.

I didn't marry them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Let someone off 5 cent....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

A neighbour of mine had a heart attack a few years back and I performed CPR on him while we waited for the ambulance. Unfortunately, despite working on him for another 45 odd minutes after they arrived, the paramedics were unable to save him. I didn't actually know the poor guy, it was another neighbour that did know him that came knocking on my door in a tizzy.

When they had done all they could do, I remember asking his partner if she needed anything and she asked me if I wouldn't mind picking the deceased's brother in a town about 15 minutes away and who had no transport, I readily agreed. He'd have been a man in his 40s. When I got him, I had a feeling he wasn't the working type and was more than willing to take the free ride, but I brought him in and hung around to drop him home again, feeling sorry for him given the circumstances. A few days later I took an hour or two off work to show my face at the funeral, over comes the brother asking if I'd bring some of the family down to the cremation......in Cork. 2 hours away. I thought that was a bit dry. I made my excuses and went back to work.

TL;DR - Give some people an inch.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

Gave blood

Thank you for doing this and to everyone who can and does, it really means the difference between life and death at times.

I can't donate myself because luckily I've received. Such a gift to give someone!

I think it's such an honorable thing to do, people going out of their way (even in the middle of a pandemic) to donate it just blows me away with their selflessness and generosity.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,872 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Sitting in traffic lights on day, waiting to turn right. A lady in the car in front of me got out and opened the back door where her kid was sitting. She got the kid out and was patting him on the back. She was starting to panic.

I got out and asked if I could help. I grabbed the kid turned him upside down, banging his back. Nothing happened so I then tried the hiemlich (sp?) manoeuvre (only ever seen it done on the tv). After a couple of attempts, it worked and he started breathing again. I handed him back to his mum, got back in my car and drove off as the lights had changed.

My brief attempt at being Superman. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

Www.ted.com

Search for happiness and a common link for rich or poor ppl is giving. Def worth a listen

I saved two people from drowning each other and they nearly drown me in the process as I had no buoyancy aid. One of them Paniced far our at sea and was drowning the other one when I saw a hand out of the sea water. We were all lucky to survive that one

Was in a supermarket and dropped a 20 into a pensioners shopping bag when they weren’t looking, they looked like they needed a boost one xmas