Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the nicest thing you've ever done for a stranger

• 19-07-2020 10:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭

Because what goes around comes around, y'know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭SlowMotion321

I gave up my life for their sins!

Your'e welcome you ungrateful bastards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

I held the door open for someone once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭CageWager

Wear my face covering properly in public indoor spaces and wash my hands regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Kamu

Haven't done an awful lot for strangers really.

Besides volunteering and buying food for homeless people before, which I have stopped doing.

I've payed for people's busfare before, paid for someone's cafe bill. I've walked with an old lady to the medical centre she was looking for. Stayed with a lost kid at the shopping centre until their parents came.

All stuff you'd expect anyone to do in my position I would think.

I've done more for friends, which some may say is to be expected, but other's probably wouldn't do for their friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Stayed the fcuk away from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I handed in a purse i found to the garda station, there was 80 euro in it and a lot of cards. never got so much as a thank you, maybe they were never tracked down.

I stopped a guy getting his head kicked in one night, he was being kicked to the head while on the ground, i stopped the car and got out and broke it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭howyanow

I onced helped an old lady who had gotten off a bus but had left her bag on it.She was trying to get the bus drivers attention as soon as realised she left it on the bus.
    I was a few cars behind in traffic driving and just luckily noticed her out of the corner of my eye.I told her to get in and I followed the bus until I got an opportunity to overtake it and wait for it at next stop.She got her bag back after about 10 minutes and then I dropped her home.
    Was happy to help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

blew them

a kiss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Every now and then i send a giftbox to random addresses.

Sometimes i leave money or even a small present for someone to find.

I once left 20 euro for someone to find ...then i found out ..they gave to a homeless person ..and they even added in some of their own money too :)

Gave blood

I hope it really helped someone at their time of need

Im clever enough to do nice things from afar ;)

Gave blood

I carry a donor card ..so some day ..if i haven't destroyed my body ...it may do some good.

Gave blood

Thanks mate I really needed it at the time;)

CageWager wrote: »
    Wear my face covering properly in public indoor spaces and wash my hands regularly.
    I do this too....however ...it's normal ..so it doesn't count. :P

blew them

SNAP! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I once gave somebody my shift in work... their youngest kid about 11 was having psychological issues, becoming a bit violent towards family members, friends etc even the teacher in school and giving Tim’s missus an overall hard time, he was about 10/11 My shift was Sunday to Thursday 8-4 , I ended up Tuesday to Saturday their shift... 10-6... it was a trade down for sure but I’d met Tim’s kid and saw first hand what a handful he was, he’d brought him in to see the office and he was literally throwing a not small toy dinosaur off walls, the window and generally not too together behavior, like a Tasmanian devil on speed... Tim was worried about how his missus was coping as she’d just recovered from skin cancer.. and with the kid going nuts you could see he was up the wall.

I sort of regretted it in the end, I preferred the old shift, but too the Tim fella with me and others trying to go out of our way for him, sort of came to view himself as a special case. Expecting others to go out of their way but he’d do no more for anybody than make a cup of tea... once I asked him for a swap for one day on a Friday so I’d try and make a flight over for a match that was shît cheap... I was denied without explanation, on telling colleagues they were relating similar inflexibility and selfish behavior, he ended up isolating himself and nobody in the end would even ask him did he want a cuppa, he turned into a nasty selfish freak.

^^^^^^

No good deed goes unpunished;)

^^^^^^

No good deed goes unpunished;)

I've kind of found this to be true..

Anyway.. once, I was in Barcelona for a few days, and as we were waiting for food or something outside a restaurant there was this girl just sitting down with a cup out.. there was loads of other people begging everywhere way more vocally or whatever, and I sat down to talk to this one anyway.. just because she seemed silent and out of place or something.. anyway, I was asking her what happened and stuff, and Tbh, it was like drawing blood from a stone, but she eventually told me how she'd ended up there..she was Italian, and had lost her passport or something and was pretty much stranded homeless in Barcelona..I ended up talking to her for probably about an hour, and like, bumming money off one of the lads to give to her.. ended up giving her probably about fifty quid..it was sad really..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I was walking alone in the woods one day and came across a lone stranger. I decided not to kill them and let them continue on their journey.

You could say I saved their life.

I was walking alone in the woods one day and came across a lone stranger. I decided not to kill them and let them continue on their journey.

You could say I saved their life.

I had the exact same experience......wait....are you a ginger?

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,322 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I gave a few people 'a lend of €2 for the bus'.

I found a guys phone down the side of my chair in Costa once. He rang it, I told him where he left it, met him and gave it back to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Lyle Lanley

Other way around but the nicest thing a stranger ever did for me was years ago when I worked on a car wash. I was working away in the freezing cold in the middle of winter with a big queue built up meaning I'd be out there for ages. A young lad, eastern European I think, walked over with a coffee and left it down. Said something like "hope this warms you up" and walked off. Left some milk and sugar and all for me!

Such a tiny gesture but I never forgot it. Was at the time when immigration was fairly new in the West and dem foreigners were getting a hard time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭scilover

When I was a Halloween party once as a kid, this kid didn't manage to win any sweets from one of the games and he felt upset. I gave my sweets that I won to him. It made his day.

The greatest gift a person can give someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭guitarhappy

The greatest gift a person can give someone else.

I didn't marry them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Let someone off 5 cent....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

A neighbour of mine had a heart attack a few years back and I performed CPR on him while we waited for the ambulance. Unfortunately, despite working on him for another 45 odd minutes after they arrived, the paramedics were unable to save him. I didn't actually know the poor guy, it was another neighbour that did know him that came knocking on my door in a tizzy.

When they had done all they could do, I remember asking his partner if she needed anything and she asked me if I wouldn't mind picking the deceased's brother in a town about 15 minutes away and who had no transport, I readily agreed. He'd have been a man in his 40s. When I got him, I had a feeling he wasn't the working type and was more than willing to take the free ride, but I brought him in and hung around to drop him home again, feeling sorry for him given the circumstances. A few days later I took an hour or two off work to show my face at the funeral, over comes the brother asking if I'd bring some of the family down to the cremation......in Cork. 2 hours away. I thought that was a bit dry. I made my excuses and went back to work.

TL;DR - Give some people an inch.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

Gave blood

Thank you for doing this and to everyone who can and does, it really means the difference between life and death at times.

I can't donate myself because luckily I've received. Such a gift to give someone!

I think it's such an honorable thing to do, people going out of their way (even in the middle of a pandemic) to donate it just blows me away with their selflessness and generosity.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,826 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Sitting in traffic lights on day, waiting to turn right. A lady in the car in front of me got out and opened the back door where her kid was sitting. She got the kid out and was patting him on the back. She was starting to panic.

I got out and asked if I could help. I grabbed the kid turned him upside down, banging his back. Nothing happened so I then tried the hiemlich (sp?) manoeuvre (only ever seen it done on the tv). After a couple of attempts, it worked and he started breathing again. I handed him back to his mum, got back in my car and drove off as the lights had changed.

My brief attempt at being Superman. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

Www.ted.com

Search for happiness and a common link for rich or poor ppl is giving. Def worth a listen

I saved two people from drowning each other and they nearly drown me in the process as I had no buoyancy aid. One of them Paniced far our at sea and was drowning the other one when I saw a hand out of the sea water. We were all lucky to survive that one

Was in a supermarket and dropped a 20 into a pensioners shopping bag when they weren’t looking, they looked like they needed a boost one xmas

Let another off three fiddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

I was in petrol station early one morning and a truck driver was in front of me with a roll, newspaper, drink, fags ... all the bits he'd need for the day. He went to pay with his card and the date had expired on it. He apologised and said he'd have to leave the stuff. I paid for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

Couple of years ago I was volunteering at an event in city centre, when it was over i was heading for the luas home and met a nun who had got separated from the group she was in and was trying to get back to the hotel she was staying in - she didnt have money for a taxi and i didnt have any to give her so told her to get on luas with me to where my car was parked and id drop her to her hotel then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

Changed tyres for people stuck on the road, let people follow me to places if they were lost etc.

Probably the most memorable one for me would be this.

When I was a leaving cert, nearly 20 years ago now there was a lad in the year below me who would have been very quiet but he was a big lad, tall and broad not fat and you'd think he could look after himself but he seemed to be bullied a lot due to being so quiet maybe.

After school one evening I was walking home and was stopping at the shop on my way. I noticed a few 3rd year lads annoying your man, slagging him and blocking his way into the shop.

Now I wasn't a big hard fella or anything but I would have been fairly popular in school and well known.

As I reached the group I copped what was going on and thought they're cheeky little pricks, 3rd years slagging off someone above them.

So as I got there, didn't even really stop, just slowed down. I looked at the 3rd years and said something along the lines of "shut your mouths and get the fcuk outta here".
    Probably carried more weight due to me being a leaving cert but anyway, they did what they were told.

The lad being bullied said nothing and I kept going.

A couple of days later I was walking home and the lads mother stopped me, she said her son had told her what I did and she thanked me saying how grateful she was.

Ever since whenever I'd bump into his mam she'd always say hello.

Kind of wish I had done more if he was being bullied badly or kept a closer eye on stuff like that in general but you can't be everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

I routinely compliment strangers when I see something I admire, whether it is an item of clothing, a smile or a gesture towards someone else. I love people watching and sometimes you might just catch a lovely moment where a parent is speaking really respectfully to their kid so I will comment on it. It always takes people by surprise and I feel great for the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Tec Diver

I've done more volunteering during lockdown; I bought a sandwich and coffee for a homeless man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

I carry a donor card ..so some day ..if i haven't destroyed my body ...it may do some good.

I carry a donor card too, but as life goes on, various parts of me get ruled out of being potential pass on bits, due to developing their own problems :)

I was a long term blood donor, ever since I saw my father and neighbours bundle into a car in 1974 to donate blood on the day of the Dublin bombings. My dad continued to donate for decades after, right up until his own health problems ruled him out as a donor. I have now reached that stage too, so I would urge anyone who can, to do so.

It's easy and a nice quiet way to do good for others - people you will never meet but who will benefit greatly from your gesture of simply relaxing for a half hour every 90 days and drinking a nice cup of tea after.

Let someone off 5 cent....

Give up your username!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

I was waling home one evening and was taking a shortcut through a dark alley.

I heard screams from around a corner further up the alley so I ran up and there was two young scumbags attacking an old lady, trying to steal her bag.

I was not sure what to do but you cant not help in a situation like this so I jumped into help.

We got about £45 between the three of us and some cigarettes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭muddle84

Came on a car that had come off the road and beached out on a stonewall. It was a Sunday evening so she was heading back to work in Dublin as was i. She had been there for 20 minutes and I was the first car that stopped. She was fairly shock up. The car didn't seem to be damaged but needed a tow truck to get get it out. A friend was on the way from athlone but was still another hour away. It was really cold so I let her sit in my car to keep warm until the friend landed. I sat in the passenger seat and she sat in the back so I wasn't going to drive off or anything. Apart from that I dont know how many flat tyres I've changed on the side of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

Ger Roe wrote: »
    I carry a donor card too, but as life goes on, various parts of me get ruled out of being potential pass on bits, due to developing their own problems :)

I was a long term blood donor, ever since I saw my father and neighbours bundle into a car in 1974 to donate blood on the day of the Dublin bombings. My dad continued to donate for decades after, right up until his own health problems ruled him out as a donor. I have now reached that stage too, so I would urge anyone who can, to do so.

It's easy and a nice quiet way to do good for others - people you will never meet but who will benefit greatly from your gesture of simply relaxing for a half hour every 90 days and drinking a nice cup of tea after.

I like the new feature IBTS have introduced now where they text you to notify you which hospital your blood as gone to. Just an added little feel good factor when you get the message :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Saw a lad getting annoyed with the condom machine in a nightclub toilet because it swallowed his coins. Gave him the condom I had in my wallet as I knew I wouldn't be needing that night anyway. He couldn't believe it.

Had been in my wallet a while as I was in a dry spell and it probably burst on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 MaryLouMacari

Saw a lad getting annoyed with the condom machine in a nightclub toilet because it swallowed his coins. Gave him the condom I had in my wallet as I knew I wouldn't be needing that night anyway. He couldn't believe it.

Had been in my wallet a while as I was in a dry spell and it probably burst on him.

Probably too small for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

^^^ someone cant read ^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Shouted and roared at an SUV with a roof box on it that was heading full tilt into a carpark with a 1.8m height barrier in France last year. They slammed on and stopped about 2cm from the barrier ripping the roof box to shreds - and one of them got out and started roaring back at me, in French I didn't understand, but it was clear they were roaring abuse at me. I silently pointed to the roof box, and she turned around and nearly fell over with shock. Evidently they had forgotten all about it. They then apologised and thanked me, and I went on my way.

Changed plenty of tyres for people over the years.

Saved a kid who fell out of his kayak in the sea in big waves beside rocks that he was being bashed against. I happened to be passing in a kayak myself, his parents were on the shore shouting helplessly. Helped him up onto rocks near them and towed his kayak to a safe landing spot.

Sent some random person on Boards a Mac OS DVD for free that they needed to get their Mac running as they'd lost their recovery disk.

Pffft! Bleedin' Mac users!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Banged a few absolute swamp donkeys in my time.

Give up your username!

I know you are but what is eye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

I raced up the street to find a shop to buy a parking disc in Cork for a distressed elderly French couple who didn't know what the procedure was when it came to parking. It's a flawed system as you might find a space but if you don't have a disc, you have to go searching for one, I realised that day that not many shops sell them, in the meantime you could get a fine.
    I wouldn't take the couple of euro from them, telling them it was a present.

I know you are but what is eye

One has both webbed feet!