Reduction in motorway speed limits proposed 120 km/h to 110 km/h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

is_that_so wrote: »
    Eh, they've only been there for about 3 weeks.

3 weeks too long, look at the state of them already, ministers sacked, asleep , coming up with absolute nonsense like the above all while the place is starung down the barrell of another 10 years of recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,118 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Next,they'll want a cycle lane on them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Next,they'll want a cycle lane on them!

No don't be silly, they will open it so they can cycle in any lane they like which they can do so on a 100km/h speed limit road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 844 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

IMG-20200716-204928.jpgmousetester

I'm sure they know what they're doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭YellowBucket

pete4130 wrote: »
    I didn't point out Australia as an environmental example. I pointed out the time difference to drive 100km at 110kmh compared to 120kmh.

Australian cars are just as efficient as any car that is available in Ireland and Europe. There is more choice here for larger engine vehicles considering it is about 91 times the size of Ireland.

If you were to drive the Wile Atlantic Way in Ireland at 2600km long, it would take 21.6 hours at 120kmh or 23.6 hours at 110kmh. If you could drive at thos speeds the whole time.

The choice is down to a political one rather than a practical one. There's much, much more focus on CO2 emissions in EU regulations driven by European political emphasis on reduction of environmental impact due to Green politics being mainstream.

Seriously who in Australia drives those kinds of distances on a regular basis? Your average journeys in Australia in my experience of it are not that different to Europe. People don't tend to opt to drive Sydney to Perth unless they're making a documentary.

You can drive vast distances in Europe too, and truckers do it all the time and there's a lot more places go go en route. I mean if you REALLY want to take it to extremes, you can get on a ferry to Rosscoff and drive to 12,354 km to Vladivostok in Eastern Russia.

https://www.google.com/maps/dir/Roscoff,+29680,+France/Vladivostok,+Russia/@24.8178768,-1.5428628,3z/am=t/data=!3m1!4b1!4m14!4m13!1m5!1m1!1s0x4813e1457ead5c67:0x7edaeff9d05b4845!2m2!1d-3.985325!2d48.726199!1m5!1m1!1s0x5fb39cba5249d485:0x186704d4dd967e35!2m2!1d131.9112975!2d43.1332484!3e0

Australia actually emits more CO2 per capita than the USA on average. Ireland's at roughly half those levels/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭screamer

I guess it’s safer to drive slower if you’re asleep at the wheel....
    Realistically I’d say this is more to piss off motorists than to reduce emissions. The harder our commutes are, the more likely we are to look for more local jobs and eat from our window ledge lettuce boxes.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,384 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

If it’s purely for emissions,
    Let fully electric vehicles drive at 120.....

....now there’s an incentive to buy a BEV

If it’s purely for emissions,
    Let fully electric vehicles drive at 120.....

....now there’s an incentive to buy a BEV

No let ev drive at 160

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

is_that_so wrote: »
    Eh, they've only been there for about 3 weeks.

And pardon the pun it's already a car crash.
    screamer wrote: »
    I guess it’s safer to drive slower if you’re asleep at the wheel....
    Realistically I’d say this is more to piss off motorists than to reduce emissions. The harder our commutes are, the more likely we are to look for more local jobs and eat from our window ledge lettuce boxes.......

Have to agree with this. They don't want cars on the road. Many routes along the south dublin coast are becoming one way and many parking spots are being removed. This is to discourage people to arrive their by car, great for the NIMBY's and cyclists, I get that. But it's going to become impossible to visit these areas ... our worlds get smaller.

Personally, I'd like to see them look at some seriously innovative stuff, like how about electric fright?

You could absolutely do this here on one lane on a motorway.

If you had that on all of the motorways here, you'd have zero emission freight.

You could also add electric busses and you'd have zero emission public transport, without rails and a hell of a lot more flexibility for low density places as the same infrastructure would do for road + rail.

Hit the motorway, pantograph up, diesel engine off.. away you go!

We should be engaging in a lot of these prototyping programmes if we're serious about CO2 emissions.

From a practical point of view, Ireland isn't going to be moving away from road transportation and we're just going to have to make it more CO2 neutral and there are solutions and they're not hair-shirt ones either.

Personally, I'd like to see them look at some seriously innovative stuff, like how about electric fright?

You could absolutely do this here on one lane on a motorway.

You could also add electric busses and you'd have zero emission public transport, without rails and a hell of a lot more flexibility for low density places as the same infrastructure would do for road + rail.

Hit the motorway, pantograph up, diesel engine off.. away you go!

We should be engaging in a lot of these prototyping programmes if we're serious about CO2 emissions.

From a practical point of view, Ireland isn't going to be moving away from road transportation and we're just going to have to make it more CO2 neutral and there are solutions and they're not hair-shirt ones either.

We have tracks which use to be used to their full potential, it's nuts running huge trucks on roads constantly when freight should have mainly been on rails.

But most likely there would be emissions somewhere, it's just shifted from the motorway. Solar / wind etc are just not up to the job yet.
    Even Nuclear has hefty emissions to mine / refine build a new plant every 20 / 30 years. And find storage for the foreseeable for the spent rods.
    But I agree we need to be looking at alternates. Even solar panels/siding on the truck may be possible in the future as an offset against consumption.

We have tracks which use to be used to their full potential, it's nuts running huge trucks on roads constantly when freight should have mainly been on rails.

The vast majority of Ireland's freight is point-to-point and delivered by truck the whole route. There's a very poor business case here for rail freight due to lack of any long distances and the diversity of routes involved.

Logistics companies aren't going to say start in some random part of Co. Cork. Drive by truck to an Irish Rail freight depot. Unload a container. Have that queued up to be loaded onto a freight train. That then goes to say Dublin. Then has to be unloaded again, reloaded onto a truck and so on.

There might be some sense in having it for stuff that's going directly to port, but a lot of that is driven the whole way on Ro-Ro ferries.

Then to top that off you're dealing with an non-reactive, semi-state railway company that tends to have huge cost overheads and inflexibility and giving them a monopoly on your logistics.

None of it adds up unfortunately. It would do if we were on the continent and had long distance freight with bulkier items.

Most of our fright nationally is distribution stuff and on top of that the rail network runs on diesel.

If we could have rapid, electric fright lanes on motorways without any impact on the driving surfaces - just a pantograph system installed overhead, then you just end up with zero emission trucks running at 100km/h as they do now without any diesel being burnt.

In terms of generation, the vast majority of our energy needs can be met with offshore wind and we're very close to serious battery storage technologies that don't require huge amounts of nasty heavy metals. So, it could all change extremely quickly.

We're not going to get down to zero CO2 electricity for a while, but we can certainly keep getting closer to it and it's better than burning diesel, if we don't have to and can keep improving as the generation and storage tech evolves, without having to rollout different infrastructure the point of use.

All a system like that would be doing is opening up a new way of powering very large vehicles on motorway, and could be done with minimal impact and double as a green public transit alternative for anyone who wanted to hook up an electric bus to it.

It's just one of many, many possibilities out there and I find we're not thinking outside the box at all and green transport doesn't always = railways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

They got 7.1% of the first-preference votes 2020 so that shows a strong support for their way of thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

120 is too low as is

just more puritanism from the new clergy

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    120 is too low as is

just more puritanism from the new clergy

You should be ashamed! It's easier for an artic to get through a cycle lane than for an polluter to get into heaven!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Just nonsense politics from a nonsense party. Every time they propose any measures like this they should be reminded of the complete farcical mess they made in 2008 with the ‘clean diesel tax’ Shiite policy they introduced!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,729 ✭✭✭✭User1998

They can lower the speed limit all they want I’l still be driving at least 130, not as if theres any enforcement of motorway speed limits anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,333 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Local lobbying has resulted in an increase to 100kmh limits on many of the old N roads.
    Will reducing the differential between the motorways and the old N roads to 10kmh lead to more traffic leaving the motorways to avoid tolls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭jaxxx

I'm all in favour of reducing emissions and all that jazz, but these greens are a proper shower of f*cking muppets. I've yet to hear them come up with a single half-decent idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Pythagorean

I sincerely hope that Green Party members read this thread, it might wake them from their idiotic dreams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭firstlight

They would want to teach people how to use motorways first
    Should be increased outside of rush hour
    Them green s are just going to tax the s**** out of people
    Nothing to do with emissions

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

Biggest load of bs I've heard. Why do they hate people so much with all these riddiculous laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

They should look to dismantle the toll booths, there's a massive waste of energy slowing down and emitting pollutants to get back up to speed. Anyone working in the toll booths is likely to have a shorter than normal lifespan breathing that in every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

When will they start the work replacing every sign on the road network?

More pie in the sky rubbish from the greens. What a public headache they are becoming and this is only the beginning

I have to admit, I actually did laugh at this when I heard it on the radio today.

First yer man Ryan is (literally) asleep when a discussion on lower paid workers is taking place. Now they want to extend the commute time to get to those low paid jobs. Cos an extra half an hour on your working day is just grand and dandy. Thank god it will have little to no impact on me, personally, but it's almost a comical need they have to be disliked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Gooey Looey

Another utterly ridiculous idea from the greens when they should instead be targeting a nationwide charging infrastructure for electric cars and a serious tax incentive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

I sincerely hope that Green Party members read this thread, it might wake them from their idiotic dreams.

you cant read when you are asleep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭JPF82

Ciarán Cuffe was just on Newstalk there making a case for the 110 km limit. He said that he just does 100 km/h and listens to his favourite radio nice and relaxed on the motorway. He described people "gripping the steering wheel" to do 120km/h. Talk about making it a ridiculous argument. He made the road safety (speed kills) argument but Conor Faughnan who was also on, firmly disagreed with him saying the road safety benefits aren't there for such a change on motorways and that the downside outweighs any environmental benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Newbie20

What a bunch of muppets. I regularly travel from Cork to Dublin and this would just annoy me even if it was only 10/15 mins lost. 120 is already reasonably slow on a big open road.