Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Well no reason to panic about wearing a mask then.

"Mask-wearing is not a trigger for panic attacks.”
    - Robert Hudak, medical director for the Center for OCD and Related Disorders at UPMC Western Psychiatric Hospital

That’s hands down the stupidest thing I’ve ever read.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yes: other
    Multipass wrote: »
    I'd agree with you there M. Any so called expert claiming so vigorously that something like a face mask couldn't feel claustrophobic to some and cause a panic attack should wear a mask across his arse because that's where he's talking from. One of the symptoms of a panic attack is the feeling of heavy chest and not being able to catch a full breath. If you give anyone who doesn't have a panic disorder a shot of adrenaline they'll get the same feelings.

Just to illustrate the oddest things that can be a trigger, years ago I know a woman who got panic attacks on busses. Nowhere else. Cars, planes, trains, DART whatever fine, but went apesh1t on busses for some reason(and even madder single deckers more than double). The shakes, weakness, the racing heart, the feeling like she couldn't breathe, thought she was dying, needing to escape etc. That was her thing. I never found out why and so long as she avoided buses she was grand. Perfectly calm anywhere else even when she was under stress.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,695 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Well, he seemed like he should know what he's talking about.

If you've had a bad reaction to wearing a mask fair enough.

If you're getting spooked by second hand information you have read online that it might trigger one, then perhaps try out wearing a mask at home to get used to it. If you react badly to it then that's that.
    I have a condition which many people claim means I shouldn't be able to wear one - now I'll grant you it took a bit of getting used to, but with a properly fitted surgical mask I am ok in shops as long as I breathe though my nose. And actually breathing through the nose is generally good advice for many conditions.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

I know what panic attacks feel like. I also know what asthma, COPD and pneumonia feel like. I know what bronchospasm feels like. I know what intubation feels like. Intubation is the very pits, especially waking up in an icu because the times I was intubated I'd collapsed and been anaesthetised so wasn't aware of the intubation. Second to that is the removal of the tube.
    You don't want to wake up in ICU because you can't acclimatise to wearing a mask, you don't want to endanger people around you either. Take it in small steps, try a mask with a filter pocket in your own home for a few minutes at a time without a filter, then experiment and find a filter that works for you.

I've worn masks since the beginning of March, even when I was getting side-eye. If I was getting a bit dizzy, I went into an empty aisle and took down the mask for a minute's calm breathing. Then I cocooned for a few weeks. Now that I'm used to masking up, it's not a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

Yes: homemade
    I am claustrophobic but at the moment I can wear a facemask inside the smaller supermarkets. Somewhere like Dunnes Stores Cornelscourt was always a problem for me, even before Covid. During the winter, with the heating on full in the store meant that I often had to leave during my shop. If the temperature is cool to cold then no problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

No: I don't care enough
    If the silver/copper infused masks are still not up to one's preference, then there is this king of masks:

The 'Guardian G-Volt' delivers enhanced virus protection, and beats the standard N95/9s.
    https://www.trendhunter.com/trends/guardian-gvolt

Along with a laser-induced (nano) Graphene filter, it utilises a low-level charge that is delivered to the unit via USB and enables it to be 99% effective at blocking particles larger than 0.3 microns, and 80% of those sub 0.3micron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

No: I will wait for the HSE to recommend
    na1 wrote: »
    Its just funny how keyboard warriors become very quiet on the Ballimun bus.

I never heard anything like: "Quit your crying and mask up" towards the bus passengers on these bus routes.

Mod: Breach of threadban = week off.

He is right though. You wouldn't hear that being said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

I am claustrophobic but at the moment I can wear a facemask inside the smaller supermarkets. Somewhere like Dunnes Stores Cornelscourt was always a problem for me, even before Covid. During the winter, with the heating on full in the store meant that I often had to leave during my shop. If the temperature is cool to cold then no problem.

Newtownpark Avenue at the old Playwright is a nice compact site and the staff are absolute smashers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

My reading of the new rules is that you don't need to wear masks in shops once you social distance. So basically, you don't need to wear a mask in shops.

NPHET are away with the fairies. Masks weren't required in shops at the peak of all this, why on earth would they be necessary now? There's a stupidity in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Hrududu

GazzaL wrote: »
    My reading of the new rules is that you don't need to wear masks in shops once you social distance. So basically, you don't need to wear a mask in shops.
    I think that might just apply to the people working in the shop

“Mr Martin announced that retail staff will be required to wear face coverings unless there is a partition in place or a space of two metres between them and customers. “

Yes: valved

NPHET are away with the fairies. Masks weren't required in shops at the peak of all this, why on earth would they be necessary now? There's a stupidity in Dublin.

Same talking points over and over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

In my local tesco its impossible to stay 2 metres from each other in the aisles, easily have 15 people in an aisle at once most times I'm there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,856 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Yes: surgical

As of today, you are correct.

But there will be new legislation in the next few days to make it compulsory, regardless of the ability to socially distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭LenWoods

My eldest daughter has been making masks for the family during lockdown on her sewing machine,
    Bought fabric and round elastic on Amazon
    Double layer cotton, were really proud of her initiative shes just turned 13

Images there see mask modelled by my wife

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

LenWoods wrote: »
    My eldest daughter has been making masks for the family during lockdown on her sewing machine,
    Fair play to her. If I tried to do that I'd sew my hand to the machine. :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭moonage

Wibbs wrote: »
    I know four people who died from this. Two were past 80 and while sad, well there it is. The other two were in their 50's. No underlying conditions, not overweight, healthy middle aged men, husbands and fathers and contributors to society. One went downhill pretty rapidly and it was all over in a fortnight, the other poor bugger lasted weeks on a ventilator, only to succumb to a secondary infection. I know another in their forties who is still buggered from it two months on and unlikely to return to work any time soon and they lived for their work and the company they built and the people they employ. I must pass on your belief that it "isn't that bad". Will doubtless come as a comfort to their families and the half million dead worldwide.

Based on the profiles of those who succumb to Covid, an individual that knows two middle aged men with no underlying conditions who died of it would be very, very rare.

While these deaths are very sad, don't you think it might be colouring your perception of the true lethality of the virus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Yes: homemade
    moonage wrote: »
    Based on the profiles of those who succumb to Covid, an individual that knows two middle aged men with no underlying conditions who died of it would be very, very rare.

While these deaths are very sad, don't you think it might be colouring your perception of the true lethality of the virus?

Just my tuppence worth; I know two people who died from Covid. One over 80 but otherwise well and active up to this. The other a lady in her 40s with no health issues whatsoever. I also know another lady in her 50s who 'recovered' two months ago but is still very much below par.

Masks are about making sure the virus isnt lethal to our economy as much as those in our society most vulnerable to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

My prediction is that 2 weeks from now the number of cases will increase and they will roll back the loosening of restrictions.
    My second prediction is that the true _second_ _wave_ will hit in mid to late September when everyone goes back to school/work after summer is over.

Screencap this and we'll see who was right.

So far you're on the money. ;)

Oh certainly M to some degree yes it does, but where does the line get drawn and at what age do we say "well it is what it is"? yes it's far more deadly for a 70 year old, but there are a lot of people in that age range living good socially productive lives with families and friends and can expect another decade of living all things considered. Are they any less value than a 40 year old, or should we make that value judgement? I'm not so sure. It's not something I'd want to have to choose anyway.

Then we have groups like those of African and ME extraction who appear to be much more susceptible to this virus and die at higher rates and at younger ages. The obese are more likely to suffer badly and/or die from it too. Last week I was talking to a guy who originally hails from California and he knew quite the number of people, mostly men, who had succumbed to this a few under 50, more over fifty and the usual over 70 group. From what he was telling me it seems to be more virulent or something in that neck of the woods?

Then we have those that recover, most of those seem to receiver well enough, but there seem to be a fair few "walking wounded" and at much younger ages, like in their 30's. There's also the concern less IMHO about a "second wave" but of a more lethal strain coming along. Spread in the general community would increase that risk.

I certainly do take your point M, and there's no need to be a panic merchant. There were too damned many of them at the start, though it didn't seem to translate into more effective action in many cases, but on the other hand being blasé about it is not the answer either IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

No: other
    Masks are about making sure the virus isnt lethal to our economy as much as those in our society most vulnerable to it.

Why don't the Guards have to wear one, there bungling people into cars left right and center well under the 2 meter guidelines and none of them are masked up.
    It all seems a bit odd, I need to wear one nipping in for a slice pan but if I go for a spin in the van i'm someway immune and so are they.

Why don't the Guards have to wear one, there bungling people into cars left right and center well under the 2 meter guidelines and none of them are masked up.
    It all seems a bit odd, I need to wear one nipping in for a slice pan but if I go for a spin in the van i'm someway immune and so are they.

Interesting point... especially if they are ultimately called on to enforce any breaches of legislation re: mandatory masks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

Yes: surgical

Great point. They should have been wearing them for months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

You're grand nipping in to buy a sliced pan on Sunday without a mask, just like when virus transmission was at it's peak. On Monday though, supermarkets are suddenly magically going to become the most dangerous place in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

You're grand nipping in to buy a sliced pan on Sunday without a mask

Your not really, if this becomes legislation it'll be an offence, I'm interested to see how it's going to be controlled and policed. The Guards will want no involvement in this I'd bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

LenWoods wrote: »

Images there see mask modelled by my wife

Well done to her . My daughter has made masks for lots of friends in London , very proud of her too .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

In my local tesco its impossible to stay 2 metres from each other in the aisles, easily have 15 people in an aisle at once most times I'm there.

And that was happening when case numbers were very high too, and there was 0 community spread associated with retail outlets.

The simple logic of this is lost on those shouting for masks, either coming back to 'well, it's better than a ventilator' or 'so what, if it saves one life, it'll be worth it'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

Masks are about potentially stopping a case or two and making the ultra nervous happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Sconsey

You're grand nipping in to buy a sliced pan on Sunday without a mask, just like when virus transmission was at it's peak. On Monday though, supermarkets are suddenly magically going to become the most dangerous place in the country.

No you're taking a risk nipping in to the shop today, you will be taking a risk nipping in to the shops next week with a mask but this risk will be significantly less if everyone is wearing masks.

Fsck everyone for trying to reduce the risk though right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Sconsey

And that was happening when case numbers were very high too, and there was 0 community spread associated with retail outlets.

The simple logic of this is lost on those shouting for masks, either coming back to 'well, it's better than a ventilator' or 'so what, if it saves one life, it'll be worth it'.

No no, there was sh1t loads of community spread from shops, still is...see I can make up stuff too without having any facts to back it up.