Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XIX-25,802 in ROI (1,753 deaths) 5,859 in NI (556 deaths) (21/07)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,461 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

thanks all.

App has a share feature which might come in handy, hit share and sends on the link to whoever you want.

I'd say they'll be relying on people doing that for it to get decent usage figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

The app's at nearly 5k downloads now, that was quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

3555 check-ins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

spookwoman wrote: »
    3555 check-ins

And over 6,000 app registrations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

The app's at nearly 5k downloads now, that was quick.

Downloaded. Did not give my phone number though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

How does app record who is infected, if they check-in with symptoms on the app? Also of Bluetooth is switched off, or your phone goes onto Airplane Mode, I presume it doesn't work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Downloaded and invited several work colleagues to download it also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,175 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

How does app record who is infected, if they check-in with symptoms on the app? Also of Bluetooth is switched off, or your phone goes onto Airplane Mode, I presume it doesn't work?

If you test positive then you upload your ID's so the app can notify other users you were in contact with - the phone periodically checks if you have been near that ID
    If BT is off then it cannot work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,166 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Its been happening for weeks, I'm not sure why people think this weekend is new. During the warm weather the canal was jammed every day, last 3 weeks its been camden street/wexford street & Dame Lane area.

Secondly as the gardai said today it was a public order issue. Bags of cans isn't a pubs issue to be fair. They arrived up, without bookings and when groups couldn't get in anywhere, people went off around to the spar got cans and stood in the street drinking, some got takeaway pints but the vast majority was cans. Heard the same thing from multiple people working in bars around the area. The pubs stuck to the guidelines are didn't let them in and instead of fcuking off home people hung around for a few hours before eventually the Gardaí decided it was time to go home, they didn't bother until late in the evening, they let it go most of the day.

Drinking in the street is an issue for the Gardaí. DCC won't allow outdoor seating in parts of Dame Lane its too small.

Well then make it a public order offence to be drinking outdoors until they are happy it's not a risk to health anymore anymore. People won't hang around as much without alcohol,and the guards should be moving them on if so .
    The guards have to make more of an effort to ensure that there isn't more of this heaving in the streets,. It's just going to cause upset amongst the vast majority of people taking this seriously .
    I know you and others don't think there is much of a risk anymore , I respect that is your opinion . But we just don't know what way this will go, imo , and I have no faith in our present Minister for Health and Taoiseach to act quickly if we do see outbreaks , after the indecisiveness of the last week.

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Well then make it a public order offence to be drinking outdoors until they are happy it's not a risk to health anymore anymore. People won't hang around as much without alcohol,and the guards should be moving them on if so .
    The guards have to make more of an effort to ensure that there isn't more of this heaving in the streets,. It's just going to cause upset amongst the vast majority of people taking this seriously .
    I know you and others don't think there is much of a risk anymore , Irespect that is your opinion . But we just don't know what way this will go, imo , and I have no faith in our present Minister for Health and Taoiseach to act quickly if we do see outbreaks , after the indecisiveness of the last week.

Surely drinking outdoors is actually safer if anything. Putting some actual organisation around it may be a better approach than forcing everyone indoors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Over 10k downloads of the app now and over 5000 check ins

AdamD wrote: »
    Surely drinking outdoors is actually safer if anything. Putting some actual organisation around it may be a better approach than forcing everyone indoors

Yes, that's what we were saying about tables outside?
    But the other poster replied that DCC would not allow that .. it's a few posts back .

I know you and others don't think there is much of a risk anymore , I respect that is your opinion . But we just don't know what way this will go, imo , and I have no faith in our present Minister for Health and Taoiseach to act quickly if we do see outbreaks , after the indecisiveness of the last week.

While its not illegal in general to drink in public that does depend on the bye laws of the area your in. Im fairly sure DCC have a byelaw that public drinking is illegal, I'd need to double check, but saying that if that is the case (I'm 90% certain it is) that comes down to being a policing issue for the Gardaí.

I've heard a few people now saying that the Gardaí were stopping and getting into photos with anyone that asked and only started asking people to move on much later into the evening after the bad PR had started.

In terms of my opinion on risk, yes its currently low I feel, the chances of catching it are very very small. I'd be more worried if this gathering had been indoors than outdoors, I'd have no issue being in an outdoor crowd myself. Thats not to say I'd want to be drinking in Dame Lane, I've better things to be at or I'll just book a table in a pub.
    But people are going to have to get used to see groups as gatherings of 500 are allowed from 20th July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

their seems genuine excitement about this new app on here lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

MD1990 wrote: »
    their seems genuine excitement about this new app on here lol

If enough download it, contact tracing will be quick and will help knock out any cluster or outbreak. We don’t want to lockdown again!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭ElTel

@Martina1991

With such low numbers of positives atm could, or perhaps should they be doing batch testing instead?
    I'm not sure that's the correct term but if 50 (say) swabs are given one test, testing speeds up and you and other techs workload would be more efficient?

I'm not sure if a swab can be "halved" though.

I've found your posts very informative the last few months and appreciate all the work your still doing in these testing times. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭Polar101

Drinking in the street is an issue for the Gardaí. DCC won't allow outdoor seating in parts of Dame Lane its too small.

I think the way the Gardai have handled this isn't the best.. Dame Lane is such an obvious place for a drunk crowd gathering that if they really wanted (or could) do something about it, they would have. Now they didn't do much, since the crowds were allowed to gather there. So the "this isn't good" tweets are a bit disingenious.

While its not illegal in general to drink in public that does depend on the bye laws of the area your in. Im fairly sure DCC have a byelaw that public drinking is illegal, I'd need to double check, but saying that if that is the case (I'm 90% certain it is) that comes down to being a policing issue for the Gardaí.

I've heard a few people now saying that the Gardaí were stopping and getting into photos with anyone that asked and only started asking people to move on much later into the evening after the bad PR had started.

In terms of my opinion on risk, yes its currently low I feel, the chances of catching it are very very small. I'd be more worried if this gathering had been indoors than outdoors, I'd have no issue being in an outdoor crowd myself. Thats not to say I'd want to be drinking in Dame Lane, I've better things to be at or I'll just book a table in a pub.
    But people are going to have to get used to see groups as gatherings of 500 are allowed from 20th July.

Yes . Pissed off really cos was meant to be at a concert on Saturday night, which was cancelled , then see that video on social media !
    Feels like one law for some , and another for others :(

Nearly 20K on the app now. Not a bad start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭Polar101

I think the most important part was "users cannot self-diagnose with the app".

That would have been a complete disaster.. imagine a few idiots setting it to "I have Covid-19, LOL" and then running around a busy area.

Polar101 wrote: »
    I think the way the Gardai have handled this isn't the best.. Dame Lane is such an obvious place for a drunk crowd gathering that if they really wanted (or could) do something about it, they would have. Now they didn't do much, since the crowds were allowed to gather there. So the "this isn't good" tweets are a bit disingenious.

Yeah look I've the utmost respect for the Gardaí, heck I'm waiting to apply myself but from what I've heard from people working in the bars around the area they did absolutely nothing all day, let the crowds build, did a walk through about 7-8pm ish, some even agreed to get in photos with those who asked them, then later in the evening they started to tell people to leave the area but this was well after the video had started doing the rounds.

For what was described by the commissioner today as a public order incident it was handle awfully. All it would have taken was a handful of Gardaí in the area moving people on earlier in the day, if needs be issue a warning under the public order act (1994) to leave the area, part of the act states.

"without lawful authority or reasonable excuse, is acting in a manner which consists of loitering in a public place in circumstances, which may include the company of other persons, that give rise to a reasonable apprehension for the safety of persons or the safety of property or for the maintenance of the public peace,

the member may direct the person so suspected to do either or both of the following, that is to say:

(i) desist from acting in such a manner, and

(ii) leave immediately the vicinity of the place concerned in a peaceable or orderly manner."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Covid Tracking App liked and shared, hope I get contacted, I never win anything lol

I've never wished it on anyone but I hope this is true

Yes . Pissed off really cos was meant to be at a concert on Saturday night, which was cancelled , then see that video on social media !
    Feels like one law for some , and another for others :(

Yeah I think the Gardai needed to take a more firmer stance when it was clear nobody was moving on after a short while. Damage was already done in terms of social media etc when they decided to tell people to go home.

I highly doubt we'll see it repeated this weekend, I'd expect a few more public order units on for the the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 paulh266

They should play Daniel O'Donnell music in public places to stop large crowds gathering 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,175 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Operations report is out.

18 in hospital, down from 21
    ICU remains unchanged.

EDIT: 3 cases confirmed in hospital - wexford, tullamore and also CHI Crumlin :(

HSE update for today.

As of 18:30 , 10 covid patients in ICU, 7 ventilated. No change on yesterday

As of 8pm, 18 paitents in general beds, down 3 on yesterday.

Beaumont added to the major hospitals with 0 cases in general beds, 1 case in ICU. Same situation in St Vincents. St James's has been covid free in both ICU and general beds for a while now.

Galway University hospital also now covid free.