Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XIX-25,802 in ROI (1,753 deaths) 5,859 in NI (556 deaths) (21/07)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

is_that_so wrote: »
    We only have the word of the people in Oxford and their own supreme confidence (arrogance?). We'll have to wait to see if that's how it works out, much as people want it to.

You're one to talk about arrogance coming out with something like that. Never realized you were a virologist. Where did you study the Mickey mouse institute?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,257 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Outside is a lesser risk and we do need to work out a degree of normality alongside this.

Provided there is social distancing sure which was clearly not happening. I don't disagree but part of the return to normality is following guidelines so the easing of restrictions is sustainable. It's not normality as in life before covid19 cos these precautions will be with us for the foreseeable future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    Alright then fine don't take the vaccine. If you or someone you care about wind up strapped to a ventilator remember that. Believe all the Facebook anti vax bull**** you want then. I'll trust the experts like an intelligent person.
    Whatever about the incredibly small risks that may exist with a vaccine, it's going to be an awful lot safer than getting Covid and taking your chances with this disease.

The Oxford vaccine platform has been around for years, and needed a minor tweak for Covid. Similarly vaccines from J&J and a number of other companies are based on standard platforms which have been used for years. The safety trials being conducted are the same as for any vaccine, we're just running multiple phases in parallel to speed up manufacturing so we're not waiting years for the vaccine to be produced.

The worry of course is that with people spreading this false "it isn't safe" message we'll never get to herd immunity, and the people who can't take the vaccine or where it doesn't work well (e.g. older people) never get protected. It's shameful to spread false rumors about safety, and incredibly damaging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

You're one to talk about arrogance coming out with something like that. Never realized you were a virologist. Where did you study the Mickey mouse institute?
    I think you need to step away from the keyboard for a bit. You've lashed out at every single poster you've responded to this morning, even the innocuous posts. In the meantime I'll wish you a nice day.

Eod100 wrote: »
    Provided there is social distancing sure which was clearly not happening. I don't disagree but part of the return to normality is following guidelines so the easing of restrictions is sustainable. It's not normality as in life before covid19 cos these precautions will be with us for the foreseeable future.
    I expect to see cases anyway but I'd be more confident we can find and contain cases a lot better than in March.

hmmm wrote: »
    Whatever about the incredibly small risks that may exist with a vaccine, it's going to be an awful lot safer than getting Covid and taking your chances with this disease.

The Oxford vaccine platform has been around for years, and needed a minor tweak for Covid. Similarly vaccines from J&J and a number of other companies are based on standard platforms which have been used for years.

The worry of course is that with people spreading this false "it isn't safe" message we'll never get to herd immunity, and the people who can't take the vaccine or where it doesn't work well (e.g. older people) never get protected. It's shameful to spread false rumors about safety, and incredibly damaging.

Let them off. They've a pathological need to piss on anything optimistic. If they fancy being strapped to a ventilator they can go right ahead. I'll do whats right for me and those around me. Calling professors working to end this misery arrogant. It's ****ing unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,888 ✭✭✭threeball

The VFI have blatantly lied about the measures their members would uphold in order to reopen early. Most pubs this week weren't serving food in order to get served. Know of a few lads who spent 6hrs in one pub in Dublin and didn't buy as much as a bag of crisps. Every single one of these pubs should have their details taken, warning given and objections raised when they renew their licence.
    As for the gob****es who were willing to stand in that melee, well there's no talking to the likes of them.

I think you need to step away from the keyboard for a bit. You've lashed out at every single poster you've responded to this morning, even the innocuous posts. In the meantime I'll wish you a nice day.

I've lashes out at people trying to put the Frighteners on the Oxford vaccine. That ****e could potentially kill people. Actually have you contacted the Jenner institute and told them they're full of **** yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I am of the age profile of many of those selfish idiots who were out in Dublin last night and I would like to provide some reassurance to people on this thread that I, nor anyone in my wider social circle as any notion of entering a pub anytime soon.

I have widened my social circle slightly, I play golf with my two good friends every Saturday and have had friends over to my apartment too. For the most part we have kept our distance from each other, and we have been conscious not to do anything stupid like hand-shakes or hugs. We absolutely deplore those foolish idiots last night. They are utterly selfish to the extreme. The type of woke, insta-hungry Muppets who crave social justice for all yet always seem to have a serious lack of personal responsibility for anything themselves.

Too many countries and American states have had to take steps back nearly solely because of bars and nightclubs. Yes we're a very sociable people but THE VIRUS DOES NOT CARE how long you've gone without a pint or how great craic we are. Even professional athletes have taken months to recover from this (look up Paolo Dybala of Juventus), nobody is immune or invincible.

Also, the government needs to cop the **** on with the borders. We are in a sandwich with two countries who on both a governmental and personal responsibility level have been extremely irresponsible in response to the virus and both contain millions of people with an arrogant sense of entitlement to visiting our shores and the rip off tourism industry in the West will only be too happy to welcome them in.

I don't care what any airline says about "state of the art filtration systems". We are an island nation, how do they think the virus arrived here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Right get onto the lads at the Jenner institute in Oxford and tell them what's what. I swear the arrogance of some people on here is ridiculous.

Stop fighting with everyone ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Donald tRump, that well known Epidemiologist, Virologist and Public Health Expert, has declared that 99% of Covid-19 infections are "totally harmless", so we can all relax now !

The number of infections in the USA regularly tops 50,000 per day, higher than in April when the US was in the first grip of infections.

The World Health Organization reports a record 200,000 cases in one day, amid surging outbreaks in some of the world's most populous countries. Places where poor people have to make the terrible choice between starvation or protecting themselves from the virus.

The global situation continues to deteriorate, with no signs of it easing up in the near future.

:(

I expect to see cases anyway but I'd be more confident we can find and contain cases a lot better than in March.

Can only find symptomatic cases and anecdotal evidence that people are taking longer to report symptoms so increases risk of further transmission. As CMO has acknowledged will never catch all cases and trace them to break chains of transmissions. Regardless I still think these scenes should be discouraged as much as possible.

tom1ie wrote: »
    Stop fighting with everyone ffs

Tell them to stop peddling anti vax nonsense and we have a deal. Maybe mind your own business while you're at it.

Can only find symptomatic cases and anecdotal evidence that people are taking longer to report symptoms so increases risk of further transmission. As CMO has acknowledged will never catch all cases and trace them to break chains of transmissions. Regardless I still think these scenes should be discouraged as much as possible.
    That, unfortunately, is not going to happen. Phillip Nolan has said that virus is virtually non-existent. The main concern now is it being reintroduced by travel, hence the strong comments by the CMO and others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Donald tRump, that well known Epidemiologist, Virologist and Public Health Expert, has declared that 99% of Covid-19 infections are "totally harmless", so we can all relax now !

The number of infections in the USA regularly tops 50,000 per day, higher than in April when the US was in the first grip of infections.

The World Health Organization reports a record 200,000 cases in one day, amid surging outbreaks in some of the world's most populous countries. Places where poor people have to make the terrible choice between starvation or protecting themselves from the virus.

The global situation continues to deteriorate, with no signs of it easing up in the near future.

I came in before breakfast just for this reason because I saw this on the news. Jesus Christ, he's a dangerous man and shouldn't be in charge of the country.

It's not a harmless virus. It's killing older people. Younger people is reacting differently to the virus. Some people with no symptoms others who are sick for weeks and months. It's causing damage to organs.

A cold is harmless. This is not harmless.

Where did he get that 99% is harmless from? What's worse is that there will be plenty of idiots who will lap it up, hook, line and sinker.

That, unfortunately, is not going to happen. Phillip Nolan has said that virus is virtually non-existent. The main concern now is it being reintroduced by travel, hence the strong comments by the CMO and others.

The cases are so low because of the measures taken. I'm not naive to think scenes like this will be completely avoided but Gardai and Vinters needs to send a message out. But it doesn't mean we are able to let our guard down and hope for the best either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,461 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

thelad95 wrote: »
    I am of the age profile of many of those selfish idiots who were out in Dublin last night and I would like to provide some reassurance to people on this thread that I, nor anyone in my wider social circle as any notion of entering a pub anytime soon.

Firstly your entitled to your opinion and if you don't want to go back into bars or restaurants thats grand nobody is making anyone go into them. That age profile which includes myself and my social circle most of us went out this week and acted responsibly.

The video from last night is in the street, the issue looks to be based off what I've heard from mates working in the area that because the establishments were following the guidelines with capacity being limited and being full in advance with bookings, that walk ups ended up drinking on the street after being told that places were booked up and they wouldn't be getting in.

To be honest with you I was in a pub for lunch on Monday, and then out for dinner twice later in the week. I'd have no issue going back at all to any of the bars / gastro bars I was in, all very well run and never once did I feel uncomfortable.

So long as a premises has the required measures in place I dont see a reason to stay away. If I walk in and they don't then just go elsewhere.

This isn't anything new last night for Dame Lane, Camden Street etc by the way, they've been fairly busy the last few weeks with places doing take outs.

The cases are so low because of the measures taken. I'm not naive to think scenes like this will be completely avoided but Gardai and Vinters needs to send a message out. But it doesn't mean we are able to let our guard down and hope for the best either.
    How exactly can they deliver that message apart from closing up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

But wheres the context?

Tell them to stop peddling anti vax nonsense and we have a deal. Maybe mind your own business while you're at it.

What’s wrong? You hungover from last night?
    I asked a question on a public forum. Stop attacking my posts and maybe mind your own poxy business.
    Take a time out on the bottom step maybe.

Let them off. They've a pathological need to piss on anything optimistic. If they fancy being strapped to a ventilator they can go right ahead. I'll do whats right for me and those around me. Calling professors working to end this misery arrogant. It's ****ing unbelievable.

You called people arrogant for asking questions about the vaccine you absolute lunatic!
    Calm the **** down young lad.

How exactly can they deliver that message apart from closing up?

Serve people inside, limit how many can drink outside at one time or at all. I don't think it's that difficult. These are all pubs who are meant to be trading as restaurants for the 3 weeks until 20th July. I don't think it's that onerous but if they can't then with they probably shouldn't be open

I've lashes out at people trying to put the Frighteners on the Oxford vaccine. That ****e could potentially kill people. Actually have you contacted the Jenner institute and told them they're full of **** yet?

No one said there full of **** bar you.
    People are entitled to question a new vaccine.
    If you don’t like it piss off elsewhere this is a public forum.

The video from last night is in the street, the issue looks to be based off what I've heard from mates working in the area that because the establishments were following the guidelines with capacity being limited and being full in advance with bookings, that walk ups ended up drinking on the street after being told that places were booked up and they wouldn't be getting in.
    /quote]

Is that people buying drink somewhere else and theh hanging outside the bar? Or buying from the bars they're outside? Looks like Stag's Head closed from the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Is that people buying drink somewhere else and theh hanging outside the bar? Or buying from the bars they're outside? Looks like Stag's Head closed from the video.

Mercantile and Dame Tavern were doing big business yeh, serving drinks through hole in the wall.
    But other people unassociated with the businesses werre congregating there because it had a fun atmosphere, buying cans in gayspar or dunnes and heading back to the lane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,461 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Bit of both by the sounds of it, few places there PYG being the main one last week or more doing take away, they're the one the garda was giving out to in the video last week. You've also Mercantile and Dame Tavern.

Most of the others stopped the takeout service for pints when they reopened, others are closed and aren't bothering until 20th July.

Then you've some who just came back with cans after being told they weren't able to get in anywhere. Why you'd want to I've no idea, wasn't even a nice day weather wise for outdoor drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,931 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Renjit wrote: »
    How do you expect compliance from drunk people?

There are people who ‘become’ drunk. At a good part of their 16 or so hours of the day that they are awake, lucid and fully conscious... they can plan, they can risk assess and choose NOT to enter into a situation though where they drink too much of a drink whereby they become drunk, meaning that their decision making is impaired... because impatient of decision making, with what is going 9n as well as behavioral issues, gonna kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

No one said there full of **** bar you.
    People are entitled to question a new vaccine.
    If you don’t like it piss off elsewhere this is a public forum.

The anti-vaxx movement/stance is dangerous, irresponsible and will cost lives. Not really sure why you’re defending it.

What’s wrong? You hungover from last night?
    I asked a question on a public forum. Stop attacking my posts and maybe mind your own poxy business.
    Take a time out on the bottom step maybe.

Clearly you're hungover from last night judging by your aggressive and pissy tone. Again if you or anyone else fancies 4 weeks on a ventilator because youre afraid of a little needle then go right ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

I’ll prob be slatted for this and labelled a “racist” but f**k it.

Look at them videos from dame lane, the majority of these people are foreign. It’s plain as day, this has always been the issue throughout the pandemic. Brazilian students for example are over here on a holiday, throughout phase 1 and 2 whenever the weather was good the canal would be packed with them.

I specifically remember around the spiking of covid that a member of this forum called out that majority of ICU patients in the mater were Roma/Brazilian.

Ireland is a multicultural country with different people from different backgrounds who don’t look upon this pandemic with the same lense. My friends were in town lastnight, they went to one pub for food and drink, they were asked to leave after two hours and upon walking through dame lane they ran out of town back to a friends house for drink.

The new “norm” will be ruined by people who don’t view this issue the same way we do. In order to prevent scenes similar to lastnight you need to start fining people not just publications.