Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycling on paths and other cycling issues (updated title)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

07Lapierre wrote: »

Oh dear, picking on 78 year olds set in their way will really win you battles for better infrastructure. What are other strategies? Kicking an odd dog or stealing sweets from kids?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,510 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Spook_ie wrote: »
    As niner leprechaun said then , we can assume that you don't mind the traffic lights and crossings on the road then that other road users stop at when necessitated unlike others in the thread.
    R132-Google-Maps-2020-07-04-01-59-22.png

why would i mind? they have the decency to grand me the same priority as other traffic on the main road.
    the notion that cyclists continuing straight on a main road - on what is often held up as a decent example of 'modern' cycle path design - should be given less priority than a car leaving a car park, speaks volumes.

anyway, why not address the issue of bad cycle lane design, instead of trying to get some passive dig in at me because of what you think other people may have said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,776 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Anyway, let's get back to dangers on the road, if that's OK. Here's four of the drivers I spotted using their phones while driving in recent days. There was a few others that didn't come out well on camera.

Does anyone see any possible areas for improvement for drivers on Irish roads?

Tradesman holding phone at the wheel

518807.jpg

White van man holding phone to ear

518806.jpg

Army guy tapping dash mounted phone

518805.jpg

Young lady engrossed in typing out message while waiting at lights, blocking the bike box
    518808.jpg

Range Rover guy, holding phone in left hand for what looked like a hands-free call (sorry clarity isn't great)

518804.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭micar

07Lapierre wrote: »

In fairness, this is a non story as she can apply for a residents permit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,506 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

give me some context to this, not including rush hour traffic where the traffic is at walking pace.
    how often do you think an irish motorist doing 50km/h (or even 30km/h) would stop for someone without right of way to let them out?

They shouldn’t as to do so causes an obstruction to traffic. People exiting residence or without priority at junctions to you wait for clear spaces. As many people drive in and reverse out, they often don’t wait for a space or even for someone to stop. On a daily basis, I encounter people reversing out unsighted on the basis that oncoming traffic will do an emergency stop.

My other bugbear in Dublin is the increasing number of drivers who use 4 way junctions to do a u-turn as if it was a roundabout.

Here's a little summary of a spin through Stillorgan this week, to help people get a feel for the frequency of obstructing footpaths by motorists. It's worth remembering the number of car parks in Stillorgan, most of them free;
    - main shopping centre
    - strip mall (Stillorgan Decor etc)
    - Overflow car park
    - Shops (Centra, Gotham etc)

Mum/son swap over driving duties on footpath / double yellows;

518811.jpg

Elderly lady squats on footpath / double yellow (ignoring the hint of the line of wands in front of her) at PTSB to make some notes on her bank receipts

518812.jpg

JC Decaux van blocks bus stop to make a phone call, adjacent to wide, empty car park

518813.jpg

Gardeners block footpath and bike lane to trim hedges - no safe path provided for pedestrians or cyclists

518814.jpg

Clio blocks footpath at pedestrian crossing, making it difficult for drivers to see people, especially kids using the crossing, and making it difficult for kids using the crossing to see traffic;

518815.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,510 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Marcusm wrote: »
    As many people drive in and reverse out, they often don’t wait for a space or even for someone to stop.
    random aside, but there's a bus lane past our house. it's only happened maybe four times in seven or eight years, but i've had buses drive up my arse and try to bully me out of the bus lane when i'm trying to reverse into the driveway.
    i.e. i stop just past the driveway, stick the car in reverse, and the bus behind drives right up behind me and starts flashing at me to get out of the way. has led to some rather farcical exchanges with bus drivers ('you should have stuck your reversing lights on before you passed your driveway, to let me know')

And at Lower Kilmacud Road, we have the usual pile of pavement parkers, almost all at properties that have large, spacious driveways - so it's probably a case of taking the footpath for convenience, to save having to enter/exit the driveway - with the resulting lost of space for pedestrians trying to social distance and damage to footpaths and grass verges too.

518818.jpg

518819.jpg

518820.jpg

518821.jpg

518822.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Here's a little summary of a spin through Stillorgan this week, to help people get a feel for the frequency of obstructing footpaths by motorists. It's worth remembering the number of car parks in Stillorgan, most of them free;
    - main shopping centre
    - strip mall (Stillorgan Decor etc)
    - Overflow car park
    - Shops (Centra, Gotham etc)

JC Decaux van blocks bus stop to make a phone call, adjacent to wide, empty car park

518813.jpg

It's parked at a bus stop with an advertising poster, that's what they do. Common sense suggests he'll next get out and replace it or has just done so. Not disputing the others but all road users have to deal with that nonsense. No journey is as simple as pointing a wheel or wheels in the direction you want to go.

Lr Kilmacud Road Part 2

518823.jpg

518824.jpg

518825.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

micar wrote: »
    In fairness, this is a non story as she can apply for a residents permit.
    And in fairness to her those possible permits have been reduced from 7 to 4 spots. More than a hint of tough on her about this post.

Is the point that cyclists are being restricted from cycling on footpaths because of bad parking and such?

ecoli3136 wrote: »
    Is the point that cyclists are being restricted from cycling on footpaths because of bad parking and such?

It seems to be that Ireland should introduce cycle lanes that overrule all other users so the cyclist never has to stop or yield regardless of where or how far the journey.

was that claim made in the thread? i must have missed it.

is_that_so wrote: »
    It's parked at a bus stop with an advertising poster, that's what they do. Common sense suggests he'll next get out and replace it or has just done so. Not disputing the others but all road users have to deal with that nonsense. No journey is as simple as pointing a wheel or wheels in the direction you want to go.

I'm aware of the JC Decaux contract with Dublin Bus for maintaining advertising at bus stops. Perhaps we have very different understandings of 'common sense'.

Parking at bus stops is a big problem for bus services. It stops buses from properly accessing bus stops, and stops them from using the ramps that have been fitted and maintained at considerable expense. This makes it impossible for wheelchair users to enter or exit the bus, and makes it more difficult for everyone who is entering or exiting the steps.

To me, common sense would suggest that a contractor being paid by Dublin Bus wouldn't block Dublin Bus bus stops at all. It would also suggest that at a bus stop like this, beside a wide, empty car park, it is particularly crass and inconsiderate to block the bus stop, when the alternative, free parking available is probably actually closer to the advertising signs than the bus stop parking. It would also suggest that, even if the JCD guy DOES decide to block to bus stop to update the adverts, they would do so for the minimum amount of time, and wouldn't sit in that parking spot, delaying buses, for any longer than absolutely necessary.
    ecoli3136 wrote: »

Thanks for asking. The point is that the frequency and extend of illegal pavement parking is a much more significant inconvenience and danger for pedestrians than the pavement cycling mentioned by the OP.

It seems to be that Ireland should introduce cycle lanes that overrule all other users so the cyclist never has to stop or yield regardless of where or how far the journey.

There was no mention of introducing cycle lanes in recent posts, so I've no idea where you got that from.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Casey78

When Renko invites someone over for dinner he doesn't bore them with slideshows of his holidays, he bores them with slideshows of cars parked on footpaths instead...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,248 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

And in fairness to her those possible permits have been reduced from 7 to 4 spots. More than a hint of tough on her about this post.

https://twitter.com/Fingalcoco/status/1279340505969680390?s=19

Of course there's idiots complaining this is all because of the cyclist lobby, the Mafia that they are.

was that claim made in the thread? i must have missed it.

194 pages littered with people moaning that they have to stop and yield when using cycle lanes and then people, including yourself suggesting that this is why you use the road. While all ignoring that the road has zebra crossings, pedestrian crossings, junctions and yield signs.

You can deny it and I'm not quoting all of it but you don't even need to go further than page 190. You yourself are pointing out the entrance and exit to kealys as a reason to not use the cycle Lane but ignore the pedestrian crossings and junction that exists see the same location.

You've a massive comprehension problem, and you double down on it.

random aside, but there's a bus lane past our house. it's only happened maybe four times in seven or eight years, but i've had buses drive up my arse and try to bully me out of the bus lane when i'm trying to reverse into the driveway.
    i.e. i stop just past the driveway, stick the car in reverse, and the bus behind drives right up behind me and starts flashing at me to get out of the way. has led to some rather farcical exchanges with bus drivers ('you should have stuck your reversing lights on before you passed your driveway, to let me know')

Presumable you had your indicator on?

Hurrache wrote: »
    You've a massive comprehension problem, and you double down on it.

I don't think so. I pointed out a nice cycle Lane and it was dismissed because it's not absolutely continuous. Was that not correct? 2 users both complained that there's an entrance and exit to a carpark. The entrance bring st the same location as a pedestrian crossing and junction was ignored.

My point remains, all users Ned to stop and yield on their journeys.

So you tell me, what is it that all 194 pages can't be shortened into? What do you want in a cycle Lane? That will it take for you to use them and be happy?

194 pages littered with people moaning that they have to stop and yield when using cycle lanes and then people, including yourself suggesting that this is why you use the road. While all ignoring that the road has zebra crossings, pedestrian crossings, junctions and yield signs.
    as per the comment about comprehension above, you are treating a perfectly legitimate 'i don't want to be treated as a second class road user' complaint with 'i want everything and more'.

Presumable you had your indicator on?
    of course i did.

Just to be clear, what you describe as 'moaning that they have to stop and yield' is actually pointing out the ludicrous nature of a cycle lane with a yield sign every 2m or 3m approx. That's a bit different, isn't it? You've never experienced that as a driver, have you?
    Ok so, what do you want from cycle lanes?

Why don't we start with what we don't want;

https://irishcycle.com/2015/11/05/images-25-reasons-why-cyclists-dont-use-cycle-lanes/

Ok so, what do you want from cycle lanes?

It has been made clear and obvious on numerous occasions on this thread, people have even posted pics and vids of them, but the kool kids are just too chill to look at them. It's been made clear and obvious as to what the issues are with existing ones.

Just to be clear, what you describe as 'moaning that they have to stop and yield' is actually pointing out the ludicrous nature of a cycle lane with a yield sign every 2m or 3m approx. That's a bit different, isn't it? You've never experienced that as a driver, have you?

Why don't we start with what we don't want;

https://irishcycle.com/2015/11/05/images-25-reasons-why-cyclists-dont-use-cycle-lanes/

No, let's not. Let's start with what you do want.

It has been made clear and obvious on numerous occasions on this thread, people have even posted pics and vids of them, but the kool kids are just too chill to look at them. It's been made clear and obvious as to what the issues are with existing ones.

So, that's 2 users asked a direct question and both can only reply with more complaints.

as per the comment about comprehension above, you are treating a perfectly legitimate 'i don't want to be treated as a second class road user' complaint with 'i want everything and more'.

Again, how is the cycle Lane at the airport not acceptable?

So, that's 2 users asked a direct question and both can only reply with more complaints.

It's all in thread, your questions have been answered.

Again, how is the cycle Lane at the airport not acceptable?

It was explained to you, you're forced by the letter of the law to get off your bike, push a button, wait for a green man, walk across a couple of roads, then get on your bike again. Ironically on the street view there's a lady cycling on the pedestrian crossing which would outrage people. And that's just that one junction.

No, let's not. Let's start with what you do want.

OK then. We want cycle lanes that don't look like these ones, and aren't covered with parked cars, broken glass, mushy leaves and dogs being walked on extendable leads;

Or if you want to explore a specific example, follow this thread;

https://twitter.com/dlrcycling/status/1278987904610717696

So all the whinging about how bad it is for cyclists and how terrible infrastructure is and at the same time claiming that your interest groups are successful in their approach and that dumping images and twitter links in the thread works.

Obviously. I think we'll have flying cars before you manage to achieve something.

meeeeh wrote: »
    So all the whinging about how bad it is for cyclists and how terrible infrastructure is and at the same time claiming that your interest groups are successful in their approach and that dumping images and twitter links in the thread works.

Obviously. I think we'll have flying cars before you manage to achieve something.

It's bad when you have to make stuff up to try bolster an argument you're trying to make.

Best you bow out of the thread to save yourself from further embarrassment.

You haven't seen what's happened on the North Quays then, or Blackrock, or the plans for Dundrum villiage or Seapoint?

Would be better to spend money on funding flying cars,sure then the MAMILs would have the roads to themselves!

A tabloid reader in the belief that all cyclists are male and middle aged shocker.

It was a joke. Are you as easily triggered in everyday life?

It's bad when you have to make stuff up to try bolster an argument you're trying to make.

Best you bow out of the thread to save yourself from further embarrassment.

Your insults got a lot more personal lately. I like it when hypocrisy is gone and true personality is revealed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

Casey78 wrote: »
    It was a joke. Are you as easily triggered in everyday life?

Fanatical behavior .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 480 ✭✭ewc78

I'm truly astounded that the Gardai aren't doing more to stop people who are working at a bus stop parking at that bus stop, or men working cutting a hedge parking with all their work equipment at that hedge.
    I mean the Kinahane and Hutch fued has nothing on these guys....

I was out for a run this morning and I saw a couple of Electricians parked up changing bulbs in street lights, there was a woman walking on the same side of the road. I gasped in horror wondering what would happen next...then...she crossed the road to the path on the other side of the road and went about her business....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Tarabuses

Lr Kilmacud Road Part 2

518823.jpg

518824.jpg

518825.jpg

Thank you for posting the photos of the Lower Kilmacud Road. I walk from Drummartin to Stillorgan at least 3 times a week and am very familiar with the inconvenience caused by this inconsiderate parking. Why is it that you always encounter another pedestrian walking in the opposite diection at the very point where these vehicles are parked on the footpath?

I have to say that there has been a large reduction in the number of cyclists I have encountered on the footpath recently but the incidence of vehicles parked on the footpath is increasing. It seems that many motorists think that they must have at least two wheels on the footpath to park properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

You go away from boards for a day and there's another few pages! Luckily most of the posts were from Andy! So looking at Andy's holiday snaps, I'm going to take it on faith there were phones in most of those photos. Your camera is not as good as you think it is. And using a dash-mounted phone for navigation is not illegal. https://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Campaigns/Mobile%20Phone/RSA_Mobile_DL.pdf (and jaysus, that really needs an update!)

No excuse for the majority of the parking on footpaths/bike lanes, obviously, but jaysus, Andy, how exactly would you propose they do the hedge-cutting? Double the workforce and put in a one-lane contraflow with stop-go signs?! Pedestrians can use the coned-off road. Cyclists can use the road, like, y'know, they often do.

There I go again, being all reasonable and agreeing with Andy!

But I will finish off with "But sure at the end of the day nobody was hurt," as is now traditional, such as when a deliveroo cyclist on the phone (phone in hand, not forearm mounted, not handlebar mounted, apparently this matters for cyclists but not drivers?) and cycling on the footpath suddenly has to brake when he realises there's someone in front of him not getting out of the way... ;)

ewc78 wrote: »
    I'm truly astounded that the Gardai aren't doing more to stop people who are working at a bus stop parking at that bus stop, or men working cutting a hedge parking with all their work equipment at that hedge.
    I mean the Kinahane and Hutch fued has nothing on these guys....

I was out for a run this morning and I saw a couple of Electricians parked up changing bulbs in street lights, there was a woman walking on the same side of the road. I gasped in horror wondering what would happen next...then...she crossed the road to the path on the other side of the road and went about her business....

The initial responsibility on relation to JC Decaux fans lies with Dublin Bus, as they contract JCD to provide the service. It should be a clear requirement within the contract for JCD vans not to impede the bus services.

But there is certainly a broader issue about blocking of bus services. Pre lockdown, any day I travelled through Camden/Wexford/Aungier/Georges St, there were multiple commercial vehicles blocking the bus lane. So hundreds, probably thousands of bus passengers are held up on their commutes for the convenience of a couple of drivers.

This absolutely is a significant traffic flow issue, worthy of Garda attention.

If you think that parking at bus stops is a trivial matter, you might want to engage with disability organisations to find out the impact on wheelchair users;

Here's a sample; https://twitter.com/search?q=bus%20stop%20parking%20wheelchair&src=typed_query

In relation to works like the hedge cutting and bulb changing, there are safe and legal ways to do this. If any contractor needs to take public space to do commercial works, whether road or path or bike lane, they need to apply for a road closure order. As part of this, they submit a plan for providing alternative routes, signage, management of traffic.

That's how you do these works safely, minimising the impact on people who need footpaths and don't have the flexibility to hop out into the road - older people, wheelchair users, parents pushing buggies, people using walking frames and more.

You go away from boards for a day and there's another few pages! Luckily most of the posts were from Andy! So looking at Andy's holiday snaps, I'm going to take it on faith there were phones in most of those photos. Your camera is not as good as you think it is. And using a dash-mounted phone for navigation is not illegal. https://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Campaigns/Mobile%20Phone/RSA_Mobile_DL.pdf (and jaysus, that really needs an update!)
    Yeah, not the best pictures all right. I save the best ones for the Gardai, and none of these were good enough quality for that, so I'm happy to share them here instead.

And yes, it's not illegal to be tapping the dash mounted phone, or to be having a Facetime chat or Zoom call on a dash mounted phone, which is absolutely insane, and needs urgent addressing.
    No excuse for the majority of the parking on footpaths/bike lanes, obviously, but jaysus, Andy, how exactly would you propose they do the hedge-cutting? Double the workforce and put in a one-lane contraflow with stop-go signs?! Pedestrians can use the coned-off road. Cyclists can use the road, like, y'know, they often do.

I suppose the first question is why do you need to plonk a jeep and trailer on a path to cut a hedge. Can you not use ladders?

If you used a ladder, it would take up most of the footpath, but not the bike lane. So you could route pedestrians onto the bike lane (making sure they have a dropped kerb to go up and down, for wheelchair users, and either coned off section of the road as a bike lane, or just closed the bike lane.

To be honest, it looks it was the handiest parking for them to do the job, which is completely unacceptable.

Your insults got a lot more personal lately. I like it when hypocrisy is gone and true personality is revealed.

Cool, can I book myself in with you for a counselling session?

Thanks for asking. The point is that the frequency and extend of illegal pavement parking is a much more significant inconvenience and danger for pedestrians than the pavement cycling mentioned by the OP.

Ah. So it's more whataboutery. Thanks.

It was explained to you, you're forced by the letter of the law to get off your bike, push a button, wait for a green man, walk across a couple of roads, then get on your bike again. Ironically on the street view there's a lady cycling on the pedestrian crossing which would outrage people. And that's just that one junction.

So AGAIN you are demanding that all cycle lanes never stop for anyone else. How far should this continues cycle Lane be?

And AGAIN I point out that cars using the road also have to stop at junctions and see other people to use the road.

All I see is cyclists who think they should be placed above all others, not cyclists looking for equality and in defence of the argument, Andrew posting cars committing offences which can only be described as complete whatsboutery.

To have equality, it includes junctions and yield signs. What you want, isn't feasible in a city.

I don't think so. I pointed out a nice cycle Lane and it was dismissed because it's not absolutely continuous. Was that not correct? 2 users both complained that there's an entrance and exit to a carpark. The entrance bring st the same location as a pedestrian crossing and junction was ignored.
    it's simple, assuming we're still talking about the airport road - if i cycle on the road, i don't have to yield to traffic from a car park, but if i use the cycle path, i do - which inverts the usual (and sensible) convention that traffic on the lesser route yields to traffic on the main route. it's a stark illustration that cycling is considered a lesser form of transport. that cars must take priority, even if it means upending sensible traffic handling conventions.

so i use the road. it's perfectly legal, and it's faster.

i've yet to see an argument that can adequately explain why the current layout is better than having the cars yield to the cyclists at the above sections.

there's a hypothetical situation i've wondered about. let's take this example, what appears to be a maintenance entrance not that far away (one i've never seen being used, but maybe it's used at specific times).

https://www.google.com/maps/@53.4208599,-6.2332932,71m/data=!3m1!1e3

if i am cycling on the cycle path at say 25km/h, and a vehicle comes up behind me and cuts across me - am i in the wrong for failing to have yielded? in normal circumstances, traffic making a turn has to yield to any parallel traffic which is not turning or maintaining lane, so in this instance, despite me intending to go straight on, i've to check behind me to see if there's someone who has right of way over me. it's nuts. far easier to go with the convention that everyone is used to; this configuration would not be tolerated were it carrying motorised traffic.