Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Would the 1000's and 1000's that turned out for his funeral just in the city and the 250,000 that tuned into the live stream of it not prompt somebody from outside the country to ask: maybe there is a nuance I am not seeing here? Maybe I have taken a slanted view of history when I educated myself. Because trust me, there are different versions.

No doubt the funeral was watched by his own tribe + any fellow travellers who followed the exploits of the Provisional IRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Would the 1000's and 1000's that turned out for his funeral just in the city and the 250,000 that tuned into the live stream of it not prompt somebody from outside the country to ask: maybe there is a nuance I am not seeing here? Maybe I have taken a slanted view of history when I educated myself. Because trust me, there are different versions.
    They had not much choice seeing as the Jeremy Kyle show is off the air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,871 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Shes allowed be down here, There has never been any travel restrictions on people from Northern Ireland entering the Republic.

Our own Govt made them rules.

It's strange, isn't it.

A person from Dundalk couldn't go to Dublin last Saturday, but Michelle O'Neill could travel down, because she came from a different jurisdiction, and Sinn Fein not only avail of this different jurisdiction loophole, but defend it.

Then again, maybe not so strange, many a good republican got rich on illegally availing of the differences between the two jurisdictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Have we any other examples of a party in Europe who have their leadership team attend the funeral of a terrorist and bank robber?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,688 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

blanch152 wrote: »
    It's strange, isn't it.

A person from Dundalk couldn't go to Dublin last Saturday, but Michelle O'Neill could travel down, because she came from a different jurisdiction, and Sinn Fein not only avail of this different jurisdiction loophole, but defend it.

Then again, maybe not so strange, many a good republican got rich on illegally availing of the differences between the two jurisdictions.

Is it not a different jurisdiction?

Did you put the GFA under the bed with your boogeymen again and forget it, to have a pop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Granadino

Have we any other examples of a party in Europe who have their leadership team attend the funeral of a terrorist and bank robber?

Vox in Spain are pretty Franco nostalgic. I’d consider Franco a terrorist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,482 ✭✭✭Odhinn

A volunteer and dedicated activist.

I see this story hasn't gone away.

The footage on RTE News tonight is shocking, the numbers involved were huge. Those who compared it to the Garda funeral were being disingenuous at best.

Arlene Foster quite rightly called Sinn Fein out on it, and put the ball in their court to apologise. Expect we will see the same arrogance from their public reps that we have seen on here, but what do you expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

The footage on RTE News tonight is shocking, the numbers involved were huge. Those who compared it to the Garda funeral were being disingenuous at best.

Arlene Foster quite rightly called Sinn Fein out on it, and put the ball in their court to apologise. Expect we will see the same arrogance from their public reps that we have seen on here, but what do you expect?

It is extraordinary hypocrisy from Sinn Fein. An apology is absolutely in order but it won't happen. They believe they are above and beyond the law, that is their culture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

All the pretend frothing at the mouth outrage :)
    It was wrong, gave out the wrong message and they should apologise for setting a bad example IMO.
    Thats about it.

The shinner funeral too.

Bowie wrote: »
    It was wrong, gave out the wrong message and they should apologise for setting a bad example IMO.
    Thats about it.

The shinner funeral too.

No matter how hard you try, you can't make the story go away, all over the RTE news again tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,688 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Bowie wrote: »
    Thats about it.

The shinner funeral too.

I agree. But none of the political class have put the hand up and said they were wrong or ill advised when they have made mistakes around this.

No matter how hard you try, you can't make the story go away, all over the RTE news again tonight.

I've little interest in it. Don't care if it hangs around or not. Is this me goading you or are you goading me? You can't help yourself. If you are this hard up at this early stage what will you do for distraction when Fianna Fail get settled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

It's Leo's speech all over again. :pac:

McMurphy wrote: »
    It's Leo's speech all over again. :pac:

TBF, they were standing too close to each other at a funeral during a pandemic giving a bad example.
    Leo was just having an inside joke and a bet while addressing the nation about the pandemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,723 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Another poster put this image up of Garda Horkans funeral. Were you as shocked by those images? Or is it only when Sinn Feiners do something wrong that you get outraged?

SAVE-20200701-095538.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It's so depressing watching SF self-destruct like this after coming so, so, so close to breaking the neoliberal false-dichotomy which has destroyed this country.

Forget about whether it was right or wrong, forget about comparisons with other funerals or events, forget about media bias. Leave all that to one side. It was stupid. Regardless of what else they should or shouldn't have done, they should have known how this would be taken both by the media and by the public. This is yet another instance of SF completely blowing the goodwill they had going into the election. It's akin to the Bernard Shaw's idiotic tweet about northsiders shortly after the widespread outcry against the vested interest who brought down the original pub and the circumstances which allowed that to happen - these people should know better FFS.

I just find this so bitterly depressing. I hope I'm wrong, but I see the chances of another surge akin to this year's general election receding day by day with this kind of utter bullsh!t, and in its place we'll have a surge for parties such as Greens, Labour, SocDems etc who are far too willing to allow the neoliberal bull into the China shop.

Apologies for the dejected rant. A week is a long time in politics. But I really, really wish for the sake of the Left that Sinn Fein would get its act together. FG were gaffe kings in the run up to the election, SF have unfortunately made a good run at that title in the time since the election.

TheCitizen wrote: »
    Another poster put this image up of Garda Horkans funeral. Were you as shocked by those images? Or is it only when Sinn Feiners do something wrong that you get outraged?

SAVE-20200701-095538.jpg

Answered that already, but the video coverage tonight showed that the Storey funeral had around 10 times that number of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Jesus, that Matt Carthy goon made a right show of himself on the Tonight Show. Got way too emotional and defensive.

Bad few days for the Shinners and their online army.

Answered that already, but the video coverage tonight showed that the Storey funeral had around 10 times that number of people.

Talking on how popular one was over the other is bad taste Blanch. It was two funerals. Regardless of politics a little respect or quiet. Both crowds should have socially distanced. They don't cancel each other out no matter how hard anyone tries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

There might be a few 30 man orange marches now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Odhinn wrote: »
    A volunteer and dedicated activist.

Think the "leadership team" or part of it was the deceased

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Jesus, that Matt Carthy goon made a right show of himself on the Tonight Show. Got way too emotional and defensive.

Matt Carthy is a forceful talker but his lack of education or experience in the business world really shows when he is challenged by a clever interviewer. If there is such a thing as a bogger shinner, he might be it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

There was 100s more people at the BLM protests in Dublin than Belfast.

Belfast OK cause of the numbers and Dublin bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Odhinn wrote: »
    A volunteer and dedicated activist terrorist.

Fixed your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

It is extraordinary hypocrisy from Sinn Fein. An apology is absolutely in order but it won't happen. They believe they are above and beyond the law, that is their culture

It is in their DNA to always circle the wagons, even when they **** up in the most obvious fashion. If they don't change this paranoid mindset of everyone being out to get them, then their aspirations of waltzing into power at the next General Election will come to naught.

MLM and MoN should come out and give apologise on behalf of SF. There were and are many a loved one who could not go to a funeral of their nearest and dearest over the past few months, yet when a prominent republican dies (and let's leave aside his violent terrorist past for a minute) then SF members, activists and elected representatives travel the length and breadth of the Island to be there, for selfies, back-slapping and the like.

To compare, MM was elected Taoiseach last week and his family did not travel to Dublin because of Covid-19, a break with tradition. Then why on earth did Cork SF TD Jonathan Goulding travel all the way to Belfast to be there?
    And people defend this action?

As I said, this is our Dominic Cummings moment and ironically it's not FF or FG who put their foot in it, its SF.

markodaly wrote: »

As I said, this is isn't our Dominic Cummings moment and ironically it's not FF or FG who put their foot in it, its SF.

Fixed your post.
    Cummings wasn't going to a funeral. The Taoiseach didn't make excuses for the shinners at the funeral. It was wrong not to socially distance. They should apologise for giving a bad example. That's it.
    There's some faux outrage and some political mileage in it for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Don't think he'd have done well under interrogation :)

Ó Caoláin who is decent intelligent man to be replaced by this gimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,416 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

TheCitizen wrote: »

SAVE-20200701-095538.jpg

The core point of it is that two leaders of SF, including the northern one responsible for setting the rules there, and the one here who has been telling us that she should be and will be Taoiseach have just demonstrated that they are unsuited for leadership to practice what you preach.

Contrast that with Leo's example paying respects in the Garda HQ, or Martin's low key ascension to the position of taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Jimmy Saville was a volunteer and dedicated activist