Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stories from the Celtic Tiger Years *Mod Warning in OP PLEASE READ*

• Registered Users Posts: 29,010 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

the_syco wrote: »
    We had two options;

Bail out the banks, and we'd still have banks in Ireland.

Not bail out the banks, and use the banks not in Ireland.

The problem with the latter is that we'd be asking for a bank not in Ireland to lend to a country that has no banks, and no way of enforcing debt. Unlike the UK where they can take your stuff and sell it, apart from the Monk coming over to you, there's not much reason for you to pay up if you don't want to. So if the bank was going to lend to anyone in Ireland, the risk would be high, so thus would the interest.

there would have been nothing stopping us creating our own public banks, we may not have had an choice but to bail them out, but to do it with little or no changes or consequences was pretty damn stupid and reckless

• Registered Users Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Salvadoor wrote: »

Shame - they've removed it now

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Glebee

Celtic Tiger sort of passed me by as well. Not really doing anything different now than I did back then I think. Less on socialise but im older now and not able for the hangovers...I got some tarmac done out of my SSIAs:o, I feel hard done by now reading this thread. Should have blew it on something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    there would have been nothing stopping us creating our own public banks, we may not have had an choice but to bail them out, but to do it with little or no changes or consequences was pretty damn stupid and reckless

No need to reinvent the wheel. Just legislate for seperations between investment and retail banking as the Roosevelt Administration did in response to the Great Depression (which was then scrapped by the Clinton Administration at Wall Street's behest).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

Glebee wrote: »
    Celtic Tiger sort of passed me by as well. Not really doing anything different now than I did back then I think. Less on socialise but im older now and not able for the hangovers...I got some tarmac done out of my SSIAs:o, I feel hard done by now reading this thread. Should have blew it on something else.

My abiding memory of it was it engendering the worst side of people:superficial,materialist,vacous nonsense. I dont think I "missed" out.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    No need to reinvent the wheel. Just legislate for seperations between investment and retail banking as the Roosevelt Administration did in response to the Great Depression (which was then scrapped by the Clinton Administration at Wall Street's behest).

completely agree, reintroducing the glass steagall act was a critical thing to do, but it was not done, financial sector lobbyists made sure of that

• Registered Users Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Feisar wrote: »
    "4 year old toyota" says he! Just be glad you were never outside Mass baiting the starting motor on an ould Nissan Bluebird with a hammer in an effort to get her to start.

I learned to drive in a Nissan bluebird :)

We basically own AIB...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭salonfire

Just because you don't have any savings doesn't mean everyone is the same.

People had their whole life savings in the bank. These are the people who were rightly bailed out.

We basically own AIB...

aib is currently being prepped to be returned to the private sector, it could be argued that it should remain in largely public ownership and/or simply create our own public banking system, similar to other countries, including European countries

salonfire wrote: »
    Just because you don't have any savings doesn't mean everyone is the same.

People had their whole life savings in the bank. These are the people who were rightly bailed out.

deposits were/are guaranteed, the fact of the matter, we signaled, and signaled strongly to the financial sector, continue as you are, is in fact highly dangerous, virtually nothing has changed in this sector since the crash

aib is currently being prepped to be returned to the private sector, it could be argued that it should remain in largely public ownership and/or simply create our own public banking system, similar to other countries, including European countries

Don't know why because the bank itself isn't in great shape to be sold off, look at the share price since the govt sold a tranche

I don't know specifics but I'm pretty sure KBC was the only bank not bailed out by the state. So fair play to them I'm sticking with them

One minute you're moaning about having to bail out the banks, then when the cost could be recovered by selling it again, you're still moaning.

deposits were/are guaranteed, the fact of the matter, we signaled, and signaled strongly to the financial sector, continue as you are, is in fact highly dangerous, virtually nothing has changed in this sector since the crash

If the banking system was let collapse, what was one supposed to withdraw cash from? Or how were people with current accounts to be paid into?

• Registered Users Posts: 37,297 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The public bank would still need to borrow from somewhere.
    If the banks were not bailed out, any money in said banks would have gone with the banks.

again, we probably had no choice but to bail them out, but we done this without demanding changes within the financial sector, what a train wreck. fraudulent behavior has been proven to occur within the sector, yet no jail sentences, why!

the_syco wrote: »
    The public bank would still need to borrow from somewhere.

If the banks were not bailed out, any money in said banks would have gone with the banks.

banks create money, this is what they do, this is what they have always done! public banks are no different!

Join your local credit union

• Registered Users Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Odelay

Great, the banks.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,366 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Odelay wrote: »
    Great, the banks.

We were having such a nice time!

Join your local credit union

a public bank is a different beast altogether, far more powerful

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Can we get back to the good stories?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

Indeed, let's not have a discussion on the banks ruin an enjoyable thread folks. Back on topic, the stories are really interesting and fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭dresden8

We basically own AIB...

We have always been owned by AIB.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

Well Eddie and his gf Consuela are at least partly to blame and you can't say that they bear no responsibility.

Anyway, as said before seriousness is against the spirit of this thread!

They are no more to blame than your grandmother being scammed out of her life savings by some bollocks running a non-existant hedge fund and giving her the hard sell over the phone or a gang of travellers pressuring her to have her driveway tarred.

You are right in that a lot of people really went nuts with the credit card buying United season tickets, going to the F1 in Dubai, 3000 euro home entertainment systems, all on the never never.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

I worked in an engineering suppliers during the 'Tiger years. Some of the spending was collosal.. lads came in when they were doing the new golf course at the K Club and would spend 2-3 grand a week on tools, welding rods, workwear, you name it.. bottomless pit, and most of it wasn't for the site, but nobody was checking.

Another customer used to stop in on the way to his boat in Sligo, and by stop in, he landed his helicopter in the yard... Much to my surprise one day as I drove in at the end of lunch break... whup whup whup whup....what the????

Another day I had an oul lad come in buying 'a few bits for the yard'. He asked me to carry the 100m coil of rope out for him, and promptly blipped the key on a Ferrari F355 (not a replica.. real deal)

My parents also invested in an apartment in Kusadasi in Turkey.. they had it for a while and sold it for a few grand profit. Money was in the bank about a month before the bomb blast that turned off investment there for a good while.

So the banks knew all along and were screwing Eddie and the likes? Then how did the banks lose a fortune as well and had to be taken over?

Nearly everybody lost in this game. Except the people who sold at the top and sat on on their cash of course. The banks didn't do that.

The object of the exercise was to create a credit bubble. Package debt into completely bizarre vehicles like Mortgage Backed Securities, Collateralised Debt Obligations, Derivatives, sh1t like that. The banks were leveraged to the hilt. When subprime mortgages in the US, the first wave of them started to reset to a higher rate in 2007 people's mortgage payments suddenly trebled overnight and masses of defaults started the chain reaction. The banks knew that this was going to happen. It was a global thing not just Ireland. The banks got bailed out by the taxpayer while public services were gutted and austerity measures were imposed. It was the biggest shift in wealth upwards from the working and middle classes to the top.

If you don't believe me just do some research or I'll gladly provide you with some interesting reading material. on the subject.

I was 24 and the bank offered me 807K to buy 3 rental places on a salary of 40k !

Did you bite?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Not me (thankfully!). A barman I knew (not the bar owner - the guy worked in a bar) given 2.5m for various investment property purchases....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

ShatterAlan, I already asked nicely for people to stop discussing financial institutions in depth in this thread.

This is not a thread for that. Any further discussion you wish to have about the topic can be via PM or alternatively start a thread in a more appropriate forum.

Final warning to get back on topic.