Covid19 Part XVIII-25,473 in ROI(1,736 deaths) 5,760 in NI (551 deaths)(30/06)Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Gruffalox wrote: »
    Urgh Cheesus, what the hell is that. The things people think are craic.

I have been a Liverpool supporter for more than 45 years and I was as elated as any other Reds fan when they ended the 30 year wait for a league title during the week but those scenes showed absolutely moronic behaviour in the current circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Howitzer the 5th

Gruffalox wrote: »
    Urgh Cheesus, what the hell is that. The things people think are craic.

Its the scum of the earth celebrating winning a football title is all. Nothing to see here. Haven't you heard? Some things matter more than global pandemics and the continued growing transmission of a rampant virus.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

As I said in another thread, your on a wind up here surely if your suggesting that??

Does it look weird for using in Ireland? Is that problem? I have one of these hats and use it and guess what, I don't care what anyone thinks of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Micky 32 wrote: »
    As i said in an earlier post. It’s so much better conversing with real people about this virus than some miserable keyboard warrior people that’s on the net. I won’t be bothering to reply to such stupid posts like this.
    Great rebuke, well put.

When the "inevitable" (I would argue, avoidable) spikes are in your local area because the "real world" people aren't wearing masks and are being foolish about distancing and gathering, you can have a grand aul chat with them instead. Or maybe they'll be spending six months relearning how to walk and they won't have time for you.

I'm surprised that you've been on this thread so persistently and seemingly only reinforced your biases in favour of whatever the hell it is you're trying to claim here.
    froog wrote: »
    seems like there's a mass global movement of not giving a single **** right now. deeply worrying. the older and at risk groups must be terrified.
    I mean, myself and anyone I know in that group is just shielding themselves.

What's fairly worrying is that in places where cases have become unmanageable, the very demographic whose actions are flying in the face of sensible advice are the ones who start to die prematurely. There were 18 out of 23 cases the other day were in under 54 bracket. Hopefully most of them will have an easy recovery with no long-lasting ramifications, but all we can do at this point is guess what their outcomes are going to be.

It'd be nice to have the HPSC data. :(
    Does it look weird for using in Ireland? Is that problem? I have one of these hats and use it and guess what, I don't care what anyone thinks of it.
    Good woman, don't let anyone tell you otherwise. What an absolute cretin is somebody who tries to mock someone for being responsible and protecting themselves. Reminds me of whatever dildo kept saying "hazmat suits" a few weeks ago. State of them like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

how china is and has dealt with international visitors especialy plane restrictions.

https://www.china-briefing.com/news/chinas-travel-restrictions-due-to-covid-19-an-explainer/

Seeing Ireland and europe are in the middle of making air bridge decisions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Beijing outbreak shows how the silent Covid can come roaring back

Beijing's patient zero in the second outbreak proved that the virus could be hiding in plain sight despite months of social distancing, testing and quarantining...

Now, more than 200 people have tested positive across Beijing, schools are shut and thousands of domestic flights canceled.

The resurgence offers a stark warning to countries that appear to have cut chains of transmission: The coronavirus’s ability to cause little or no symptoms in a large proportion of people enables it to spread silently for weeks — even months — creating viral reservoirs that can remain hidden until someone becomes sick enough to warrant testing.

“Transmission could have started a month earlier, with already so many asymptomatic or mildly symptomatic patients shedding lots of the virus into the environment,” George Gao, head of the Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention, told government advisers at a meeting in Shanghai last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Beijing outbreak shows how the silent Covid can come roaring back

Beijing's patient zero in the second outbreak proved that the virus could be hiding in plain sight despite months of social distancing, testing and quarantining...

Now, more than 200 people have tested positive across Beijing, schools are shut and thousands of domestic flights canceled.

The resurgence offers a stark warning to countries that appear to have cut chains of transmission: The coronavirus’s ability to cause little or no symptoms in a large proportion of people enables it to spread silently for weeks — even months — creating viral reservoirs that can remain hidden until someone becomes sick enough to warrant testing.

“Transmission could have started a month earlier, with already so many asymptomatic or mildly symptomatic patients shedding lots of the virus into the environment,” George Gao, head of the Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention, told government advisers at a meeting in Shanghai last week.

The only potentially positive thing from this might be a lower death rate and higher amount of immunity. Would be great if we could do vast antibody testing to see where we are really at,.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

I won't be replying further to this as I've said what I said in the mask thread and there's already been mod involvement in your post so at this stage I'm taking myself out of the "conversation"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

s1ippy wrote: »
    Great rebuke, well put.

When the "inevitable" (I would argue, avoidable) spikes are in your local area because the "real world" people aren't wearing masks and are being foolish about distancing and gathering, you can have a grand aul chat with them instead. Or maybe they'll be spending six months relearning how to walk and they won't have time for you.

I'm surprised that you've been on this thread so persistently and seemingly only reinforced your biases in favour of whatever the hell it is you're trying to claim here.

What are you talking about? You are directing this at the wrong person. I wear a mask when i’m in the appropiate situations. I take every precaution and have gained a lot of experience in successfully protecting myself and others due to my work. I have also fully complied with all the restrictions Take your bad mood out on someone else. Now where’s that ignore button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Great rebuke, well put.

I mean, myself and anyone I know in that group is just shielding themselves.

What's fairly worrying is that in places where cases have become unmanageable, the very demographic whose actions are flying in the face of sensible advice are the ones who start to die prematurely. There were 18 out of 23 cases the other day were in under 54 bracket. Hopefully most of them will have an easy recovery with no long-lasting ramifications, but all we can do at this point is guess what their outcomes are going to be.

It'd be nice to have the HPSC data. :(

Good woman, don't let anyone tell you otherwise. What an absolute cretin is somebody who tries to mock someone for being responsible and protecting themselves. Reminds me of whatever dildo kept saying "hazmat suits" a few weeks ago. State of them like.

You’re going mad with the insults lately Slippy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

I have been a Liverpool supporter for more than 45 years and I was as elated as any other Reds fan when they ended the 30 year wait for a league title during the week but those scenes showed absolutely moronic behaviour in the current circumstances.

Sorry :o I did not know about it. Football is alien to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

froog wrote: »
    seems like there's a mass global movement of not giving a single **** right now. deeply worrying. the older and at risk groups must be terrified.
    Actually, quite a few of those running around not giving a .... as well! I'm sure they'd be pleased to hear that you're terrified for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Drumpot wrote: »
    The only potentially positive thing from this might be a lower death rate and higher amount of immunity. Would be great if we could do vast antibody testing to see where we are really at,.

With antibody testing showing low numbers, along with the news they may not be as reliable as we expect, we can only hope that the low numbers are in fact far higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

speckle wrote: »
    Face shields give better protection than cloth masks anyhow.

I was wondering about faceshields and how effective they are. I actually bought a pack of them for work but i was using a mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

What about Djokovic and the other players all testing positive ?

They were part of BLM protests :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

You’re going mad with the insults lately Slippy.
    When people are attempting to engage in "shaming" of people who wear masks or visors I feel that terminology is appropriate. Making people embarrassed or self-conscious about taking health precautions is not acceptable in any circumstances and cannot be allowed slide. In my work, a new policy came out requiring a doctors note to wear a mask and everyone in the company stood up to management and demanded that the requirement be taken out. The wording was changed and now we all wear a mask at work in solidarity with the 30% who are high risk. It's only through constant vigilance and pushback that these inconsiderate bullies, seemingly lacking even adolescent empathy, will be silenced. It doesn't work as well online obviously but I would encourage everyone to be vocally opposed to their sh!te in public.
    What are you talking about? You are directing this at the wrong person. I wear a mask when i’m in the appropiate situations. I take every precaution and have gained a lot of experience in successfully protecting myself and others due to my work. I have also fully complied with all the restrictions Take your bad mood out on someone else. Now where’s that ignore button.
    Apologies, I had you confused with another poster whose username has similar characteristics and I thought you were saying we should the spikes and increased death rates that come with them are going to become normalised. A lot to infer from just one post, but I think if you knew the poster I had you mistaken for you'd probably see where I got that from. A quick scan of your posts confirms you're responsible and sound and I've liked a fair few of your posts in the last week. Chalk it up to my sorry head today after the fisht of pints I had last night. Sorry again. :D

(you've already ignored me haven't you :pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,811 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

https://twitter.com/trancebo/status/1276583563757043712

Good to see attention from the garda to this

When people are attempting to engage in "shaming" of people who wear masks or visors I feel that terminology is appropriate. Making people embarrassed or self-conscious about taking health precautions is not acceptable in any circumstances and cannot be allowed slide. In my work, a new policy came out requiring a doctors note to wear a mask and everyone in the company stood up to management and demanded that the requirement be taken out. The wording was changed and now we all wear a mask at work in solidarity with the 30% who are high risk. It's only through constant vigilance and pushback that these inconsiderate bullies, seemingly lacking even adolescent empathy, will be silenced. It doesn't work as well online obviously but I would encourage everyone to be vocally opposed to their sh!te in public.

Apologies, I had you confused with another poster whose username has similar characteristics and I thought you were saying we should the spikes and increased death rates that come with them are going to become normalised. A lot to infer from just one post, but I think if you knew the poster I had you mistaken for you'd probably see where I got that from. A quick scan of your posts confirms you're responsible and sound and I've liked a fair few of your posts in the last week. Chalk it up to my sorry head today after the fisht of pints I had last night. Sorry again. :D

(you've already ignored me haven't you :pac:)

I don’t think insults are appropriate on here in any circumstances tbh, very very low.

No testing data released yesterday and no county data released yesterday. I really hope they upload them today because people need to know.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Pure skum... vacuous self absorbed inconsiderate pig ignorant selfish f@cki g instgram skum....

We have bred a generation of useless shallow no Mark's... thick as **** and devoid of kop on .

How is that prick a manager ... the licence holder should be stripped of his licence for employing a half wit like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Pure skum... vacuous self absorbed inconsiderate pig ignorant selfish f@cki g instgram skum....

We have bred a generation of useless shallow no Mark's... thick as **** and devoid of kop on .

How is that prick a manager ... the licence holder should be stripped of his licence for employing a half wit like that.

Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,843 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

D.Q wrote: »
    Jesus

He could definitely be at fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,328 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Garda is being a clown, he should be masked shouting within 2 meters of someone. Lead by example.

No testing data released yesterday and no county data released yesterday. I really hope they upload them today because people need to know.

Have you run out of your anxiety meds?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

But I’ve no concern about outdoor gatherings, even with no social distancing. The pubs are shut and so there’ll be no no Cheltenham or Florida spring break style indoor drinking afterwards that would more likely spread the virus. There’s been no evidence to date of outdoor gatherings leading to spikes, including the BLM protests
    Even from the earliest reviews of Chinese case data we could see that outdoor transmission was considerably lower than indoor. You can still get it outdoors so you can't be completely casual, but the data seems to show it is a lot less likely than indoors.

Unfortunately a lot of what is going on in Ireland is dangerous as regards spread - house parties, chats in kitchens, opening pubs. I understand where the government is going in saying that there needs to be certain rules in pubs (e.g. the €9 meal thing), but they're not doing a great job communicating why that is and how this is a relatively dangerous step where we need everyone to be careful for it to succeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

I was wondering about faceshields and how effective they are. I actually bought a pack of them for work but i was using a mask.

Caveat emperor posted a video awhile back with cloth mask, surgical mask, face shield and n95, which gives you one example.

Garda is being a clown, he should be masked shouting within 2 meters of someone. Lead by example.
    Not a requirement for them despite Gerry Killeen's crusade to mask every last one of them.

hmmm wrote: »
    Even from the earliest reviews of Chinese case data we could see that outdoor transmission was considerably lower than indoor. You can still get it outdoors so you can't be completely casual, but the data seems to show it is a lot less likely than indoors.

Unfortunately a lot of what is going on in Ireland is dangerous as regards spread - house parties, chats in kitchens, opening pubs. I understand where the government is going in saying that there needs to be certain rules in pubs (e.g. the €9 meal thing), but they're not doing a great job communicating why that is and how this is a relatively dangerous step where we need everyone to be careful for it to succeed.
    At this stage I don't envy their efforts to get a balance between communicating a health message and not freaking out large tracts of the population. Them's the rules is the answer to any moaning about the logic of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,443 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Seems to be concern with NPHET with travel cases. Thought the idea for green list was that countries would have similar prevalence rate so be ok'ed by them. Wonder what the messaging will be around foreign travel? https://twitter.com/President_MU/status/1277206296106844166?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Has anyone read the article where they analysis three outbreaks in different indoor settings?

Essential reading and really well presented, with interactive visuals to demonstrate how it spread in a restaurant, bus and open-plan office and what were key factors of spread.

'An analysis of three Covid-19 outbreaks: how they happened and how they can be avoided'

https://english.elpais.com/spanish_news/2020-06-17/an-analysis-of-three-covid-19-outbreaks-how-they-happened-and-how-they-can-be-avoided.html