Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election and Government Formation Megathread (see post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,137 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Is Norma foley an outside bet for a junior minister ? I heard her name mentioned during the week as a maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Has the Dail ever met on the northside?

As a parliament I think it has only met in Leinster House, the Mansion House and Earlsfort Terrace (UCD/NCH).

Though I will be corrected on this by anyone who knows better.

Cabinet meetings have taken place all over the State.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,384 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

It's pretty pathetic that our politicians have to read off a written script whenever the speak in the Dail. Every single time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭larva

Though not in enough droves to actually force a change of guard. That's how the numbers played out.

TBH, I'd say SF are quite happy to sit back and get to complain about everything for another five years without having to do the hard work of balancing needs and resources.

SF were again excluded by other parties from "getting the numbers" its was a clear political campaign that any other form of government without them was going to happen, hence the so called historic Grand coalition. SF will be of great benefit to the country in opposition, holding this government to account. And if the new government, FF in particular, screw the country over again then I hope they "do a Labour" and are never heard of ever again.

larva wrote: »
    SF were again excluded by other parties from "getting the numbers" its was a clear political campaign that any other form of government without them was going to happen, hence the so called historic Grand coalition. SF will be of great benefit to the country in opposition, holding this government to account. And if the new government, FF in particular, screw the country over again then I hope they "do a Labour" and are never heard of ever again.

How were they excluded when it looked like this deal was likely Mary Lou McDonald said they’d be able to get a outline of a left deal done ? So if it was possible now it was possible then.

I know they have to do it but these speeches add nothing really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭oceanman

Has the Dail ever met on the northside?
    yes

It's pretty pathetic that our politicians have to read off a written script whenever the speak in the Dail. Every single time.

It's not an oratorical chamber. It's for legislative purposes. I'd rather they read a script of well considered thoughts than talk nonsense.

Or should I say, more nonsense than other parliaments.

oceanman wrote: »
    yes

Where? When?

What's the point of the Labour party anymore?

Right so labour is saying no to most things.

Alan Kelly is making a speech like he’s a leader of a major party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭larva

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    How were they excluded when it looked like this deal was likely Mary Lou McDonald said they’d be able to get a outline of a left deal done ? So if it was possible now it was possible then.

Excluded by many, especially by all three parties now in government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭oceanman

Where? When?
    abbeville house kinsealy, not sure what year though.

oceanman wrote: »
    abbeville house kinsealy, not sure what year though.

Haughey's gaff!

That would have been a cabinet meeting surely and not a parliament meeting.

Edit: Cabinet meeting held on November 11th, 1988 due to Haughey's asthma.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/the-scene-of-many-a-haughey-triumph-in-new-hands-1.369502?mode=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

SF were again excluded by other parties from "getting the numbers" its was a clear political campaign that any other form of government without them was going to happen, hence the so called historic Grand coalition.

SF had a very good showing in the election compared to their previous results. This does not entitle them to go into govt. SF had their chance to form a govt, they tried and couldn't do it. They never seriously talked to the 1st and 3rd biggest parties and it's a weird position to think that everyone else would just stand aside and let them go into govt.

Mary Lou has complains a lot about being excluded by the old boys club but she has never said what sort govt she actually wanted. Coalition? Confidence and supply? Let's face it, she is happy to go into opposition for now with an aim to continue building for the next election

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,879 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Murphy is an appalling orator. Speech contents fine, speech delivery not

Catherine Murphy like many TDs can’t even read off a speech she presumably wrote. How is it that hard ?

I’ve listened to the other speeches good or less than good but I’m muting RBB and especially mick Barry who offers nothing and I’m sorry the constituency I’m in voted for him and inflicted him on Dáil Éireann. Sorry lads.

How the he’ll can RBB talk about working people when just look at his up bringing he was never in need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭uptherebels

The change people voted was to never let FF run the country ever again! Its insane these shysters are back in power.

I don't see how you reached that conclusion.... The only thing you can reason ably take from the election is that people don't want any one party to have a majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭uptherebels

Ah come on, are you being selectively stupid? People voted in droves for Sinn Fein to try force a change of guard

Just not enough to actually put them in government..... What was that about stupid!🙄

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    How the he’ll can RBB talk about working people when just look at his up bringing he was never in need.

I used work for Dún Laoghaire Rathdown Co Co and I tell ya, he was an awful (I have more choice words that I'd prefer to use) councillor to deal with. The PBP are revolting locally.

Then again, Dún Laoghaire gave us Victor Boyhan, Mary Hanafin and John Bailey (RIP), so they have form for dumping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,839 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Is Noel Grealish the first to use an ipad for his speech?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭This is it

McGrath calling out SF

Edit: called them all out in the end

The poor cosseted over-66s. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Four day week with no loss of pay she says. Goodness gracious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,891 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Four day week with no loss of pay she says. Goodness gracious

Goodness Gracious indeed;

https://money.cnn.com/2018/07/19/news/economy/new-zealand-four-day-work-week-perpetual-guardian/index.html

Sure Kellogg's introduced it over a century ago and had the same results.

Our friend above is the right wing free marketeer sort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

One company in new Zealand. Change the script