Covid19 Part XVIII-25,473 in ROI(1,736 deaths) 5,760 in NI (551 deaths)(30/06)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Flickerfusion

There's a real couldn't give two fcuks attitude in this country.

There's psychological / sociological research showing Ireland, Australia, New Zealand and a few others as being amongst the least deferential (to authority) societies in the world. The US is not as high up that list as you'd think.

The US, UK and even France (despite the regular riots) are actually far more likely to defer to authority than we are and most of continental Europe is rather similar to that trend.

Basically, Irish society will get on board with something if they're on board with it. If they're not, you won't get very far.

If you take any of the measures we've jumped on board with : Smoking ban (most people were heavily in favour, including many smokers). Plastic bag tax (people didn't like plastic bags blowing around) -- try getting people to give up coal fires!! and you'll get "The neighbours can choke with their asthma but, I will warm my rear on a big smokey coal/turf fire. I like my flickery warm fireplace and to hell with the rest of yiz!!!!"

The Government miscommunicated the message on masks and left it wide open to interpretation and the default position is 'feck that!' as a result. It's a rather impressive screw up given they had been doing quite well on the messaging up to that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Cw85

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    That's hardly getting back to the normal you advocated though.

I agree with 1 metre social distancing, it was even announced by the UK today. Can get back to a lot of normality at 1 metre. 2 metres here is a joke even the WHO doesn't recommend that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Cw85 wrote: »
    I was pointing out the obvious to another user if you read the previous comments.

I don't know anyone personally who had the virus and nobody I know has heard of anyone they know getting it either. It is simply not very contactable in an outdoor setting where I am 100% of the time during the day

And I was pointing out your silly comment about those that are vulnerable should be wearing masks and that they aren't protecting themselves. We should all be wearing masks to protect the vulnerable. We should all be wearing masks before symptoms show up because that is how you protect others around you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

ShyMets wrote: »
    Things are certainly getting heated.

Think I'll tune out for a while and check in later to view the carnage:)
    We have had a major breach of the Relaxation thread containment vessel. There should be a red button somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,985 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Djokovic tests positive for Covid 19....
    I believe he's an anti-vaxxer?

And I was pointing out your silly comment about those that are vulnerable should be wearing masks and that they aren't protecting themselves. We should all be wearing masks to protect the vulnerable. We should all be wearing masks before symptoms show up because that is how you protect others around you.

So we all go around for the next few years wearing masks? That simply is not going to happen and you know it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭PixieValentine

Boggles wrote: »
    What about his wife or anyone else they may have infected?

Yep, his wife is also infected. As is the wife of another of the players who played the exhibition, who is pregnant and due to have her baby next month.

Djokovic hopefully will be lucky and won’t have a bad experience with it. He’s young, very fit and healthy, can afford the very best of healthcare etc. Not that it’s a guarantee of anything, as very young and healthy people have gotten tremendously sick from this virus too, but he certainly has all the advantages one can be set up with and is apparently showing no symptoms so far, so hopefully he'll be lucky. But beyond him I think the real story is, as you say Boggles, just how many people that ridiculously badly-run tour may have infected! Numerous players, coaches, fitness trainers etc already tested positive, as well as the 5-year-old grandson of the owner of the restaurant they all partied at. Then there’s the all the people who may be at risk now too thanks to this- fans that were packed in with with little to no social distancing there, the ballkids who looked after their towels and stuff, people at a concert players went to, the staff at the events they held in multiple cities, anyone they came in contact with thanks to all that travel… it’s crazy, looking at the pictures of what they got up to. It’s like a “what not to do” of how to try and bring back tennis and how to handle everything. They really just acted as though everything was utterly normal and it’s come back to bite them royally.
    eagle eye wrote: »
    Yeah, he is. Or seems to be, anyway. He made some comments about a future covid vaccine that basically said exactly that, and has some kind of weird ideas and beliefs about health stuff.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

He is

It’ll be no more than a sniffle to him if even that.
    Maybe. But I expect any professional sportsperson who relies on their lungs for their income would be pretty nervous after a positive test. There have been plenty of reports of pretty long-lasting lung damage for many, and no-one knows yet what the long-term impact will be of an infection.

Get over it, the virus is basically gone here, slim to none chance of getting it in a community setting

That's your reply to pointing out some basic cop on.

Yep, his wife is also infected. As is the wife of another of the players who played the exhibition, who is pregnant and due to have her baby next month.

Djokovic hopefully will be lucky and won’t have a bad experience with it. He’s young, very fit and healthy, can afford the very best of healthcare etc. Not that it’s a guarantee of anything, as very young and healthy people have gotten tremendously sick from this virus too, but he certainly has all the advantages one can be set up with and is apparently showing no symptoms so far, so hopefully he'll be lucky. But beyond him I think the real story is, as you say Boggles, just how many people that ridiculously badly-run tour may have infected! Numerous players, coaches, fitness trainers etc already tested positive, as well as the 5-year-old grandson of the owner of the restaurant they all partied at. Then there’s the all the people who may be at risk now too thanks to this- fans that were packed in with with little to no social distancing there, the ballkids who looked after their towels and stuff, people at a concert players went to, the staff at the events they held in multiple cities, anyone they came in contact with thanks to all that travel… it’s crazy, looking at the pictures of what they got up to. It’s like a “what not to do” of how to try and bring back tennis and how to handle everything. They really just acted as though everything was utterly normal and it’s come back to bite them royally.

Yeah, he is. Or seems to be, anyway. He made some comments about a future covid vaccine that basically said exactly that, and has some kind of weird ideas and beliefs about health stuff.
    Not to downplay this at all but I'm always a bit confused when these reports emphasise that the people involved have kids, they are the least at risk category.

So we all go around for the next few years wearing masks? That simply is not going to happen and you know it

It won't happen with people like you who refuse to wear masks, that's for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

I never made any comment whatsoever about single mothers. Yet again you have your facts wrong. Nothing new there I suppose.

So you didn't repeatedly call a poster talking about struggling under lockdown an attention seekers on the restrictions thread? The thread you were later banned from for saying someone should be attacked with a cut throat razor? If you want to attack my posts we may as well revisit your greatest hits while we're at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

For all the hullabaloo about it. In 2 weeks time when every single person is fine with little to no sickness, side effects or symptoms it will be forgotten about and we will move onto someone else to complain about.

That's your reply to pointing out some basic cop on.

The NEPHET said you have one in a million chance not me

It won't happen with people like you who refuse to wear masks, that's for sure.

People like me? You mean people who have asthma?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

He's showing no symptoms and therefore asymptomatic so why was he tested I wonder? Do some people wake up in the morning and think 'I feel great, I better get tested for covid' ... maybe they do?

wadacrack wrote: »
    That is good news. But we need to wait for larger samples and peer review to draw any firm conclusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

He's showing no symptoms and therefore asymptomatic so why was he tested I wonder? Do some people wake up in the morning and think 'I feel great, I better get tested for covid' ... maybe they do?
    He's a contact for others who were infected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,651 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Three players in a tournament he organised, came down with it, so he was tested.

That is not a reason to become complacent with this virus.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,062 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I just cannot understand what the big deal is about them. Even in the US there seems to be more people willing to use them than here and they're hardly being world leaders in COVID-19 prevention.
    Part of the problem was repeatedly being told not to buy / use them by our heads at the peak so getting buy in now, when there's below 10 cases a day, is a bit of a tall order.

It's also been framed poorly too - cloth masks or disposables aren't that great at preventing you getting the disease and that's the angle that's been played out rather than transmission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭NH2013

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/make-way-for-summer-government-taskforce-says-non-essential-air-travel-ban-should-be-lifted-on-july-1-39308901.html

Government taskforce recommends the removal of the recommendation against non-essential air travel to other countries from the 1st of July.

While I'm in favour of the lifting of restrictions I do feel that it should only be to countries with similar levels of infection per capita, ruling out the USA and Brazil for the next month or two and probably ruling out the UK for another month until their numbers continue on the downward trend, but quite happy to see a tailored approach being taken on a country by country basis based on risk and not just the previous blanket ban.

Yet again, you're wrong. Not NEPHET. Sam McConkey of RCSI.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

hmmm wrote: »
    Maybe. But I expect any professional sportsperson who relies on their lungs for their income would be pretty nervous after a positive test. There have been plenty of reports of pretty long-lasting lung damage for many, and no-one knows yet what the long-term impact will be of an infection.

Well if the worst does happen to him he will only have himself to blame. He is or should be well aware of the risks of not taking any precautions while the virus is still in circulation. Having stated that I hope he doesn`t get a serious case of it though.

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Yet again, you're wrong. Not NEPHET. Sam McConkey of RCSI.

Apologies it was Mr. McConkey, don;t see how "yet again I was wrong though" I was just wrong about who released this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭PixieValentine

bmcc10 wrote: »
    For all the hullabaloo about it. In 2 weeks time when every single person is fine with little to no sickness, side effects or symptoms it will be forgotten about and we will move onto someone else to complain about.

Honestly, that would be about the best-case scenario, and I hope you're right and that's how it happens, because it will mean not many more people will have got the virus from this, and nobody will have gotten terribly sick. But even if they get that lucky, it won’t change how irresponsible everything about this exhibition tour was.

He got tested because numerous other players and members of their teams had already tested positive, including, I think, Djokovic’s own trainer. And these players were NOT adopting any kind of social distancing. They were handshaking, hugging, playing basketball, dancing at a party, crowding in together to take group pictures…. there was little to no precautions taken. Once the final was called off, the rest of the players got tested that night, before doing anything else. Djokovic, in another example of not exactly stunning decision making, declined to get tested until he had flown back to Serbia. (I’m sure he flew privately so hopefully the amount of people who will have been exposed will have been minimal, but it’s still MORE people he may have inadvertently put at risk unfortunately.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

ixoy wrote: »
    Part of the problem was repeatedly being told not to buy / use them by our heads at the peak so getting buy in now, when there's below 10 cases a day, is a bit of a tall order.

It's also been framed poorly too - cloth masks or disposables aren't that great at preventing you getting the disease and that's the angle that's been played out rather than transmission.
    In a lot of respects it's what other countries have done so we're trying to follow them. What also makes it a harder sell is that they came out very strongly against using them for most of the pandemic. The current advisory comes from 15 May but really there's only been a push on it since 8 June. With numbers now very low and locations where you should wear them vague it's unlikely the uptake will get any higher.

Apologies it was Mr. McConkey, don;t see how "yet again I was wrong though" I was just wrong about who released this

And about what the purpose of mask js.

You go get back to normal. Good luck!