Which Politician would you most like to go on the beer with?

13»

As much as I dislike him as PM, I bet Boris would be a great lad on the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Sleepy wrote: »
    Bertie, fill him full of Beamish, get into a row and then kick seven shades out of him when he took a swing.

"my client was acting in self defence when he crippled the former Taoiseach your honour..."
    It's Bass that bollix drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

None of them. They'd fill your ears with shyte talk, false promises and exactly what you want to hear, and then disappear off in their state driven car and leave you with the bill.

Yes, I believe all politicians are the same eventually, and not a single one of them genuinely cares for "the people". Not 1. I'd love to see how many would stay if you put them down to no more than €30k a year and no expenses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Lucky Lou

I read that as "to bed with"
    Leo if he was up for it I thought.
    Then saw beer and said Miggledy. He'd be great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

You can despise the Healy Raes and their malign parish pump influence on national politics with every bone of your metropolitan body but you'd probably love a sesh with them.

They don't drink (Danny doesn't, anyway).
    Nigel.

I was thinking the same thing - can't abide the man's politics, but he's always drinking pints of ale and smoking cigars, you can tell he'd know all the offensive jokes - it'd be good craic.

But to answer the OP's question: Kate O'Connell, on the off-chance I'd get the ride out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Hipsters answer- Trudeau(Boring whose personality consists of wearing coloured socks)

Me: Any of the tyrants, except for Hitler, he seemed like a snore fest. I'd imagine he had terrible chat in a one on one setting. Talking about painting nd dat.

George W if you could get him back on the sauce would be some craic. Any of the Soviet ones and the ones who seized power after WW2 in eastern Europe. I find this time so interesting and how a system that so many people believed in vehemently, is pretty much gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 319 ✭✭Roald Dahl

thomil wrote: »
    Definitely former German chancellor Helmut Schmidt if he were still alive, for purely personal reasons.

He worked with my grandfather when he was “Polizeisenator” for the city of Hamburg in the 1950s. My grandfather was in charge of payroll for all city employees at the time, including the police force and I know from my late dad that granddad and Schmidt worked very closely together. Since I know next to nothing about my paternal grandfather, I’d love the chance to pick the brains of someone who actually worked with him for years.

I would say Helmut Schmidt was some man to have a few jars with. He even had a bar in his house. Proper 1970s cool! :)

https://www.helmut-schmidt.de/aktuelles/objekt-der-woche/detail/artikel/objekt-der-woche-voelkerverstaendigung-in-ottis-bar/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Obviously Nigel Farage.

Bob Mugabe would be an interesting one. I'd say he has absolutely no filter at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

touts wrote: »
    Putin. He doesn't say much in public but I'd suspect you get the guy talking and he would be fascinating.

A man who spent over 25 years in the KGB isn't going to tell you much.