Gone with the Wind Cancelled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭mick087

The Germans Episode is coming back.
    The board must of reviewed it and thought it was ok.

Im going to try and find out who these board committee people are.
    If they have the power to withdraw programmes then it be interersting to know who they are, and whos interest they are serving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

TomTomTim wrote: »
    I remember people joking about them removing Faulty Towers episodes only yesterday https://www.thejournal.ie/fawlty-towers-uktv-5120911-Jun2020/

That particular episode of Fawlty Towers was always "cancelled" in Germany.

I distinctly remember the late Andrew Sachs, the actor who played Manuel in Fawlty Towers, appearing on the Late Late Show with Gay Byrne some time in either the 1980s or 1990s.

Sachs was born in Germany, from which his Jewish family escaped to Britain just before the start of the second world war. He recounted how, as a native speaker, he dubbed his own parts as Manuel into German when Fawlty Towers was acquired by German TV. "But", he smiled, "They only ever bought 11 of the 12 episodes that were ever made. Guess which one they didn't take?"

The Germans decided they were not going to entertain a programme that sailed way too close to the wind, they might have thought, to a time in their history which they were not yet ready to laugh at. Fair enough. And fair play to them for at least treating their audience to the magic that was all other episodes of Fawlty Towers.

This move by a British based media company to deprive ALL viewers of this show lest some Germans might be offended or less some of the rest of us might laugh too loud is ridiculous. It's a bit like the GAA banning Cork supporters from bringing the Confederate Stars 'n Bars flag to matches.

Why do/did Cork fans do this? Because of the association with the word Rebel. It's a rebel flag; they're the rebel county. Is that not patently obvious to even the most politically naive observer?

I live in Dublin. Generally speaking I will support whichever team is providing the opposition to Cork on any given day. A-B-C!!! (Anyone but feckin Cork) And at one level it does no harm to cure Corkonians of the conceit that they were the only or main rebels in the country 100 years ago, but the notion that they are sending "dog whistles" to recent black immigrants or to like-minded racists around the world by flying that flag is ridiculous. If for no other reason than Cork people wouldn't be smart enough to think that one up.

What is offensive in one country has no parallel in another.

Maybe we could see the Sloop John B, that lovable Beach Boys ditty that is a staple of many pub singalongs around the world, slapped with an injunction that a trigger warning must be issue before it is sung. Yup. Next time the Boy Scouts of America have a jamboree and they want to sing that around the camp fire they have to be told: "Trigger warning!!! Original Lyrics only!!!"

You could imagine the conversation
    "What other lyrics are there?"
    "The Famine Song. Lyrics that are very offensive to people of Irish Catholic descent"
    "What do they say?"
    "The Famine's over. Why don't you go home"
    "Who thought those words up?"
    "Somebody in Scotland"
    "So why do the Irish care what the Scots say?"
    "Well, they sing it in Ireland too. In the northern part"
    "Wait, people in Ireland tell Irish people to go home. To Ireland? Because of what people in SCotland think. I'm confused"
    "Weell, it's complicated........."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

This thread is the perfect example of how boards now mostly consists of old farts complaining about largely imaginary problems.

That’s because the young thick generation are out tearing the place apart for insta likes.

Sometimes your find things are done to test the water.
    Its not imaginary problem when something is taken down to be reviewed.
    Who is doing the reviwing? In whos interest are they serving?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

This thread is complaining about an actual problem. I’m 36. Am I an old fart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Keep up the virtue signaling, I don't wanna hear you moan when the world looks like a scene from Equilibrium.

Sure sure we're moaning now but when they take something YOU like then you'll be angry... and it's coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

mick087 wrote: »
    The Germans Episode is coming back.
    The board must of reviewed it and thought it was ok.

Im going to try and find out who these board committee people are.
    If they have the power to withdraw programmes then it be interersting to know who they are, and whos interest they are serving.

While I'm not that concerned with the stupid decisions companies are free to make, I too would love to know how such decisions come about. I mean, sure companies usually respond to demand but was there really any demand for this? Or did some gobsh!te or committee of gobsh!tes just take this decision upon themselves thinking that they were in tune with society's wishes?

Again, it's not something that bothers me personally since the high seas has everything but this phenomenon of removing risque comedy from catalogs is stupidly misguided and I'd love to know who they're pandering to here. I mean, I don't recall any campaigns to have them removed or anything like that.

Could it be that there are some very unfunny people working in the BBC who can't tell the difference between being racist and laughing at a racist character? Don't get me wrong, I know that there are some very stupid out there who can't tell the difference between satire and reality (see Colbert Report for example) but we really should be letting stupid people have this much influence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

It's a shame because there's a reasonable debate to be had regarding the removal of content because of it's dealing with controversial subjects. Netflix seemingly has removed the Lethal Weapon episodes from its catalog too, probably for similar reasons. It's not a big issue in the grand scheme of things but there's definitely a conversation to be had about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Keep up the virtue signaling, I don't wanna hear you moan when the world looks like a scene from Equilibrium.

Sure sure we're moaning now but when they take something YOU like then you'll be angry... and it's coming.

You're not getting it. People like Duffy would be happy out with an Equilibrium type situation once it is their beliefs that we all have to live by.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

While I'm not that concerned with the stupid decisions companies are free to make, I too would love to know how such decisions come about. I mean, sure companies usually respond to demand but was there really any demand for this? Or did some gobsh!te or committee of gobsh!tes just take this decision upon themselves thinking that they were in tune with society's wishes?

Again, it's not something that bothers me personally since the high seas has everything but this phenomenon of removing risque comedy from catalogs is stupidly misguided and I'd love to know who they're pandering to here. I mean, I don't recall any campaigns to have them removed or anything like that.

Could it be that there are some very unfunny people working in the BBC who can't tell the difference between being racist and laughing at a racist character? Don't get me wrong, I know that there are some very stupid out there who can't tell the difference between satire and reality (see Colbert Report for example) but we really should be letting stupid people have this much influence.

If a broadcasting comapnay is going to take something down then we need to know the reason why. We also need to know who is making these decisions and whos interest are they serving.

Today Fawlty Towers tomorrow ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,341 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

The Protests Come for ‘Paw Patrol’
    A backlash is mounting against depictions of “good cops,” on television and in the street.

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/06/10/arts/television/protests-fictional-cops.html
    Last week, Tom Scharpling, an executive producer of “Monk,” criticized his own show on Twitter: “If you — as I have — worked on a TV show or movie in which police are portrayed as lovable goofballs, you have contributed to the larger acceptance that cops are implicitly the good guys.” ...
    LEGO has halted marketing on its “LEGO City Police Station” and “Police Highway Arrest” sets. A&E has pulled its reality show “Live PD” from the schedule. On Tuesday night, “Cops,” the show that branded suspects as “bad boys” and spawned the whole genre of crime reality television, was canceled after 32 seasons.

Attenborough video deleted amid racism claims
    https://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/news/black-lives-matter-attenborough-video-deleted-amid-racism-claims-zdqs08dw3
    The video showed Asian people bathing in a river and then showed bigger crowds of white people. In his voiceover, Sir David says we should “stabilise the human population as low as we fairly can” to save the planet.

move alone, (literally) nothing to see here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Kiara Melted Wharf

I think the younsters of today are being played like a fiddle and they can't see it.
    Certain groups are constantly steering them in directions that serve their own ends.

molly coddled/helecopter parenting, cant think or do anything for themselves, seen some getting parents to book a appointments for them, holidays etc

Amazed at some of these in their 20's and still reliant on their parents and im only a few years older than these, working with some of them...none giving money, not helping at home, expect everything done for them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I remember as a youngfella watching the simpsons and being blown away at how edgy it was, my teens it was American Pie movies and the copies that followed, then South Park came out and I wondered how far TV and comedy could push the boundaries. I never imagined how far it would have regressed in the 20 or so years since, not only regressing but actively deleting entire series and movies like they never existed.

People say ah shur it’s only one episode of this and one episode of that but this will stifle creativity. I’m not interested in gender swapping roles, politically correct James Bond or queer Star Wars characters...and guess what, nobody else cares either.

Maybe you don’t. White and Irish I presume? Representation matters.

Speaking to my best friends daughter. Part Cherokee part Hispanic part black part white part everything, the kid is very cosmopolitan in complexion. So it stands no wonder that when given her choice of Disney Princess she gravitates toward Tiana from princess and the frog.
    And, Maybe you don’t care about LGBTQ In Star Wars but don’t speak for everyone.

Speaking of the Simpsons in the 90s if you were an Indian American your representation on TV was Apu, or a white man in brown face depicting an Indian engineer in Short Circuit.

Maybe the reason so many people are upset about the inclusion of minority representation in media is because it takes away from their white representation? Maybe it’s harder to relate to a brown lesbian Jedi than it is Luke Wonderbread Skywalker for them. Imagine that. Imagine if they cast everyone as whiney and nasely as he: Liam Nielsen wouldnt be Quo gon jin. Obi wan would be played by Tucker Carlson. How popular would Star Wars be if all other things being equal - the script the sets the props the music - everything, except George Lucas let Tyler Perry cast all minority roles? Sure would have been lots less popular for white people to go see, given their lack of representation in the film.

I doubt that, because I don't watch crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Overheal wrote: »

Speaking to my best friends daughter. Part Cherokee part Hispanic part black part white part everything, the kid is very cosmopolitan in complexion. So it stands no wonder that when given her choice of Disney Princess she gravitates toward Tiana from princess and the frog.
    And, Maybe you don’t care about LGBTQ In Star Wars but don’t speak for everyone.

Speaking of the Simpsons in the 90s if you were an Indian American your representation on TV was Apu, or a white man in brown face depicting an Indian engineer in Short Circuit.

Maybe the reason so many people are upset about the inclusion of minority representation in media is because it takes away from their white representation? Maybe it’s harder to relate to a brown lesbian Jedi than it is Luke Wonderbread Skywalker for them. Imagine that. Imagine if they cast everyone as whiney and nasely as he: Liam Nielsen wouldnt be Quo gon jin. Obi wan would be played by Tucker Carlson

Should we all have been offended by the Irish builder in Fawlty Towers then...because that was that actors finest role....we need to stop listening to idiots who won't be happy until every program for every person is the exact same format all the time...we are murdering creativity.

The Russians will be producing better standard entertainment than us at this rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I watched it last week as I had never watched it before, its not a celebration of anything , its an anti war movie if anything

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

silverharp wrote: »
    I watched it last week as I had never watched it before, its not a celebration of anything , its an anti war movie if anything

It doesn't matter....context is lost on these people! They are modern day book burners!

Should we all have been offended by the Irish builder in Fawlty Towers then...because that was that actors finest role....we need to stop listening to idiots who won't be happy until every program for every person is the exact same format all the time...we are murdering creativity.

The Russians will be producing better standard entertainment than us at this rate.

Mr O'Reilly should of had his own TV series.
    I watched it again last night, its just so funny.

This move by a British based media company to deprive ALL viewers of this show lest some Germans might be offended or less some of the rest of us might laugh too loud is ridiculous. It's a bit like the GAA banning Cork supporters from bringing the Confederate Stars 'n Bars flag to matches.

Why do/did Cork fans do this? Because of the association with the word Rebel. It's a rebel flag; they're the rebel county. Is that not patently obvious to even the most politically naive observer?

I live in Dublin. Generally speaking I will support whichever team is providing the opposition to Cork on any given day. A-B-C!!! (Anyone but feckin Cork) And at one level it does no harm to cure Corkonians of the conceit that they were the only or main rebels in the country 100 years ago, but the notion that they are sending "dog whistles" to recent black immigrants or to like-minded racists around the world by flying that flag is ridiculous. If for no other reason than Cork people wouldn't be smart enough to think that one up.

Nobody said that. They said that flying a sunk of white supremacy like that was an appalling sign of ignorance. It would be like Down fans flying a swastika because it has red and black.

If they don't want to bring American politics into GAA, don't fly an American flag.

mick087 wrote: »
    Mr O'Reilly should of had his own TV series.
    I watched it again last night, its just so funny.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O4X_bdJox8w

Excellent comedy that has proven its ability to last the test of time....something this era has consistently failed at coming close to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I doubt that, because I don't watch crap.

The Mighty Boosh and The League Of Gentlemen are crap?

Yeah, I never much cared for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭da_miser

What about that movie White Chicks
    https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0381707/
    White face is the whole plot, im extremely offended.
    I as a white man am offended on behalf of white women worldwide, ban this sick filth, if you don't agree you must be a racist bigot.

da_miser wrote: »
    What about that movie White Chicks
    https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0381707/
    White face is the whole plot, im extremely offended.
    I as a white man am offended on behalf of white women worldwide, ban this sick filth, if you don't agree you must be a racist bigot.

I suggest reading the wiki page. It’s always been a dumb movie and widely panned.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_Chicks

I suggest reading the wiki page. It’s always been a dumb movie and widely panned.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_Chicks

Al Johnson movies where dumb and widely panned so what is your point.

arts-entertainment_11_temp-1318846489-4e9c0019-620x348.jpg

Only difference is that the make up got better and there is double the offence in one movie, but what is the difference, educate me, as i dont see any.
    I admit im not woke , so need help from woke posters, educate me.
    fbed1ba8a7e72edee5825876b286dcee?width=650
    ?u=https%3A%2F%2Ftse4.mm.bing.net%2Fth%3Fid%3DOIP.npj_mY4FlJBS8oCdBLiZGgAAAA%26pid%3DApi&f=1

da_miser wrote: »
    Al Johnson movies where dumb and widely panned so what is your point.

arts-entertainment_11_temp-1318846489-4e9c0019-620x348.jpg

That nobody needed to ‘cancel’ Al Johnson either people just disregard the work. You act as though White Chicks has broad appeal.

....but don’t speak for everyone.

Are you white Irish i presume?
    Speaking of the Simpsons in the 90s if you were an Irish American your representation on TV was a Drunken Leprechaun fighting and countless Drunken fighting Irish stereotypes in movies and TV shows.
    No Micks gave a shît, living in the real world with real problems, or maybe just thick skinned, we will never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Nobody said that. They said that flying a sunk of white supremacy like that was an appalling sign of ignorance. It would be like Down fans flying a swastika because it has red and black.

If they don't want to bring American politics into GAA, don't fly an American flag.

There's no white in a Down flag, unlike the Nazi-stylised swastika.