Canada or Australia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,957 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Whats the weather like in Melbourne?

Heard it wasn't great, not much better then here

Australian's think the place is freezing in Winter.

I went there in winter and it was fine, most days sunny and mild, sometimes cold at night but not too bad. Summer is a different animal altogether and it can be very hot.

Either way, I wouldn't allow climate make a decision for you when travelling.

Melbourne is a fantastic city with lot to offer culturally in terms of sport (It all happens there, Aussie Rules, Grand Prix, Tennis, Melbourne Cup), art, music, architecture and history.
    Also has a very vibrant and ecectic social scene.

Loved the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Figel Narage

murpho999 wrote: »
    Australian's think they place is freezing in Winter.

I went there in winter and it was fine, most days sunny and mild, sometimes cold at night but not too bad. Summer is a different animal altogether and it can be very hot.

Melbourne is a fantastic city with lot to offer culturally in terms of sport (It all happens there, Aussie Rules, Grand Prix, Tennis, Melbourne Cup), art, music, architecture and history.

Loved the place.

Thanks for the info. I'm not actually planning on going to either lol, it was just a speculative question. If I was to leave Ireland, it would have to be a warm place, that is cheaper then Dublin and getting a job wouldn't be an issue which entails a place that speaks English as I can only poorly speak French as a second language haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Tuco88 wrote: »
    I lived in Vancouver and loved it very friendly people, Expensive alright but a great spot. I wouldn't say Canada is for making big bucks unless you go north to the oil sands but thats a different game, I'm sure that sector is after taking a hit also.

If I had to travel for work again definitely id try Europe Germany etc....

90% of what people will tell you about how much they are earning in OZ is bollox.

I spent a number of months working in Calgary, Alberta as part of a work assignment I was on, and would still have acquaintances there.

The oil sands are unprofitable at the moment, and there's a significant tightening of the belt from companies like Suncor, Imperial Oil etc. Calgary was the place to go if you wanted to make big money in Canada, but the reality is it's just not a particularly nice city. However you do have easy access to the Rockies if hiking and winter sports are your thing.

Canadians are also very nice people for the most part, if a little reserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

< CANADA 3000 MILES this way.
    AUSTRALIA > 9000 MILES this way ...

Canada seems more friendly to Irish people, as the Aussies don't like "Micks".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭finbarrk

The cold Winter climate would put me off Canada personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

finbarrk wrote: »
    The cold Winter climate would put me off Canada personally.
    But on the other hand, the lack of seasons in Oz would probably start to grate on me after a few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

murpho999 wrote: »
    Australian's think they place is freezing in Winter.

Loved the place.

Biggest regret about Oz is, I didn't spend more time in Melbourne. Very vibrant world class city and you can see why it was voted the best city in the world to live in for 5 years in a row. All the sporting arenas and concert venues around the city centre, the icing on the cake.

Sydney whilst aesthetically nice to look at, does not have a lot beneath the surface in terms of culture or vibrancy. Lock out laws have pretty much destroyed the nightlife scene. Socializing is done in the suburbs. It's quite a pretentious city in my opinion and Sydney people can be quite shallow and self centered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭wassie

Maybe 60 years ago when the Anglicans were dominant. But modern Australia is a truly multicultural society these days. Melbourne has the biggest Greek population after Athens! Catholics make up 23% of the population by religion, only beaten by 'No religion' at 30%.

The Irish make up a huge part of Australian history and folklore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

This is a nonsense. Having even a whiff of any Celtic accent (even Scottish, or Welsh) is a huge novelty, and buys near endless favours in both places, but much more so in Aus. Unless of course you're calling door to door offering to fix roofing that dosen't need fixing, and addressing the householder as 'boss'.

Maybe you're thinking of the POMMIES? The Eng in Australia are largely detested and resented. Have seen numerous amounts of graffiti, even across the middle of main roads of 'pommes go home'. They'll likely vote to become a republic within the decade, it's only the older generations are hanging on to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,514 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Australia is an amazing place, I spent 2 years there, the weather is just superb and you can drive for a couple of hours and you'll get whole beaches to yourself, it's such a stunning place. People generally are nice too, there's a massive mix of cultures, big Greek and Lebanese population in Melbourne, I went to lots of Greek restaurants and my boss had Greek parents and she used to bring us in food she cooked.
    I don't know where people get this obnoxious image of Australians from, sure look at Irish people abroad, pissed out of their head all over the place acting like Jack the lad. That doesn't mean we're all like that though.
    I was living in Alberta, Canada for 1.5 years too, it's bloody cold. -35c sometimes, the whole month of March it didn't go above 0 when I was there, it was still snowing at the end of April. They're nice people though and they like a drink, and everyone seems to smoke weed.
    So I'd go to Australia, I would have stayed there forever if I had no ties to Ireland.

Yeah language is an issue, otherwise there'd be no need to leave Europe, you got everything here. I'm considering Malta as English is an official language there but dunno what it's like

Busy, noisy, a constant traffic jam. Very hot in summer and no green spaces, and the winter isn't great either. The only place in the EU with less trees than Ireland.
    Not really any public transport and unfettered development, it's a bit of a train wreck of a place.
    My brother has lived there years he likes it but I couldn't do it.

Australia is some kip.

Yes an entire continent is some kip. What a ridiculous comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,015 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

The deal breaker for Australia is it's full of Australians.

I'd be one of those. 23 year living in Ireland now, and I am counting the seconds until I no longer am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,015 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Australia is an amazing place, I spent 2 years there, the weather is just superb and you can drive for a couple of hours and you'll get whole beaches to yourself, it's such a stunning place. People generally are nice too, there's a massive mix of cultures, big Greek and Lebanese population in Melbourne, I went to lots of Greek restaurants and my boss had Greek parents and she used to bring us in food she cooked.
    I don't know where people get this obnoxious image of Australians from, sure look at Irish people abroad, pissed out of their head all over the place acting like Jack the lad. That doesn't mean we're all like that though.
    I was living in Alberta, Canada for 1.5 years too, it's bloody cold. -35c sometimes, the whole month of March it didn't go above 0 when I was there, it was still snowing at the end of April. They're nice people though and they like a drink, and everyone seems to smoke weed.
    So I'd go to Australia, I would have stayed there forever if I had no ties to Ireland.

I will always remember my firtst ski holiday with the family in Italy. There were 3 Irish lads in an apartment above us. After a few days of them being frustrated by their, to them, inexplicable inability to coax normal human females to fall for their immense Irish charm and mate with them, they decided having a major drunken fight at 4 am in the morning was the way to relieve their frustrations, and F*** anyone else in the building who wanted to sleep and didn't understand Irish craic and the necessity to break someone else's furniture at 4 am.

Next morning there was blood in pools on the floor in the hallway and a poor old Italian bent woman, bent with a bucket and mop dealing with the craic. There was a 10cm wide band of blood smeared all the way along the white wall of the corridor, continuing up the stairs and around the corner out of sight. I can't begin to imagine what their room must have been like. Unfortunately the Police who showed up didn't arrest them and just made them pay for the damage. These craic loving lads were still being thoroughly obnoxious on the bus to the airport, at the airport, moaning about their unfair treatment by the up-tight locals who were too tight to appreciate a bit of craic and a proper level of alcohol consumption. But, yeah, Australians are really obnoxious.

Busy, noisy, a constant traffic jam. Very hot in summer and no green spaces, and the winter isn't great either. The only place in the EU with less trees than Ireland.
    Not really any public transport and unfettered development, it's a bit of a train wreck of a place.
    My brother has lived there years he likes it but I couldn't do it.

I see, was it cheap? What's wrong with the winters?

Well if you're ok with -30 for weeks on end, and that was in Calgary, one of the warmer parts of Alberta! It started snowing before halloween, and I think there was the odd snow shower or two at the end of April. So it's a long old winter, with some respite here and there but I found it tough.
    I don't think it was cheap at all, Vancouver is really expensive and housing crisis like everywhere else. I lived there in 2001/2002 so a lot may have changed since.

Well if you're ok with -30 for weeks on end, and that was in Calgary, one of the warmer parts of Alberta! It started snowing before halloween, and I think there was the odd snow shower or two at the end of April. So it's a long old winter, with some respite here and there but I found it tough.
    I don't think it was cheap at all, Vancouver is really expensive and housing crisis like everywhere else. I lived there in 2001/2002 so a lot may have changed since.

No I'm asking about Malta

Oh, it rains a lot, it's cold, none of the buildings are insulated properly so you always seem to be freezing everywhere. And it can be cold at night in May etc.
    It's cheap enough, cheaper than Dublin anyway but that wouldn't be hard. Drinks are cheap when you're out, restaurants are ok but wages are a lot less than here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 315 ✭✭coinop

mulbot wrote: »
    I lived in Vancouver and found the opposite of the above poster. People really unfriendly there, maybe cities are less social places though. Weather was nice in Summer, misty grey drizzle in winter, though head to Whistler and you've great skiing. Too expensive there also, was a good experience but never again, for any money.

Why don't you tell the truth that they are very few Canadians left in Vancouver? The scale of the Asian immigration there has been mind-blowing. China is treating Canada like a door mat. You will most likely end up hanging out with other Irish or Brits/Germans/Aussies over there (i.e. other immigrants). And as for Toronto, the self-declared most multicultural city on Earth...

coinop wrote: »
    Why don't you tell the truth that they are very few Canadians left in Vancouver? The scale of the Asian immigration there has been mind-blowing. China is treating Canada like a door mat. You will most likely end up hanging out with other Irish or Brits/Germans/Aussies over there (i.e. other immigrants). And as for Toronto, the self-declared most multicultural city on Earth...

I was there 20 years ago and it was called Hongcouver. But Canada is a nation of immigrants, I think Toronto is the most diverse city in the world. But what is a Canadian anyway? A First Nations person?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 315 ✭✭coinop

I was there 20 years ago and it was called Hongcouver. But Canada is a nation of immigrants, I think Toronto is the most diverse city in the world. But what is a Canadian anyway? A First Nations person?

Explain why being the most diverse city in the world a good thing? It makes all the whining about Canadians being too dry and reserved a moot point because you won't meet many of them anyway. Hope your Cantonese is up to scratch though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Oh, it rains a lot, it's cold, none of the buildings are insulated properly so you always seem to be freezing everywhere. And it can be cold at night in May etc.
    It's cheap enough, cheaper than Dublin anyway but that wouldn't be hard. Drinks are cheap when you're out, restaurants are ok but wages are a lot less than here.
    When it rains, it rains. But this is always on less #days overall. Spent an April there, the night's were the same as the days: steady 22oC average.
    https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-d&q=average+temps+dublin
    https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-d&q=average+temps+malta

It's very cheap, bought a huge round of cisk n' whisky and was surpised to see such a large handful of change in return from 50notes, that bought another one as a chaser for the table.

When it rains, it rains. But this is always on less #days overall. Spent an April there, the night's were the same as the days: steady 22oC average.
    https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-d&q=average+temps+dublin
    https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-d&q=average+temps+malta

It's very cheap, bought a huge round of cisk n' whisky and was surpised to see such a large handful of change in return from 50notes, that bought another one as a chaser for the table.

Interesting, I heard it was warm all year round. 22 degrees sounds nice, I have a job potentially lined up but had to put it all on hold due to Covid. I'm liking the cheapness of the place and how nice it looks

Explain why being the most diverse city in the world a good thing? It makes all the whining about Canadians being too dry and reserved a moot point because you won't meet many of them anyway. Hope your Cantonese is up to scratch though.

What is a Canadian? Just white people? Canada is a mix of ethnicities. Parts of Alberta are almost totally Ukrainian, the Maritimes are very Irish/British, Vancouver has a lot of Asians...
    You seem to think only white people can be Canadian.

Interesting, I heard it was warm all year round. 22 degrees sounds nice, I have a job potentially lined up but had to put it all on hold due to Covid. I'm liking the cheapness of the place and how nice it looks

Yes it can be dirt cheap, at my brothers local you can get 5 drinks for less than a tenner sometimes. But supermarkets would be similar prices. The traffic though is something to behold, it's hard to walk or cycle anywhere, and some of the driving you see on the roads is absolutely insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Australia.

Wonderful country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,644 ✭✭✭mulbot

Yea you're right. Richmond there is just pure Chinese, got such a shock with that, I didn't find it multicultural at all because each ethnic group, seem to create their own areas and territory.

Yes it can be dirt cheap, at my brothers local you can get 5 drinks for less than a tenner sometimes. But supermarkets would be similar prices. The traffic though is something to behold, it's hard to walk or cycle anywhere, and some of the driving you see on the roads is absolutely insane.

Interesting, does your brother work for one of those gaming firms? Rent seems quite low as well which is another positive. The negatives you've provided are good to know and thanks for laying them out but they wouldn't really bother me as much, biggest factors for me is warm weather and how cheap the place is while being able to work a job I have now over there which I don't think I can do anywhere else in the EU without learning a new language.

No he has nothing to do with i-gaming, but lots of foreigners there seem to work in it, Scandinavians, Brits etc.

Yes very popular with expats and pay well for Maltese standards, I'll be checking the place out regardless and if that fails..........might look into OZ. Canada looks great but I wouldn't be able to hack the weather