Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Canada or Australia?

• 10-06-2020 5:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭

I was thinking about getting a work visa for Canada or Australia. I have a few family members in Canada who told me to not bother because in Canada you will get nowhere, mainly due to the high taxes and you won't be able to save up much money.

So Australia came to my mind. Which would be the more wise option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The deal breaker for Australia is it's full of Australians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭NinjaRambo

What's wrong with Australian's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,660 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Similar story for Canada - the driest sh1tes i've ever met

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,297 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

NinjaRambo wrote: »

Every single one I have ever met has been a fcucking annoying twat . Every single one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I couldn't be dealing with the Australian accent.

Fook that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Is it a test?

There shouldn't be an apostrophe in Australians?

Is that what you were looking for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

retalivity wrote: »
    Similar story for Canada - the driest sh1tes i've ever met

I'd take a dry sh1te over an annoying sh1te any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

They’re a bunch of cultureless swines with an accent that would cut glass. A country of weak beer, blinding heat, and thousands of things that want to kill you.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

If only there were more than 2 options :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭doctorchopper

You'll have a tough time finding a job in Canada at the moment, country is in Bad shape thanks to Trudeau

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

They’re a bunch of cultureless swines with an accent that would cut glass. A country of weak beer, blinding heat, and thousands of things that want to kill you.

To its credit, it has taken in some of our finest village idiots. Most acclimatise very well there. It has been and continues to be a good dumping ground.

Tight, obnoxious, racist and a frat/lad culture that would make the US/UK look good at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Hahaha.... Was nearly gonna write the same thing. God they're hard work . Kiwis are sound enough tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

PARlance wrote: »
    Tight, obnoxious, racist and a frat/lad culture that would make the US/UK look good at times.

You don’t like the aussie bloke culture?

There’s a reason for that ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Sarcozies

Canada is a beauty but can be expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Australia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

Just move somewhere like Germany or France or Austria. As good a standard of living and 10x the culture. Win win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Irish people
    Canada or Australia

Eh London?
    Berlin?
    Zurich?

I just don't get it, unless you want to be somewhere that you can't get home from easily, maybe it's a discipline thing, that if you were in London you'd be home a week later as you'd never give it a chance, go to Australia you'll stick it out, can't just pop home in first week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Just go halfway between the two of them and go to Sentyabrskiy in Russia

Make America Get Out of Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Irish people
    Canada or Australia

Eh London?
    Berlin?
    Zurich?

I just don't get it, unless you want to be somewhere that you can't get home from easily, maybe it's a discipline thing, that if you were in London you'd be home a week later as you'd never give it a chance, go to Australia you'll stick it out, can't just pop home in first week.

Berlin for me by a country mile but if I had to choose between Australia and Canada, I'd pick Canada, next choice, which city? I'd choose Montreal over the more obvious Toronto or Vancouver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

australia for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Undertow

I looked at the same options 10 years ago. Chose Australia. Ended up in New Zealand. Go to New Zealand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Norway OP!!!!

Highest standard of living on Earth!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Figel Narage

Gotta be OZ, Canada is great as well but I'd prefer OZ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

PARlance wrote: »
    To its credit, it has taken in some of our finest village idiots. Most acclimatise very well there. It has been and continues to be a good dumping ground.

This.

I was in Bondi a few months ago and they were everywhere, you could tell by the heads on some of them that they were the kind of eejits we're better off exporting. Aggressively proud of their Irishness while pissed, telling anyone who'll listen that Ireland is a kip when sober.

I'd say the more level headed of locals think we're an absolute shower of dopes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

If you have people in Canada they can get you a job and give a leg up and lodgings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Canada all the way- easygoing people, decent wages (although cities are pricey to live in) and good healthcare.

Plus marginally less animals that want to kill you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

New Zealand!, its just like Australia except nicer in every way, the animals aren't all trying to kill you and not everyone is a thief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

That's just a screensaver to keep the undesirables out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

New Zealand!, its just like Australia except nicer in every way, the animals aren't all trying to kill you and not everyone is a thief

Kiwis ( not the birds) are the only thing I didn't like about new Zealand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

'Stralia mate, but not Sydney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Canada everytime, sure didn't Hitler come from Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Maybe it's fear of the language barrier but we have a free movement and open jobs market on our doorstep in the EU. No messing around with visas and you can have culture coming out your eyeballs. Live in whatever climate you'd prefer from the heat of southern Spain to the cool climates of Scandinavia and everything in between. But most people you hear only talk about the US, Canada or Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Figel Narage

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Maybe it's fear of the language barrier but we have a free movement and open jobs market on our doorstep in the EU. No messing around with visas and you can have culture coming out your eyeballs. Live in whatever climate you'd prefer from the heat of southern Spain to the cool climates of Scandinavia and everything in between. But most people you hear only talk about the US, Canada or Australia.

Yeah language is an issue, otherwise there'd be no need to leave Europe, you got everything here. I'm considering Malta as English is an official language there but dunno what it's like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭rock22

I assume you have never been to Australia if you could only find weak beer.
    Australia has great local beers which would put our efforts to shame. They also have some excellent wines and a wide selection of meads .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

This.

I was in Bondi a few months ago and they were everywhere, you could tell by the heads on some of them that they were the kind of eejits we're better off exporting. Aggressively proud of their Irishness while pissed, telling anyone who'll listen that Ireland is a kip when sober.

I'd say the more level headed of locals think we're an absolute shower of dopes.

All very generic and self deprecating. You have to take the good with the bad. Plenty of Irish people out there running big companies and doing well in business. Alan Joyce being one example of many. Australia of today and the people there are built on immigrant backgrounds. The locals you are talking about are in this cohort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 raik18

We lived 8 years in Canada. No dry *****s there. Very friendly people. Highly recommend.
    I was thinking about getting a work visa for Canada or Australia. I have a few family members in Canada who told me to not bother because in Canada you will get nowhere, mainly due to the high taxes and you won't be able to save up much money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Madeleine Birchfield

Australia is going to get fecked over with the wildfires and climate change. But then Canada is right next door to the US which is close to falling apart and could get swamped by American refugees if the worst happens there.

You can also get a WHV for nz and chile afaik

Id loved to have gone to chile working for a year or 2,when i was younger

Though id recommend ozzy before canada,its a pretty amazing country in terms of scale and difference to here....

Canada if you like weed though

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,530 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Lovely Canada or deadly skin cancer and spider island. Tough one alright.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Both countries are equally excellent, in equal but also various non-correlative measures.

e.g. If you're a pale ginger, Surfer's Paradise may not be the haven it's name suggests.
    Instead a negative 30(c) winter's days watching the BlueJays play might suit better.

namloc1980 wrote: »

That's exactly it. Honestly, if I can get an English speaking job anywhere in Europe, I'd prefer that to me moving to Canada or Australia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

I'd choose Australia personally. Canada seems kind of boring tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Both have their positives and negatives.

It's cold in Canada in winter, very cold. It's hot in Australia in summer, very hot.

Both have world-class cities (Sydney/Melbourne/Toronto/Vancouver). Both have vast wildernesses, probably going to get higher paying job in Australia but everything is more expensive.

If you enjoy beach activities it's Australia, skiing/mountain climbing it's Canada.

Australia is very far away which is one big negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

DS86DS wrote: »
    I'd choose Australia personally. Canada seems kind of boring tbh.

How can one say this?

It's the people that make a country boring or not.

You couldn't call the landscape or scenery of Canada boring in any way, in fact Australia has more desert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,790 ✭✭✭wassie

So NinjaRambo - first of all well done on looking to travel abroad.

I can't offer to much on Canada, except to say most Canadians I've met traveling are great craic.

As for Oz, well Sydney & Melbourne are both mad if you want a buzzing big city experience. But the regions are great places too, especially for seasonal work opportunities right around Australia. Amazing beaches, deserts, forests, tropical oasis, mountains, islands all await you. If you are prepared to go the 'country' (i.e. anywhere outside the major state capital cities), generally you will find work opportunities. New Zealand too as others have mentioned, also on your door step equally brilliant. Best of all both are virtually Covid19-free. They will open their borders soon enough so if you are so inclined get planning.

What ever you decide, living in another country does wonders to stop you turning into an sad, racist keyboard warrior such as many of the posters on the first page of this thread.

Both alternatives are such huge countries with amazing diversity. You can live in any of the buzzing big cities which will be expensive, right through to the remotest parts of earth which will be super cheap.

Everyone will have their own biased opinions, as shown by many of the laughable posters in this thread.

All I can say is that if you do make it to either country, try to say 'yes' instead of 'no' when opportunities present and you will be amazed at where it can lead you. Good luck with it all.

wassie wrote: »
    So NinjaRambo - first of all well done on looking to travel abroad.

I can't offer to much on Canada, except to say most Canadians I've met traveling are great craic.

As for Oz, well Sydney & Melbourne are both mad if you want a buzzing big city experience. But the regions are great places too, especially for seasonal work opportunities right around Australia. Amazing beaches, deserts, forests, tropical oasis, mountains, islands all await you. If you are prepared to go the 'country' (i.e. anywhere outside the major state capital cities), generally you will find work opportunities. New Zealand too as others have mentioned, also on your door step equally brilliant. Best of all both are virtually Covid19-free. They will open their borders soon enough so if you are so inclined get planning.

What ever you decide, living in another country does wonders to stop you turning into an sad, racist keyboard warrior such as many of the posters on the first page of this thread.

Both alternatives are such huge countries with amazing diversity. You can live in any of the buzzing big cities which will be expensive, right through to the remotest parts of earth which will be super cheap.

Everyone will have their own biased opinions, as shown by many of the laughable posters in this thread.

All I can say is that if you do make it to either country, try to say 'yes' instead of 'no' when opportunities present and you will be amazed at where it can lead you. Good luck with it all.

This is beyond amazing, in depth and helpful. I truly appreciate the time you put into answering my question. Thank you very much, wassie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,790 ✭✭✭wassie

Nah all good. Still plenty of good stuff on Boards if you spend the time searching around for both countries:
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=912

Whirlpool is the aussie equivalent of Boards. It is primarily a tech forum, but covers everything else. You could always ask a few questions in the Travel forum to help you decide also. Folk are pretty helpful on that site, just as many trolls also!

https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum/149

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Australia, Canada is not an easy place to live you're always one pay cheque away from sleeping in a park... Canadians are lovely though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

I've lived in both.

Completely different places.

Canada all the way for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 dazza181

Lived in Oz for a year. Loved it. Perth was a quieter city. Very clean and easy enough to get around. Had a car though. Most Irish there were saving money to come home so wasn’t a huge nightlife. Sydney and Melbourne had a lot more going on. Loved Melbourne and would go back in the morning if things were different. Great if you like water sports, jet skiing, off roading, quads, bbq’s etc. Always found the Ozzie’s sound. Great money to be made. NZ is beautiful and short flight away but no real money to be made in agriculture anyhow.