Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Social distancing Megathread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

From the Galway forum:

The protest was supposed to be cancelled and it was reported earlier it was cancelled but it looks as if its still going ahead amor there's some sort of a demonstration happening at 2pm on Saturday.

It doesn't make sense. How on earth are localised protests here in Ireland going to fix what's wrong in America.

Dunphy even had someone on to say it was grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,268 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Has Leo had anything to say since he supported the demonstration ? I am disgusted at the recklessness and actually upset for people who couldn’t attend funerals and postponed weddings
    What does Leo have to say about that

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Has Leo had anything to say since he supported the demonstration ? I am disgusted at the recklessness and actually upset for people who couldn’t attend funerals and postponed weddings

He tweeted about how great the demonstration was and mentioned **** all about anything else. Too busy looking for international belly rubs and **** the rest of us who have done as asked for months.

That’s shocking . A slap in the face for us all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,090 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I haven't heard anything from Leo here other than a tweet he sent on it that did not in any way address the breaching of guidelines...

Harris came out with a half arsed mention of it, just so that he could be seen to addressing it....

Holohan said something on it yesterday, but he may as well have been wiping his arse for all it was worth...

And then there are others who could come out to challenge and stand with us; the likes of FF and SF.......As far as I know nothing from them worth a wa&k

Leo is a scumbag who's clinging on, forgetting half of the electorate who voted in February, don't want him there.

walshb wrote: »
    I haven't heard anything from Leo here other than a tweet he sent on it that did not in any way address the breaching of guidelines...

Harris came out with a half arsed mention of it, just so that he could be seen to addressing it....

Holohan said something on it yesterday, but he may as well have been wiping his arse for all it was worth...

And then there are others who could come out to challenge and stand with us; the likes of FF and SF.......As far as I know nothing from them worth a wa&k

The mayor of galway came out and he is not happy with the protest on Saturday because of all that's going on with the virus. He's probably the closest thing we have right now on someone stepping up and talking against this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

owlbethere wrote: »
    The mayor of galway came out and he is not happy with the protest on Saturday because of all that's going on with the virus. He's probably the closest thing we have right now on someone stepping up and talking against this.

I saw a tweet from People Before Puberty denouncing the mayor of Galway as "racist". Any idea what thats about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

keano_afc wrote: »
    People Before Puberty

:D:D:D

I saw a tweet from People Before Puberty denouncing the mayor of Galway as "racist". Any idea what thats about?
    LOL at People Before Puberty.

The mayor of Galway is not a racist. He's putting the health and safety of the people of the city and county ahead of a protest on American issues.

The rantings of a lowlife....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Cyclonius

LOL at People Before Puberty.

The mayor of Galway is not a racist. He's putting the health and safety of the people of the city and county ahead of a protest on American issues.

It likely won't happen, but he should sue. It's defamation plain and simple. Use our strong defamation laws to apply the proper slap to whichever champaign socialist is running the account, and collect an appropriately sized slice of their Mammy or Daddy's money. Might even drive home the fact that it'd be more beneficial to themselves, and society in general, to do something more productive and useful with their time than being a professional activist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,101 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

That’s shocking . A slap in the face for us all

A kick in the face

All goodwill is gone

Harris is a weak individual. He was on the news saying roughly that the public need to stay on the path of the road map and not get too ahead of ourselves. Then he went on to talk about protests and what he said was something like this:

The organisers should reconsider running the events and anyone intending on attending should reconsider going.

It went something like that.

He didn't refer to any of the social distancing measures and say the events go against the public health and safety advice. Nothing like that. People should reconsider, that's all he said.

We know what way that will go. Like the Cheltenham goers and the pub gors before the St Patricks Day parades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,735 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Harris is a weak individual.

I'm going to go with craven, should never have been given such a role of cabinet responsibility at that age and level of experience. But probably the rest of the cabinet ran away from the poisoned chalice of health.
    His failings are a collective failing.
    I'd be weak too if I was out of my depth with that level of responsibility at that age.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Rightly or wrongly we as a family have decided that my parents should visit this weekend, they haven't seen my wife or I or their two and only grandchildren here since the end of February.

My wife and I discussed it first and then I ran it by my brother (he won't be meeting us, don't want 3 households getting together but felt I should consult him as they are his parents too)

Both houses have been very sensible and we feel any risk is low. It was the protests that started this discussion and comparing that to us meeting for the first time in months. They will have to travel 80km by car but don't think that will cause much issue.

I admit some may disagree as the distance in particular is against current restrictions. But I feel many will be making similar decisions based on the mass gathering at the weekend.

Rightly or wrongly we as a family have decided that my parents should visit this weekend, they haven't seen my wife or I or their two and only grandchildren here since the end of February.

My wife and I discussed it first and then I ran it by my brother (he won't be meeting us, don't want 3 households getting together but felt I should consult him as they are his parents too)

Both houses have been very sensible and we feel any risk is low. It was the protests that started this discussion and comparing that to us meeting for the first time in months. They will have to travel 80km by car but don't think that will cause much issue.

I admit some may disagree as the distance in particular is against current restrictions. But I feel many will be making similar decisions based on the mass gathering at the weekend.

I wish you the loveliest time with you’re family at the wkend. You are 100 percent doing the right thing

Leo and Simon have absolutely blown it now . People have lost respect and trust in them over their lack of condemnation for mass gatherings . Why would we listen to their waffling now about social distancing or 20kms or whatever bull they come out with now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Blaze420

Should be zero tolerance for these protests - as in attempt to gather and get your skull cracked with a baton. They seem to be mostly the blue haired student types out to virtue signal and get likes on their social media from like minded imbeciles - should be scared away easy enough if the bats and fists start flying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,044 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

JL555 wrote: »
    We were asked to cancel weddings, christenings etc, not attend funerals in groups more than 10, lost jobs, suspended our children's education, put off house purchases, shut down the economy, commit ourselves to a huge debt, new parents (mostly fathers from what I can see, acceptable discrimination) not allowed to see and hold their newborns in person, the list goes on and on and on.

People would be better served realising that measures like these made no sense in the first place.

People not attending their spouses funerals, dads not attending the birth of their kids, throwing kids educations right in the bin, its all a load of bollocks and those sort of measures will hurt even more when pretty soon people start drifting back to the old ways regardless of what anybody says.

Imagine missing your mothers funeral because you think it is the right thing to do when all over the country hundreds of thousands of people are still working away, its really going to stick in the throat when they cop on to how meaningless that sacrifice actually was.

People angry about some silly protest are angry about the wrong thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭jackboy

People angry about some silly protest are angry about the wrong thing.

It’s not the protest itself that has angered people. It’s the fact that we have relentlessly been told to follow the restrictions for weeks now but these protesters were allowed to break them on mass without any serious condemnation.The restrictions are only for certain sections of the community.

Leo and Simon have absolutely blown it now . People have lost respect and trust in them over their lack of condemnation for mass gatherings . Why would we listen to their waffling now about social distancing or 20kms or whatever bull they come out with now

Its smack in the face for sure but going forward I will be continuing to do what's right for me and my family and my partner and my work. I will continue to live with these restrictions and reduced movements in public/crowded spaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,044 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

jackboy wrote: »
    It’s not the protest itself that has angered people. It’s the fact that we have relentlessly been told to follow the restrictions for weeks now but these protesters were allowed to break them on mass without any serious condemnation.The restrictions are only for certain sections of the community.

Like I say, angry about the wrong thing.

You seem more upset that they got away with something you didn't, when you should be thinking about the real need for those restrictions in the first place.

Put it this way, if there had been no protest at the week people should still be critically evaluating those restrictions and what they are supposed to be achieving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭httpete

The upcoming protest in Dublin has NOT been cancelled. Supposedly the account saying it is cancelled is a fale account.

The organisers of the protest confirm it is still going ahead. Unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭httpete

This selfish recklessness by Black Pride Ireland, MERI, and MASI will not be forgotten by the people of Ireland who have sacrificed so much. I would be all for this protest in normal times but it is completely ridiculous when we are facing the worst health and economic situation in this country in probably centuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭jackboy

Like I say, angry about the wrong thing.

You seem more upset that they got away with something you didn't, when you should be thinking about the real need for those restrictions in the first place.

Put it this way, if there had been no protest at the week people should still be critically evaluating those restrictions and what they are supposed to be achieving.

We have been bombarded with information from politicians, scientists, doctors, guards and the media that equated breaking the restrictions with causing the deaths of the vulnerable. That all came crashing down with the lack of condemnation of the protest. That is why people are angry. The appropriateness of the restrictions is a separate matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

httpete wrote: »
    The upcoming protest in Dublin has NOT been cancelled. Supposedly the account saying it is cancelled is a fale account.

MASI appear entitled and dangerous, often leading online abuse.

This is reckless, all the while funded by the state no doubt

They’re a disgrace..

Keep tweeting them I say!!

httpete wrote: »

That's unreal. Why would someone make a fake account and throw off the public by saying the protest is cancelled when it's not.