Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

And lads, at the end of all this the bugger and his helpers will still not face a court of law. As far as I am aware one of his front line generals is still sticking to his seat in the FAI after it was proven that he claimed to have contracted Gardai to hack supporters phones, he organised searches of fans home and away to protect JD and did a lot more for him. If this man was not as loyal to his old boss I am sure there would be enough to put him behind gates......but then again they all seem to have had sticky fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,633 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Yeah he is still in the job .Id love to know what he's at now that he doesn't have to babysit JD .

yabadabado wrote: »
    Yeah he is still in the job .Id love to know what he's at now that he doesn't have to babysit JD .

Doing a cleaning job.....still actively working for JD I would say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

Never mind the fact that JD was corrupt as ****, he seems to be an absolutely horrendous business man.

Depends on how you look at it.....
    1. If you look at it from the perspective of the FAI..he was tripe

2. If you look at it from his personel perspective....he played a blinder....lined his pockets, made more than enough to live a very comfortably for the rest of his life and got a huge pension out of it....all whilst doing sweet FA for what he was being paid for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

2. If you look at it from his personel perspective....he played a blinder....lined his pockets, made more than enough to live a very comfortably for the rest of his life and got a huge pension out of it....all whilst doing sweet FA for what he was being paid for.

And this sums him up nicely, he was only ever in it for one thing and he got it in bucketloads. He was a terrible administrator for football with a pile of lackeys around him and fools like HR in Kerry kissing his ass looking for some of the gravy to drip their way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

He clearly looked after himself, but surely he didn't take the millions in grants and handouts that the FAI was given.

salmocab wrote: »
    And this sums him up nicely, he was only ever in it for one thing and he got it in bucketloads. He was a terrible administrator for football with a pile of lackeys around him and fools like HR in Kerry kissing his ass looking for some of the gravy to drip their way.

Everyone who supported him got a ride on the gravy train...one way or the other.

He clearly looked after himself, but surely he didn't take the millions in grants and handouts that the FAI was given.

He paid himself and his backers millions from money, which should have been invested in LOI or grassroots, hidden behind pensions, expenses, consultants fees etc.. He only gave to grassroots when he needed to keep them on side, looked after all his mates in politics and football to keep himself in a seat and did nothing for anyone who questioned his power or way of working. Kim dong D style...if you dont support me you will go hungry and die slowly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,220 ✭✭✭shanec1928

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,722 ✭✭✭✭josip

sugarman wrote: »
    I doubt that'll see the light of day, he'll fight it tooth and nail.

He'll have to be careful of the Streisand effect if he does.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Streisand_effect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

While it might be nice to have the whole story in one place, is there going to be anything in this book that we haven’t already heard?

sugarman wrote: »
    I doubt that'll see the light of day, he'll fight it tooth and nail.

I suspect Penguins solicitors will look at it first and as long as the journos stick with the facts there might be little to sue over. He got burned last time he brought proceedings to prevent publication, and his misplaced confidence put a sports story onto the front page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭tapfit2004

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

josip wrote: »
    He'll have to be careful of the Streisand effect if he does.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Streisand_effect

Again..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

While it might be nice to have the whole story in one place, is there going to be anything in this book that we haven’t already heard?

The authors were asked that on twitter yesterday and said there was plenty of new stuff.

Some of the replies on twitter were odd. People saying they'd only buy it if JD wasn't benefitting from the book. How did they ever come to thinking JD might make money out of it?

I'll buy it when it comes out. Haven't preordered it as I'd rather buy it from a smaller bookshop. Seems to only be available on amazon and easons at the minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,633 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

howiya wrote: »
    The authors were asked that on twitter yesterday and said there was plenty of new stuff.

Some of the replies on twitter were odd. People saying they'd only buy it if JD wasn't benefitting from the book. How did they ever come to thinking JD might make money out of it?

I'll buy it when it comes out. Haven't preordered it as I'd rather buy it from a smaller bookshop. Seems to only be available on amazon and easons at the minute

Some people are nuts !

Id say every shop will have it ,only the big sellers would have pre order up this far in advance.

Any truth in the rumour that JD is working in London for an investor of a Dublin based LOI club???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Any truth in the rumour that JD is working in London for an investor of a Dublin based LOI club???

No one knows what he is at.
    He should have an ankle bracelet on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,722 ✭✭✭✭josip

kippy wrote: »
    No one knows what he is at.
    He should have an ankle bracelet on him.

Yes, preferably around his neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Gael85

Wonder did the same man named in both articles (his email address is public, quick google search) write such letters when JD was in power??? Was he bothered when the FAI was spending €3k per month for JDs rent, was he worried when JD was using the FAI credit card for private use, when questions were forbidden at the AGM, when journalists were barred....was he worried when the FAI were holding monies owed to LOI clubs???

Only worried about his own interests and cant see the big problem....the very problem of Irish football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Liberta Per Gli Ultra

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/fai-council-member-raises-concerns-about-governance-of-organisation-1.4268083
    All of the concerns are expressed, he says at some length, in the context of the Governance Review Group’s recommendations, quite a few of which, it seems, the current leadership of the association are intent on discarding less than a year after they were approved following a lengthy process of persuasion.

That's hardly a surprise given that Quinn and his "Visionary Group" openly criticised the Governance Review and said they had no interest in getting involved with the "same old" FAI, before they took over the FAI a few months later and created a fake position for Quinn. Delaney eat your heart out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Wonder did the same man named in both articles (his email address is public, quick google search) write such letters when JD was in power??? Was he bothered when the FAI was spending €3k per month for JDs rent, was he worried when JD was using the FAI credit card for private use, when questions were forbidden at the AGM, when journalists were barred....was he worried when the FAI were holding monies owed to LOI clubs???

Only worried about his own interests and cant see the big problem....the very problem of Irish football.

Does it matter really if he did? It his concerns are valid, and I haven't read enough to know whether or not they are, then his previous (in)actions don't make them any less valid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Does it matter really if he did? It his concerns are valid, and I haven't read enough to know whether or not they are, then his previous (in)actions don't make them any less valid.

It is the old guard not wanting to pass the power to the new guard.

He is mates with Donal Conway, Paraic Treanor and Noel Fitzroy. Says it all!

Wonder how many free tickets and trips he got over the years and now he's not happy its all ending

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

It is the old guard not wanting to pass the power to the new guard.

He is mates with Donal Conway, Paraic Treanor and Noel Fitzroy. Says it all!

Wonder how many free tickets and trips he got over the years and now he's not happy its all ending

And you may or may not be right on that. But you are assuming what his motivation is and attacking the messenger rather than his message.

I'm sure you're probably more in the know than me. Is there any validity in the concerns he's outlined?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

And you may or may not be right on that. But you are assuming what his motivation is and attacking the messenger rather than his message.

I'm sure you're probably more in the know than me. Is there any validity in the concerns he's outlined?

Anyone on the Council and sat idly by while the FAI was run into the ground is, by definition, unsuitable to remain on grounds of competence and credibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Anyone on the Council and sat idly by while the FAI was run into the ground is, by definition, unsuitable to remain on grounds of competence and credibility.

Whilst I’d agree with this Dean has a point, his complaint shouldn’t be dismissed because of his past. That organisation needs to be kept under a close watch regardless of who is at the top now.

He sat on a board which was in place to get the best deal for schoolboys football. He didnt say anything when JD was handing out the odd €5k here there and everywhere to keep his power. Now there is a board infront of him who clearly see LOI as being important, who will not pump money for votes and he writes to FIFA...he is worried his gravy train is running dry.

Of course there is something in the validity of which he has written. The FAI will no longer be handing out €5K to every Tom, Dick and Harry to keep them happy. The new board seem to be looking at a policy of national team, LOI and then the rest....which puts professional football where it should be in the big picture. LOI has suffered and been starved because of men like him......now he is panicing because he will lose power, plain and simple.

salmocab wrote: »
    Whilst I’d agree with this Dean has a point, his complaint shouldn’t be dismissed because of his past. That organisation needs to be kept under a close watch regardless of who is at the top now.

The FAI is under very close watch, both externally and internally. For the first time there is a policy in place where LOI clubs are getting answers, transparency is slowly coming through and solidish plans are being made for the long term. Schoolboys football will no longer be the centre of attention...it will be a level or two below LOI, supplying a (semi) prosfessional league with players. This is how it should have been all along, however with (cheap €€) schoolboys votes JD kept power, so they got a better deal and power. Had this man been shouting over the last 3,5 or 10 years I would accept it may be for the goodness of football in general, however the timing stinks of....Sh1te....we are not going to get the same deal as the past....so lets try and discredit the new system.

Add to this, the named person is very friendly with members of the old board and you maywell see an attempt to win back power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Liberta Per Gli Ultra

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2020/0603/1145226-fai-remain-committed-to-restructuring-plans/
    Regarding the selection of Roy Barrett as Independent Chairperson, RTÉ News understands that his name wasn’t on the original shortlist drawn up by recruitment firm AMROP.