Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Deise boii

thesultan wrote: »
    So Ballygunner are training.

Haven't some of their players been meeting on greens in estates over the last while and doing a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭brian2614

Deise boii wrote: »
    Haven't some of their players been meeting on greens in estates over the last while and doing a bit

Yes they have.They were caught training down in Waterpark to until sum one called the guards and they were moved on my guard from a rival hurling club.

They are using greens all around Ballygunner to openly to fitness work.

Regardless if it’s county players or club players it shouldn’t be allowed.

No doubt a few jersey pullers or gunners supporters will disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭upthedeise16

brian2614 wrote: »
    Yes they have.They were caught training down in Waterpark to until sum one called the guards and they were moved on my guard from a rival hurling club.

I’m in no way linked with Ballygunner but what’s up with lads meeting up outdoors in groups of 4 to exercise and keeping social distance?
    These lads are friends as well as teammates and share a love for hurling and want to keep fit and could even be living with one another. It makes total sense to me to exercise in groups of 4 rather than individually and once it’s in no more than groups of 4 I see no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Gardner

Balls.ie doing a best 15 over the last 30 years.

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/waterford-15-for-30-434983

My selection:

Stephen O'Keeffe (Ballygunner)

Eoin Murphy (Shamrocks)
    Damien Byrne (Erins Own)
    Noel Connors (Passage)

Tony Browne (Mount Sion)
    Ken McGrath (Mount Sion)
    Kevin Moran (De La Salle)

Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
    Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)

Eoin Kelly (Passage)
    Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
    Pauric Mahoney (Ballygunner)

John Mullane (De La Salle)
    Dan Shanahan (Lismore)
    Paul Flynn (Ballygunner)

honourable mentions:

Clinton Hennessy at No.1
    Tom Feeney at No. 2
    Sean Cullinane at No. 3 (did not displace Damien Byrne out of that position until he retired and probably retired a year or 2 too early)
    Tadhg de Burca & Stephen Frampton at No. 5
    Fergal Hartley at No.6
    Daithi Foran and Brian Greene at No.7
    Seamus Prendergast and Stephen Molumphy at No. 11
    Maurice Shanahan at No.12

Another interesting debate would be players who never fulfilled their potential: Ray Barry and Gary Gater. (played with and against both and unbelievable talents).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

1. S O Keeffe
    2. Eoin Murphy
    3. Sean Cullinane.
    4. N Connors
    5. T Browne
    6. Ken McGrath
    7. F Hartley
    8. Jamie Barron
    9. K Moran
    10. D Shanahan
    11. A Gleeson
    12. M Walsh
    13. J Mullane
    14. E Kelly
    15. P Flynn

You could argue about some of the positions but that's the best 15 imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,061 ✭✭✭deisedude

1. S O Keeffe
    2. Eoin Murphy
    3. Fergal Hartley
    4. N Connors
    5. T Browne
    6. Ken McGrath
    7. K Moran
    8. Jamie Barron
    9. M Walsh
    10. D Shanahan
    11. S Prendergast
    12. Pauric Mahony
    13. J Mullane
    14. E Kelly
    15. P Flynn

Unlucky to miss out: Maurice and Aussie both brilliant on their day but blow too hot and cold. Stephen Molumphy was brilliant at midfield for a while. Cullinane left out of my team purely because I don't really remember him playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

deisedude wrote: »
    1. S O Keeffe
    2. Eoin Murphy
    3. Fergal Hartley
    4. N Connors
    5. T Browne
    6. Ken McGrath
    7. K Moran
    8. Jamie Barron
    9. M Walsh
    10. D Shanahan
    11. S Prendergast
    12. Pauric Mahony
    13. J Mullane
    14. E Kelly
    15. P Flynn

Unlucky to miss out: Maurice and Aussie both brilliant on their day but blow too hot and cold. Stephen Molumphy was brilliant at midfield for a while. Cullinane left out of my team purely because I don't really remember him playing

Hartley only played Fullback for one season. Came back out of retirement in 05 after missing 04 for the purpose of plugging the hole at fullback and it didn’t really work out. Cullinane was rated as one of the best full backs in the game over the course of 7/8 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 814 ✭✭✭debok

So because you play hurling , your not allowed to exercise at all when the gaa is postponed is that what you mean. Surely people can exercise if they want to as long as their within the guidelines.
    I saw 4 young lads walking in Erin's own tops today up the folly is that allowed. They were walking at a brisk pace

Hartley only played Fullback for one season. Came back out of retirement in 05 after missing 04 for the purpose of plugging the hole at fullback and it didn’t really work out. Cullinane was rated as one of the best full backs in the game over the course of 7/8 years

He only played full back for 5 years. 97 to 2001. Ok vs Limerick in 97 (game is on YouTube).
    Good year in 98,
    Did well vs Limerick and Brian Corcoran roasted him in 99.
    Paul Shelly did a Corcoran on him in 2000 but was injured going into the game.
    Brian Begley took him to the cleaners in 2001 in his final game. Huge perception of Waterford fans think he was an all time great but in fact he wasn't but Sean was a decent hurler. When I think of it Tom Feeney was probably a more solid full back from 02 onwards than Sean in the previous years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

Gardner wrote: »
    He only played full back for 5 years. 97 to 2001. Ok vs Limerick in 97 (game is on YouTube).
    Good year in 98,
    Brian Begley took him to the cleaners in 2001 in his final game. Huge perception of Waterford fans think he was an all time great but in fact he wasn't but Sean was a decent hurler. When I think of it Tom Feeney was probably a more solid full back from 02 onwards than Sean in the previous years.

Brian Corcoran was playing centre back in 1999.

Good year in 98,

Cullinane was only really appreciated after he retired, as for years there was no one in the county that could perform the role aswell as he did. He was nominated for an All-Star in 98 but in an era of Lohan, Kinahan and Pat O’Neill there was no shame in not winning one. He was consistent in the position over a number of years, you can’t say that about anyone since. nicknamed the original ‘rock’ before Diarm O’Sullivan was ever on the scene.

You're basing your opinion on after he was gone and perception he was appreciated. I actually think Tom Feeney was more solid in that position in 2002 after Cullinane retired. He was 35 in 2001 and was well past it and it showed in 2000 and 2001 against Limerick and Tipperary respectively. He probably should have gone after 99 to leave Feeney go into full back. I acknowledged his performances in 98 which resulted in an all-star nomination. Having a nickname means nothing, that nickname was from his childhood. its didn't just occur on the terraces in 98.
    Also other posters putting Hartley in full back position is nonsense. He played 1 year there and it didn’t work. I selected a player who played over 10 years in that position and kept Cullinane at corner back from 1989 to 1996. Tony Mansfield was quoted in regards to Byrne “easily the most committed and faithful servant of Waterford hurling that I came into contact with in those years.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭upthedeise16

You're basing your opinion on after he was gone and perception he was appreciated. I actually think Tom Feeney was more solid in that position in 2002 after Cullinane retired. He was 35 in 2001 and was well past it and it showed in 2000 and 2001 against Limerick and Tipperary respectively. He probably should have gone after 99 to leave Feeney go into full back. I acknowledged his performances in 98 which resulted in an all-star nomination. Having a nickname means nothing, that nickname was from his childhood. its didn't just occur on the terraces in 98.
    Also other posters putting Hartley in full back position is nonsense. He played 1 year there and it didn’t work. I selected a player who played over 10 years in that position and kept Cullinane at corner back from 1989 to 1996. Tony Mansfield was quoted in regards to Byrne “easily the most committed and faithful servant of Waterford hurling that I came into contact with in those years.”

Ive only seen highlights of Byrne and would be too young to remember him but would he have made the Waterford teams from 98 to the present day ahead of Cullinane, Feeney, Prendergast Lawlor, Coughlan, Prunty etc?
    It has to put into perspective that he was playing on a poor team that weren’t very competitive in terms of winning Munster other than a few shock victories. Was he at the level of the players around him or was he just unlucky to be playing with Waterford at a time when the players around him weren’t at the required level?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭carter10

Ive only seen highlights of Byrne and would be too young to remember him but would he have made the Waterford teams from 98 to the present day ahead of Cullinane, Feeney, Prendergast Lawlor, Coughlan, Prunty etc?
    It has to put into perspective that he was playing on a poor team that weren’t very competitive in terms of winning Munster other than a few shock victories. Was he at the level of the players around him or was he just unlucky to be playing with Waterford at a time when the players around him weren’t at the required level?

Damien Byrne is one of my favourite waterford hurlers of the last number of years. Started his career at centre forward and if I remember correctly had a great game there against Limerick in his first championship match. Waterford were well beaten but Byrne stood out. In his 3rd year he was moved to full back. I dont remember him being better or worse than Cullinane or Feeney or anyone else for that matter, Gardner makes the point that Cullinane was 'taken to the cleaners' a few times- well Byrne was destroyed by Nicky English in the 88 League semi final in Croke park- scored 2-8 off him. There were other games where he didn't cover himself in glory either- the 89 Munster final is one that comes to mind.
    That being said he was a totally committed hurler on a team that was not as bad as people remember them. Waterford were coming from a very low base- division 3 hurling and Byrne along with Shane Aherne, Jimmy Beresford, Daithi Foran, Billy O'Sullivan, Kieran Delahunty and several others helped Waterford take the first steps out of the abyss they were then in. They laid the foundation for what was to follow. People forget this was the time of no second chances Cork and Limerick were strong and Tipp were on the cusp of ending their famine with a really talented team. Saw Damien Byrne in the crowd up in Mullingar in the recent league game aainst Westmeath- still committed.

carter10 wrote: »
    Damien Byrne is one of my favourite waterford hurlers of the last number of years. Started his career at centre forward and if I remember correctly had a great game there against Limerick in his first championship match. Waterford were well beaten but Byrne stood out. In his 3rd year he was moved to full back. I dont remember him being better or worse than Cullinane or Feeney or anyone else for that matter, Gardner makes the point that Cullinane was 'taken to the cleaners' a few times- well Byrne was destroyed by Nicky English in the 88 League semi final in Croke park- scored 2-8 off him. There were other games where he didn't cover himself in glory either- the 89 Munster final is one that comes to mind.
    That being said he was a totally committed hurler on a team that was not as bad as people remember them. Waterford were coming from a very low base- division 3 hurling and Byrne along with Shane Aherne, Jimmy Beresford, Daithi Foran, Billy O'Sullivan, Kieran Delahunty and several others helped Waterford take the first steps out of the abyss they were then in. They laid the foundation for what was to follow. People forget this was the time of no second chances Cork and Limerick were strong and Tipp were on the cusp of ending their famine with a really talented team. Saw Damien Byrne in the crowd up in Mullingar in the recent league game aainst Westmeath- still committed.

the 89 Munster Final he was sent off incorrectly, i believe it was Pat Ryan who struck the player off the ball.
    in all honesty, i do think Prunty has the beatings of all of them if we were discussing this in 3/4 years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,061 ✭✭✭deisedude

I take your points regarding Cullinane and Hartley.

I don't really remember Cullinane and I probably shoehorned Hartley in out of his natural position to fit him in

No Im basing my opinion on his performances for Waterford in those years, a fine fullback and my point is that it was only after he was gone we realized what we had. In 01 I agree he was over the hill as a young Begley got in behind him for 2 goals in that horror show when we were 11 points up. But that's not the performance that should define him. Hindsight is a great thing, can you tell me about his league performances in 01 in the lead up to it? Were you calling for Feeney to be included then? Feeney slotted in there in 02 but if memory serves me right he was out of there again by 03, wasn't aggressive enough. After that I can think of Alan Kirwan, Declan Prendergast, Fergal Hartley, Feeney again, Prendergast again, Ken McGrath, Ringo Kearney, Wayne Hutchison, Liam Lawlor, Brick Walsh, Jerome Maher, Shane Fives, Lawlor again, Barry Coughlan, Conor Prunty all at fullback in championship since then, and Im sure theres more than that. You can knock him all you want but we haven't had anyone as good and consistent as Sean Cullinane.
    Damient Byrne was before my time, when I started following he was slow nd passed it, I never saw him in his hayday. So its Cullinane for me all day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭carter10

the 89 Munster Final he was sent off incorrectly, i believe it was Pat Ryan who struck the player off the ball.
    in all honesty, i do think Prunty has the beatings of all of them if we were discussing this in 3/4 years time.

I think both had a cut off English out around the corner flag- either could have gone. Not a proud day for Waterford hurling. Agree with you re Prunty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭brian2614

debok wrote: »
    So because you play hurling , your not allowed to exercise at all when the gaa is postponed is that what you mean. Surely people can exercise if they want to as long as their within the guidelines.
    I saw 4 young lads walking in Erin's own tops today up the folly is that allowed. They were walking at a brisk pace

Which are you the jersey puller or the diehard supporter???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Are they training in 4s or a greater number?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 814 ✭✭✭debok

Neither to be honest, don't know what a jersey puller is and I always thought ballygunner had very few supporters.your comment seems to be more about bg than than the rules you think were broken.
    Do you play gaa? Have you gone for a run or done the slightest bit if exercise since this started? does that mean you broke the rules? I just don't get what your gripe is. Your allowed exercise in groups of 4 since the 18th of may. Surely amateur people can do whatever exercise they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭thesultan

carter10 wrote: »
    I think both had a cut off English out around the corner flag- either could have gone. Not a proud day for Waterford hurling. Agree with you re Prunty
    Wasn't a patch on what Crowley did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭thesultan

All these things need perspective. Hartley played one year full back. You should not get on the team as he was a decent centre back. In Eoin Murphys all star year he got a right roasting off Damien Hayes in Walsh but the game wasn't live. Looking at the full back posotion. Tipp league game 04. Tom Feeney on kelly. Anticipated a ball in front
    and was out in front but a high delivery from Tommy dunne straight over Tom and into Kelly resulted in a goal. Tom was never settled after.

New Waterford GAA website looks fantastic. Fair play to those involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,676 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Some players really dont like the phone going by the last few weeks on the WLR fm GAA specials

Kevin Daly and Stephen Bennett sounded like they didn't want too be interviewed

New Waterford GAA website looks fantastic. Fair play to those involved.

All they need now is news and matches to report on

I see from it as well all county hurling leagues in football and hurling have been brought in. Went under the radar here despite being a clear appetite for it

Probably consigned to the ashes for this year but a very positive development hopefully for the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭seananigans

hey if we never end up playing the championship, this will be the first year in 61 we didnt lose a match in championship , thats basically an ai right ?

Not quite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭seananigans

Not quite

close enough