If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cocaine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I am pretty sure if we adopted their approach to cocaine we are not obligated to take up intergenerational mortgages and sex perversions. lol

Can you guarantee that though Yellow_Fern.

Could it in fact be, that in the absence of our innate desire to sniff being sated by the auld devils dandruff, it can manifest itself instead in a bit of a grá for knicker sniffing, as appears to be the case in Japan.

The link to long term financial products is probably a bit more tenuous, but the knicker thing seems cut and dried!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭pure.conya

Steyr 556 wrote: »
    Have a comparison between Portugal and Ireland.

It's older data from 2017 I think.

Interesting that Portugal, even with decriminalisation, had a slightly higher amount of drug drug law offences than Ireland. Drugs are still illegal in that country, just there is a more relaxed criminal code and tolerance of personal use.

The other way you could look at it, Portugal has over twice our population so its bound to have higher rates of drug law offences even with decriminalisation.

It's probably more of a stark contrast that Ireland is close to the numbers of a country twice its size.

The thing is, in Ireland, while users do get caught and charged for drug possession, the Gardai are not targeting users - they don't raid houses looking for personal supply. They are going after dealers and people higher up the supply chain and gangs.

What I would like to see in our drug offences statistics is the number of offences under the Misuse of Drugs Act that were Section 15 - possession of a controlled drug for the purpose of unlawful sale or supply - which would suggest someone is dealing.

Even if Ireland were to decriminalised all Class A drugs tomorrow you will still get people being arrested for this offence if detected.

getting caught with 2 or more of anything here will land you a sale and supply charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭pure.conya

Arrival wrote: »
    In the US it has apparently, I remember hearing that a couple of famous people who died from coke were actually given coke cut with fentanyl. Makes absolutely no sense why any dealers would cut their stuff with something that has a high chance of killing their customers, fairly messed up really

thats prohibition for ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Can you not enjoy life without any of them? Life is good fun without anything

I have vegan buddhist friend who says the same about everything except water.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,724 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

What I would like to see in our drug offences statistics is the number of offences under the Misuse of Drugs Act that were Section 15.

It's in the same article you posted, under Drug Laws and Drug Law Offences:

16880 drug offences caught
    12211 for Simple Possession (section 3)
    4175 for Possession for Sale or Supply (section 15)

And I'd imagine a lot of those section 3's were suspected 15's but with no proof.
    Can you not enjoy life without any of them? Life is good fun without anything

Depends on your life. My life isn't the worst, but it's far from the best. Cannabis helps me, and not just by getting high.
    pure.conya wrote: »
    getting caught with 2 or more of anything here will land you a sale and supply charge

Again, depends on what else is going on. I'm pretty sure I could get away with 2 ounces for personal use (save €100!), as long as I wasn't caught with it in separate deals, with scales and a customer list. You don't have to convince the Garda, they'll throw a 15 at you just for stats, you just need to convince the judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,670 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Depends on your life. My life isn't the worst, but it's far from the best. Cannabis helps me, and not just by getting high.

Well I can't say much, I have a sugar addiction, but I do become concerned when people say they couldn't survive the day without such and such, there's something missing in our lives, I know lads that depend on weed to just deal with the anxieties of life

I can understand that, it has helped me with my anxiety too. Now, it just helps me to deal with people, as I've become very anti-social in my 30's. Even if I didn't smoke, I'd still be anti-social as people just annoy me, what with their constant need to gossip.

I can go days without it, have done, and will do again. Just, I prefer when I smoke. I'm more alert, can actually get things done. It stops my brain from thinking about things I can't change, as I have a pretty active brain that won't shut off and likes to remind me of all the bad things that have happened, or have yet to happen. But that also comes down to the strain, and with it being illegal, I can't pick the strain that best suits me. Legality would sort that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,670 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

I can understand that, it has helped me with my anxiety too. Now, it just helps me to deal with people, as I've become very anti-social in my 30's. Even if I didn't smoke, I'd still be anti-social as people just annoy me, what with their constant need to gossip.

Being autistic, I can relate to social issues, there's days where I just want to be left alone, but I would be concerned if I had a drug dependency to deal with social interactions. I'm all for legalisation though, I think our current situation is ridiculous

I wouldn't call it a dependency, I don't smoke before work and I have to socialise with the people I work with (thankfully, on nights, it's never more than 4 people, usually 1 after a certain hour). I'm finished work at 8.15, i'll be home by 9, and I'll have a smoke before I go to bed. Aside from just enjoying it (like a drink people have after work), it helps me stay asleep while the parents (I live at home, failed mortgage/life, it works out good for all of us) don't have to be careful about being quiet. I regularly wake up, at the alarm time, to the sound of a dinner in full swing, Irish country music blaring on the kitchen radio, the father singing his heart out, and sometimes lots of visitors with kids.

And yeah, keeping it illegal, not even decriminalised, is just a sign of how backwards we can be at times. We're very proactive in some cases, ie: gay marriage and abortion, but when it comes to other things we're so far behind, the legalisation and commercialisation of cannabis being the biggest one, imo. The amount of money it could make would offset Dee Forbes putting up the licence fee, or Berties extra €25k last week for no reason. But, as we can see from threads like this, a lot of the general public are still against it, and imo brainwashed into thinking it's the devils lettuce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,578 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

This isn't a question about legalisation. The question is that given coke is currently illegal, do current users have blood on their hands?

Of course they do.

They think being of a class higher in society gives them some perverse moral shield - it doesn't.

When you hand the notes to the dealer you have blood on your hands.

Simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,570 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Of course they do.

They think being of a class higher in society gives them some perverse moral shield - it doesn't.

When you hand the notes to the dealer you have blood on your hands.

Simple as that.

as i said before, the class angle is a myth and is not applicable in ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Big Gerry

Cocaine has recently been "approved" as a nasal spray under the brand name Numbrino in the US.

I wonder how long it will be before people can get cocaine from their local
    pharmacy ?

https://www.inquirer.com/business/drugs/cocaine-lannett-numbrino-philadelphia-generic-drugs-20200114.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,570 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

pure.conya wrote: »

no it won't

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

I wish i had access to cocaine to be honest. I crave all drugs. My first one was alcohol then nicotine gum/lozenges (I know their used to quit but I got hooked from them). First body orgasm with codeine.

The summer of 2017 was the best in my life as my GP who always thought I was anxious gave me 50 tablets of diazepam. Went to the States and enjoyed a cocktail of codeine, diazepam, alcohol, nicotine and my aunt's hydrocodone pills.

I wish I had money and I would try some harder stuff. My psych says I should avoid it given my issues. Thinks it will trigger violence.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

I wish i had access to cocaine to be honest. I crave all drugs. My first one was alcohol then nicotine gum/lozenges (I know their used to quit but I got hooked from them). First body orgasm with codeine.

The summer of 2017 was the best in my life as my GP who always thought I was anxious gave me 50 tablets of diazepam. Went to the States and enjoyed a cocktail of codeine, diazepam, alcohol, nicotine and my aunt's hydrocodone pills.

I wish I had money and I would try some harder stuff. My psych says I should avoid it given my issues. Thinks it will trigger violence.

Benzos are the worst and probably most dangerous drug I ever messed with. Made the stupid mistake of mixing them with alcohol, my partner found me passed out on the kitchen floor.

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Benzos are the worst and probably most dangerous drug I ever messed with. Made the stupid mistake of mixing them with alcohol, my partner found me passed out on the kitchen floor.

I mixed them with alcohol on a flight from Dublin to Los Angeles. Lost about 16 hours from the time I left the gate to the time I went to my uncles house. That means I passed through customs without any recollection of it.

They cause waking amnesia unlike alcohol which only causes amnesia when one is completely intoxicated/out of it. You can even take benzos on their own without alcohol, go about your day to day life and have no memory of anything the next week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

This post was quite the revelation, a true window onto your window mr_fegelien.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

This post was quite the revelation, a true window onto your window mr_fegelien.

I think he must be on something right now to be honest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,900 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I've switched to ethically sourced cocaine, the only blood on my hands is from the frequent nose bleeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,389 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Cocaine is a dirty dirty drug, you don't even get 'high' , just knaw the mouth off yourself while talking shyte. That's from seeing people on it.
    No social interaction as your guarding your come down fix.
    Hate it with a passion

kowloon wrote: »
    I've switched to ethically sourced cocaine, the only blood on my hands is from the frequent nose bleeds.

Sounds like the narcotic equivalent of vegan bacon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,900 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Sounds like the narcotic equivalent of vegan bacon.

It's gluten-free y'know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Arrival

cj maxx wrote: »
    Cocaine is a dirty dirty drug, you don't even get 'high' , just knaw the mouth off yourself while talking shyte. That's from seeing people on it.
    No social interaction as your guarding your come down fix.
    Hate it with a passion

If you haven't tried it then you really can't speak about it accurately. And what you describe isn't too far off, but it's mostly only relevant to **** coke cut with different things, which is what most coke in Ireland is. Anyone who's been to S. America and tried proper coke, or even certain cities in Europe, would tell you that's not an accurate description of how it feels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,645 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

People tend to focus on drugs like cocaine as making people especially reprehensible in company but doing any drug - or alcohol to excess - either in the company of people that are sober or being moderate has pretty much the same effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭snoopboggybog

If you get proper Cocaine, it makes you feel like a million dollars, invincible, Confident, talkative and Euphoric.

Most of the Irish stuff mixed is Benzocaine and lignocaine and might be 20% pure at best.

By not legalizing it you are only damaging people's health and fuelling the drug gangs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Blood on their hands and traces of feces and god knows what else up their noses.

🙈🙉🙊

If you get proper Cocaine, it makes you feel like a million dollars, invincible, Confident, talkative and Euphoric.

Most of the Irish stuff mixed is Benzocaine and lignocaine and might be 20% pure at best.

By not legalizing it you are only damaging people's health and fuelling the drug gangs.

If you gave people ethically produced and sourced "pure" cocaine, as much as they wanted and as long as they wanted, the result would be they'd be greedy ***** with zero moral compass, blow all their money up their nose and be insufferable c*nts in the process.

Actually I believe that cocaine is €2 in South American countries so no, you wouldn't go broke

Aye 2 euro and they have plenty of people addicted to it as well.

A drug could be 50 cent a hit. If you are addicted and spend all your money on it, you will go broke.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

You know what?

Feck this bull****e world for making all the valuable drugs illegal and the manky ones accessible. As a drinker and smoker, I say that. They'll kill me.

And I'm not on about cocaine..