Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVII-24,841 in ROI (1,639 deaths) 4,679 in NI (518 deaths)(28/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,152 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Christy42 wrote: »
    Let's not forget that at one point he was supposedly healthier than any president whoever lived.

Yeah which he apparently dictated to his doctor at time who signed off on it. https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-43970908 It's a new doctor now and he hasn't confirmed he has been taking it, but hasn't said he isn't either. I'd take the claim with a pinch of salt though seeing as it is Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Doubt it will reach them

You doubt if Covid-19 will reach Amazonian ethnic groups ?

?m=02&d=20200515&t=2&i=1518811363&w=780&fh=&fw=&ll=&pl=&sq=&r=2020-05-15T210409Z_35623_MRPRC2RJG9EOL42_RTRMADP_0_HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS-BRAZIL-INDIGENOUSNURSE

Reuters / Thursday, May 07, 2020

Vanderlecia Ortega dos Santos, 32, a nurse from the Witoto tribe, an indigenous ethnic group, wears a face mask that reads "Indigenous lives matter" as she puts on personal protective equipment before leaving her home in Parque das Trios, in the Taruma district, Manaus, Brazil, April 26, 2020.

She has volunteered to provide the only frontline care protecting her indigenous community of 700 families from the COVID-19 outbreak. "Our people are dying from this disease here and they are not being recognized as indigenous people by the state and Sesai," said Santos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,152 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

ek motor wrote: »
    Delirium 'may be common' in Covid seriously ill - BBC

'Doctors should look out for depression, anxiety and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) after recovery.'

https://www.bbc.com/news/health-52706277

I remember reading before that psychiatric problems were also prevelant in those who recovered from the original SARS. I'll see can i dig out a link.

Yeah in that link it says: ''The evidence is based on studies of patients with severe acute respiratory syndrome (Sars) and Middle-East respiratory syndrome (Mers), as well early data on Covid-19 patients.''

I think when someone has to go to ICU and on a ventilator it would increase likelihood of PTSD etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

If there are 650 suspected cases in hospitals right now there are at minimum 2600 active cases not requiring hospitalisation and likely a car, far greater number of asymptomatic carriers, especially after the "reopening" of workplaces yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

US2 wrote: »
    Managed to drive 60kms this morning without meeting a checkpoint, about time! Things are improving

You drove 60kms for the Craic? And this is the reason we need tougher measures to make sure peoples behavior is in line with restrictions. Tracking is the most obvious solution via contact tracing apps that will be built into phones and patched in via updates. The authorities need to know where people are, and if they are where they are supposed to be, this way targeted policing will be made possible. Tied in with a social credit system we can make great strides towards amending people’s behaviour going forward for the greater good. Of course it will have to be mandatory that people have their phones with them at all times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Paddygreen wrote: »
    You drove 60kms for the Craic? And this is the reason we need tougher measures to make sure peoples behavior is in line with restrictions. Tracking is the most obvious solution via contact tracing apps that will be built into phones and patched in via updates. The authorities need to know where people are, and if they are where they are supposed to be, this way targeted policing will be made possible. Tied in with a social credit system we can make great strides towards amending people’s behaviour going forward for the greater good. Of course it will have to be mandatory that people have their phones with them at all times.

No need to bother with the phones, Paddy. We could just have vets implant a microchip into everyone, they have boxes of them. And the next time you wander off they could find you much quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭ek motor

Eod100 wrote: »
    Yeah in that link it says: ''The evidence is based on studies of patients with severe acute respiratory syndrome (Sars) and Middle-East respiratory syndrome (Mers), as well early data on Covid-19 patients.''

I think when someone has to go to ICU and on a ventilator it would increase likelihood of PTSD etc.

Yes that would make sense alright. Here's the study I saw on the original SARS. -

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0163834309000474?via%3Dihub

'Ninety subjects were recruited, yielding a response rate of 96.8%. Post-SARS cumulative incidence of DSM-IV psychiatric disorders was 58.9%. Current prevalence for any psychiatric disorder at 30 months post-SARS was 33.3%. One-fourth of the patients had post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and 15.6% had depressive disorders.

Conclusion

The outbreak of SARS can be regarded as a mental health catastrophe. PTSD was the most prevalent long-term psychiatric condition, followed by depressive disorders. Our results highlight the need to enhance preparedness and competence of health care professionals in detecting and managing the psychological sequelae of future comparable infectious disease outbreaks.'

Reminder that that study is based on the original SARS outbreak in 2003-4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,604 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

bekker wrote: »
    Too little, far too late, NPHET will remain primarily a creature of DOH, HSE, the context has already been set.

I think this is preferable to the Uk's approach with Sage.

From RTE
    Dr Tony Holohan told the Dáil's Covid-19 Committee that Ireland was the fastest country to introduce restrictions to visitors in nursing homes following notification of the first case of Covid-19 in a nursing home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

I reckon we’ll have low numbers again today considering the CMO just said we have eliminated community spread. He would’ve gotten today’s numbers prior to the hearing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

From RTE
    Dr Tony Holohan told the Dáil's Covid-19 Committee that Ireland was the fastest country to introduce restrictions to visitors in nursing homes following notification of the first case of Covid-19 in a nursing home.

We are witnessing the first steps in creating the mess of string that will be impossible to unravel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

s1ippy wrote: »
    Have to say I'm actually disgusted by Mr Tony's answer about testing of healthcare workers.

I work part-time in a job where I am going from home to home for people with disabilities and there is categorically no testing going on in these sectors. I've repeatedly raised it with the agency and they have told me there is no plan to test staff going in to these vulnerable people.

They are vulnerable from a health standpoint in that they have comorbidities and also because many of them have no voice and cannot speak out. I wrote several letters to the Irish Times, Independent and RTÉ with my position and no coverage given. People with special needs don't consume a lot of media and their carers are usually too floored from the day to day requirements of life to have time or energy to speak out either.

The HSE as usual are throwing disabled people to the wolves in all of this. It's a shocking situation which is being completely suppressed.
    TH up to his usual performance before a committee.

The length of his responses are inversely proportional to the information content offered in answer to specific questions. Talks out the time allocated for a TD's questions.

Plus usual redefinition of questions so that he can avoid answering what he was asked, refers to testing frontline workers, but won't explicedly include agency staff, cleaners etc as frontline workers, as specified in the question.

What if he didn't get out of his car?
    As for the second part of you post - when do you want to start comrade? Maybe some political commissars to ensure compliance

I reckon we’ll have low numbers again today considering the CMO just said we have eliminated community spread. He would’ve gotten today’s numbers prior to the hearing.

To be fair he said that before giving us 2 more weeks of lockdown.

If it is the case then they should have pressure put on by cabinet to speed up the lifting of restrictions but I'd be surprised if they didn't fully stick to the current plan even if it is a living document

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

From RTE

Then he left it too late . He should have looked at the disaster in Italy and acted before the first case .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Where did I say it was for the craic? Didnt realise I had to tell boardsies my business aswell as guards

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Hopefully just a temporary blip in the ICU figures, rising from 51 yesterday to 55 today.

That could be 4 deaths that did not happen, as deaths were four instead of possibly 8.

Numbers can mean anything if taken out of context. It is the trend that matters.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Delirium 'may be common' in Covid seriously ill - BBC

'Doctors should look out for depression, anxiety and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) after recovery.'

https://www.bbc.com/news/health-52706277

I remember reading before that psychiatric problems were also prevelant in those who recovered from the original SARS. I'll see can i dig out a link.
    Eod100 wrote: »

Yes that would make sense alright. Here's the study I saw on the original SARS. -

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0163834309000474?via%3Dihub

'Ninety subjects were recruited, yielding a response rate of 96.8%. Post-SARS cumulative incidence of DSM-IV psychiatric disorders was 58.9%. Current prevalence for any psychiatric disorder at 30 months post-SARS was 33.3%. One-fourth of the patients had post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and 15.6% had depressive disorders.

Conclusion

The outbreak of SARS can be regarded as a mental health catastrophe. PTSD was the most prevalent long-term psychiatric condition, followed by depressive disorders. Our results highlight the need to enhance preparedness and competence of health care professionals in detecting and managing the psychological sequelae of future comparable infectious disease outbreaks.'

Reminder that that study is based on the original SARS outbreak in 2003-4.

The anaesthetics used to induce coma/ deep sedation can also be the cause of this, especially in the not-so-young.
    From RTE

Stable doors. Horses. Bolted. :mad:

TH - R0 figure is derived from a summation of 3 mathematical models.

Asked to publish details of models he said that should be possible following an ongoing? peer-review of model (singular).

FFS, a peer-review of the methodology in use for months to make decisions.

If a peer-review was necessary it would have been more logical to have it carried out before using model to make decisions, rather than use a review to delay it's exposure to scrutiny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

You doubt if Covid-19 will reach Amazonian ethnic groups ?

?m=02&d=20200515&t=2&i=1518811363&w=780&fh=&fw=&ll=&pl=&sq=&r=2020-05-15T210409Z_35623_MRPRC2RJG9EOL42_RTRMADP_0_HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS-BRAZIL-INDIGENOUSNURSE

Reuters / Thursday, May 07, 2020

Vanderlecia Ortega dos Santos, 32, a nurse from the Witoto tribe, an indigenous ethnic group, wears a face mask that reads "Indigenous lives matter" as she puts on personal protective equipment before leaving her home in Parque das Trios, in the Taruma district, Manaus, Brazil, April 26, 2020.

She has volunteered to provide the only frontline care protecting her indigenous community of 700 families from the COVID-19 outbreak. "Our people are dying from this disease here and they are not being recognized as indigenous people by the state and Sesai," said Santos.

If they are already infected with Paw Patrol, the coronavirus wont be too far behind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

polesheep wrote: »
    No need to bother with the phones, Paddy. We could just have vets implant a microchip into everyone, they have boxes of them. And the next time you wander off they could find you much quicker.

I've some some crazy ideas of boards but this takes the biscuit. I really hope you are not serious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

US2 wrote: »
    Managed to drive 60kms this morning without meeting a checkpoint, about time! Things are improving

I drove 65km and 65km back home today in Cork, no sign of a garda let alone a checkpoint. But they were mostly national sec and R roads. I wasnt expecting to come across any. I was picking up building materials btw.

Ive travelled to Cork City a couple of times to do shopping for in laws and was surprised to see no checks around the city.

But how could they police everywhere all the time.

DellyBelly wrote: »
    I've some some crazy ideas of boards but this takes the biscuit. I really hope you are not serious...

I really hope your not serious...

This afternoon HSE congratulates itself on obtaining PPE in very constricted and competitive international markets.

This morning TH says up to individual private care homes to have necessary PPE in place to meet COVID-19 in explanation of why state purchased PPE was not provided early to what was known to be the state and private sector most vulnerable to COVID-19.

No discombobulation in evidence from either party.

Woooooosh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I’m quite sure it was sarcasm that he/she replied to a stupid post.

Colm McCarthy TD nailed HSE on contradictory advice.

Mandatory advice to Dáil, if one present in the semi-deserted Dáil Chamber tests positive, all TDs and others present for 2 hours would have to isolate for 14 days.

But if same happened in crowded meat plant it doesn't have to shut for 14 days if superviving Health Official doen't deem it necessary.

Apparently it's all down to what institutions the HSE wants to continue to function.

bekker wrote: »
    Colm McCarthy TD nailed HSE on contradictory advice.

Mandatory advice to Dáil, if one present in the semi-deserted Dáil Chamber tests positive, all TDs and others present for 2 hours would have to isolate for 14 days.

But if same happened in crowded meat plant it doesn't have to shut for 14 days if superviving Health Official doen't deem it necessary.

Apparently it's all down to what institutions the HSE wants to continue to function.

Doesn't say the Dáil has to close for 14 days, just the people there with the index case. Meat plants often run on multiple shifts and multiple areas. Why would the plant have to shut if a person in one area was to test positive?