Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVII-24,841 in ROI (1,639 deaths) 4,679 in NI (518 deaths)(28/05)Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

owlbethere wrote: »
    Shame on them greens for not working with FG and FF to form a government to help us through the biggest crisis we have seen in our lifetimes. Is there an appetite from the population to go back to the polling stations?

Absolutely not. I'll be voting the same way I did before, everything but FF and FG and putting the Greens at the bottom. Many of the people I know who voted for them in the past are not going to this time around, which actually fills me with hope that maybe there's going to be a strong left government for the first time in our history.

The times, they are a-changin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,367 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

We've reached a point where people who are breaking the rules are complaining about others breaking the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Saying on the news that Tony Holohan is concerned that in a recent survey nearly half the population think that the worst is over. Maybe I am naive but is it really that bad that people think the worst is over? We had almost 1,000 new cases three days in a row back in April, so are the other 50% of the population expecting it to get worse than those levels again? We aren't out of the woods yet but I didn't think it was overly optimistic saying that hopefully the worst is behind us..

Has Tony a crystal ball? Maybe the worst is over, maybe it's not. We'l all have to wait and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Any stories closer to home, or do you have to trawl the net to seek these articles out?

I'll post whatever links to whatever stories I deem relevant to the thread and topic in question.

What do you think of that?

There is a handy ignore button you can use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Jason Corbett's mother, Rita died last night after being diagnosed with Covid 19 last month. I don't know if it was the cause of death or not.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/rita-corbett-mother-of-limerick-man-murdered-in-us-dies-aged-80-1000118.html

I'll post whatever links to whatever stories I deem relevant to the thread and topic in question.

Links about lunatic Americans isnt relevant here.

According to you.

If it makes you feel better to read these things, death tolls etc, then who am I to judge.

Saying on the news that Tony Holohan is concerned that in a recent survey nearly half the population think that the worst is over. Maybe I am naive but is it really that bad that people think the worst is over? We had almost 1,000 new cases three days in a row back in April, so are the other 50% of the population expecting it to get worse than those levels again? We aren't out of the woods yet but I didn't think it was overly optimistic saying that hopefully the worst is behind us..

Yeah this honestly baffled me. Sure they want to keep the public cautious, but him saying that we zero explanation as to why it was an issue, or any justification to how the worst isn't behind us just makes me lose confidence in what they're saying.

Genuinely feels like they're talking down to the public at every opportunity, Simon Harris is utterly nausiating on twitter.

If it makes you feel better to read these things, death tolls etc, then who am I to judge.

That's what this thread is for, real news (and news from everywhere, not just Ireland).

The other "relaxation thread" (ironic name) would be more your thing for happy talk :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

There is a handy ignore button you can use.
    Post whatever you like I just wonder why you have to post stuff from the other side of the world to try and make an impact here. What's the revelence of the article to Ireland since you brought it up?

That's what this thread is for, real news (and news from everywhere, not just Ireland).

The other "relaxation thread" (ironic name) would be more your thing for happy talk :cool:

The article wasn't real news.

Post whatever you like I just wonder way you have to post stuff from the other side of the world to try and make an impact here. What's the revelence of the article to Ireland since you brought it up?

It's an interesting story about what can happen to people who don't take things as seriously as they should.

And I am fully entitled to post it here and, again, use the ignore button if it triggers you.

This thread is not just for Ireland. You are looking for the other thread like hotmail.com.

The article wasn't real news.

Claiming an article from the Mirror is real news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,509 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Post whatever you like I just wonder way you have to post stuff from the other side of the world to try and make an impact here. What's the revelence of the article to Ireland since you brought it up?
    Most of what he posts is informative. If you can't handle it then just don't read it or as he says you can put him on ignore. I read loads of what he puts up but I'm just able to read it without being affected by it.

s1ippy wrote: »
    Absolutely not. I'll be voting the same way I did before, everything but FF and FG and putting the Greens at the bottom. Many of the people I know who voted for them in the past are not going to this time around, which actually fills me with hope that maybe there's going to be a strong left government for the first time in our history.

The times, they are a-changin'.

Maybe FG made it impossible for de Greens to agree cos FG like the recent polls?

Claiming an article from the Mirror is real news.

You can read it on many news sites. The tweet just happened to be to a tabloid.

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/he-thought-coronavirus-was-fake-crisis-then-he-contracted-it-n1209246

I don't know what your issue is.

You need to calm down (and maybe have a beer).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭Micky 32

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    Maybe FG made it impossible for de Greens to agree cos FG like the recent polls?

Have the greens pulled out? Didn’t see anything on the news about it.

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Have the greens pulled out? Didn’t see anything on the news about it.

Its all just speculation I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 noa2020

Increase in ICU patients from 51 to 55 as of 20:00hrs this evening

Number of general admitted cases down to 376 though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,116 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

noa2020 wrote: »
    Increase in ICU patients from 51 to 55 as of 20:00hrs this evening

Number of general admitted cases down to 376 though

Where does it say that?
    When they do the briefing its always the live figure (well earlier in the day) vs the daily report figure

You can read it on many news sites. The tweet just happened to be to a tabloid.

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/he-thought-coronavirus-was-fake-crisis-then-he-contracted-it-n1209246

I don't know what your issue is.

You need to calm down (and maybe have a beer).
    Is this the type of condescension that got you banned off some of the Covid threads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,116 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Is this the type of condescension that got you banned off some of the Covid threads?

There's plenty other junk posted on this thread that shouldn't be here - at least his stuff is real and relevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 noa2020

fritzelly wrote: »
    Where does it say that?
    When they do the briefing its always the live figure (well earlier in the day) vs the daily report figure

From the HSE daily operations update.

https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/news/newsfeatures/covid19-updates/covid-19-daily-operations-update-20-00-18-may-2020.pdf

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

The bile, hatred and vitriol of people decrying those of us who are saying society should be careful is so misdirected. I know it's been said many times before, but it's worth reiterating that at the start of these threads, many of the people who are advocating caution now were hard-pushed to accept that this could come to anything. Relatively new individuals seem to be here constantly, day in day out shouting others down and saying horrible things. Are you so insecure about your position that you have to attack others to feel superior?

People will make adjustments to their level of fear in accordance on the basis of the factual information they receive. It's a form of confirmation bias, because people will seek out stories that validate their views.

But in this frightening new situation, because of all the unknowns, people are entitled to advocate due consideration of others because everyone has the right to protect their health and a responsibility not to knowingly cause harm to others.

Downplaying the virus and patronising other people's views is like the choice to be obese or smoke. People who go around saying it's nothing to worry about could still be wrong and the approach they propose (to go about life as normal), was shown to be bad news when cases grew rapidly only a month ago.

This awful article is written by a person who is a self-confessed obsessive when it comes to news about the virus, but doesn't even have the self-preservation to move away when somebody sneezes all over themselves in the supermarket. Then they end the article with "and everybody laughed - how normal!"

That's the level of some people, I can't actually be bothered to share things here anymore when I read pertinent news which might be of interest to some, because I know I'll find the thread flooded with a barrage of insults and hyperbole about hazmat suits. The intention isn't to scare people, it's to let others know new information about a lethal strain of highly contagious virus which is currently circulating.

tl;dr Well done to the bullies. You may have a less fundamentalist outlook one day soon, though I hope this has the impact you predict. I'm also entitled to my careful approach. Maybe direct your anger at somebody who actually deserves it.
    https://twitter.com/NicksCoffeeCo/status/1262311230070538241?s=19

Also, absolutely delighted with the numbers today. A potentially excellent sign which I would be thrilled to see continue.
    jobeenfitz wrote: »

Good insight, you could definitely be right. Not very good coverage of the left recently, including Mary Lou getting badly cut off a few times in the Dáil live correspondence by RTÉ. The spin makes my skin crawl, it's almost as though all the "blinder" moments have completely overshadowed Simon "Covid 1 to 18" Harris being the reason they had to have the election at all. And putting Eoghan Murphy's dept in charge of the General Election contingency plan is the mucky icing on the sh!tcake we're being fed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

noa2020 wrote: »
    My first time reading the report, lots of detail there, very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

My first time reading the report, lots of detail there, very interesting.

It's quite good, out nightly or early the next morning. Can vary over the weekends when there isn't that many discharged out of hosptial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭robbiezero

blackcard wrote: »
    Coming from a medium sized town, I came across 5 building sites today. 2 were small sites and were grand. Council doing a job which was fine too. A medium sized site was fine too. On the large site, there was no work on site today. Everyone was getting an induction for the new working procedures and working their way through potential issues.
    Of the shops that I saw opened, there was 1 phone shop where social distancing wasn't taking place.
    You could see some groups of teenagers around who seemed to be brazenly flouting social distancing. I was tempted to have a word with them but I didn't.
    Wore a mask for the first time today in a supermarket, I am not sure if it makes any difference but it might remind others to comply.

I went for a walk this evening and I could see 4 teenagers sitting on the parapet of a bridge and I was frustrated. However as I got nearer, I saw that they were actually keeping apart from each other. I said 'Fair play to ye lads, ye are exactly 2 metres apart' They laughed. Made my day.

You should get a cane so you can prod people who aren't complying with restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa