Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVII-24,841 in ROI (1,639 deaths) 4,679 in NI (518 deaths)(28/05)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

fritzelly wrote: »
    If you watched the HSE meeting this morning one of the female guests coughed in to her hand - was surprised no one took her up on it - though it is tough to remember to not cough in to your hands, its built in to you from being a kid

I stopped watching the daily fearmongerers some time ago. Sounds like I didn't miss much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Reading this thread and others on the same topic 'covid' Christ but the government and media really instilled a serious amount of fear in people. Not such an easy task to unwind.

I’m not underestimating this Virus but we’ll be bunkering down with even the sound of a sneeze for quite some time, our psyche has changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

So you are suggesting leaving children with strangers, can't see a problem there......
    Honest question what danger does a couple pose to you? Considering most couples stay together I fail to see the problem.

Your right, especially about a lone parent with a child. Why do people on here want to turn into police. Questioning why they wouldnt have spare bulbs.

There could be candidates for stasi police on here.

I can't believe some people's reaction to a single parent possibly bringing their child to woodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Unless they are under five, leave them in the car, until I was ten and my dad went to builders yards and some hardware stores that's where I was told to stay when I went with him for the drive.

Now I understand that most yards are more dangerous than woodies, but if you really need something urgently or just want to do some decorating, call first to confirm that the store has the item(s) in stock, if your not able to browse and do click and collect for them on the woodies site.

If the store has the item(s) in stock, just arrive up at the store, leave the kid(s) in the car, queue up and get your item(s).

Unless you are going to woodies for a break away from the house and just have a wander around, no reason to have them go into the store.

Also why is this an issue now that they are reopening, the store in Navan had signs up saying that under 16s weren't allowed in before they had to close in March, assume that it was policy across the chain then also.

Its not good advice, telling someone to leave a child in a car on their own, especially if it's a small child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭little bess

As far as I’m aware, most supermarkets have said that it’s absolutely ok for single parents to bring their children shopping with them.

People on here saying that children should be left in cars or in other people’s home need to have some cop on.

You’d think shopping with kids is great craic and we’re all dying to do it. I hated shopping with mine when they were young and would offload them whenever I could.

Obviously it’s not feasible for everybody and supermarkets are being flexible about that. Have some empathy people ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Reading this thread and others on the same topic 'covid' Christ but the government and media really instilled a serious amount of fear in people. Not such an easy task to unwind.

Yeh I was surprised by how genuinely fearful the media made some healthy young people of the virus. Not many people should be in 'fear' of this virus, everyone should be aware and know the very serious risks it holds for the at risk groups, but the scare mongering by media was way over the top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Monkeynut

Who thought this would just blow over.

December I looked at an article about wuhan virus. Said to myself, would these people stop eating exotic animals(or whatever animals).
    Ahh sure it will be grand, I said to myself.

Look now.

seriously look now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭ek motor

Hospitals in Sao Paolo near collapse - BBC

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-52701524

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,620 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Still no construction workers in the site across from me, figured they would be out bright and early this morning.

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Yeh I was surprised by how genuinely fearful the media made some healthy young people of the virus. Not many people should be in 'fear' of this virus, everyone should be aware and know the very serious risks it holds for the at risk groups, but the scare mongering by media was way over the top

Listening to alot of different radio shows and podcasts about the return of football recently. Most corespondents are falling over themselves trying to emphasise how the safety of the players cannot be put at risk. Cop the f on lads. Fit healthy athletes in their 20's and early 30's. I would hazard a guess that the act of playing football itself puts their long term health at far greater risk than Covid-19 through risk of injury CTE etc. If they have vulnerable family members living with them, well permit them to sit out until things ease off a bit more. But otherwise, quit the talk of the safety of players

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Unless they are under five, leave them in the car, until I was ten and my dad went to builders yards and some hardware stores that's where I was told to stay when I went with him for the drive.

Now I understand that most yards are more dangerous than woodies, but if you really need something urgently or just want to do some decorating, call first to confirm that the store has the item(s) in stock, if your not able to browse and do click and collect for them on the woodies site.

If the store has the item(s) in stock, just arrive up at the store, leave the kid(s) in the car, queue up and get your item(s).

Unless you are going to woodies for a break away from the house and just have a wander around, no reason to have them go into the store.

Also why is this an issue now that they are reopening, the store in Navan had signs up saying that under 16s weren't allowed in before they had to close in March, assume that it was policy across the chain then also.

Sunny day, queue outside the store - leave the kids in the car?

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    Its not good advice, telling someone to leave a child in a car on their own, especially if it's a small child.

Why not, they aren't in any danger in their own car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

The noise from the traffic is so intense this morning that it woke me up. It feels like the house is ringing. I'm sickened and have to go back to work today so I'm dreading going out in it. It completely fills me with anxiety thinking about having to interact with people again. I'm disgusted that even though I haven't seen my friends or family in months, I have to go and work now as though everything is fine.

s1ippy wrote: »
    The noise from the traffic is so intense this morning that it woke me up. It feels like the house is ringing. I'm sickened and have to go back to work today so I'm dreading going out in it. It completely fills me with anxiety thinking about having to interact with people again. I'm disgusted that even though I haven't seen my friends or family in months, I have to go and work now as though everything is fine.

So long as the necessary physical distancing measure are in place, it should be a welcome relief to be engaging with people again. What we have done for the last 2 months is not a natural state. The fact that it has now been judged as safe to return to work in certain circumstances should be welcomed. The anxiety you are feeling is understandable, but this emphasises how the state we were in over this time is not sustainable for people long term.

Yeah what's wrong with that you can leave the widows open a bit. If you are going for an item that you actually need your not going to be that long as your not going to be browsing around the place. Queuing time for a supermarket anytime I go is about 10 minutes maximum and I can normally do our shop and back to the car in another 20 minutes, that should be a lot less for a hardware store because unless you are actually buying for an actual site you need less items and in no way normally are hardware stores as busy as supermarkets.

Plenty of people who left their kids in the car last year when dropping into the shop and it wasn't an issue then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

What’s the alternative? Never return to work until Covid decides it doesn’t want to be a thing anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

Just go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Only on boards would people be recommending leaving your 5 year old in a car to go into a shop .Real life is far more clued in and sensible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

#phase1reopeningproblems

So long as the necessary physical distancing measure are in place, it should be a welcome relief to be engaging with people again. What we have done for the last 2 months is not a natural state. The fact that it has now been judged as safe to return to work in certain circumstances should be welcomed. The anxiety you are feeling is understandable, but this emphasises how the state we were in over this time is not sustainable for people long term.
    Telling me how I should feel, very helpful. The virus is not natural and as I have to explain to this person:
    What’s the alternative? Never return to work until Covid decides it doesn’t want to be a thing anymore?
    it's not sentient and don't care if we're getting lonely because we're not seeing others. See I'm not even sure if you actually know that and are just being a tosser or if you actually need me to explain it to you.

People who think this way are why I am desperate to not go back and deal with the public. Anyone working in a supermarket is legitimately a hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Listening to alot of different radio shows and podcasts about the return of football recently. Most corespondents are falling over themselves trying to emphasise how the safety of the players cannot be put at risk. Cop the f on lads. Fit healthy athletes in their 20's and early 30's. I would hazard a guess that the act of playing football itself puts their long term health at far greater risk than Covid-19 through risk of injury CTE etc. If they have vulnerable family members living with them, well permit them to sit out until things ease off a bit more. But otherwise, quit the talk of the safety of players

I agree with this. I'm all for adhering to social distancing and agree with the lock down It should have been earlier however but I am surprised with sports attitude and they seem to over stating the risk of even contradicting the virus on a football pitch. Outdoor transmission seems low and I'd imagine its much lower in a competive game with people moving at high speed. Players will underlying illness or their living arrangements etc I can understand. The impact of no sporting activities for a more prolonged period will do more harm than good. The lack of exercise and social interaction to young men especially will very damaging. The benefits in this case outweigh the risk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

it's not sentient and don't care if we're getting lonely because we're not seeing others. See I'm not even sure if you actually know that and are just being a tosser or if you actually need me to explain it to you.

People who think this way are why I am desperate to not go back and deal with the public. Anyone working in a supermarket is legitimately a hero.

I know it’s not sentient. My point is people still have to go to work when the virus is around to make money and keep the country going as the virus is not going anywhere and we can’t lock down forever.

It’s not feasible for people to be allowed stay home and still get paid whether it be the 70/30 scheme or the 350 payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

HSE Hosptial report released this morning
    As of 8pm last night there were 51 confirmed cases in ICU.

Likewise as of 8pm there were 375 confirmed cases in acute hospitals.

I know it’s not sentient. My point is people still have to go to work when the virus is around to make money and keep the country going as the virus is not going anywhere and we can’t lock down forever.

It’s not feasible for people to be allowed stay home and still get paid whether it be the 70/30 scheme or the 350 payment.
    I wasn't getting those because I was working from home the last two months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

So people have to go back to work and in many homes there is no one to mind the kids .So who is minding them ? I am guessing quite a few grandparents will need to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Things getting more and more dystopian as restrictions are "relaxed" here.
    On the beach yeaterday, lots and lots of space , nice clean water .... but on the loudspeakers ...

"ATTENTION CITIZENS!! ATTENTION CITIZENS!!! SWIMMING IS STRICTLY PROHIBITED !!! DO NOT GO SWIMMING DO NOT GO SWIMMING, THOSE THAT GO SWIMMING WILL BE SUBJECT TO ARREST AND CRIMINAL PROCEEDINGS!!!!!
    THE STATE THANKS YOU!!! "

I'm amazed there is so much corona virus in the water ...

literally like bloody soviet Russia.

Again, these are not temporary, after Covid this **** will continue in case of "another pandemic" ....

New World Order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,494 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Unbelievable.
    Going to the supermarket is like going over the top and crossing no-mans land.

Telling me how I should feel, very helpful. The virus is not natural and as I have to explain to this person:

I dont think you read what I said - I said return to work should be welcomed, but anxiety is understandable, and that is what the situation has done to us. Where there was I telling you how you should feel? Also, if it has been judged that it is now safe for certain people to return to work with necessary controls in place, that is positive, it means we have moved past the peak and are starting the process of returning to normality.

Just go home.

What if I had a leaky water tank and had the water turned off in the house to avoid flooding the place? Should I leave the 4 and 6 year old in the car or go back to a house with no water, or maybe bring them with me for a few minutes. Happened to me a couple of weeks ago, but luckily the local farm co-op had what I needed, but my wife was working, so had to bring the kids.