Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i'm getting a little curious as to what strava does about auto pause. just back from a spin with auto-pause enabled on the garmin, and the garmin says moving time is 1:07:54, strava says moving time is 1:09:51, and elapsed time is 1:12:07 (i stopped at multiple sets of lights)

the discrepancy of two minutes of moving time is quite a discrepancy; the garmin peeps to tell you it's auto paused, and it seems to be quite accurate at determining when you're stopped.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

my understanding was that a brisk cycle (15mph+) burned about 600 calories for an average weight cyclist, per hour.

Looking at the following calculator there seems to be quite a few more variables involved resulting in a very big calorie range. I've tried a few others and get similar results to Strava by weight and speed (i.e. plus or minus 20%). Not seeing a calculator that includes gradient, where hills mean quite a few more calories burned for heavier folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,728 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Good 10km with the kids and misses. The 4 year old is currently riding his sister old pink bike. Up and over from killiney to Dalkey and back. Dragging the 4 year old up the vico road by the back of his jacket. We got quite the applause at times !!

Lots of drivers out today. Good manners and respect from them. ( must bring the kids in all my spins!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭positron

Got out for a while today. It was nice until it started drizzling (which was very welcome to be honest, felt almost normal again) but soon the road surface became super slippery, so I ended up giving up on my Strava art plan (2 petals short of a 6 petal flower) mid way and headed home. Also I was knackered to be honest.

Once home I realised the Garmin spd/cadence sensor had stopped working, and the Garmin watch that I used to record my rides, had stopped recording the speed, and distance!!

I don't know why Garmin wouldn't fall back to GPS when the spd/cadence sensor is disconnected, or at least they could give us a choice to select between sensor or GPS later on in Garmin Connect?! How hard could that be!!

Managed to export GPX file from Connect and imported that into Strava - GPX apparently has just the GPS coordinates, and that's enough for Strava to workout the total distance, speed etc. Happy Days. Double checked a ride from couple of days ago - and again, Garmin had recorded about 20% less distance. Hmmmmm. I wonder how long this has been going on..!!

PS: Went thru Garda checkpoint, they were too busy stopping cars they didn't even look at me. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

i'm getting a little curious as to what strava does about auto pause. just back from a spin with auto-pause enabled on the garmin, and the garmin says moving time is 1:07:54, strava says moving time is 1:09:51, and elapsed time is 1:12:07 (i stopped at multiple sets of lights)

the discrepancy of two minutes of moving time is quite a discrepancy; the garmin peeps to tell you it's auto paused, and it seems to be quite accurate at determining when you're stopped.

I've given up on trying to understand it, tbh. I use the Garmin to record the data. I don't really need Strava to put it's own take on it. It should just use the Garmin data (or at least have the option). If I was using the Strava app then I'd understand.

Say I do a spin at 22kmh according to my Garmin. Then I upload it to Strava and it's now 21.3kmh. Now I really don't care about my average speed but I find it odd that technology can't just agree on which it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Longest real life spin in nearly 2 months. Just shy of 70km all in the lock down limits. There was a bit of a warm feeling in the breeze despite it not actually being that warm.
    For the last few weeks myself and a couple of club mates have entertained ourselves swapping KOMs on all the road segments nearby. Some of it has been utterly cut throat with multiple stolen crowns and several instances of titles changing hands and back again before evening. There's been rides deliberately not posted until near dark to allow overnight glory. Checking of hourly wind forecasts seems to be rampant judging by how frequently we pass each other at random hours of the day. Checking the phone for the dreaded "you have lost your KOM" notifications is a nightly ritual.

It's been fking great craic.
    I've rode so many paths and bohreens that I've never cycled on before even though they're right beside me. Perfect, deserted, rolling roads through countryside that I took for granted for so long because it wasn't the mountains that I love so much.
    On the days I wasn't chasing glory and ego, I brought the family out for spins on the same roads. They loved it.

The lock down has been a pain in the arse but it's definitely had its plusses too.
    https://www.strava.com/activities/3465897525

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Longest real life spin in nearly 2 months. Just shy of 70km all in the lock down limits. There was a bit of a warm feeling in the breeze despite it not actually being that warm.
    For the last few weeks myself and a couple of club mates have entertained ourselves swapping KOMs on all the road segments nearby. Some of it has been utterly cut throat with multiple stolen crowns and several instances of titles changing hands and back again before evening. There's been rides deliberately not posted until near dark to allow overnight glory. Checking of hourly wind forecasts seems to be rampant judging by how frequently we pass each other at random hours of the day. Checking the phone for the dreaded "you have lost your KOM" notifications is a nightly ritual.

It's been fking great craic.
    I've rode so many paths and bohreens that I've never cycled on before even though they're right beside me. Perfect, deserted, rolling roads through countryside that I took for granted for so long because it wasn't the mountains that I love so much.
    On the days I wasn't chasing glory and ego, I brought the family out for spins on the same roads. They loved it.

The lock down has been a pain in the arse but it's definitely had its plusses too.
    https://www.strava.com/activities/3465897525

I might have passed you out on occasion along the royal canal stretch :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

The Garmin uses the speed sensor for moving time and strava uses the gps data.
    Strava does not read the speed sensor data from the file AFAIK.
    Wouldn't that explain the difference?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

what speed sensor? all the garmin has is GPS data too.

Strava uses the figures Garmin puts out IF you have linked and auto-syncing between Garmin Connect and Strava - I had to figure this out the hard way as I had spd sensor issues couple of days ago - and Garmin watch & Garmin Connect showed a total distance of 39 kms and Strava said the same.

But then I exported the GPS file from Garmin Connect and imported it into Strava, that forced Strava to work out the correct total distance of around 68 kms.

So yeah, Strava takes whatever Garmin puts out at least when you auto-sync.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

what speed sensor? all the garmin has is GPS data too.

Wheel magnet sensor unless you're just using the head unit.

just the head unit, it's a cheapo jobbie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

On normal club spins (remember those?) I didn't find much difference between the two sets of data on Garmin and Strava but on recent stop/start cycles within the 2k, it was very obvious. It may be related to how the two programs deal with the auto-pause and restart process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭wazzer1

Hi folks

Just recently started cycling and have been building up gradually from 20km, up to 40km now. Any tips going forward to push it on a bit more.

TIA

what sort of terrain/speed are you doing?
    it probably is just a case of planning longer routes, and being conscious of fuelling properly. unless there's a specific issue you're dealing with which is limiting your options?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭North of 32

wazzer1 wrote: »
    Hi folks

Just recently started cycling and have been building up gradually from 20km, up to 40km now. Any tips going forward to push it on a bit more.

TIA

Some people recommend following a 'figure of 8' route with your home in the middle so if you feel that you can't keep going you'll generally be close to base.

I like cycling into a headwind when leaving so that the return leg is more of a tailwind. Pacing is important though and eating. I also find it easier in general to follow a route so I know where I am at all times. I don't recommend heading out on a big ride without a route in mind. Generally just keep eating and drinking regularly.

just the head unit, it's a cheapo jobbie.

At a guess then the Strava version is smoothing and/or fitting the GPS resulting in a different distance. Each GPS reading will have a certain amount of random error which can add to the total distance. Smoothing this will reduce the distance. You can also have missed GPS points going under trees etc... which can have the effect of cutting corners when you take a sharp turn. This can be corrected using mapping data by fitting your GPS to the nearest road. For road cycling I'd go with the map fitted results, for off-road the raw data may be a better bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭dahat

wazzer1 wrote: »
    Hi folks

TIA

I'd focus on time rather than distance, km & speed will come later. Work towards hours on the bike firstly and enjoy it rather than metric focused cycling first and foremost.

bleedin' warm out there. surprised at the people i saw wearing full sleeves and leggings.

didn't expect to have to wash the bike and my shoes after that; went past the boot in at the back of the airport and they'd just hosed down the road at the entrance/exit from the runway works so i ended up filthy.

on a positive note, today's earworm was fatima mansions cover of 'nite flights', which is a hell of a lot better than some other recent earworms.

Lovely evening for a ride. Bright enough, warm, dry and no wind. Love this weather. I went exploring country lanes around Drogheda and came home dead jealous of some nice pads out there!!!

Anyways, glad to have found lanes that can take when the main roads get busy in a few weeks. Quick 30k today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Last two mornings have been lovely, just a t-shirt and shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭JMcL

Easy enough short loop this morning. Legs were heavy on the back of some welly being given yesterday and Sunday. I'm on the coast so I've got a 5km semi-circle as opposed to a circle, which reduces options. There's also a very lumpy ridge about 100m high just inside the 5km so lots of up and down. A bunch of my usual short routes that I use to mix it up a bit are just frustratingly outside the 5km limit.

Traffic levels are well up on last week. The secondary road out of town is a horrible narrow drag race strip at commute times, and it's getting back that way unfortunately

Backup Stocking Lane and Killakee to the viewing point this morning, having got up there every day bar one since the 5km limit. Garmin died later on but saved all but the last few K of my spin completing my Strava hill climbing challenge for May with nine days to spare an giving me an excuse to take a day off tomorrow. Weather also looks crap for the next few days so might ditch the road for trails for a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭North of 32

Last night I achieved the unthinkable. I took a KOM on Strava in a head/cross wind - not a tail wind. I had to sleep on it and wake up to make sure it wasn't a dream.

It was a 20 minute effort. Interestingly (or at least i find it interesting), when I multiplied my average power by .95 it came up exactly as my threshold power as per my most recent indoor ramp test. So I guess the ramp test and the 20 min power x .95 are consistent.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Went out for 55km this evening. Lovely out but a decent breeze.
    I noticed that traffic is back to normal given the number of stupid overtakes (overtaking with oncoming traffic approaching and overtaking before a blind bend). It's not like I was going thay slow either. Several close passes to make the stupid overtakes feel more "normal" :rolleyes:

Getting sick of my 5km bubble (but sticking to it) :(
    https://www.strava.com/activities/3489255952

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

I've some way to go to get up there and I'm only on my commuter (I dont have a real bike yet). Did 20k this morning on my "commute" pretty strong breeze with gusts up to 40mph, only rained for the last ten minutes or so, which I didnt mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭puddles22

i live on an island and the road is only 3km long and i managed to do 50km on it, boring but keeps the fitness up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,362 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Think today may be a day for PR/KOM's!
    A guy i know (who is a leisure cyclist) took a KOM earlier on a 2k bumpy stretch near home @47kph, beating all the lads in the Ras who covered it a few years ago 10km out from a sprint finish 😳😳!

got a couple of PRs myself. not sure if that was a sailing trip or a cycling trip - managed to max out at over 60km/h on the flat, which is a record for me i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,455 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

My club was back today (not in Ireland - following government & federation guidelines). Groups limited to 20, pre-registration needed for contact tracing in the event anyone did test positive, no physical contact etc.

Wasn't great from a road safety perspective tbh, group was that bit more spread out than usual so a few dodgy long passes.

Was great to be back though.