Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVII-24,841 in ROI (1,639 deaths) 4,679 in NI (518 deaths)(28/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,746 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

uGykX46V?format=jpg&name=small

*sigh*

That's hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

At least with the pubs opening on 10th August, it's something to look forward to.

If forced to wear a mask, I will simply cut a hole around the mouth to make it easier to drink with. That way it will be a lot more enjoyable.

I hope nobody will ever be forced to wear a mask in Ireland. Even though I believe they are a valuable tool in the prevention of the spread of this virus.
    I hope by the time the Pubs are open nobody in Ireland will see any need to wear a mask.
    I hope this will happen as soon as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭RGARDINR

Just wondering with the massive reduction in air travel/car travel etc and businesses being closed around the globe. Is this the cleanest air that we have ever breathed or more then likely will ever breath in our life times? Silly question just curious on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Maestro85 wrote: »
    One of my neighbours rang to tell me their 80 something yr old mother just tested positive, got bad lastnight and was brought off in the ambulance. For the last 10 days every son and daughter she had (quite a few) visted her and brought the grandkids.

Warned them til I was blue in the face about all the visitors but sure "it'll be grand". Tears and arguments ahead of them now as the finger pointing begins.

This isn't an "I told you so" moment. I hope she comes out of it. But FFS can people not just bite the bullet and endure another few weeks of the restrictions and follow the guidelines. It's always going to be someone else and not me attitude until the chickens come home to roost.

Came back from work in a tourism location and we had a little over hundred cars in the space of 8 hours (some families) and a ridiculous amount of walkers/cyclists. 5kms my arse and the gardai are useless since they were rang and never bother coming for 2 hours. Was told they don't have the manpower to cover everywhere and are short staffed sinc eofficers are not doing overtime now (you'd think they'd sieze every chance to work up overtime pay). Spoke to a CIE/Bus Eireann driver today (at a safe social distance) that came off the bus for a smoke and he is annoyed they didn't make masks mandatory on buses.

Side note: Sorry, needed to vent.

You and I and everyone will find....

People still do not understand the fundemental mechanics of Covid 19 and the ease of transmission.

Much to the frustration of us that do. If one person in that scenario had a strong understanding, this would not have happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

At least with the pubs opening on 10th August, it's something to look forward to.

If forced to wear a mask, I will simply cut a hole around the mouth to make it easier to drink with. That way it will be a lot more enjoyable.

Let's call a spade a spade. The pubs will be useless. There will be a novelty at the start which will quickly die off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Polar101

fritzelly wrote: »

Saw something today I would rather not experience again

A rather rotund late 40's/50's guy wearing white lycra shorts - to say the shorts left nothing to the imagination would be an understatement

Maybe Project Fear does exist after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,178 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

They deliberated and dithered over moving to stage 1 so much, a stage which I referred to as stage 0 with a fake moustache and glasses, that I have NO hope of them moving them to any other stages with any confidence. They haven’t a monkeys what they’re at. No doubt there’ll be some reason why we can’t move on a phase or accelerate it because of xyz abcdefg. We have absolutely no say in this.

Judging by my expereince in the Relaxo-Restricto thread, it's fair to say we have opposing views on a lot of this.

I know you think we're moving far too slowly out of these phases and, sure, when you look at the plans other European countries have put in place, to wonder why Ireland has such a conservative outlook isn't unreasonable.

But, even though I'm a fully paid up and card carrying member of the so-called doom and gloom brigade, in some sense I have a bit of hope in ways that, perhaps, you don't.

If the next three weeks go according to plan and rates of community transmission continue to fall, there's simply no way the government won't accelerate the plan - you can bet your house on it.

First of all, they'll want to. Many people don't want to acknowledge this, but the state would love to lift restrictions if they could. It's not credible to say they wouldn't - every week, every day the economy remains shut down costs an awful lot of money. Money lost in terms of economic activity, revenue for the state and billions and billions that have to be paid out. And it puts the economy at a serious competitive disadvantage relative to others if everyone else can be clearly seen to be getting about their business while we're standing still. Factors like these won't be ignored.

Secondly, people won't stay locked down until August if the situation continues to improve. Businesses will open up and people will get on with life. And there's not much that the government or the powers of the state will be able to do about it. The lockdown and restrictions etc have been widely observed because people, in the main, consented to them - at least up until this point. But if people decide that it's safe to get back to living - then people will get back to living and won't wait for approval. It's already plainly obvious that the authorities don't really have the manpower to do much about it; I can count the amount of guards I've seen during this period of lockdown on the fingers of one hand.

The political pressure will also be enormous - the calls to open up and get on with it will be non-stop and deafening. And I wouldn't disagree. If the numbers improve there isn't a credible reason to be taking until August. It will happen.

BUT

I think the approach over the next three weeks is very, very important and it's right to be cautious at the beginning. We don't know what will happen when restrictions are lifted. We simply don't. You need a period of longer than a fortnight to get a proper sense of how the rates of transmission are effected. All being well, it won't be bad - but you don't know. There's a lot at stake: you can't be caviler. Risk vs Reward.

People are very dismissive of talk of a second wave, but there's a definite possibility - perhaps not a probability - that it could occur. Only a fool tests the water with both feet. And, yes, some other countries are moving at a quicker pace than ourselves right now but it is extremely early days and their own fates aren't certain right now either. We should watch and learn. It's prudent to be careful. If the picture looks better down the road, then it's very easy to move along at a quicker pace, but, move too quickly - and we have no concrete proof that it's a good idea - and we'll have to retrace our steps; then that is a very difficult situation indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Tomrota

MipMap wrote: »
    I hope nobody will ever be forced to wear a mask in Ireland. Even though I believe they are a valuable tool in the prevention of the spread of this virus.
    I hope by the time the Pubs are open nobody in Ireland will see any need to wear a mask.

Why? We’re forced to wear clothes out in public, that doesn’t do anything to protect anyone yet in the middle of a pandemic, it is unreasonable to force mask wearing in public? Why not force people to wear masks when in public spaces? It’s the ones that will refuse to wear a mask who are the ones that aren’t heeding any hygiene regimes or any of the scientific health advice. I think we could reopen a lot faster if everyone wore a mask.

RGARDINR wrote: »
    Just wondering with the massive reduction in air travel/car travel etc and businesses being closed around the globe. Is this the cleanest air that we have ever breathed or more then likely will ever breath in our life times? Silly question just curious on it.
    I am a Dub living in Wexford. Hardly ever hear a plane in the Sky. The air here smells good just as it always has. Used to work in Tallagh. The car needed to be washed every week. Now I never have to wash it.

Tomrota wrote: »
    Why? We’re forced to wear clothes out in public, that doesn’t do anything to protect anyone yet in the middle of a pandemic, it is unreasonable to force mask wearing in public? Why not force people to wear masks when in public spaces? It’s the ones that will refuse to wear a mask who are the ones that aren’t heeding any hygiene regimes or any of the scientific health advice. I think we could reopen a lot faster if everyone wore a mask.
    Because I believe that peoples freedom is important. We could eradicate this disease by simply murdering anyone who tests positive and all their contacts as well. Asking them to self isolate is a bit lame no?

Saddam Hussein would have dealt with this a lot more effectively.
    Do we want to live in a society like that?
    When this is over we want to be proud of what we did, not ashamed.
    Do we think that once you open the Pandora's Box of "Letting the Ends justify the means", we can ever close it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

The main issue with the future of this is, unless other countries also control the virus, it's going to keep spreading. The American continent may be a no-go zone for a while to come.

Hopefully not, as they say if there’s a will there’s a way. I’m on the wine meself ;-)

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Hopefully not, as they say if there’s a will there’s a way. I’m on the wine meself ;-)
    Finished the wine. Having a few beers and then it's a vodka and white.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

RGARDINR wrote: »
    It’s called the placebo effect. The air to me feels the exact same planes or not. You might find the air in a city like ****hole Dublin a bit better though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,137 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Obama:

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0517/1138882-obama-trump-criticism/
    "More than anything, this pandemic has fully, finally torn back the curtain on the idea that so many of the folks in charge know what they're doing," Mr Obama told graduates from several dozen historically black colleges and universities at the first ceremony.

"A lot of them aren't even pretending to be in charge," he said as he discussed the implications of the pandemic during the online event, without naming any specific leaders.

That celebration was followed by a second, star-studded prime-time ceremony for high school students in which the former president continued along the same lines, telling students to step up where leaders had failed.

He said: "If the world is going to get better, it's going to be up to you."

"Doing what feels good, what's convenient, what's easy -- that's how little kids think.

"Unfortunately, a lot of so-called grown-ups, including some with fancy titles and important jobs, still think that way -- which is why things are so screwed up."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Micky 32 wrote: »
    It’s called the placebo effect. The air to me feels the exact same planes or not. You might find the air in a city like ****hole Dublin a bit better though.
    You can get an app like AirVisual to track how clean the Air Quality Index during the day.

Consistently had a very low score of 13 every morning at rush hour after the gorse fires in the South burnt out in early April. Up to about 60 these mornings.

The US death toll has risen above 90,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,406 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Some people seem to revel in cherrypicking the most miserable news possible and dumping it in here

What a sad existence

Go outside and take a walk or something

Sorry but we only do real news in this thread.

The happy smack talk is in the other thread. :)

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058076432

wakka12 wrote: »
    It is odd. I wonder what the chances of a zooonotic disease emerging that is so infectious and with such a long asymptomatic period of infectiousness (along with many asymptomatic spreaders) and kills just enough people that society cant really go on as normal. Must be one in billions chance

If the chances are not zero, it’s a certainty that it would happen, eventually. And given there are 7billion of us, large amounts of whom live in proximity to animals, with questionable hygiene practices in some cases. Add to this the fact that there are more genetic variation in the world of the virus than the whole animal kingdom means that it’s not surprising, and has happened before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sheepsh4gger

I contracted some kind of cold/flu...
    I went out of my way to avoid people, wear gloves.
    The only place I went for the past 2 months is to Tesco once a week - late in the evening when there's nobody there. No other face to face interaction with people other than that.
    I hope it's not the coronavirus. If it is then this thing spreads by air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Dpg21

I contracted some kind of cold/flu...
    I went out of my way to avoid people, wear gloves.
    The only place I went for the past 2 months is to Tesco once a week - late in the evening when there's nobody there. No other face to face interaction with people other than that.
    I hope it's not the coronavirus. If it is then this thing spreads by air.

Have you gone for a test? If not then why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭tara73

it's probably posted/mentioned here a lot, but can't go through all the posts, simple question, what's the best international website with data for new infections deaths, etc.? Always used the BNO website, it's not updated for weeks..thanks a mil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

tara73 wrote: »
    it's probably posted/mentioned here a lot, but can't go through all the posts, simple question, what's the best international website with data for new infections deaths, etc.? Always used the BNO website, it's not updated for weeks..thanks a mil.

Try these Tara...

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/map.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

I can visualise the dark silhouette of the grim reaper lurking around the corner for those who are blasé about the coronavirus crisis. Sharpening his scythe with the bones of those who previously refused to listen to the experts. Waiting for Timmy who had a house party last week. Waiting for Mary who got her hair cut and coloured in a bootleg hairdressers. Waiting for little Jimmy who thought it would be a great idea to meet his mates, swap Xbox games and share a can of monster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,130 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Paddygreen wrote: »
    I can visualise the dark silhouette of the grim reaper lurking around the corner for those who are blasé about the coronavirus crisis. Sharpening his scythe with the bones of those who previously refused to listen to the experts. Waiting for Timmy who had a house party last week. Waiting for Mary who got her hair cut and coloured in a bootleg hairdressers. Waiting for little Jimmy who thought it would be a great idea to meet his mates, swap Xbox games and share a can of monster.

You're hilarious! :rolleyes:

You need a new routine. This is all wearing thin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Or Mary's elderly relatives....

239022_rgb_768.jpg?resize=807x807

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

MipMap wrote: »

Why not. If it prevents people getting sick or dying it would be a good thing.

If this virus mutates into a more dangerous strain would you feel the same? I don't see why it's a problem.

I hope your right that the need for masks ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

Or Mary's elderly relatives....

239022_rgb_768.jpg?resize=807x807

Seriously, the drama. I would so hate to be stuck in the head of someone so fearful. There is literally close to zero mortalities besides the elderly in care homes and other vulnerable people in over crowded conditions FACT. Normal life needs to resume ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sheepsh4gger

swap Xbox games
    Who does that? Sounds boomer as hell.
    If you're into retro then you'd get an Xbone-360 off ebay with a reset glitch chip pre-installed which then allows you to play from *.iso files of games you can find online.