Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVII-24,841 in ROI (1,639 deaths) 4,679 in NI (518 deaths)(28/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

I see that the lockdown lunatics are having a meltdown on social media about Woodie's opening on Monday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭ek motor

Frostybrew wrote: »
    Yes. I've had symptoms since the 1st of March. On my 4th period of self isolation; though at least this time I've been told to try and get light exercise if I feel up to it. As long as I maintain social distancing.

Can barely make it 2km form the house, never mind 5km.

Sorry to hear that . What's it been like ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,313 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

NDWC wrote: »
    The fact that horse racing has been given preferential treatment and is being allowed back on June 8th makes me sick to my stomach. Anyone remember Cheltenham?

No spectators allowed. The only people present will be the connections of the horses : it will be staged for the TV audience(s)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

JPCN1 wrote: »
    Not so. Go to Italy from June 3rd with no quarantine.

You can stay behind your couch but folk should start getting on with their lives.

Oh I am not behind my couch I see our plan be changed as we go a long which I have said here before and in the restriction thread. I feel bar clubs (if pubs can evolve not them) and the distance rules we will be out by stage 4 at the latest.

My point was if they went now there be a point if quarantine plus if countries are smart they will not have a blanket relaxation of travel for al contries

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Frostybrew wrote: »
    Yes. I've had symptoms since the 1st of March. On my 4th period of self isolation; though at least this time I've been told to try and get light exercise if I feel up to it. As long as I maintain social distancing.

Can barely make it 2km form the house, never mind 5km.

Have you tested positive each of the four times?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭Micky 32

owlbethere wrote: »
    https://amp.theguardian.com/world/2020/may/15/weird-hell-professor-advent-calendar-covid-19-symptoms-paul-garner

This is a piece about something called a 'long tail' illness with covid19. People who are not too sick or too ill for the hospital, and are considered 'mild' cases as in, not needing hospital care but the illness/or recovery drags on.

There's reports of a long tail illness from the US and the UK. I don't know about any where else in Europe? Would there be any evidence of a long tail illness happening here in Ireland?

Ah more scaremongering from the media. I know of a few good people now including cousins of mine that got covid. They all made a full recovery in a short time and now feel like they never had it, feel totally normal again no after effects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

GazzaL wrote: »
    I had some Keeling's straberries there. Delicious! Fair play to the hard working Bulgarians.

Don't start the war again ;)but ya they have great strawberries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Frostybrew

ek motor wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that . What's it been like ?

It's been tiring and frustrating. Sometimes you think you are feeling better, only to come down with a bout of breathlessness an hour later. Having a shower or cooking a meal can leave you exhausted, and you end up sleeping for two or three hours. On the worst days I've had to lie down and sleep four or five times during waking hours due to feeling so drowsy, and that's on top of a normal nights sleep.

On the plus side it's not as bad, scary, or painful as the peak of the illness; and I can now manage a 3km walk at slow pace. Trying to do this everyday. There were a couple of days where I was feeling better and tried to do a little more, only to have chest pain and prolonged shortness of breath and tiredness the following day. Definitely not something you can run off.

What I miss most is being able to go on a decent cycle. Would regularly do a 50 or 60km cycle out into the countryside at weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭boardise

NDWC wrote: »
    The fact that horse racing has been given preferential treatment and is being allowed back on June 8th makes me sick to my stomach. Anyone remember Cheltenham?

I can quite understand your sentiment which I'm sure is widely shared.
    However can I counterpose some facts that might help assuage such feelings and provide a balancing view.
    I don't want to rehash the whole Cheltenham episode even though one could offer submissions that would moderate the residual anger some feel- anger which doesn't offer much benefit for anything anyway.

I'll try to be brief...

* Cheltenham was NH racing -the critical issue now is the flat season
    * Racing is not getting'preferential treatment' as such -it'happens to be a low contact sport and meetings without attendance were organised before.
    * Flat racing is a nexus of activities that constitute an industry which ,as the Taoiseach said, is worth a lot to our economy
    *It gives a wide range of employment in studs, stables and ancillary industries
    * Ireland's competitors have already started up -and further delay would seriously disadvantage Irish breeders
    * To try to apply some vague 'punishment' by delaying the flat season would be to impose more pointless damage on an already reeling economy. If the matter of safety has been agreed between the racing and health authorities - it can and should proceed.
    * And who would one be punishing ? Mainly stable lads and lasses and small trainers who could lose their jobs . Big operators would probably get by -though even here prime bred horses can be transferred abroad to race rather than just be standing in their stalls in Ireland
    * Incidentally -the matter of betting is not in this equation because betting shops are closed and online punters have been betting on racing all along from Sweden and the US -with France and Germany also recently restarted.
    * Rational policy can't be formulated on feelings of anger but on a calculated basis of likely gains and losses and the balance of risk and advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Frostybrew

Stheno wrote: »
    Have you tested positive each of the four times?

Thankfully not. First told to isolate for 14 days on the 12th of March following a GP phone consultation. Didn't get tested until 26th of March when a further 7 days of isolating was recommended. Results arrived in mid April when I tested positive and was told to isolate for 5 days unless I had a fever. Final isolation began about 10 days ago following assessment at a community treatment centre.

So only one swab test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

GazzaL wrote: »
    I see that the lockdown lunatics are having a meltdown on social media about Woodie's opening on Monday :D

Think that's more to do with woodies banning anyone under 16 which is a bit of a joke

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Think that's more to do with woodies banning anyone under 16 which is a bit of a joke

Woodies are not allowing any under 16s in when they reopen?

Yup. Appearnelty due to staff worries about social distancing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭jackboy

owlbethere wrote: »
    https://amp.theguardian.com/world/2020/may/15/weird-hell-professor-advent-calendar-covid-19-symptoms-paul-garner

This is a piece about something called a 'long tail' illness with covid19. People who are not too sick or too ill for the hospital, and are considered 'mild' cases as in, not needing hospital care but the illness/or recovery drags on.

There's reports of a long tail illness from the US and the UK. I don't know about any where else in Europe? Would there be any evidence of a long tail illness happening here in Ireland?
    Scary stuff. It seems that we still have a lot to learn about this virus. The herd immunity approach may store up who knows how many long term problems.

Rushing through a vaccine for this has the potential to cause serious long term problems for a lot of people. There will be massive pressure to release one though before enough testing has been completed.

No good options or plan for this virus it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Yup. Apparently due to staff worries about social distancing
    Well, Lidl is a playground most weekends in normal times so might have a point there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭crossman47

JPCN1 wrote: »
    Not so. Go to Italy from June 3rd with no quarantine.

You can stay behind your couch but folk should start getting on with their lives.

Are you sure? No quarantine for travellers from Schengen area. That's not us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,116 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Good - family rocks up then that means 5 other people have to wait for them to finish before they can get in

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

jackboy wrote: »
    Scary stuff. It seems that we still have a lot to learn about this virus. The herd immunity approach may store up who knows how many long term problems.

Rushing through a vaccine for this has the potential to cause serious long term problems for a lot of people. There will be massive pressure to release one though before enough testing has been completed.

No good options or plan for this virus it seems.

And this is why we need mandatory wearing of face masks/coverings... We know very little, new symptoms every day, no vaccine... They need to spend money on educating people on the use and not have it advisory. Face coverings can slow it down.

crossman47 wrote: »
    Are you sure? No quarantine for travellers from Schengen area. That's not us.

UK, Switzerland and Ireland all to be included according to reports online. It'll be EU only.

We’d have to quarantine on the way back, but I’m WFH anyway, so I don’t mind that for 14 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Yet again, children are vilified during this time. Despite the fact there are studies emerging showing they neither spread the illness or are seriously effected by it for the most part. How can we as a society accept this as ok? Children should not be locked away from the world like this, it's disgraceful.

We’d have to quarantine on the way back, but I’m WFH anyway, so I don’t mind that for 14 days

Likewise doesn't make much difference to me can WFH if needs be. I'd be surprised if that lasted here either if the EU start up and we go against the grain.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

And this is why we need mandatory wearing of face masks/coverings... We know very little, new symptoms every day, no vaccine... They need to spend money on educating people on the use and not have it advisory. Face coverings can slow it down.

How did we get to practically zero community transmission without masks so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭John.Icy

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Ah more scaremongering from the media. I know of a few good people now including cousins of mine that got covid. They all made a full recovery in a short time and now feel like they never had it, feel totally normal again no after effects.

Jesus Christ not every reporting of certain cases progression and symptoms is scaremongering. How is your anecdotal evidence any more valid than other peoples experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,841 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

What about all the evidence pointing to the fact we've unfairly treated children during this a locked them up for months needlessly, and continue to do so, including a HIQA report this week saying they're not major transmitters - why aren't you using that evidence Dr Tony??

The HIQA report has been repeatedly misunderstood and misrepresented. The report said “While the evidence is limited, it appears that children are not substantially contributing to the spread of COVID-19 in their household or in schools."

In its key points the same report says "Three of the five studies on intra-familial and close contact transmission reported child-to-adult or child-to-family member transmission, although at very low rates." This was from post lockdown studies in Wuhan where only one (adult) person per household was allowed out two times per week for essential purchases therefore the index case in any cluster was almost certain to be an adult.

In the only study referenced in the HIQA publication where there was a similar number of adults and children with CoViD-19 in a similar evvironment (9 teachers and 9 pupils in 15 schools in Australia and their close contacts) transmission appears to be equally likely from an adult or child.

The HIQA publication goes on to say that "emerging evidence in the included studies has highlighted child to adult or family member transmission has the potential to occur" and goes on to say "the studies focused on intra-familial and close contact transmission suggested transmission from children to other family members could occur."..."is. Only one study has examined transmission of SARS-CoV-2 in schools. Reliable, large scale data on spread from symptomatic and asymptomatic children is lacking"

In its conclusion it states "There is currently limited information on the contribution of children to the transmission of SARS-CoV-2."

The best that can be concluded from the publication is that there is a need for more study.

The largest study I've seen ( https://zoonosen.charite.de/fileadmin/user_upload/microsites/m_cc05/virologie-ccm/dateien_upload/Weitere_Dateien/analysis-of-SARS-CoV-2-viral-load-by-patient-age.pdf ) which compares viral load, as a proxy for infectivity, in 3712 SARS-CoV-2 positive patients from 59,381 screened found no difference in viral load between age groups and cautions - "The viral loads observed in the present study, combined with earlier findings of similar attack
    rate between children and adults (2), suggest that transmission potential in schools and
    kindergartens should be evaluated using the same assumptions of infectivity as for adults."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

The RO number will increase with restrictions being lifted.

John.Icy wrote: »
    Jesus Christ not every reporting of certain cases progression and symptoms is scaremongering. How is your anecdotal evidence any more valid than other peoples experience?

Would you give over ffs. Did you read the % so far of fully recovered cases in Ireland? The evidence is there to support my experience so far. Majority of the media are out to scare people.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

The RO number will increase with restrictions being lifted.

I didn't say it wouldn't. But restrictions being lifted does not necessarily align with people not maintaining social distancing.

I asked how we got to practically zero community transmission without masks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭jackboy

It is estimated that at least tens of thousands contracted the disease in Ireland. I would really doubt we are close to zero community transmission.

jackboy wrote: »
    It is estimated that at least tens of thousands contracted the disease in Ireland. I would really doubt we are close to zero community transmission.

Well that’s good news then. It means the virus is less lethal than we thought.