Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Rogan * Mod Warning Post 234*

• 15-05-2020 9:21am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭

His podcasts aren't great are they? He only has a good guest on maybe every two months. The only two good ones I can remember recently were the one with black guy on about the kkk and the guy that wrote that new book on Manson. I also find he talks about himself too much, I'm sorry Joe I don't give a **** about your opinions. Normally he has on his unfunny comedian friends or journalists that spout shít for about two hours. I also find his podcast is influencing a lot of Irish people who are beginning to act like they are living in the states.

Mod Note:

Cut out the petty back and forth stuff. One card has been issued already, more will follow. Any issues with a post and report it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

He’s alright, I enjoy his podcasts but I find I could watch highlights or best ofs just as easily as the podcasts themselves tend to meander.

Now excuse me I must go consume elk meat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

His podcasts aren't great are they? He only has a good guest on maybe every two months. The only two good ones I can remember recently were the one with black guy on about the kkk and the guy that wrote that new book on Manson. I also find he talks about himself too much, I'm sorry Joe I don't give a **** about your opinions. Normally he has on his unfunny comedian friends or journalists that spout shít for about two hours. I also find his podcast is influencing a lot of Irish people who are beginning to act like they are living in the states.

The ones with David Miscavage's father and Leah Remini are brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

His podcast can occasionally be good despite Rogan hosting it. Like when he had Bernie Sanders on. Or the physicist Brian Greene.

He also shïtes on far too much about smoking weed. Like all stoners.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,843 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Think hetfield and rollins were the only two I really watched, no real interest in any others, they were good though

There's worse out there to be fair, unfortunately Rogan makes the cardinal error of talking too much. He asks a question then interrupts his guest. The neutral listener isn't going to learn a lot, he needs to stay out of his own way because it doesn't come across well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

The one with Alex Jones was epic.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Sir Oxman wrote: »

That was comedy gold.

His interview with Bob Lazaar and the fighter pilot regarding UFO's was fascinating as well.

Sadly, Joe rambles on a bit too much and most of his interviews are really not worth your time, unless you are interested in what over excitable comedians think about things.

It's hit and miss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

I dont like him - he tries too hard to say all the currently correct things.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

The Joey Diaz ones are always hilarious! EP 1000 in particular has some cracking stories.

Quantity over quality is the name of the game.
    He is a **** stand up but goes on like he (and his "friends") are the grand masters of the "ART".
    Rarely listen anymore

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I sort of like it but he goes on waaaay too much. He had Christina Hoff Sommers on and hardly let her fkin speak. And she a feminist... (albiet an old skool one without any time for the identity politics nonsense).

I know you're a guest on my show and people are watching to hear what you have to say but let me continue to interrupt you with my manly opinions about manly stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,843 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Sir Oxman wrote: »

that was horrendous, i endured an hour of it, then had enough, hes unlistenable, unhinged

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Just terrible on so many levels, if you're putting out that many shows a week you're forgoing quality for quantity.

I like his curiosity but he lacks any self awareness.

Some of you have clearly never tried dmt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

RnBnQjQ_d.jpg?maxwidth=640&shape=thumb&fidelity=medium

• Registered Users Posts: 17,848 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Just terrible on so many levels, if you're putting out that many shows a week you're forgoing quality for quantity.

I like his curiosity but he lacks any self awareness.

I would have assumed being curious and lacking self awareness are contradictory ideas? you are essentially saying he is a person who approaches things with an open mind but simultaneously lives his life uncanny valley style.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

The ones with Graham Hancock and Randall Carlson are great, really enjoyed them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

He gets good guests because he is so popular so those ones are worth it. Sam Harris, Dan Carlin, Jon Ronson are good. The lance Armstrong one from a few years ago is excellent. He does absolutely no research on anything though so when he starts waffling he can ruin it.

I like the alternative history ones like Graham Hancock as well. Again though Joe doesn't have a notion so he doesn't challenge any of the bull****.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

silverharp wrote: »
    I would have assumed being curious and lacking self awareness are contradictory ideas?

Why?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,955 ✭✭✭pgj2015

his older ones were a lot better. andrew santino is always a good guest, they bounce off each other well.

the jim jeffries ones from years ago are funny and the one with james bobo fay.

he should never have got rid of brian redban. young jamie is a square.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭magic_murph

Crazy suggestion - don't watch / listen to the podcast.
    You are welcome.

Why?

Accusing someone of lacking self awareness needs some high bar evidence imo. If someone is commenting on the internal thought processes of an individual my default would be to assume they are attempting mind reading.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

Accusing someone of lacking self awareness needs some high bar evidence imo. If someone is commenting on the internal thought processes of an individual my default would be to assume they are attempting mind reading.

Well that's completely unrelated to your assumption that someone can't be curious and also lack self awareness, which is what I was questioning, but whatever.

Joe demonstrates his lack of self awareness pretty much any time he opens his mouth by pontificating about things he has absolutely no clue about (which is pretty much everything bar hunting and MMA) whilst criticising other people for being misinformed.

He's an absolute moron, but some of the shows can be entertaining.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

I'm basing it off of topics that I kind of know about it and hearing Rogan talk in such generic one tracked ways(for example when he speaks about Russia), he also seems to lack depth, for example he was rejoicing about Mike Tyson back in the boxing ring the other day, even though 2 years ago, Iron Mike opened up to him candidly about how he doesn't like unleashing that side to him because it's his ego at work. Rogan in the podcast last week just laughed that off without actually getting into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Newsradio (the sitcom) was very good.

It had a maintenance guy in the station, played by Joe Rogan. He was a conpiracy obsessed guy to laugh at.

That is all.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,465 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

I think he is great the one with Tim Pool vs Jack Dorsey was epic.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

There's worse out there to be fair, unfortunately Rogan makes the cardinal error of talking too much. He asks a question then interrupts his guest. The neutral listener isn't going to learn a lot, he needs to stay out of his own way because it doesn't come across well.

Agreed, it's more like a few lads talking crap over a few beers than anything else.

First they came for the socialists...

Well that's completely unrelated to your assumption that someone can't be curious and also lack self awareness, which is what I was questioning, but whatever.

Joe demonstrates his lack of self awareness pretty much any time he opens his mouth by pontificating about things he has absolutely no clue about (which is pretty much everything bar hunting and MMA) whilst criticising other people for being misinformed.

He's an absolute moron, but some of the shows can be entertaining.

He is very accomplished for a moron , I dont think he is trying to set himself up as the next Sam Harris

• Registered Users Posts: 12,517 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

I really only watch the ones with MMA guys on it. He really knows his **** there but otherwise I'm not too interested.

He is very accomplished for a moron , I dont think he is trying to set himself up as the next Sam Harris

Lots of morons accomplish things. What on earth does one have to do with the other? Why is this always the retort, as if success is some sort of get out of jail free pass for everything?!