Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVII-24,841 in ROI (1,639 deaths) 4,679 in NI (518 deaths)(28/05)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

The whole "children dont spread covid" thing is convenient considering the govt childcare plan is scrapped and they will now be under pressure to open up childcare/schools to relieve working parents. Now leo comes out saying it's one of the safest things to do. I'm sure we had covid in this house, my 4 year old got it first in march, he is in a rural preschool where kids are in a small room. 5 days later I got same, 5 days later my 10 year old got it. I'd like to see some solid evidence about kids as I believe they can and do pass it on.

If I had a child I wouldn't send them to creche or school to mix with others. It would just be too risky.

I would need to be very confident in the system of testing, quick results and contact tracing sending potential cases into isolation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

A woman's experience flying into Hong Kong
    https://mobile.twitter.com/laurelchor/status/1260784481159442434

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

The whole "children dont spread covid" thing is convenient considering the govt childcare plan is scrapped and they will now be under pressure to open up childcare/schools to relieve working parents. Now leo comes out saying it's one of the safest things to do. I'm sure we had covid in this house, my 4 year old got it first in march, he is in a rural preschool where kids are in a small room. 5 days later I got same, 5 days later my 10 year old got it. I'd like to see some solid evidence about kids as I believe they can and do pass it on.
    Was watching a spot on Euronews where they are worried about Gorillas in a jungle somewhere and they said that Gorillas share 98% of their DNA with Humans and they are concerned Covid 19 could wipe them out.

As far as I know Kids share 100% of their DNA with humans!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

owlbethere wrote: »
    If I had a child I wouldn't send them to creche or school to mix with others. It would just be too risky.

I would need to be very confident in the system of testing, quick results and contact tracing sending potential cases into isolation.
    Yeah seeing a system produce 200+ cases over the course of two months without even contact tracing done does not instill any confidence about 510k returning school children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭leck

Ficheall wrote: »
    Very interesting. On threader now too at https://threader.app/thread/1260784481159442434

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

MipMap wrote: »
    Was watching a spot on Euronews where they are worried about Gorillas in a jungle somewhere and they said that Gorillas share 98% of their DNA with Humans and they are concerned Covid 19 could wipe them out.

As far as I know Kids share 100% of their DNA with humans!

One would have to be extremely brave to spend more than fifteen minutes whilst within less than 2m of these beautiful beasts! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,118 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Danno wrote: »
    One would have to be extremely brave to spend more than fifteen minutes whilst within less than 2m of these beautiful beasts! :pac:

Didn't bother David Attenborough

Danno wrote: »
    They were "Experts."
    (From Euronews)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

looks like flying has gone from a pain in the hole to a massive awkward pain in the hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,093 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

She gets tested and resulted faster than here

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    She gets tested and resulted faster than here
    I was thinking that. The DOH here would die for an 8 hour turnaround.

Are these tests reliable or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭Polar101

I'm thinking it's either Limerick or Waterford. Only major hospitals will have 300+ cases. The CUH is empty so it can't be there.

Well, wasn't it always Waterford that was reporting no cases in the county.

As far as I know, there is no café or restaurant immediately next door to a garden centre in Ireland. So I don't believe letting cafés and restaurant fully open at the same time as garden centres would make any difference to the R number.

A few larger garden centres also have cafes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Least the Bundesliga is back Saturday, never really watched it before TBH... used to be all in on the Premier League in the times of actually having a choice. I actually can’t watch the Bundesliga Saturday because I’ll be getting and probably disinfecting Groceries for my Parents. There’s always the bins though, they’re due to go out and I’ve a lovely Ralph Lauren shirt I can’t wait to wear for these special occasions. That’s my weekend sorted!

looks like flying has gone from a pain in the hole to a massive awkward pain in the hole

I am too afraid and nervous to step into an airport and plane this year or even next tbh

Good luck to anyone brave enough to want to fly anywhere this year, holiday in Ireland for me if any holiday

nocoverart wrote: »
    Least the Bundesliga is back Saturday, never really watched it before TBH... used to be all in on the Premier League in the times of actually having a choice. I actually can’t watch the Bundesliga Saturday because I’ll be getting and probably disinfecting Groceries for my Parents. There’s always the bins though, they’re due to go out and I’ve a lovely Ralph Lauren shirt I can’t wait to wear for these special occasions. That’s my weekend sorted!

I bet the bins will be impressed, swoon :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

Amirani wrote: »
    You want to sack a group of nurses and doctors in the middle of a pandemic?
    Don't believe anyone would want that.

The important thing is to discover if it was an individual's screw-up or a systemic failure, either on the hospital side or the receiving side or both, and if systemic fix the systems.

On the receiving side they should always be receiving a daily report from each center even if it only says 'Nothing to Report'.

Unfortunately the default response in the DOH/HSE seems to be to kicking some individual in the butt, not fixing the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,750 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

nocoverart wrote: »
    Die hard Schalke fan so my Saturday is going to be bliss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Die hard Schalke fan so my Saturday is going to be bliss!

Best of luck, just man mark Sancho and injure that Norwegian kid and ye have a chance : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The gardeners are threatening revolt!

Say it ain't sow..personally can't wait until my local garden centre opens so I can collect my personalized pitchfork (and dandelion seeds, heard they're on special offer!).

No need to be such a smart arse.

What does living within 5km of it have to do with anything?

The 5km allowance is supposed to be for exercise only. That's why Gardai have been removing people from beaches when they're sitting down or having s picnic, but those walking/exercising have been allowed continue.

Pottering around a garden centre is not exercise so the 5km limit has nothing to do with it.

But neither is it considered essential travel, so where does it fall under?

Who is allowed go to these newly opened garden centres then?

I think people are generally missing the point as to why garden centres and hardware stores are opening.
    If gardeners, landscapers, painters etc along with all other outdoor workers are going back to work they will need to be open for supplies.

Not sure whether people within 5 km are allowed go or not. Or not allowed go because it's an unnecessary journey. I have already been asked to supply materials only to people who believe they still can't go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

The Swiss seem to have no worries about children as spreaders.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-52470838

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,745 ✭✭✭893bet

Can you imagine trying to get a shower of our “natives” to comply with this kind of thing.

Seems very well organised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,650 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Would also be so the entire population of Dublin doesn’t descend on Ikea on Monday. “But they can’t police that!” They shouldn’t bloody have to police it, it needs self-policing, which prob won’t work anyway.

Leo needs to somehow get that message out, just because we’re saying you can go to the garden centre, doesn’t mean it’s 100% safe, keep up the hand washing/distancing etc.

OK, coming from a place where we already went into phase one last week, its not a free for all. I can't imagine Ireland will be any different. Hardware shops were open here the whole time anyway and perfectly normal and civilized, with social distancing observed and most customers wearing masks. The shops and restaurants that have recently reopened, likewise. They aren't packed. So people are self policing and there are additional measures in place to reinforce that like lines where you should stand etc

I still only go out if I need to, haven't braved a restaurant to eat in yet but had plenty of takeways and have gone to pick food up in recent days. Its grand. No need to be worried. It's funny how little time it has taken for normal things to seem scary and weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Czechia back to normal, we should be getting the outdoors economy back online at a minimum

https://twitter.com/FatEmperor/status/1261065144567836680

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭Onesea

Can anyone explain why the death rate in the US hasn't seen a spike?
    2019 start of year to April 20th total deaths 973,344
    2020 same period total deaths 991,777.
    Hiw many have died due to covid in America?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,750 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Onesea wrote: »

April 20th is nearly 4 weeks ago

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

bekker wrote: »
    Don't believe anyone would want that.

The important thing is to discover if it was an individual's screw-up or a systemic failure, either on the hospital side or the receiving side or both, and if systemic fix the systems.

On the receiving side they should always be receiving a daily report from each center even if it only says 'Nothing to Report'.

Unfortunately the default response in the DOH/HSE seems to be to kicking some individual in the butt, not fixing the system.

The center in question have been sending daily reports of cases, they've had quite a few. Their occupational health doctors just hadn't been sending along the cases amongst staff in the hospital...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,650 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Onesea wrote: »

Well my city saw an almost 50% reduction in traffic fatalities this March compared to last year due to the lockdown. No bars open means fewer drunk drivers and pedestrians amazingly. Apparently this is a trend across the whole of the US. Not just the drunk people but the reduction in drivers equals not as many accidents. Thats one possible factor I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,788 ✭✭✭✭L1011

As far as I know, there is no café or restaurant immediately next door to a garden centre in Ireland. So I don't believe letting cafés and restaurant fully open at the same time as garden centres would make any difference to the R number.

How about *inside* a garden centre?

https://www.theorchard.ie/the-cafe/
    https://johnstowngardencentre.ie/garden-cafe/