Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭ChelseaRentBoy

Well, that is one side of the coin, that is widely focused on by certain agents for their reasons, lots of good is happening on EU level too like Italian and French patients in German hospitals.

The German's where shamed into helping at the sight of Russian army personal carriers on the streets of Italy delivering PPE and other supplies.

Let's not pretend the EU reaction to this has been anything other than pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Fcuking hell, a fatality rate of 7%?!

I've read everything from it being 0.3 to 2%, but 7% is appalling

Need time to work out final mortality rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭mosii

7% fatality rate on known cases ,thats accurate,but not on the disease itself,thats likely to be around .3% and .5% .,as millions and perhaps billions will get this virus,by the time a vacine is developed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭mosii

7% fatality rate on known cases ,thats accurate,but not on the disease itself,thats likely to be around .3% and .5% .,as millions and perhaps billions will get this virus,by the time a vacine is developed.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

fullstop wrote: »
    What was mixed about the message last night? It was spelled out to people what was going to happen, with a date for each but as soon as it’s said people think “grand so, back to normal” and head off and do their own thing. This is precisely why they’re waiting until the last minute to make these statements, because people are ****ing idiots.
    You missed Leo on the Late Late then.

Which message do you think resonates more strongly with viewers looking for relief, the reasonable staid serious official announcement or the relaxed laid back 2m down to 1m, GAA finals back message in the relaxed pop entertainment show.

Which had a greater audience attention span I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

It's 7.02% of known worldwide cases, it is likely much less when you take account of all those non-diagnosed.

It's a beautiful evening here in the West. Lots of music and back garden BBQ gatherings. All close family I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭coastwatch

GM228 wrote: »
    It's 7.02% of known worldwide cases, it is likely much less when you take account of all those non-diagnosed.

Better off ignoring all those "Worldmeter" statistics, nothing more than rough indicators.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Wait until the flu season, things can get real ****ty then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

It's a beautiful evening here in the West. Lots of music and back garden BBQ gatherings. All close family I'm sure.

You’d have to wonder what is the harm if I wander around my neighbours side entrance and sit in a deck chair socially distanced from the next person drinking my own beer and enjoying her fire pit and her spotify list before wandering home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,050 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Discodog wrote: »
    They have always been legally able to open.

Thanks, didn't know that, thought it was just essential places.

coastwatch wrote: »
    Better off ignoring all those "Worldmeter" statistics, nothing more than rough indicators.

The data for Worldmeters is pulled from official sources such as the WHO, CDC, ECDC etc, it is pretty accurate.

splinter65 wrote: »
    You’d have to wonder what is the harm if I wander around my neighbours side entrance and sit in a deck chair socially distanced from the next person drinking my own beer and enjoying her fire pit and her spotify list before wandering home.

Enjoying her fire pit eh? Take care you don't get burned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

splinter65 wrote: »

Right next to her slowly expanding cloud of covid air, as the evening zephyr gently wafts it in your direction.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Interesting article on how strange the effects of the virus on some people are.

"Blood clots form throughout the body. The brain and intestines may also be affected. Some suffer changes to their personality, suggesting brain damage."

How is this possible?' Researchers grapple with Covid-19's mysterious mechanism

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/may/01/how-is-this-possible-researchers-grapple-with-covid-19s-mysterious-mechanism

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Thanks, didn't know that, thought it was just essential places.

Garden centres and hardware stores are legally allowed to open and defined as essential services, many have just chosen not to open though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

Is there something wrong with this thread loading or is there something wrong with the site? Haven't been able to access it on my phone at all since yesterday and it takes a minute to change page :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭Wombatman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

frillyleaf wrote: »
    Is there something wrong with this thread loading or is there something wrong with the site? Haven't been able to access it on my phone at all since yesterday and it takes a minute to change page :eek:

Site is fecked on touch, it's working fine on my computer but not at all on mobile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

What is interesting about those comments? He simple says Sweden took the approach to rely on their citizens. If the solution is relying on Irish people to get it together and follow a similar path we're ****ed. We're totally and utterly ****ed. If the measures we have taken show us anything, it's that we cannot rely on our citizens to do what's in the best interest of society. While the vast majority of people DID follow our guidelines it only takes a hand full of knuckle draggers to **** it up, which we have droves of, as seen in the last few weeks.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,315 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Interesting article on how strange the effects of the virus on some people are.

"Blood clots form throughout the body. The brain and intestines may also be affected. Some suffer changes to their personality, suggesting brain damage."

How is this possible?' Researchers grapple with Covid-19's mysterious mechanism

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/may/01/how-is-this-possible-researchers-grapple-with-covid-19s-mysterious-mechanism
    It's a puzzler alright Ig, though if you look at other viral illnesses you'll always have a percentage of people with weird symptoms. So there's that. If you take influenza, particularly the nasty strains you'll have up to a quarter of infected that will have zero symptoms, most will have the "usual" symptoms in varying degrees of severity, from felling a bit meh all the way up to dying from it, but you'll also have a small percentage with oddball symptoms too. Rashes, gastro issues, septic shock type symptoms. In the very old flu can come with delirium and confusion which suggests neurological involvement. IIRC the 1918 Spanish pandemic had its fair share of odd symptoms in many.

Now this is a new virus for us all(though we've likely all had some form of coronavirus before. A percentage of the common cold is corona in nature) and we're scrabbling to keep track of the little bastard, so the natural tendency is to jump at everything and anything that comes along, from odd symptoms to treatments.

Plus it's possible that some of the treatments we're giving to the hospitalised might be causing symptoms that aren't actually Covid19 in nature, or are interacting in a way that makes it look like they could be.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

Heard a few stories on FB (I know, I know) that the Gardai were essentially too afraid to approach groups of people congregating in working class areas. I figured it was bollocks.

However, the Gardai were called this evening on a large group (50+) congregating in my own area, came along in their car, pulled down their windows, waved and left everyone to their completely not distanced p*ss up. I thought they were meant to break that crap up?!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,315 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I don't blame the Gardai in many cases like that P. I mean it was what, a fortnight or more after the lockdown came in where they were given any extra powers to enforce it. Plus if they do come out all guns blazing they're damned. They're damned if the do, or if they don't.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,117 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Ecuador reports 308 new deaths and a gross underestimate according to reports from the country which is being hit very badly.

India reports 100 new deaths which is the highest for them so far, again most observers believe that to be a serious underestimate.

frillyleaf wrote: »

There's an issue with the Boards servers the last number of days, there was an announcement from the Boards team saying they are aware of it and working to fix, but they don't know when it will be fixed, it's a server issue due to "nodes under strain" and only seems to affect touch version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Ecuador reports 308 new deaths and a gross underestimate according to reports from the country which is being hit very badly.

India reports 100 new deaths which is the highest for them so far, again most observers believe that to be a serious underestimate.

Russia had 9,600 cases today.

Higher than America.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Miike wrote: »
    What is interesting about those comments?...

That I found them interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,117 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

1,471 deaths recorded so far today across the states, 67,224 total. Over 70,000 on Monday at this rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,767 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Russia had 9,600 cases today.

Higher than America.

No way USA will be less than Russia today.