Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    Is this true?

I remember reading here that someone lived close to a beach and the guards stopped them driving to it and told them to go back and they had to walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The department of finance and revenue better announce massive help for small business in the morning

Not paperwork and loans that they don't want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

kevin12345 wrote: »
    EW86AOwWsAYjtEp?format=png&name=large

Handy summary here.

Surely they could have implemented the first phase from Tuesday rather than the 18th? As it is the first phase will see a very gentle easing of restrictions so why wait two weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭zvone

Mr.S wrote: »
    Barbers re-opening in the 4th phase means at least July 20th before people get proper trims :D:D:D

My daughter just cut my hair so it's not bad idea to stay at home for next few weeks... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Deja Boo wrote: »
    yet if one worker, friend, carer etc infected even one, the entire cocoon would turn into a covid cluster (as has happened in nursing hmes around the world)

Think you missed the point of the post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Anyone else think that the use of masks may be advised soon? Not compulsory, but maybe just advised.
    I haven’t seen EVERY brief on tv so far, but I remember a while back it got a ‘there’s no need’ feedback.
    Did Holohan say last night that it’s something they’re considering/awaiting further info?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

https://www.thejournal.ie/clarification-on-coronavirus-measures-ireland-5060744-Mar2020/

Above link Leo clarifies on the original 2km ruling just for exercise.

Driving is not a physical exercise.

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has clarified that the 2km limit on movement outside the home is for physical exercise and people can travel beyond this for food and medicine.

Only those over 70 can go for a drive with 5km of their residence.

Sure if we were allowed to drive to a location to exercise then why did they close off car parks for public places like national parks etc ?! Lakes with closed car parks, mountain walks etc being checked by gardai constantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,198 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

petes wrote: »
    Think you missed the point of the post.
    I often do! :o

bush wrote: »
    I remember reading here that someone lived close to a beach and the guards stopped them driving to it and told them to go back and they had to walk.

Gardaí stopping plenty of cars down the local park but weren’t turning anyone away as far as I can see. Car park was still open which surely would have been closed if people weren’t allowed drive.

Honestly this is basic stuff. Could always clearly drive to your place of exercise. They hardly expect swimmers to come out of the water absolutely freezing and then trudge up to 2km home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,882 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Economy is going to absolutely tank.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,408 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Redo91 wrote: »
    Gardaí stopping plenty of cars down the local park but weren’t turning anyone away as far as I can see. Car park was still open which surely would have been closed if people weren’t allowed drive.

Honestly this is basic stuff. Could always clearly drive to your place of exercise. They hardly expect swimmers to come out of the water absolutely freezing and then trudge up to 2km home?
    People aren't meant to be swimming...the 40 foot etc are closed off

https://www.thejournal.ie/clarification-on-coronavirus-measures-ireland-5060744-Mar2020/

Above link Leo clarifies on the original 2km ruling just for exercise.

Driving is not a physical exercise.

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has clarified that the 2km limit on movement outside the home is for physical exercise and people can travel beyond this for food and medicine.

Only those over 70 can go for a drive with 5km of their residence.

Sure if we were allowed to drive to a location to exercise then why did they close off car parks for public places like national parks etc ?! Lakes with closed car parks, mountain walks etc being checked by gardai constantly.

Jesus you’re completely misunderstanding the point. He’s talking about people just driving around for the sake of it within 2km of their home. That’s obviously not exercise. He doesn’t saying anything about people driving to their place of exercise within the 2km.

Jesus I’m finding this frustrating. This is a very basic concept which a number of posters seem to be struggling to get their head around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Over 70s were allowed out anyway.

Course they were, it only ever a recommendation .....you can only advise people what to do but you can't shackle an padlock the door.........I don't think :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

twirlagig wrote: »
    Anyone else think that the use of masks may be advised soon? Not compulsory, but maybe just advised.
    I haven’t seen EVERY brief on tv so far, but I remember a while back it got a ‘there’s no need’ feedback.
    Did Holohan say last night that it’s something they’re considering/awaiting further info?

I've just read the detailed plan

The very first item says face coverings may be advised from May 18 based on medical advice

I reckon that will be mandatory by then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,444 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Deja Boo wrote: »
    yet if one worker, friend, carer etc infected even one, the entire cocoon would turn into a covid cluster (as has happened in nursing hmes around the world)

Precisely. Which is why I, as a carer for an elderly parent took the decision to cocoon with him to decrease the risk of passing the infection onto him. I honestly think that some people just don't grasp how infections spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

Well I just hope people realise there has to be a strong adherence to the restrictions and that no one acts like ****ing idiots in the next 2 weeks otherwise May 18th is just a pipe dream

He should have just kept it to 5kms for exercise throwing driving into the mix is a mistake as has been seen by people on here lets just say stretching and twisting what Leo said about it.

Shin

gmisk wrote: »

What's the problem with swimming?

Possibility of passing the virus into the fish.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

New Home wrote: »
    Do you know what we should do? Have special shops, cafés, schools, libraries, services, train carriages and busses, petrol stations, supermarkets, clothes shops, toilets, etc reserved only for those who are cocooning and shouldn't really mix with the rest of us. It'd be for their own good, they wouldn't infect us, we wouldn't infect them. I think it's a brilliant idea nobody has ever had before........................ I think I had a dream about it................

Psst! Folks. I'll give you a clue. I was being sarcastic. See if that bit reminds you of anything.

Possibility of passing the virus into the fish.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭laurah591

Stheno wrote: »
    I've just read the detailed plan

The very first item says face coverings may be advised from May 18 based on medical advice

I reckon that will be mandatory by then

Sorry where is that published?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

RobertKK wrote: »
    I looked at the links but...when do the dentists re-open for non emergency work?

The dental association had a plan on their website what work they can do depending on phases. I am sure this will be updated very soon to tie in with these new 5 phases. Ring your dentist for advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

What a grim plan

gmisk wrote: »

They closed the 40 foot because it’s such a popular spot. Nothing wrong with swimming if it isn’t busy and social distancing can be adhered to. I go down the park every day and have seen and been stopped by the Gardaí several times. You see the same few people in their swimming all the time and if someone was told to get out then word would have gotten around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Mr.S wrote: »
    Barbers re-opening in the 4th phase means at least July 20th before people get proper trims :D:D:D

And not a single fcuk could some of us give.
    I’ve a head a hair on me like the wolverine and I couldn’t care less if I never got it cut.
    You won’t catch me queuing up for an avacodo bagel and pumpkin latte like the gombeens with the fortnight haircuts.
    A good dose of common sense them fcukers need

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

laurah591 wrote: »
    Sorry where is that published?

Gov.ie website linked a few pages back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

They closed the 40 foot because it’s such a popular spot. Nothing wrong with swimming if it isn’t busy and social distancing can be adhered to. I go down the park every day and have seen and been stopped by the Gardaí several times. You see the same few people in their swimming all the time and if someone was told to get out then word would have gotten around.

What park? swimming where? ........did the ducks not have a word ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Jesus you’re completely misunderstanding the point. He’s talking about people just driving around for the sake of it within 2km of their home. That’s obviously not exercise. He doesn’t saying anything about people driving to their place of exercise within the 2km.

Jesus I’m finding this frustrating. This is a very basic concept which a number of posters seem to be struggling to get their head around.

Ah off you go so, to be honest it doesn't effect my anyway

All this week I've been driving 400-450kms a day for "essential work" so it doesn't bother me.

But God forbid we try for each other's sake to protect each other during this.

Funny how he mention the first restriction being relaxed to 5km for exercise

Then in a different statement says over 70 or those cocooning can go for a walk or drive withing 5km

If they were both the same surely he didn't need to specify it separately. But anyway, I'm out of here. Too many posts going into server now I'd imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,108 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

bush wrote: »
    What a grim plan

What did you expect? Some miraculous immediate return to the old normality? It was never going to be anything other than this type of slow phased plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

Does the work from 18th May only apply to essential workers or is for all office workers?