Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭jackboy

It’s official. Guy on with Ivan Yates suspects coppers and places like that will never open again. The world will never be the same again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

ElTel wrote: »
    I believe autopsies and ICU deaths from start of year are being checked.

When will we know the results of any findings from this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

hawkelady wrote: »
    You really think so ??? You think a megaphone would fix it? You think they just didn’t know ? The guidelines have been rammed down everyone’s throat for weeks now ffs.
    The guards were outnumbered and if they went in heavy handed from the get go it probably would have resulted in bottles been thrown ! It’s not as if the majority of them are in a rush to get back to work anyway . Maybe the guards should invest in a couple of water canons !!

Have the Gardai any of these?

Beirut-m_3416332b.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Lads did luke o neill say that Covid always kills you? The man is a menace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

jackboy wrote: »
    It’s official. Guy on with Ivan Yates suspects coppers and places like that will never open again. The world will never be the same again.

a lot of clubs and pubs will not come back and some that do will quickly go out of business as less people go out for the foreseeable future. same with restaurants and hotels. i think other sectors will bounce back but hospitality/pub sector is in big big trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Beirut-m_3416332b.jpg

yes one at least. But not sure if the water pressure is that high. maybe they could borrow a small one from the fire brigade??

speckle wrote: »
    yes one at least. But not sure if the water pressure is that high. maybe they could borrow a small one from the fire brigade??

Surely they could be used after a fair warning.

Also let farmers spread slurry in bold estates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,333 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

jackboy wrote: »

A global vaccine is the one thing that would bring everything back to normality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,619 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I haven't watched trump all week. I'm trying to avoid him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I don't know how much I'd trust Luke O'Neil's input in all this when someone from his lab was responsible for the first outbreak in Trinity and consequently the whole campus shutting down. This was first week of March, with member of his group having come back from an affected area in Italy when it was plainly obvious there was a significant problem happening there.

You couldn't really make it up really, the first outbreak to happen in TCD occurs in a biomedical lab responsible for immunology research!

I don't know how much I'd trust Luke O'Neil's input in all this when someone from his lab was responsible for the first outbreak in Trinity and consequently the whole campus shutting down. This was first week of March, with member of his group having come back from an effected area in Italy when it was plainly obvious there was a significant problem happening there.

He's a bit like our version of Trump in all of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭Azatadine

How is Luke O'Neill getting away with speaking rubbish on the airwaves? Time after time he makes sweeping simplistic statements that are incorrect. Statements like 'Remdesivir kills the virus on sight' for example. Remdesivir inhibits replication (hopefully). Not correct to say it kills the virus.

Same way he says that you can't die with COVID-19, you die because of COVID-19 no matter what else you have going on. You could be on deaths door and die with coronavirus in your system but it may mot be THE cause of death for God's sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Surely they could be used after a fair warning.

Also let farmers spread slurry in bold estates.

maybe I should rephase- Think the army has one but the the water pressure from a fire brigade one might be more powerful. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

hawkelady wrote: »
    You really think so ??? You think a megaphone would fix it? You think they just didn’t know ? The guidelines have been rammed down everyone’s throat for weeks now ffs.
    The guards were outnumbered and if they went in heavy handed from the get go it probably would have resulted in bottles been thrown ! It’s not as if the majority of them are in a rush to get back to work anyway . Maybe the guards should invest in a couple of water canons !!

I don’t disagree with you at all about the water cannons! But from what I could see in that video, they did nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

If this virus is proven to have come from a lab trump should be praised for being pro active in finding out. He's the only world leader asking questions and quite frankly if this did come from a lab and the Chinese covered up the repercussions will and should be immense!

Dan o brien excellent and really has opened up the conversation. The stats and data show under 40s are of relatively no danger from this. Get them back out to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

I think he was being sarcastic by saying it came from a lab.

Another dog diagnosed with coronavirus. In Australia this time:

Edit to add:
    Got it wrong. The dog is in America.

https://www.9news.com.au/world/coronavirus-us-dog-pug-tested-positive/899b5a38-51de-44b0-bb84-6396028b895d

Dan o brien excellent and really has opened up the conversation. The stats and data show under 40s are of relatively no danger from this. Get them back out to work.

The poor guy is schitting it he'll be out of a job when the economy disappears.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,129 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

speckle wrote: »
    I couldnt use hand santiser at hospital entrances but could use the pink stuff the use before surgery or in intensive care.

Hibiscrub (chlorhexidine)

Beirut-m_3416332b.jpg

I don't know, but I'm sure they can get their hands on a few of these:

ted-sewage.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Dan O Brian is just saying what no politician has the guts to say. We are committing economic suicide.
    If this lockdown continues for much longer we will simply run out of money. We will have no economy left to provide a health service or any other public service.
    What Dan is saying is why not let those who are in little danger go back to work and let everyone else shelter.
    Our present strategy is based on a knee-jerk panic reaction by the medical and political fraternity rather than on a considered assessment on all the implications of the actions they were taking.
    They ignored entirely the strategy which South Korea were implementing. South Korea have had experience with this kind of disease having had to deal with SARS and MERS in recent years but of course Dr Holohan thought he knew better and in my view has given bad advice. I’d like to know what advice he gave about protecting the nursing homes.
    It’s not too late to change course but I would doubt if the government has the courage to do it.

Azatadine wrote: »
    How is Luke O'Neill getting away with speaking rubbish on the airwaves? Time after time he makes sweeping simplistic statements that are incorrect. Statements like 'Remdesivir kills the virus on sight' for example. Remdesivir inhibits replication (hopefully). Not correct to say it kills the virus.

Same way he says that you can't die with COVID-19, you die because of COVID-19 no matter what else you have going on. You could be on deaths door and die with coronavirus in your system but it may mot be THE cause of death for God's sake.

Sure the dogs on the street know if you have the smallest speck of the virus and get knocked down and killt by a bus, covid19 will be the cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭De Danann

Rjd2 wrote: »
    In grand scheme of things not an issue, but anyone's else's hands in pieces due to the incessant hand washing?

I have a pharmacy mosturiser but its not doing much. Anyone else have the same issue and would you consider taking it up with a doctor?

I had dry skin on my hands even before all this so it definitely got aggrivated. I use this stuff called Childs Farm moisturiser, a friend with eczema recommended it. We have a big dispenser bottle in my kitchen and it seems to be helping.

Also as another poster suggested, consider changing your soap. Try to replace using alcohol based sanitizer (dries out your skin!) with a gentle soap.

You would imagine that we will see a real easing in restrictions at this stage. I think in the last day or two public feeling is changing toward lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

De Danann wrote: »
    I had dry skin on my hands even before all this so it definitely got aggrivated. I use this stuff called Childs Farm moisturiser, a friend with eczema recommended it. We have a big dispenser bottle in my kitchen and it seems to be helping.

Also as another poster suggested, consider changing your soap. Try to replace using alcohol based sanitizer (dries out your skin!) with a gentle soap.

Silcocks base is brilliant, its like e45 creams but you can use it like a soap to wash your hands and face. It also can be used a an moisturising cream and it is dirt cheap. 500g tub costs about €4-€5

Strazdas wrote: »
    A global vaccine is the one thing that would bring everything back to normality.

One or two complaining about the restrictions think they are the mark of the beast, best of luck arguing this with them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Dan O Brian is just saying what no politician has the guts to say. We are committing economic suicide.
    If this lockdown continues for much longer we will simply run out of money. We will have no economy left to provide a health service or any other public service.
    What Dan is saying is why not let those who are in little danger go back to work and let everyone else shelter.
    Our present strategy is based on a knee-jerk panic reaction by the medical and political fraternity rather than on a considered assessment on all the implications of the actions they were taking.
    They ignored entirely the strategy which South Korea were implementing. South Korea have had experience with this kind of disease having had to deal with SARS and MERS in recent years but of course Dr Holohan thought he knew better and in my view has given bad advice. I’d like to know what advice he gave about protecting the nursing homes.
    It’s not too late to change course but I would doubt if the government has the courage to do it.

Dan is correct but the global downturn will dominate anything we do to get the economy moving again. It's really out of our hands to a large degree. We are facing 5-10 years of a global economic depression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

You would imagine that we will see a real easing in restrictions at this stage. I think in the last day or two public feeling is changing toward lockdown.

Easing of restriction were always going to be small and incremental. Starting with some places open, majority still working from home. easing of travel restrictions, opening of restaurants pubs (if they can stick to rules of seating and no standing, 2 meter distancing to stay for a long long time to come

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭snoopboggybog

Think i had the bloody thing, slept 12-14 hours a day for the last three days and sweating like a ****. Grand now today.

Maybe it was something else but hope now I'm done and dusted with it. Never happened to me before where i had absolutely no energy. Reckon i could of sleeping more than the 12 if I didn't have the alarm set to work from home.

Woke up exhausted as well and was falling asleep through work.