Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,858 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Do you really believe any of that will happen when it didn't happen 10 years ago when the IMF were strolling around Merrion Square?

I don’t think so either but the usual targets like PAYE workers will suffer- public and private sector workers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭JPCN1

I cant comment on others ...I am working so yeah. There will always be wasters.

What the hell do you think us public servants earn.

Govt will be penniless so sadly you'll probably be getting a cut.

At least you'll still have work and still have full pay now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭gauchesnell

One of my siblings and a parent of mine, 60k per annum with little responsibility and off until who knows on full pay. Thats who Im considering anyway but maybe they are the exception

jesus if I earned 60K LOL

most of my colleagues are less than 30K - most start at 24K

Im on 37K but thats after 20 years - but no increment. No increase due to me for the rest of the time in public sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Wow that high

That's a shock to Leo, Holohan and the guards that numbers would be that high

Very impressive that community transmission is as low as it is

Lots of stuff happening behind closed doors

JPCN1 wrote: »
    Govt will be penniless so sadly you'll probably be getting a cut.

At least you'll still have work and still have full pay now.

well I dont get an increases now anyway so thats grand.

Employment embargo aswell coming id say

cant remember if our pay from the last recession was ever restored - dont think so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Im on 37K but thats after 20 years - but no increment. No increase due to me for the rest of the time in public sector.

2 x €350 here, €36400 p.a.

Just saying.

easypazz wrote: »
    2 x €350 here, €36400 p.a.

Just saying.

ah so you earn the same as me when your work is available

my work is available to do from home thats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Did you have a qualification before you joined?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

I think we had a banking day years ago as people were paid by cheque (maybe 20 years ago).

In private sector we had bonuses and shopping day :)

who are these well paid doing nothing public servants

Don't some public sector workers still get a "productivity allowance" if they started before a certain time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,388 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

One of my siblings and a parent of mine, 60k per annum with little responsibility and off until who knows on full pay. Thats who Im considering anyway but maybe they are the exception
    Someone on 60k would have staff I would think so some responsibility surely?
    Definitely not the norm in my experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,050 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Antares35 wrote: »
    Don't some public sector workers still get a "productivity allowance" if they started before a certain time?

Don't think so.

Did you have a qualification before you joined?

Yes - I have my Phd. That doesnt matter. Everyone starts on a scale.

Had my BA when joined but continued on sorry

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Don't think so.

never heard of that

ah so you earn the same as me when your work is available

my work is available to do from home thats all.

No, two of us are on the COVID payment so €700 in benefits a week at the moment or €36400 a year.

Not that it will continue of course.

No, two of us are on the COVID payment so €700 in benefits a week at the moment or €36400 a year.

well jesus sorry to hear that. I do think things will start to open us soon. We have been advised that construction to due to recommence next week in my work.

Im not bitchin about my salary sorry. You dont work in the public sector to earn a lot of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

never heard of that

Ye really need to be more confident with answers. Typical public sector attitude!! Joke BTW

LOL...I can confirm that my workplace has never operated such a practice.

well jesus sorry to hear that. I do think things will start to open us soon. We have been advised that construction to due to recommence next week in my work.

Im not bitchin about my salary sorry. You dont work in the public sector to earn a lot of money.

Thanks, but fear not, we will be fine.

Once things restart everything will bounce back quicker than people think, I have no doubt about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,027 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

What's the delay with the briefing, cut to Tony at 8.10 and hasn't cut back..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

gmisk wrote: »
    Someone on 60k would have staff I would think so some responsibility surely?
    Definitely not the norm in my experience

I earn a bit more than that and don’t have staff. Work shift though so that brings it up. Also at home doing nothing as my job isn’t possible to do at home but still getting paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Hearty80

Did you actually hear that? Oh works in construction and has heard nothing so far.

Hearty80 wrote: »
    Did you actually hear that? Oh works in construction and has heard nothing so far.

Yes my work issued an update early this week. we have major construction work happening in my workplace.

Not sure if its happening but hopefully it is start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,027 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

376 cases, 31 deaths.

Thanks, but fear not, we will be fine.

Once things restart everything will bounce back quicker than people think, I have no doubt about it.

Good. I have no issue with pay cuts, embargos etc for us public servants. They need to reopen everything though and tell us what the plan is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Hearty80

Yes my work issued an update early this week. we have major construction work happening in my workplace.

Not sure if its happening but hopefully it is start

Thanks fingers crossed

I earn a bit more than that and don’t have staff. Work shift though so that brings it up. Also at home doing nothing as my job isn’t possible to do at home but still getting paid.

well then you are very lucky - great that you are still getting paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭snotboogie

That's 36400 into your pocket, which would equate to about a 50k salary

I’m confused, what will be the benefit of extending lockdown when the majority of new cases and over 50% of deaths are in care homes? 593 is apparently how many deaths are from care homes. Most of the rest are also over 70s.

Is the threat big for people below 70?

Big enough to justify destroying our economy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,173 ✭✭✭✭Stark

snotboogie wrote: »
    That's 36400 into your pocket, which would equate to about a 50k salary

The Covid payment is taxable.

I suppose the question on my mind is when we do go back to the office/work places how will sick pay be treated for those who do get cov-19

Currently we (public servants) will get full pay if its Cov 19 but I do think that cant last.

I work in a university and we are working on the idea of classes remaining online into September 2020 aswell.