Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Catholic Church, Mass Attendance

• 28-04-2020 1:00am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭

n 1979, Pope John Paul II visited the Republic of Ireland, and approximately 2.7 million people – 79% of the population – came out to honour him. At the time, contraception, divorce, and homosexuality were illegal, and John Paul II was a god. All gone and I am glad. Most priests over 70 and only a handful training in Maynooth. They ruled for too long with an Iron fist and nobody,Even the government dared question them. The Chickens finally came home to roost and it all came out, Finally. I always hoped I would see it in my lifetime and I have.
    I am almost 70 and saw first hand the abuse,the cover up's,denials, sent to a different parish etc. I will die happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭KungPao

Sanctimonious scumbags, made my life a bloody misery.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

And yet the churches are still full of baptisms, 1st communions, confirmations and marriage and a good solid chunk of those people don't even believe but attend just because it's the done thing or because it gets their kids into the 'right' school.

Catholicism is a long way off dying although it's taken a good hit. Will be at least another couple of generations for Ireland to be solidly free of the nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭lalababa

Yep, alot done but more to do I'm afraid: baptism as a function of primary school enrollment and endoctrination of children including holy Communion, confirmation. Church weddings and church funerals. They know how to keep you literally from the cradle to the grave.
    I have no problem with 99% of Christs' teachings. The basic Christian code of ethics is a very good staple of morality.
    However the cult of the RC church in Ireland must be obliterated.
    The only thing is , if there is a vacuum, what will come or be in it's place??Political tribalism/consumerism/vanity/sport/enlightenment/Sodom & Gomorrah/ ??and whatever you're having yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Birdie Num Num

Wtf ? wrote: »
    n 1979, Pope John Paul II visited the Republic of Ireland, and approximately 2.7 million people – 79% of the population – came out to honour him. At the time, contraception, divorce, and homosexuality were illegal, and John Paul II was a god. All gone and I am glad. Most priests over 70 and only a handful training in Maynooth. They ruled for too long with an Iron fist and nobody,Even the government dared question them. The Chickens finally came home to roost and it all came out, Finally. I always hoped I would see it in my lifetime and I have.
    I am almost 70 and saw first hand the abuse,the cover up's,denials, sent to a different parish etc. I will die happy.

What as your experience of 1979 and why did you think John Paul II was a god?

You're almost 70 and your username is wtf?..

Yeah..

• Registered Users Posts: 7,699 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Wtf ? wrote: »

What was it like at the time? I'm in my 30s so only know about the aftermath, the trials etc. Back in the day did everyone know what was going on?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭lalababa

Also the sex discrimination of females, doctrine portraying females as vessels of evil.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭Wtf ?

What as your experience of 1979 and why did you think John Paul II was a god?
    I never thought he was but the numbers speak for themselves. 5 masses on Sunday on the hour and massive churches 90% packed every hour. We had so many priests that we shipped them worldwide especially the missions in Africa and suchlike. I lived close to Clonliffe Collage close to Croke Park. They had 4/500 priests in training at any one time, Now empty. Gaa park cars there on big matchdays all empty now

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Timed just as many developing world people arriving, bringing their variants.
    There will never be a day when Ireland is truly unburdened of this thing. It'll haunt us in some guise forever.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,856 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Shame on anyone supporting such criminality.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Zebra3 wrote: »

That'll be pretty much everyone so.

In all the various documentaries on the mother and baby homes I never heard of the bailiff/sheriff/Gardaí coming to a house to take a pregnant woman away.

First they came for the socialists...

Supporting criminality is shameful indeed.

Maybe be more specific about "supporting" though.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I think the current restrictions will damage the church even more than previous. People have been given a dispensation from attending mass and many will be slow to return, after all if there is no need to go to mass, then why go?

I don't go to mass as its a complete load of nonsense/rubbish/fairy tales but I know many that do and some have said they don't think they'll be returning when the restrictions are lifted.

Mass gatherings (no pun intended) will be the last restriction lifted and could be years away so thankfully the church wont be getting its crowds back anytime soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,827 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

When the current batch of dyed in the wool elderly mass goers die off, attendances will go through the floor, their children and grandchildren no longer will have to keep them happy with empty gestures.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Feisar wrote: »

In all the various documentaries on the mother and baby homes I never heard of the bailiff/sheriff/Gardaí coming to a house to take a pregnant woman away.

But it must be true. It was on d'telly. The families couldn't stop it

• Registered Users Posts: 15,827 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Edgware wrote: »
    But it must be true. It was on d'telly. The families couldn't stop it

People were too gutless and brainwashed to stop it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

In 1961, 1% of the Irish population was either a priest, nun or monk.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,722 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Some families did though.

If some did then others could have, but chose not to. Horrible starts at home..

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Families were usually complicit and often instrumental in the detaining of women in laundries. This was a cultural attitude to (poor) women who didn't tow the virtous line in some way and was condoned by almost every facet of society.

I don't put money in their pockets nor do I sign up new recruits for them.
    Supporting criminality is shameful indeed.

Maybe be more specific about "supporting" though.

The RC church is a criminal organisation that has protected child rapists and kidnapped women.

Putting money in their pockets or signing up new recruits is supporting criminality.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,118 ✭✭✭✭looksee

You're almost 70 and your username is wtf?..

Yeah..

That says so much more about you than the OP!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

I don't put money in their pockets nor do I sign up new recruits for them.

The RC church is a criminal organisation that has protected child rapists and kidnapped women.

Putting money in their pockets or signing up new recruits is supporting criminality.

Apologies, I was referring to Ireland in the past, society as a whole were complicit.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,885 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

It looks like people are starting to stop paying lip service to ridiculous traditions

https://twitter.com/jlpobrien/status/1255126117519949825

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

I attend mass every week with my family and it doesn’t do me any harm , I may not be listening to the gospel or sermon word for word but 40 minutes in my local church gives me a bit of mindfulness and get to say hello to some neighbours etc .

Maybe I have been fortunate but any interactions I had with priests were good , other priests helped relations who fell on hard times abroad etc and others were great to get local hall upgraded etc .
    It seems the cool thing to be doing to demonise anyone who says a few prayers but I won’t be intimidated into not going to mass.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,885 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

LuasSimon wrote: »
    I attend mass every week with my family and it doesn’t do me any harm , I may not be listening to the gospel or sermon word for word but 40 minutes in my local church gives me a bit of mindfulness and get to say hello to some neighbours etc .

Maybe I have been fortunate but any interactions I had with priests were good , other priests helped relations who fell on hard times abroad etc and others were great to get local hall upgraded etc .
    It seems the cool thing to be doing to demonise anyone who says a few prayers but I won’t be intimidated into not going to mass.

It hasn't been "cool" to not believe in this nonsense since the 1950s, it's just common sense

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

It looks like people are starting to stop paying lip service to ridiculous traditions

https://twitter.com/jlpobrien/status/1255126117519949825

Well, you've also got divorced people remarrying along with LGTB... who the church won't host. It won't be the main reason for that drop. But it'll contribute to a chunk of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

No mass gatherings is what they’re sayin so I hereby am sending out an invite to anyone that wishes to partake in the structuring of a place of worship amidst our very own commune.

What I will need is a few upstanding citizens, some tools whatever provisions you can bring and from there the good lord should provide. And by the grace of god we should have our own self serving community we can raise our women and children in out of harms way, what say

Apologies, I was referring to Ireland in the past, society as a whole were complicit.

Fascinating.

How were non-Catholics complicit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

Fascinating.

How were non-Catholics complicit?

Plenty of protestant clergy as well for starters, many involved in swimming clubs, police, soccer clubs etc

• Registered Users Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

What was it like at the time? I'm in my 30s so only know about the aftermath, the trials etc. Back in the day did everyone know what was going on?

I don't remember 1979, but here's a synopsis of a small event in 1985.

A priest offered a car load of 10 year olds a lift back to school after an event where kids were being ferried backwards and forwards. He took off with us in the wrong direction. The whole thing was a bit inappropriate, but he didn't actually touch us or expose himself or anything. The big issue was that the teachers didn't know where we'd disappeared to, and were frantic. It was about 2 hours before he dropped us back.

Teacher was frantic, and furious when she finally got us back. We thought we were in trouble. She drove each of us to our doors herself (we would normally have made our own way home from the school). She had a word with our parents. Later that evening when she'd calmed down, she rang each of our mothers.

Talking to my mother about it years later, with the benefit of hindsight, we suspect that the teacher had her suspicions about the priest, but couldn't say anything. Her anger was probably fear that she'd "lost" a bunch of kids, and her fear got worse when she realised who we'd been with. Her phone calls in the evening were probably trying to assess if anything had happened.

My mother would have been about the same age as the teacher, but in those days it would never have crossed her mind that a bunch of kids wouldn't be safe with a priest (or a guard, or a doctor, or a teacher). The teacher may have been suspicious, but she'd probably have lost her job if she ever even hinted at anything. However she never left kids alone with that priest - she never even left the room for 5 minutes if he was there.

TL;DR - not everyone knew, but there were people who probably had suspicions, and didn't know what to do. Reporting it to anyone would have made you sound like some weird crank, as most people just couldn't fathom that priests (or doctors, or a few other professions) could do anything wrong.